Graphics:
9.0
Gameplay:
7.9
Sound:
9.2
Control:
7.3
Replay Value:
7.5
Overall Rating:
8.0
Online Gameplay:
Not Rated
Publisher:
SCE
Developer:
Quantic Dream
Number Of Players:
1-2
Genre:
Adventure/Drama
Release Date:
October 8, 2013


After about four hours playing Quantic Dream’s latest ambitious title, Beyond: Two Souls , I felt nothing but confliction. I figured that would be erased when I completed the game, and I could pen the review with no reservations. Unfortunately, my conflicted state only intensified when watching the credits roll, as dozens of questions spun through my head. I had acquired answers to some of those questions, but not all, and I kept coming back to one all-encompassing question:

In their admirable quest to prove that video games can be pursued in different ways, that interactive storytelling can involve great drama, intense emotion, and even crowd-pleasing action, did Cage and Co. shoot themselves in the foot? My answer is detailed below.

Firstly, the graphics are impressive, although they don’t qualify as amazing. There’s a fantastic cleanliness to this visual presentation, and the character modeling really is excellent. Facial details are awesome, the environmental design is compelling (to a point), and I love how each sequence has its own distinct appeal. It’s just a little underwhelming, as that aforementioned cleanliness seems to detract from the potential richness of the atmosphere. Colors seem a bit more muted and subtle. Then there are a few hitches, such as when the camera tries to quickly change its view, but the special effects can be pretty damn remarkable at times. Especially when controlling Aiden.

I expected the audio to be off-the-charts great due to the inclusion of Hollywood talent and the splendid music I so well remember from Heavy Rain . And indeed, we get top-notch performances from the two primary actors, Ellen Page and Willem Dafoe. They bring their professional, refined talents to a really intriguing script, and both deliver captivating performances. However, I think a few of the smaller roles could’ve been better voiced, and the soundtrack, while nicely orchestrated and implemented, doesn’t do much for me. The quality is undeniable but the music doesn’t qualify as memorable in my eyes. Technically speaking, I feel that Heavy Rain was a more complete, truly eye-opening achievement.

The latter statement can be applied to this entire analysis, in fact. But before I get into the comparisons, let’s start with the basics— Beyond tells the story of Jodie Holmes (Page), a girl who was born with a very special gift. She describes it as being tied to a ghostly personality, who she has named Aiden. Aiden can be mischievous and even dangerous early on, but he eventually becomes Jodie’s protector. In turn, a scientist named Nathan Dawkins (Dafoe) has been examining her for years and thinks of himself as her protector as well. Jodie faces plenty of growing pains, as you might expect; a good example of that is a particularly scarring birthday party in her teen years that goes horribly wrong.

The narrative involves the whole of Jodie’s life, but it’s not told in chronological order. It bounces around, letting you play significant sequences from her childhood and teen years, and the more action-oriented years as a member of the CIA. The game consists of a series of Quick Time Events (QTEs), as we expected, but there’s a twist to that relatively simple mechanic. This time, in addition to standard QTEs, there are moments when the action slows, the screen goes black and white, and you must move the right analog stick in the proper direction. There is no on-screen prompt; you must watch what’s happening and respond accordingly.

You’re supposed to simply press in the direction that makes sense. So, for instance, when Jodie is fleeing through a train and she reaches a door, you just press up to open it. In combat, when she goes to land a punch, just follow the intended path of her arm. But here’s where we come to our first problem. While this works in theory and isn’t particularly difficult to understand, there is some confusion. Fighting is the biggest problem, as one is never really sure if Jodie is supposed to be blocking or evading. There’s only one right answer. When training, you block by pressing toward the oncoming fist, but she’s not always supposed to block.

