Graphics:
9.2
Gameplay:
8.7
Sound:
9.3
Control:
8.8
Replay Value:
9.0
Online Gameplay:
9.5
Overall Rating:
9.0
Publisher:
EA
Developer:
DICE
Number Of Players:
1-24
Genre:
FPS


It won all sorts of E3 awards. It’s EA’s big dog; the game that will steal away part of Call of Duty ’s market share. The PC footage we saw earlier this year blew us out of our chairs. And now that it’s here, shooter fans everywhere are prepared for a groundbreaking experience. Well, the multiplayer, despite a few technical issues I’m assuming will be fixed presently, stands out in a number of different ways, and the campaign is super intense. It just falls a little shy of the, “damn, this is some next-level sh**!” that I had expected.

Much has been made about the graphics, so I’m going to spend a little extra time on this category. There’s no doubt that it’s one of the best looking games of the generation; the lighting is superb, the particle effects and intricate details are extremely impressive, and the atmosphere really is second-to-none. That Frostbite 2.0 engine is an absolute beast. It provides us with an invigorating, white-knuckle military atmosphere that keeps us rooted to the spot, wondering what’s going to happen next. In truth, you really shouldn’t be disappointed.

But let’s talk expectations for a minute. This is not the PC footage we saw, and it’s obvious. There’s more pop-in than I had anticipated, and the PS3 version definitely has some screen-tearing issues. While the textures are arguably better than RAGE , and the latter also suffered from plenty of pop-in, id Software’s product felt more like a refined painting in which we reveled at the extreme sophistication. DICE’s production is beautiful as well but with so much going on, we’re often forced to notice those small console drawbacks. This is still awfully pretty, though.

The audio is a definite highlight, even more so than the visual presentation, in my opinion. The satisfying, crystal-clear crack of your weapon – bolstered by the very distinct sound of each weapon type – and the whiz and crunch of bullets is fantastic. The cries of your allies, ranging from whispered orders to panicked yells, is very realistic, and the soundtrack rocks. The latter is a tad repetitive, though, and the enemy dialogue isn’t as accomplished as the ally voice work. That being said, you definitely want surround sound or a good headset for this bad boy.

With such a mammoth title, I was looking for two things: an excellent campaign that leaves me breathless and the robust, singular multiplayer experience that is undoubtedly the primary reason most gamers are forking over their cash. For the latter, I think DICE has succeeded beautifully with a few small exceptions and for the former, I maintain that it’s a worthy campaign and one well worth playing. However, it just didn’t reach that pinnacle of single-player action I wholeheartedly expected.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s still wicked intense. In fact, I dare say it’s maybe the first military shooter where I actually felt frightened and on-edge; in some situations, I actually had to battle my nerves. That really doesn’t happen to me anymore, so this is a testament to the realism and immersion one enjoys when tackling the campaign. The vehicles are part of the patented DICE flair, and it’s great that the controls and mechanics for most every element are very well implemented and plenty accessible.

The pacing and style is that of a typical Hollywood blockbuster: lots of stuff blows up, there’s a constant sense of danger, and the faceless terrorists are dead-eyes but in general, aren’t very bright. This last point brings me to the first flaw; the AI sort of let me down. Other shooters this year have already exhibited smarter enemy intelligence, and that includes Killzone 3 , RAGE , and even Resistance 3 . The foes in BF3 will run for cover, but that’s about it. There isn’t much in the way of flanking, dodging, strategy, etc.

Plus, the other surprising old-fashioned aspect of the gameplay is that regardless of how many allies you have around you, the enemy will always fire at you. Man, I thought we had left this behind. But it’s still here and unfortunately, it detracts from the ultimate accuracy and realism DICE was going for; since when am I the only one on the battlefield? Lastly, I have to say that the story really isn’t anything special. It’s well presented and the voice performances are great, but it feels more like a vehicle for the nonstop action rather than an actual narrative.

