Graphics:
8.0
Gameplay:
8.4
Sound:
8.8
Control:
8.9
Replay Value:
8.3
Online Gameplay:
8.7
Overall Rating:
8.5
Publisher:
Activision
Developer:
Eurocom Entertainment
Number Of Players:
1-16
Genre:
FPS


Now, I did not play GoldenEye 007 when it came out for the Nintendo 64, and that’s because I hated that system. So at first, I thought I wouldn’t be the right person to review this new version. But there are two facts to consider: firstly, GoldenEye 007: Reloaded really isn’t exactly like its classic predecessor; in fact, the difference is drastic. Secondly, shouldn’t Activision want to cater to gamers who might enjoy a rebuffed gem…? Ala me? If you don't agree, ignore this review. 🙂

It’s about standing the test of time, and those who weren’t in love with the first game won’t be biased, right? From a visual standpoint, I’d have to say that Eurocom did a bang-up job, giving us a proper modern presentation that respects the old-school style without sacrificing polish. The effects and detail are surprisingly good in some places, and the fantastic diversity (exhibited throughout the game, in all respects) forces the developers to maintain that impressive atmosphere at all times. Some of the environments look a little bland but let’s not nitpick.

Sound-wise, we get the expected solid voice acting, a gripping orchestral score reminiscent of the movies, and a solid set of special effects that enhance both the quiet and explosive elements. Strangely, though, they removed Pierce Brosnan and replaced him with current Bond guy, Daniel Craig. Not that it’s a problem from an audio standpoint – both are fine actors – but I just found it a little odd. Like the graphics, not everything is rosy and glittering but again, I’m not gonna get anal.

For those of you looking for a complete, diverse campaign that is highly rewarding, look no further. Although everyone remembers the multiplayer fun they had with GoldenEye , this is one game that thrives on its single-player adventure. Featuring vehicles, multiple difficulty levels (Classic 007 changes the game entirely, as your health won’t regenerate), and player choice, this is exactly what most are looking for. You can be stealthy or go in guns-a-blazin’, and there are plenty of awesome weapons.

The control is super smooth and extremely reliable; about as good as you’re going to get without the heavier, more realistic physics we’re accustomed to these days. But speaking of which, I have to say, some will complain about the outdated feel: the AI isn’t great, there isn’t anything flashy about the combat itself, and blood won’t be flying. It just doesn’t match the white-knuckle intensity and gripping, movie-scriped drama of current campaigns like Battlefield 3 and Killzone 3 .

So in that respect, those who really don’t care that we’re looking at a nostalgic romp may be disappointed. But I’m not disappointed in the slightest. Sure, it feels a little light and can’t measure up in terms of sheer flash and panache, but it makes up for that lacking with rock solid, entertaining gameplay. The variety of the missions, the patented Bond atmosphere, and the great pacing of the campaign kept me coming back for more, even with a ton of other modern productions to play.

If you jump online, you can play with up to 15 other players. Those sharp controls remain and the fun just never stops; you’ll unlock new gadgets and weapons, and the maps are fantastic. As I understand it, there are more maps and modes than GoldenEye has ever seen, so this robust, rewarding multiplayer is once again a big draw. You can also play offline with up to three buddies, and you can fiddle with options (sticky grenades!) and other cool modifiers.

Honestly, if some of you are wondering why this game costs $60, it’s because it has more content than you think. The multiplayer is awesome enough, but the campaign could take you close on to 12 hours, and it’s just great . Yeah, the AI is old-fashioned and the story isn’t overly compelling, but there’s always something new to do. I didn’t particularly like looking around for intelligence because the photo target can be hard to locate with your Smartphone, but other than that… Great fun. It just flows so nicely and over time, becomes quite addictive.

Also, don’t forget about the brand new Mi6 Ops mode, which offers single-player challenges that have sort of replaced the Time Trials (those are gone, by the way). You have to complete a specific objective in the new mode, and your rating depends on your quickness and efficiency. The missions here aren’t quite as intriguing as the objectives in the campaign, but they add depth. Basically, you could spend a ton of time with the Mi6 Ops missions, multiplayer, and distinct difficulty levels in the campaign. So yeah, it’s a complete package.

I didn’t play GoldenEye back in the day. But this is a pretty great game overall, despite the fact that it doesn’t have the “oomph” of current productions. The diversity and pacing is appreciated, the control is spot-on, the weapons are great, and the campaign is completely satisfying. The multiplayer is crazy entertaining and the Mi6 Ops mode adds plenty to the experience. I don’t like a few of the elements and features but mostly, I enjoyed myself. Nothin’ wrong with that.