Sometimes, it’s obvious but many times, it really isn’t. Still, it isn’t that big of a deal because there appears to be little or no consequences when it comes to failure. This leads me to the second big problem, which involves the concept of choice and branching story paths. In Heavy Rain , with four primary characters, there were 22 possible endings and many narrative branches. There was no “Game Over” because if a character failed or even died, the story would instantly mold itself to that occurrence. But in Beyond , Jodie really can’t die or there’s no story; hence, there are many instances where she’s simply given two, three, four, perhaps even endless chances to get something right. That’s not progressive, that’s just…cheap.

I don’t know how many different endings there are for Beyond , nor do I know how many branching paths there are. But I’m almost certain there are fewer than there were in Heavy Rain , and each branch is less significant and less dramatic. I sense this because most of the sequences are crucial to the plot, and although you may see a few different scenes if you succeed or fail, the result will – most times – be basically the same. That’s not anything special, either. But before I make my final statement as to why I’m somewhat disappointed with this game, and answer the one burning question I wrote above, let me explain why this production is special.

Quantic Dream really tries to produce a captivating, well-written story with excellent characters and intense, emotional situations. The game has fantastic acting. The game has fantastically interesting concepts and ideas. The game has fantastically choreographed sequences that get the blood pumping. It’s easy to root for Jodie, it’s easy to feel her frustration, confusion and fear, and it’s easy to find intrigue in her relationship with the mysterious Aiden. The gameplay mechanics do work well enough; it’s actually surprising how well QTEs – and those more advanced input commands via slo-mo – work with traditional action sequences. It’s seamless and accessible, and the game rewards timing and tact.

There are decisions to be made that warrant plenty of thought. There are multiple scenarios that will have you on the edge of your seat, if only for a few brief moments. Each segment has its own personality and charm, and Quantic Dream’s attention to detail always adds to our growing immersion. The story has plenty of positive points, the dialogue is very good, and the impressive performances keep us emotionally tied to the characters for a certain amount of time. Finally, utilizing Aiden, a disembodied spirit that can go wherever it wants and wreak all sorts of havoc, is always entertaining. From an artistic standpoint, there’s a lot to like. Don’t forget that.

And yet, I couldn’t help feeling disconnected and detached at times. Jumping around with the story works fine for four unique characters but when there’s only one, it feels a little chaotic. We’re never really given time to get into Jodie’s mind at that particular moment in her life; the segments are more like brief, albeit brutal, snapshots. As for that question, where I wonder if the developers shot themselves in the foot: Look, I understand what they were trying to do. I agree wholeheartedly that not everything has to be about shooting guns, and what we’ve all come to accept as traditional gameplay. Heavy Rain presented us with puzzles and original, hugely emotional and intense situations that blended beautifully with QTEs.

However, when you implement more action, like hand-to-hand combat, third-person shooting and stealth elements, that theory doesn’t work as well. Then we really are feeling more detached, because we’re itching to have more control. You can’t put QTEs into a game like Uncharted , for example. I’m not saying Beyond is even remotely similar to Uncharted , but my point is that if you have the character doing more, acting more, the player is going to feel more left out with QTEs. It’s fine when Ethan is trying to carefully maneuver through high-voltage wires, or when Madison is trying to avoid an intruder’s attacks in her apartment.

In those instances, we’re emotionally attached to the scene , and we’re not worried about directly controlling the character. But too many times in Beyond , I wasn’t emotionally connected to the scene, and it was partially because I felt distanced from the action. Action requires more participation from the player. It just does. The more a character is doing on screen and the less we have anything to say about it, the more the controller starts to feel superfluous. This is what I mean about the developers trying to do too much and subsequently sabotaging themselves. That all being said, I always applaud ambition and there’s no doubt that this game is hugely ambitious.