Thankfully, the positive aspects greatly outweigh the negative in the campaign, because you always feel pumped. It just never lets up and that’s part of the appeal. The vehicles are awesome; I preferred being the gunner in a jet (you could see more of the unbelievable scenery), and other military vehicles are sweet. Oh, and we can finally go prone in a Battlefield title, which was a necessary addition for the sake of that aforementioned realism.

But it’s the multiplayer where gamers will get the most bang for their buck. Indeed, it’s crazy meaty and sadly for single-player lovers, sort of makes the campaign feel more like a tutorial than anything else. It’s all about teamwork in BF3 online and when everybody works together like a smoothly oiled machine, it’s the closest you’re going to get to a virtual warzone feel and sensation. The Battlelog is an excellent feature, as it keeps you updated on just about everything, including the unlocks that are heading your way.

You can upgrade in a million different ways. This goes well beyond simply gunning down other players; the vehicular aspect by itself makes the BF3 multiplayer unique. But you can also assist downed teammates, and unlocking everything is gonna take a significant chunk of time. That’s because there are independent unlock routes for every class, vehicle and weapon, and you can gain experience for any/all of them based on a round’s performance. Maybe you ran around resurrecting fallen allies with your defibrillator or maybe you were a sniper extraordinaire.

Whatever you decide to do, you can always expect deep, satisfying multiplayer action, round in and round out. DICE really seems to have thought of everything. You’re familiar with getting a little experience for an Assist, but have you ever been rewarded simply for keeping an enemy pinned in one spot until a friend can take him out? And did you know that while he’s pinned, he has to deal with blurred vision? The combination of the fantastic vehicular element and teamwork keeps it all fresh.

Battlefield 3 is a powerful shooter that tries its damndest to suck you in, to keep you saying, “woah, look at that !” In so many ways, it succeeds. I think the campaign will take too much flak for the problems I noted here, but the bottom line is that it’s a thrilling ride from start to finish. The campaign is about 7-8 hours, but I’m sure everyone cares most about the multiplayer, which is like nothing else out there. I didn’t play the beta; I know it had issues, but this seems just fine to me.

Maybe it’s the day-one patch they implemented that made it more stable. I did get stuck near a jeep once and the game froze, too, but through many hours of playing today, I didn’t find much to get in a twist about. The somewhat clichéd and uninspired narrative, disappointing AI, and graphical sacrifices clearly made for the console versions might drop this one down in your estimation, especially given all the PC footage we’ve seen. And if you’re a CoD fan, you really might dislike the multiplayer, as it’s a different experience. But overall, Battlefield 3 is a winner.

It just isn’t quite the massive elite shooter that outstrips all other FPSs in every category. If you can deal with that, I’m sure you’ll be happy.

The Good: Gripping, highly detailed visual presentation. Audio is gritty; voice work is excellent. Intensity is off the charts. Great control and feel. Multiple vehicles add a huge amount of flavor. Multiplayer is a robust, complete experience.

The Bad: Pop-in and screen-tearing issues. Outdated AI that doesn’t often acknowledge your allies. Storyline is lacking.

The Ugly: “Yeah, I’m the only out here. Mm-hm.”

Subscribe
Notify of
124 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Zemus101
Zemus101
9 years ago

Great review Ben! Been playing some campaign and lots of multiplayer today. Enjoying myself for the most part. I am finding the campaign to be extremely difficult! Most likely because of the odd AI and now I know it's also because they're just shooting at me, and not at my mates! I was just thinking they had ridiculous accuracy or something. Anyways, I'm gonna keep trudging through…


Last edited by Zemus101 on 10/25/2011 9:31:56 PM

NonProphet
NonProphet
9 years ago

I wasn't expecting much from the campaign mode, so the fact that its a got some issues is not a surprise. A solid storyline is not really Dice's strength. I'll give it a whirl at some point regardless. However, the multiplayer sounds fantastic (at least for a fan of the series), so I'm very pleased that it has turned out well. As noted in the review, that's where most fans will head immediately, so congrats to Dice for nailing that portion of the game.