The Good: Great Bond-esque atmosphere. Top-notch voices. Diverse, satisfying campaign. Smooth control. Blend of stealth and action is awesome. Multiplayer is a blast. Lots of good content.

The Bad: Graphics can seem flat at times. AI is outdated. Lack of flash, and a few less-than-impressive gameplay elements.

The Ugly: “Nothing ugly about an overhauled classic, especially when it’s done right.”

Subscribe
Notify of
27 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Geobaldi
Geobaldi
10 years ago

The original is still one of my favorite shooters of all time, and I still play the updated Source version on the PC pretty regularly. I'll probably pick this one up at some point as well.

Temjin001
Temjin001
10 years ago

I'm going to have to try this game. I wasn't planning on it. I love the idea of playing Bond games. They just need to be done right in order for me to do so. This game looks to be netting solid scores across the board.

N64 had 4 games I liked a lot, ultimately giving me enough value to not have regretted owning the system.

Mario 64
Zelda OoT
GoldenEye
Pilotwings

Most everything else just wasn't doing it for me. But ironically enough, Mario, Zelda, and Goldeneye were all in my top 10 for that console generation, shared with games like Tekken 3, MGS and Gran Turismo.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Zelda was enough reason to own that system

daus26
daus26
10 years ago

Have you played Donkey Kong 64 and Banjo Kazooie series? I thought they're as fun as Mario 64 and Zelda in terms of 3D adventure. I absolutely was amazed by all the 3D adventure games on the N64.

Warrior Poet
Warrior Poet
10 years ago

Hating N64? Shame on you. A lot of people who haven't looked into it think there aren't many good games, but there are 20 or 30 that are worth playing. I mean, that's less than 500 on the PS2, but it's still worth having. Other than the obvious Zelda and Mario games, there's Ogre Battle 64, Paper Mario, Starfox, really cool Tetris and Dr Mario 64, Bomberman, and a lot more.

I don't have one, actually. Haha. But I know someone who has since it came out, and he still doesn't have everything he wants for it 😉

I'll have to look into this one, though. I like the Bond-style four-player shooters on PS2. They were awful, but really entertaining.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Sorry, I was in my hardcore RPG days during that era. And the N64 had zero RPGs. 😉

I also despised that controller. 'gags' The whole thing felt like a giant letdown after the glory that was the SNES. And while people will say there were some good games, I still say they came out with about one or two a year for six years.

Underdog15
Underdog15
10 years ago

My problem with the N64 controller was the 3 handles… Cause… I only have 2 hands. And those yellow buttons are sort of out of the way.

Z button was convenient, though.

Believe it or not, although I had a N64, I didn't play it much until I was in university, which was early-mid PS2 era. Me and the dorm-mates played a TON of Smash Bros and Mario Kart.

Excelsior1
Excelsior1
10 years ago

don't forget about perfect dark guys. i also remember a fun star wars game that came with my n64…shadows of the empire. there was another game from rare that i liked. banjo something. rare had some smashing stuff for the n64. too bad ms bought them and has them reduced to medicore kinect shovel ware. what a waste.


Last edited by Excelsior1 on 11/3/2011 10:16:34 PM

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

Excelsior1,
It was Banjo Kazooie.

Some of the others I liked that weren't already mentioned above, were…
Bio Freaks
Blast Corps
Clay Fighter
Jet Force Gemini
Lode Runner
Wetrix

LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
10 years ago

Starfox. The epitome of all games on N64

gumbi
gumbi
10 years ago

Do a barrel roll!!!

Underdog15
Underdog15
10 years ago

I loved how doing a barrel roll would somehow deflect slow moving bullets.

Dancemachine55
Dancemachine55
10 years ago

If I wanna play Goldeneye again, it'll most likely be this one.

Goldeneye on N64 gave me some of my greatest memories playing it at other peoples places. Since I had a PS1, playing Goldeneye on N64 was a real treat when I visited friends.

Looking back at the control scheme, graphics and physics (which were incredible for their time!!) I feel like Goldeneye on N64 should remain a beautiful memory and not be spoilt with a recent playthrough only to realise how awkward or broken some elements were compared to FPS' of today.