Make no mistake: Beyond: Two Souls is worth experiencing. It excels in a variety of important areas and ignoring those achievements is a disservice to Quantic Dream. The acting is top-notch, the writing is good, the design and implementation of the life sequences is excellent, and the mechanics are functional and ask you to remain vigilant and timely. It’s just that it doesn’t feel as cohesively polished as one would hope, and there are limitations to the QTE concept, even when it’s expanded upon. It’s hard to say if the story would’ve benefited from a chronological presentation, and there may be more branching than I know. I just know that occasionally, when you have the best talent and best intentions, you stretch a tad too far.

The Good: Smooth, atmospheric visual design. Wonderful acting performances. The Jodie/Aiden relationship is complex and intriguing. Decent writing and some intense sequences. Great choreography. Solid blending of unorthodox mechanics and narrative delivery. Ambitious and thought-provoking.

The Bad: A few uncharacteristic technical hitches. Story feels disjointed and uninvolving at times. Combat inputs can be confusing. More action and less participation equals detachment.

The Ugly: “It’s difficult to accept when a game with so much potential falls short.”

Subscribe
Notify of
54 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
PC_Max
PC_Max
8 years ago

A fair review. I am enjoying myself with the game. I understand the jumping around of the memories since Jodie in the intro explains it to a degree. Liked playing the little Jodie, a few laughs and a empathy, including the older Jodie.

I did get the Aiden caught in the ceiling once and I could not get him out and had to replay the segment. lol. I always find the a few snafu's.

Overall, I admit. maybe my expectations were a little higher in regards to the gameplay, but the story is fascinating, the acting top notch and atmosphere is in place in the various environments, thus far. Personally I am a soundtrack enthusiast and I liked the soundtrack in game, although the soundtrack that came with the signature edition was only 4 tracks. Wondering if they are considering releasing a complete track or if thats it. Ah well.

8 or an 8.5 is a reasonable score.

Regardless, a nice end to the PS3 era for exclusive games. Long live creativity whether it hits or misses the mark.

Keep playing!

Temjin001
Temjin001
8 years ago

I also thought the emphasis on action made it feel more needful of a more fleshed out mechanic. Somewhat similarly, I felt Uncharted 3's greater emphasis on hand to hand melee combat made me want more from that element of play as well.

Well, an 8 isn't bad and is better than the average. I sort of wonder if watching this through on YouTube may be enough for me. But I don't know, something seems ethically wrong about that haha

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
8 years ago

Please man, don't watch a video game, wait until it's $10 if you have to but don't sit there and watch some random playthrough. This one has a lot of endings too.

Temjin001
Temjin001
8 years ago

hehe I agree, World. I don't think I could bring myself to just watch it on youTube anyway. My gamer-mojo says that's just wrong.

Undertaker575
Undertaker575
8 years ago

Nice review, know what to expect now.. haven't been getting too excited for Beyond because of GTA coming out but i'll be picking this up sometime soon just before I get my ps4 hopefully

Corvo
Corvo
8 years ago

Combat is very confusing! If you decide to play, and you really should, be sure to be 100% into the game. Great review Ben. I hope the story doesn't fall apart later on though, I am very into the story.

yaaaamove
yaaaamove
8 years ago

Review was spot on. First time poster and have actually been following this site for a couple years. Email problems. haha.

Overall the game was great to watch, I watched the whole thing on youtube and twitch. Just wondering if it would have gone in chronological order and cut a few segments out of the game it would have gotten much higher reviews. Six different endings from what I have seen so far.

Games like the Last of Us, Journey, and Beyond Two Souls have garnered my interest a lot the past couple years. It has expanded my gaming library and my appreciation for great story games. Sad to say I have yet to play Heavy Rain.


Last edited by yaaaamove on 10/9/2013 1:48:38 AM

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
8 years ago

Welcome.

And Heavy Rain is a must. 🙂

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
8 years ago

I would not recommend watching them though, you miss that incredible personal intensity that QD works so hard to create.

AcHiLLiA
AcHiLLiA
8 years ago

ahh, you should've not watched any vids on youtube for this, kind of waste of money if you intend to buy this game. Btw good review it was fair, when I first saw the score I was a bit curious, but 8 still a good score, better than medicore anyday. Imo I just don't dig the one tenth scale.