Also, I'm looking for a Battlefield clan to join, so if anyone is recruiting, or has space on their team, let me know. My psn name is: goldendutch. Thanks.


Last edited by NonProphet on 10/25/2011 9:38:12 PM

Temjin001
Temjin001
9 years ago

Sounds like a good sequel and perhaps MW3 will have to stretch itself to top a 9.0.

Anyway, I'm having too much fun with Batman right now to take it back early for this (I have a game pass at blockbuster). Though, I will return Batman, finished or not, for Uncharted 3 =)

Shams
Shams
9 years ago

Arkham City is really growing on me, something the prequel didn't manage to do. So, I'm keeping it, and playing on hard difficulty (something i do with all games I keep in order to master the mechanics, and relish the experience). I really think Rocksteady should be commended. With COD's and Battlefields monopolizing all brand name recognition in the minds of the masses, and on the other side, the likes of Rockstar and Ubisoft taking up what little market space is left for single player experiences, it is both impressive and relieving to know that a premier studio like Rocksteady has been rewarded for the creative risks they have taken, and rewarded in droves. Arkham City is not only the best comic book hero game, but IMO, it is the best use of license, the best implementation of Unreal engine, the best beat'um up in recent memory, and if it's not the best open world game, it definitely is among the best, sporting the most content, thickest atmosphere, best voice acting, and best puzzles, and best mallet. Hopefully in the next installment, we'll be driving around in the batmobile and barreling in the batwing.

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
9 years ago

This should keep me busy till Uncharted 3 and then some

tes37
tes37
9 years ago

I got my copy today, but all I've done is redeem the code. I was too tired after work to play any of it.

I usually play all my games on normal difficulty. So I'm assuming I will also encounter the same lone wolf feeling even if surrounded by allies. Maybe it will make a better player out of me when I go online for the multiplayer.

I had a few local friends back out on getting it at the last minute. I was really looking forward to playing with people I personally know because I would've been more comfortable about bad decisions that I'm bound to make. Oh well, you can't always get what you want.

PasteNuggs
PasteNuggs
9 years ago

Great review as always. I also had the game freeze on my once when i was hopping over a wall during a checkpoint. I clocked the campaign in six hours on normal. I went to the midnight launch for it. My first one ever because I someone had today off from work.

wenezz
wenezz
9 years ago

i have a feeling that mw3 will get a 9.5 for a great story…. now if the story sucks, they'll probably get an 8.0.

i could be wrong; but lets see.

sirbob6
sirbob6
9 years ago

MW3, good story?

… seems doubtful. It'll probably be a Micheal Bay styled America kills the Commies/terrorist story complete with countless explosions, twist that make no sense, and another head scratching cliffhanger ending. Simply an excuse to show off some cool special effects and improbable action scenes.

Nas Is Like
Nas Is Like
9 years ago

Been waiting for this review for a few days now, and was expecting a solid 9/10.

Nice job on the review. I just got the game game today and am having a blast with it.

Nas Is Like
Nas Is Like
9 years ago

And yeah those screen-tearing issues got to me too. I thought it was lag on my part but it wasn't.

Wraith
Wraith
9 years ago

Great review. I'm slightly disappointed about the storyline but a 9 is great nonetheless.

NiteKrawler
NiteKrawler
9 years ago

Could you not go prone in Bad Company 1 and 2? I know you could in BF2, at least on PC…

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

I'm pretty sure you couldn't.

Geobaldi
Geobaldi
9 years ago

There was no prone in the Bad Company series or 1943, just the main series.

johnld
johnld
9 years ago

i kinda liked the no prone in bad company. it just seems like prone will make snipers a little overpowered since they'll be harder to spot. imagine trying to spot the sniper shooting at you from a distance in some bushes.

