This is what many gamers have asked this week, as a result of the Destiny icon mysteriously popping up in PlayStation 4 libraries where it doesn't belong.

Those who have not purchased the game have reported seeing it on their system, and the concern was that their PSN accounts might have been compromised.

But have no fear, it's merely a promotional campaign. Clicking on the icon in your library simply brings you to the PlayStation Store and prompts you to download either the full game or the demo and as a NeoGAF member pointed out , Sony wants you to purchase the most expensive version of the game. Well, sure.

It's all part of the console's push to bring you "personalized, curated content" via automatic downloads. Here's the description found at the official PlayStation site :

"The PS4 system has the ability to learn about your preferences. It will learn your likes and dislikes, allowing you to discover content pre-loaded and ready to go on your console in your favorite game genres or by your favorite creators."

If you'd like to turn off this feature, as I already have, you can do so by unchecking the "Featured Content" box in the Automatic Downloads menu of the PS4 System Settings.

Related Game(s): Destiny

Subscribe
Notify of
8 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
6 years ago

Everything's a promo, even the just for you spot. Plus there's a big old non smoking thing. And the military.

Underdog15
Underdog15
6 years ago

People were worried their accounts were compromised? lol. When you highlight it, the option provided is "download". It didn't take much effort to figure out you didn't have it purchased for you.

trumpetmon65
trumpetmon65
6 years ago

It's doing the back stroke!!! 😀

Breadlover
Breadlover
6 years ago

Great info ben *thumbsup*. I think this is why my home network would suddenly slow down sometimes …

Must. Disables. Immediately!

Breadlover
Breadlover
2 years ago

Great info ben *thumbsup*. I think this is why my home network would suddenly slow down sometimes …

Must. Disables. Immediately!

trumpetmon65
trumpetmon65
2 years ago

It&#39s doing the back stroke!!! 😀

Underdog15
Underdog15
2 years ago

People were worried their accounts were compromised? lol. When you highlight it, the option provided is "download". It didn&#39t take much effort to figure out you didn&#39t have it purchased for you.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
2 years ago

Everything&#39s a promo, even the just for you spot. Plus there&#39s a big old non smoking thing. And the military.