Last edited by AcHiLLiA on 10/9/2013 2:21:24 PM

Hand_of_Sorrow
Hand_of_Sorrow
8 years ago

compared to the QTE in Heavy Rain, whats the reaction time like?

newchef
newchef
8 years ago

you get about a full 2 seconds to decide, might not sound like alot but i rarely ever had issues with it

OverBerg
OverBerg
8 years ago

Nice and thorough review, Ben.

B2S got delayed a day for me and is set to arrive tomorrow… stupid mail.
Obviously, an 8 is a really good score and I'm still glad I preordered…but, I was really hoping for more of a polished game than it seems like QD was able to achieve with this project (at least from reading reviews). That being said, not even David Bowie can produce a hit record every time. Some are just really good and some blow your mind :). I knew that QD was going to try a bit more action-oriented approach to this game (and I realized this could cause some issues), but I am mostly sad to see that the story can be "disjointed and un-involving." Heavy Rain is on a very short list for my #1 game of this generation, and the immersive story is a main reason for this.

Again, great review. Quantic Dream can always have my $$ as long as they keep trying to put out a product that pushes the boundaries (even if they might not be masterpieces every time).

Can't wait to play it.

greg238
greg238
8 years ago

I order this game off amazon still hasn't came in yet I still wanna play it hopefully it worth the 70 dollars I spent on it still wanna play heavy rain

Beamboom
Beamboom
8 years ago

Ok – this has "NOT FOR BEAMBOOM" written all over it. I won't even try. 🙂

I think what Cage and co do here is an important work in exploring where exactly we find the borderline, or rather the overlapping area between movie and game. As such this release should not be ignored by the insiders in the industry.

I've read a few other reviews too, and you definitely gave it one of the kinder ratings out there, Ben. But interestingly it seems everyone struggle with putting a rating on it. It looks as if the rating system defined for gaming is not suitable for this kind of release.

An interesting release, but my impression is that they this time have crossed the border and entered too far into movieland.


Last edited by Beamboom on 10/9/2013 3:38:00 AM

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
8 years ago

I did not give it one of the kinder ratings. GameSpot gave it a 9, PSU gave it a 9.5, NZGamer gave it a 9.4, PlayStation LifeStyle gave it an 8.5, and around a dozen sources gave it an 8.

It's averaging about a 7.5, and that's only because of major statistical outliers like the 4 from VideoGamer and the 5 from Edge.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
8 years ago

But maybe "movieland" is where QD belongs. The same thoughts were brought up with every QD title and this just seems to be what they do…

Edit: also Bens review is fair. Where most of the reviews that are of a lesser score faulted it mainly on its story telling type gameplay. Where IGN said something a along the lines of the idea that they would have rather watched the game had it been 8 and a half hours shorter. So to me they obviously just didnt connect with it. Regardless seems like Ben is right in the mix of all the reviews.


Last edited by bigrailer19 on 10/9/2013 11:21:44 AM

Beamboom
Beamboom
8 years ago

By all means, I don't mean to say it's not fair. Not at all. If I had meant so, I'd say so.

But metascore is what it is and usually you are very close to that metascore, Ben. It takes more than a couple of stray ratings when we talk about almost 40 reviews in total. Several major sites whom you usually are quite close to rated it notably lower:

GamesRadar: 70%
IGN: 60%
Eurogamer: 60%
Joystiq: 50%

But hey I'm just saying you gave it one of the kinder ratings – cause you did. It's not meant as an insult, just a conclusion.


Last edited by Beamboom on 10/9/2013 12:44:09 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
8 years ago

Although I feel like I have to tell people who ask me about this game (and about Heavy Rain) that it IS a trip into movie land, an interactive movie even, I'm never comfortable doing so.