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

You won't need to spot them, the scope glare will make it easier to spot them at any distance. If you can't get them out throw a grenade or rocket him out. 🙂

Geobaldi
Geobaldi
9 years ago

But the scope glare only appears if they use a scope that's 8x or higher.

herronhero
herronhero
9 years ago

BattleField 3 sucks. Nothing but sniping and camping. It's hard to imagine this game would steal any of the CoD crowd as it is a completely different game style. Battlefield 3 is designed for people who like to sit in one spot and stare for 5 minutes without doing anything. If that's what your in to great for you but you do not play MW2 or BlackOps. Personally I give it a 2/10 (the 2 is for the amazing graphics only). If you enjoy the CoD games then don't waste your money on this.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

You have no clue what you're talking about. If you try camping in the campaign, nothing will happen. You'll just die eventually.

And if you know how to play the multiplayer, you'll find that people who actually know how to function get the most out of the experience. I also fail to see where camping and sniping come into play with vehicles. I forget, does CoD have a lot of that?

If you only signed up to troll in reviews, don't bother to post. You don't fit in this community.


Last edited by Ben Dutka PSXE on 10/26/2011 12:30:51 AM

godsdream
godsdream
9 years ago

@herronhero WTH are you talking about?? OK you're probably 8 years old.

Nice review, looking forward to this game, but I think I'll wait for it to get cheaper. I now have a lot of games in front of this one.

Geobaldi
Geobaldi
9 years ago

@herronhero Obviously you don't know how to play and/or know what you're doing.

Jawknee
Jawknee
9 years ago

LOL! You just suck….or you don't own the game are just came here to troll. I've been playing capture the flag and haven't run into any of the problems you claim.

Troll harder…

Nas Is Like
Nas Is Like
9 years ago

While I disagree with herronhero's opinion, I do respect it. We are all entitled to our own opinions, after all.

With that said, it does look like a troll attempt. And if it is, then it's best to avoid guys like him. Giving them attention is just adding fuel to a fire. Don't take them seriously, avoid them, and move on with your life.

The Doom
The Doom
9 years ago

@Nas Is Like
Just because its an opinion doesn't mean its a good one. It's obviously flame bait since it was outright bashing the score and nothing constructive.

slugga_status
slugga_status
9 years ago

As a person still on the fence between BF3 and MW3, I have to wonder what you're talking about..Sniping and Camping is going to be apart of any FPS multiplayer game that you play.

The only thing I disagree with in your comment is that you make it seem as if CoD isn't filled with campers and snipers. CoD you even get spawn camped..That's just the truth..CoD is the definition of a twitcher. If you don't like a realistic shooter than just say it's not your cup of tea don't bash it.

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

@herronhero

You are forgetting that a lot of camping happens in CoD. Trust me I've seen a lot of it. CoD isn't camp free, no FPS game is anyway.


Last edited by Clamedeus on 10/26/2011 11:03:32 AM

Underdog15
Underdog15
9 years ago

Opinions worth respecting, also respect others… they also provide actual feedback. Not general claims based on nothing.

johnld
johnld
9 years ago

hahaha, hes confusing call of duty with battlefield. theres a hell of a lot more campers in call of duty and the maps are a lot smaller too. i may use the sniper rifle in call of duty but i use an automatic one then use it like an assault rifle.


Last edited by johnld on 10/26/2011 5:47:15 PM

herronhero
herronhero
9 years ago

I didn't sign up to troll. Once started in the game its hard to spawn without getting sniped. It's hard to walk through the halls of the subway without someone sitting in a corner or someone at the far end sniping you. I played for 4 hours after a friend convinced me that the hosted servers that EA has was worth the other drawbacks mentioned above (that is my major complaint with the CoD games). After 4 hours I called up a friend who wanted the game but didn't have the money and gave it to him. He is another CoD player so I am willing to bet he gives it back to me tomorrow. It's slow, the maps are huge, the hit detection is not very good, and nothing but people sitting in shadows (or upstairs) or sitting a mile away sniping targets.