Youtube videos of the original Goldeneye don't hurt. 🙂

godsdream
godsdream
10 years ago

I remember that was my first FPS ever. It was fun. Then time passed I played Counter Strike for like 5 years fighting for a place in WCG (World Cyber Games) and my FPS life was screwed. I now have only interest in those that are different like Bioshock or others that are proved to have more than killing ala Rambo and explosions. Or maybe I'm just getting older :S

___________
___________
10 years ago

really wanted to enjoy this on the wii last year but it was like rubbing glass into my eyes so i should really enjoy this!
have to wait till next year though, far too many other games keeping my busy.
really cheap though, i saw it at 9 days ago at JB for 60 bucks!
38 bucks less then what EB wanted for it as usual EB and game are freaking rip offs!

daus26
daus26
10 years ago

I thought the N64 was an amazing system. It was the staple of Nintendo's legendary franchise to go into 3D environment gaming, and it's safe to say it was done exceptionally well. It's graphics was actually pretty good too.

Goldeneye was no exception either. It was such an incredible experience that I think it'd be blasphemy to not credit Nintendo for a great console that introduced a lot of gaming plateau in fps and adventure. Although while Nintendo did that, Playstation created a new plateau in RPG games, action adventures like MGS and Tomb Raider, and racing games like Gran Turismo, NFS, and Test Drive. So yeah, Playstation was great, but Nintendo at that time also had great things PS didn't have.

Well that's how I look at it. Nintendo 64 was definitely an important and memorable part of my gaming history, as was the SNES. I think I may give this game a go cause of that. I remember dying so many times by my friend's set-up mines.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Bah. 🙂

Danny007
Danny007
10 years ago

I'm glad this wasn't just a crappy port. Hopefully the next Bond game has some nice gadgets though.

gumbi
gumbi
10 years ago

I haven't been much for shooters this gen, or even last gen… but when GoldenEye came out for 64 man I dumped a lot of hours in to it. I remember split screen 4-players on my awesome 23" RCA tube TV.

I may need to get this game… on principle alone. If this is gonna be a theme of reviving 64 classics, I'd love to see Star Wars: Shadows of the Empire get the same treatment.

Aerifale
Aerifale
10 years ago

I'm very surprised at how this game turned out. Pleasantly surprised of course 🙂

Robochic
Robochic
10 years ago

Great review, loved N64 I always played on my friends mostly Zelda and Golden Eye and Mario ah to be a kid again LOL

Kingharris
Kingharris
10 years ago

The original on N64, those were the day

Amnesiac
Amnesiac
10 years ago

My friends and I played Goldeneye a lot back in those days, and on occasion we still have a quality Bond session. Good times I still find it to be a satisfying accomplishment to beat the game on 007 mode and master every target time.
The only thing I hope for in this redo is to have an option to adjust the analog sensitivity. Those of us who enjoyed playing the N64 still feel that was the most efficient controller. I'm always surprised by the negative comments I tend to hear from people that couldn't wrap their heads around the simplicity that was the analog and trigger on one hand and the directional on the other.
In other words for all the pc people out who should have figured it out——–
Having your hand on the analog&trigger part is the same ideology as using the common mouse.
And Using the C buttons?
Well that was nintendo's way of utilizing WASD
but everyone complained about it. Now its not even a option in the "classic controller series" for the Wii. I would have been much more enthused if it had been the first time this Goldeneye game came out on the Wii.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

"Now, I did not play GoldenEye 007 when it came out for the Nintendo 64 because I hated that system"

Lol, the N64 was awesome. As was Goldeneye, Ocarina of Time, Mario 64, and many more. Goldeneye was the breakthrough for FPS's on consoles in my opinion. Spent countless hours playing the MP with my friends before we moved onto Counter Strike.


Last edited by Jawknee on 11/5/2011 9:31:23 AM

rounan
rounan
10 years ago

welcome to our website:
w w w . y a h c c . u s

50%off ca,ed hardy t-shirt$15 jeans,coach handbag$33,air max90,dunk,polo t-shirt$13,,lacoste t-shirt $13 air jordan for sale,l nba jersy for sale sale,$35,nfl nba jersy for sale
and so on..
if you like to order anything you like.
More details,
please just browse our website Quality is our Dignity;
Service is our Lift.
enjoy yourself.
thank you!!

w w w . y a h c c . u s

fendo
fendo
10 years ago

welcome to our website:
w w w . y a h c c . u s

50%off ca,ed hardy t-shirt$15 jeans,coach handbag$33,air max90,dunk,polo t-shirt$13,,lacoste t-shirt $13 air jordan for sale,l nba jersy for sale sale,$35,nfl nba jersy for sale
and so on..
if you like to order anything you like.
More details,
please just browse our website Quality is our Dignity;
Service is our Lift.
enjoy yourself.
thank you!!

w w w . y a h c c . u s

ColonelKain
ColonelKain
10 years ago

Did anyone play Body Harvest on the N64? That game was epic.