The unique intensity that controlling these characters in their moments of life both peaceful and suspenseful provides isn't something you can get from a movie. The closest you'll come in our age is the movie "Gravity" but even that doesn't touch what Cage can make you feel with his setups.

Temjin001
Temjin001
8 years ago

It is a kinder rating. Those aren't statistical outliers he mentioned. The standard deviation formula is out there for those who want to calculate it. There is a fairly even distribution across the board.

Metacritic also uses a weighted aggregate. Smaller sites like PSXe or Metro Gamer Central do little to move the scale. Whereas sites like IGN have a maximum weight associated with their scoring.


Last edited by Temjin001 on 10/9/2013 1:14:39 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
8 years ago

IGN should have the weight of, say, a muskrat.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
8 years ago

If I can point to just as many higher scores than mine as you can point to lower scores (and I can, statistically speaking, in checking Metacritic and GameRankings), I fail to see how my score was "kinder."

Temjin, a 4 is a statistical outlier if the average is a 7.5. That's just a fact. And if there's an even distribution, I'm right in the middle of it.

No matter what I do, it seems there will be people who constantly accuse me of scoring PS3 exclusives higher than multiplats when in fact, most of the highest scores I've handed out have been to multiplats.


Last edited by Ben Dutka PSXE on 10/9/2013 1:19:18 PM

Beamboom
Beamboom
8 years ago

@World:
That's in the eye of the beholder, buddy. I think you are perfectly correct in telling people about that in regards to these games. As Ben am too, here in this review. It's a fair warning.

As for me personally I'd much rather just enjoy a story in FULL movie quality and real acting. Sit back in a comfy sofa with a bag of popcorn and just get immersed into the storyline they way it was intended to be told, rather than to sit there and fumble with friggin' QTEs and stuff that's only halting the progress of the story.

Either give me an actual part in the drama or let me fully enjoy it the way the director wanted to tell it. There's plenty room for both in my world of entertainment, but it's either/or. But that's me.


Last edited by Beamboom on 10/9/2013 1:36:59 PM

Temjin001
Temjin001
8 years ago

Ben it's based on over 2 standard deviations from the mean. The standard deviation in this case is big. That clump of 50's and 60's especially makes this so.
Have you taken a stats class?
I have.

and metacritic shows a 73 😉


Last edited by Temjin001 on 10/9/2013 1:25:08 PM

Temjin001
Temjin001
8 years ago

and to further illustrate this, if the majority of critics weighed in with 7's and 8's and the game averaged a 75. But then there was this gap, like a gap from say 60 to 40, then yes, a 40 in this case would likely be an outlier because the standard deviation is small.


Last edited by Temjin001 on 10/9/2013 1:35:08 PM

Temjin001
Temjin001
8 years ago

and I'll correct myself with 'kinder' rating. Ben's is a higher score than the average. Kinder to me suggests Ben took it easy on the game, which I don't think he did. I think he gave it what he thought it deserved.

Temjin001
Temjin001
8 years ago

and to correct myself further haha, the model i'm using is likened unto finding confidence levels in polling data. which is more or less the same idea as it would be used for IQR findings. it's a process of eliminating data anomalies. the term outlier by itself is arbitrary. but the term 'statistical outlier' is commonly used with a specific meaning in academia and any math major or statistics professional would perceive it as such.

Temjin001
Temjin001
8 years ago

yah, I'm nuts and waste time with spread sheets.
So I took all 64 reviews, double checked for accuracy, and created an avg. A true avg without weights. This is interesting.
All 64 produce an aggregate avg of 76.03 percent. Without the two 40's that are in contention the avg becomes 77.19. So compared with the 'weighted' avg, where IGN is worth more than, say, here Metacritic shows a 73 percent. Interesting eh?

So Ben's review is only a bit a higher than the true avg. with all critics being considered equal.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
8 years ago

Yes. I thought I already said that. 😉

Beamboom
Beamboom
8 years ago

lol – of all the things I said in the original post, and we end up discussing if a rating higher than average is fair to be be described as "kinder" or not. In depth.