The vehicles are not a positive and really distract from a FPS. They have them because the maps are way to large. I am not sorry that I found the game horrible. I am certain that within a few days you will find there a lot more people who feel about this game the same way I do. I will just continue to play BlackOps for 2 more weeks and then get MW3. Like I said before if you are into the campy, snipy games go for it you will have a great time.

PasteNuggs
PasteNuggs
9 years ago

Hmmm, I've played the battlefield series quite extensively with the same three friends and we don't camp. Three of us move around the map together while our sniper is farther away but still constantly moving. Therefore I find your point invalid and quite frankly stupid. Just because Battlefield actually requires thought doesn't mean it is a bad game.

Beamboom
Beamboom
9 years ago

Are the maps THAT large? Wow… This is indeed my kind of game then. Can't wait!

(and ps: You don't look to be a troll to me. You were just a bit unlucky with your introduction in regards to the established way of putting things around here. You'll get the hang of it eventually. Welcome!)


Last edited by Beamboom on 10/26/2011 8:02:11 AM

Monkeysnarf
Monkeysnarf
9 years ago

We should all ease up off of herronhero for just a sec. I don't think he's just talking to be inflammatory.

I’ve only played the game a few hours so far, no single player just jumped straight into online, and I’m not sure if I can recommend it to my friends or not yet. The game feels slow. I don’t know if it is yet or not though, but it feels like it is. Sort of like how MAG felt slow.

Plus some of the things that are pluses may or may not be to everyone. The lighting is different. I don’t think I’ve ever played a FPS that had glare. So you have to get used to that before you can tell if you like it or not. Just because something is realistic, doesn’t make it, in and of itself, fun.

The thing is COD is the best. It’s the best because while it’s not realistic, it’s fun. Everything about that franchise is centered on the game play. COD plays fast. You’ve got perks to make it play even faster, sleight of hand, marathon, light weight, the aim down sight faster, jump over junk quicker, etc. Even before you know the maps for Black Ops, you can still jump in with a sub machine gun and a run fast class and run around the map and do decent.

Battlefield is not like that. I haven’t played it enough to know what it is like but I already know where Herronhero is coming from. A couple games I grabbed the sniper and climbed up on roof tops and did really well. Some games I grabbed the M4A1 and wove in and out of the same shipping containers. While I wouldn’t necessarily call that camping, because I was always moving, I didn’t really explore the rest of the map either. (I mean why bother if I can always find targets?) I haven’t played with vehicles yet so I can’t really speak on that.

The truth is I bought Battlefield 3 hoping it would be entertaining enough for 2 weeks until MW3 comes out. So far, and I’ll know better after putting in more time, I think it was worth the $60. I just haven’t played it enough, and because it plays differently, to be able to recommend it to friends yet.

slugga_status
slugga_status
9 years ago

CoD isn't even the best FPS MP out there..The most popular, yes..The best..no. As a person who plays a lot of FPS' the first thing you have to wrap your mind around is that they're all different. Just because the game isn't CoD doesn't mean it's bad.

People who are CoD fanatics are simply not going to like any other FPS or give it a chance.

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

@Monkeysnarf

Battlefield isn't slow paced, it depends on the player honestly. Everyone has a different play style when playing games.

The size of the maps could also make it feel slow paced, or feel slow paced because you aren't in the action.

Monkeysnarf
Monkeysnarf
9 years ago

Clamdedeus,

I didn't mean slow paced, I just meant it felt slow. Like I run slow, reload slow, jump over objects slow, etc. Plus, I'm not sure yet if it really is slow or not. I need to play it more.

Slugga,

Yeah I prefered 3rd person to 1st person. I loved Socom 2 and didn't care for Halo 2, last generation. Actually I didn't even like FPS until CoD MW1. Because of MW1 and MW2 I completely agree with you. With those games it's all about the game play. So then when I play another FPS I compare it to CoD and ask myself, is it more or less fun.