Only on the internet. 😀


Last edited by Beamboom on 10/10/2013 4:40:45 AM

Underdog15
Underdog15
8 years ago

Sounds like a fun conversation around a table of Euchre and Scotch to me. Not only on the internet.

Akuma_
Akuma_
8 years ago

Ausgamers.com gave it 2.5/10

Lol.

kraygen
kraygen
8 years ago

Well I've only played the demo, but it looks like this is exactly what I experienced. I'll be honest, only read the good, bad, and ugly because I don't like to get much info on games I really looking forward to.

I'm hoping by the time I buy it they may have updated it to make the combat more manageable. The control just didn't seem as precise as Heavy Rain, they're obviously quite a bit different, but I found Beyond a little off.

Vivi_Gamer
Vivi_Gamer
8 years ago

We don't get our release in Europe until Friday, but the demo is out so most of us have had a chance to play it now. I also had a problem with the QTE prompts. Especially that training mission, as you said it is very difficult to decide when to press forward to block, or down to evade. I thought it might be just the training mision but the other sequence I played on the train I had a similar problem and it gets really annoying when you press and action to be told its incorrect – especially in an action sequence.

It does sound like a cop out that Ellie can just be revied… hence no game over. Obviously in Hevay Rain you had more characters so when one would rach their demise the story could go on. But in having the story focus around just one person, I guess there would be no reason to follow Dafoes'l character if Jodie were too die.

I also didn't know about the Pulp Fiction styled presentation. I haven't played it, but I would have liked to have seen the Jodie grow from Young to old. It was disorientating on the demo but I thought that was for demonstration purposes…

I'm not to disheartend from the reactions, its something I still want to experience myself this year so I won't go cancelling my pre-order or anthing dramtic like so. But I hope the story isnt so narrow as everyone has stated, something I can only figure out on a 2nd playthrough.

___________
___________
8 years ago

i was really worried this was going to be overshadowed by its ambition and complexity, and sadly looks like i was right.
its a shame they had to push it out so quickly, i mean heavy rain took them so much longer to do and its not half as ambitious as this!
really wish this was moved to a ps4 title that way they could of had a little extra time to work on it.

PlatformGamerNZ
PlatformGamerNZ
8 years ago

well atleast its a great game with an 8 and it sounds like a david cage prodcution witht the story and such i mean it's sounds like what i expexted.

happy gaming =)

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
8 years ago

See, this is one of those games that I really want to get into, formulate my own opinions and discuss fully. Opinions on it are varying all over the place based on what I've already read and seen, and I've read of more than a few people writing it off due to the 5/6 scores posted by sites like IGN, Eurogamer and Edge. The criticisms that each of those brings to light seem valid – they seem as though they're carry-on issues that haven't really been ironed out since Heavy Rain, but the issue, as I see it, lies in quantifying something like this.

There is absolutely nothing else like Beyond out there. Quite a few indie games have similar narrative ideas, but they aren't presented the same way and the AAA market is completely devoid of Beyond's ilk, so there is no basis for comparison, really.

With that being said, a really great review Ben. Glad to see a full explanation of the reasoning behind your score and I'm itching to try out the full game for myself now.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
8 years ago

I agree, I think the mixed reviews are a byproduct of the reviewers not quite knowing or feeling what the main purpose of the game is, which is outside the norm for any game and separate from Heavy Rain.

Temjin001
Temjin001
8 years ago

yes, this game has such a huge span of ratings it's nuts. I can't recall one in recent memory quite like it. But of the one's I've read, there does seem to be a lot of similarities in pros and cons found in the body of their evaluation, even with the scores varying as they do. I think it was IGN's editor who noted that he never had such a hard time trying to affix a score to a game. Though, many seem to recognize Cage's mission and effort with this one.

homura
homura
8 years ago

Nice review. I'll definitely get this sometime down the road. I can deal with the wonky controls as long as the story is very captivating. I just love beautiful stories. I even want to try visual novels from Japan someday.

Snaaaake
Snaaaake
8 years ago

Really enjoyed the demo, will be getting this.

And I already know that Ellen Page is a beautiful woman, but I never knew she'd look so amazing in a game.

mk ultra
mk ultra
8 years ago

A seemingly fair review, as i have yet to play it. Was hoping it would impact you like HR, just because of the amazing review it generated from you. Seriously i think that was the best written review for a game ever, by anyone. That's not to say your other reviews are not well written, but i think you get my point.

I still have my copy in the shrink wrap. I really want to start it up, but i'm making myself finish some other games first so this is the only game on my plate when i play it. QD games require my full attention and i try to play them in as few sessions as possible so i remember everything when the credits roll.

MRSUCCESS
MRSUCCESS
8 years ago

From what I have seen, read about the game it looks very well and coming from a gamer who loves a lot of cut scenes (MGS FTW) and appreciates a good story I'm going to have to keep the money in my wallet for the time being. My sixth sense tells me to hold off on it. I'm still enjoying Grand Theft Auto 5 which doesn't get a lot of time during the weekdays.

Quantic Dream deserves to do well and as ironic as may it sound, I just might wait for black friday or next year to purchase this one. At this moment I'm looking forward to Castlevania and Grand Turismo and of course Dark Souls 2.


Last edited by MRSUCCESS on 10/9/2013 8:55:38 AM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
8 years ago

8 is pretty good I'm looking forward to my copy on Thursday. I'm thinking based on this review and the demo that it will achieve what it set out to do for players as far as creating that special unique personal stress that QD games do. I wonder if Cage and co weren't a little pressed for time on this one though.


Last edited by WorldEndsWithMe on 10/9/2013 9:17:17 AM

Simcoe
Simcoe
8 years ago

"The Last of Us" for game of the year then I suppose.

telly
telly
8 years ago

I heartily concur. It was probably between it and GTA V, and while it's the best GTA yet and a fine game, the Last of Us was something special and unprecedented.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
8 years ago

It's lookin that way, there's always GT6 though.

Jalex
Jalex
8 years ago

I've only put around 4 hours into it so far, and I decided to check the reviews. Definitely baffled by most of them.
The game so far delivers exactly the kind of experience I was anticipating. The hand-to-hand combat and flashbacks took some getting used to at first, but I only had problems initially. Really, this seems to be at least of the same caliber as 'Heavy Rain.'

PC_Max
PC_Max
8 years ago

I will be honest here. I really think many gamers out there wanted this game to fail. Xbox fanboys immediately starting trashing it, even diehard GTA fans were trashing it, many not having even played it. When I say many… I mean the very vocal. I am sure most don't care and just want to play their game.

But it was as if many wanted this fail regardless.

Like I have said above, I am enjoying it. Its a different form of gameplay and its an interesting story. As for some not identifying with the characters or being immersed… it might not be their game. I did not feel immersed in Skyrim. I enjoyed it mostly for the genre it is, regardless of ALL the major bugs and issues. Not the best game I have ever played and not the worst either.

Gamers are tickled and these days. Anyway, if you are enjoying the game, then Cage succeeded. I think he did for me. He is trying something that others are scared to do financially. Be creative and explore the possibilities. I am sure GTA5 is a good game for those fans, but from what I have seen… its just one big sim game with the focus on violence. No diff than CoD. BUT if they are enjoying it… then Rockstar and others succeeded for them too.

Keep playing whatever gives you gaming enjoyment!

Night_train80
Night_train80
8 years ago

Well I have my copy in hand but haven't played it yet. Is it weird/sad when a review score of an 8 seems disappointing? I still look forward to the experience but damn my high expectations!