I just haven't played Battlefield 3 yet enough to really know what I'm talking about or to be able to recommend it to any of my friends that play Modern Warfare.

slugga_status
slugga_status
9 years ago

@Monkeysnarf

That's completely understandable..MW1 did it for me as well..then Resistance 2 came out man months later and I had to adjust..I don't have a problem with CoD..I like 3rd person a lot better as well. With CoD I need to see something new instead of the same o same o..If nothing new then I'll be heading Battlefield's way

johnld
johnld
9 years ago

@monkeysnarf

usually the first week of any shooter are full of campers or snipers. since they dont know maps they just do that. thats why i usually wait a week till i play online. i play campaign before online.

herronhero
herronhero
9 years ago

Sorry who plays the campaigns anyways. This is the 5th FPS that I have played that I never even started the campaign.

godsdream
godsdream
9 years ago

Who in the world judges a game after just 4 hours…… ????

And this is why you act like that, only play online….You don't have a valid point buddy, sorry. But it's ok, go play again black ops, that's where you belong.

Jawknee
Jawknee
9 years ago

By the way, I play the campaigns and BF3's is quite entertaining.

79transam
79transam
9 years ago

I play the campaign on every FPS I get. I always play them before I even click on MP.

The battlefield series is not for Run and Gun players that you get in COD and that is why you are having difficulty. Let me ask you a question say you were in a combat situation and you ran into a room would you not check the corners? Why then would you play a FPS shooter and enter a structure and not check your corners?

Also plenty of camping in COD and even more hacking

CrusaderForever
CrusaderForever
9 years ago

@79transam!

Very nice, and so true. To not check corners in a MP shooter is just padding the stats of the other player or team. You have to remember that the other team is preventing and defending their territory. You have to work as a team in BF unlike MW where it's you and you alone against everyone else. MW = Arcade and BF = True Military Team Work.

Underdog15
Underdog15
9 years ago

… What kind of game that doesn't want you to focus on the campaign would even include the campaign?

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

I also play the campaign on every game I get if it includes it of course.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
9 years ago

You can't judge a fame by it's multiplayer I'm sorry. So as soon as you said "who plays the campaigns anyways" you lost all credibility to me!

I always, always play the campaigns in Amy game I own.


Last edited by bigrailer19 on 10/26/2011 6:46:06 PM

herronhero
herronhero
9 years ago

The reviewer judged the game after only a few hours play and wrote a 2k word review on it (perhaps more) giving it a 9/10. A dozen people jumped on here and agreed with their assessment of the game after only a few hours play. I see your point though.

Act like what? I have not resorted to name calling or belittling (as an 8 year old would do when someone does not agree with their opinion). I have not accused anyone of trolling or misguided judgment. Your right about the Black Ops bit however. As I stated before I will continue with it as it is a better game experience for the things I enjoy (which you can see in my previous comments). At the end of the day way more people will agree that the CoD games are not necessarily better but different in ways that they enjoy.

The graphics in the game were amazing (as stated before). Everything else for me sucked.


Last edited by herronhero on 10/26/2011 1:04:43 AM

godsdream
godsdream
9 years ago

Don't get me wrong, but I have to tell you that the reviewers in this website (Ben and Arnold) normally have the games before they go out to public, they are part of the press and they get review copies way before the game comes out (I don;t know the exact time but I know for sure they get them first, that's the point).

If you were here more often you'd probably noticed it already, but since I know you're new to this site, I'm letting you know.

Welcome to the site and with time you'll notice that this are very honest and TRUE reviewers.

PD: you may want to go to PS HOME and check the PSXextreme show in the theater!!!
PD 2: if you want to reply to a certain comment, just click in reply button and write as normal, you'll notice the comment a little to the right from the original (the one you replied to).


Last edited by godsdream on 10/26/2011 1:08:23 AM

slugga_status
slugga_status
9 years ago

Please use the reply button

Underdog15
Underdog15
9 years ago

I guarantee you Ben spent more than a couple hours with it. He's been at it all week, friendo.

New Report

Close