Graphics:
8.9
Gameplay:
9.5
Sound:
9.7
Control:
9.4
Replay Value:
9.0
Online Gameplay:
8.7
Overall Rating:
9.3
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
Insomniac Games
Number Of Players:
1-16
Genre:
FPS


Resistance: Fall of Man was by far the most impressive PlayStation 3 launch title in 2006 and two years later, the sequel impressed a great many critics, even if some fans of the original considered it a step backwards. Now, the third installment is here and the competition has never been stiffer. To be frank, I had my reservations. I really did. I wasn’t overly impressed by what I had seen prior to starting the campaign. But after more than a few hours of play, I knew we had another stellar effort, one that is wonderfully designed, well paced, and loaded with tremendous imagery. I love it.

The graphics are bound to generate plenty of argument and discussion. In some ways, the visual presentation truly excels: artistically speaking, this is a highly accomplished production with unbelievable environments, fantastic enemy creation and animation, and an effective atmosphere. In other ways, we don’t see the extreme level of refined detail we may find in the upcoming Battlefield 3 , and Killzone 3 has it beat in a few areas, too. Overall, though, the background Insomniac paints is the primary focus throughout, and we’re always on the edge of our seats. The effects are great, too, so prepare for an engrossing adventure.

While the visuals may reside at the absolute top of the technical ladder, the sound definitely ranks among other elite titles. The soundtrack is excellent; it always fits each and every situation, and the music is often single-handedly responsible for generating a faster pulse and a greater sense of urgency. The voice acting is actually quite good as well, which was a bit of a surprise. I like some of the weapon effects more than others, but there’s no denying the crispness and distinctness of each firearm, and intense battlefields will mercilessly attack your speakers. That’s a good thing, by the way. And if you have a pair of awesome headphones…ooooh…

Yeah, Resistance 3 is a FPS. It’s a straightforward shooter; you don’t take cover, there’s no blend that includes RPG-like elements, and there isn’t anything you haven’t seen before. Now that we’ve got that out of the way: the game is awesome. It plays so well and it’s so nicely balanced throughout, that you just have to keep playing. The control is rock solid, the collision detection is some of the best I’ve ever seen, upgradeable weapons are huge bonuses, and multiple enemy types keeps you on your toes. Even the story is decent and the characters are definitely likeable.

Nathan Hale is gone but the hero from past Resistance adventures gave humanity one last gift: a cure for the Chimeran virus. His blood was very special and a talented doctor was able to create a vaccine, which meant humanity finally had a chance against the growing invasion. Unfortunately, several years later, almost 90% of the earth has succumbed and the bomb Hale set off at the end of R2…? It sent a massive energy surge through Chimeran channels and now, a wormhole is open. On top of which, the invaders are actually terraforming Earth. I won’t continue but let’s just say you need to get to New York ASAP.

Everything is so well presented. There are a few positive aspects that continue to make the experience invigorating and exciting: first, there’s the health. In most all shooters these days, you just get into cover to regain energy; there’s no real health bar and the idea of health items is “old-fashioned.” Because I’m so used to that style, I had to question Insomniac’s move but you know, it works. It works even better than the new and “better” system, in some ways. It requires you to be more cautious because ducking into cover won’t save you, and it also encourages exploration. Finding those little green health packs is kind of a thrill.

Second, the weapons. Hands-down, this is my favorite assortment of firearms I’ve seen in a shooter this generation. Every single one is useful, they all perform exactly as they should, and I continually switch between them all because it’s fun . The diverse situations and numerous enemy types also require that you experiment, which adds to the depth and strategy. In most shooters, I just settle on one or two weapons that seem to function best in most scenarios but here, I wanna keep switching because they all rock. Plus, the new upgrade system kicks ass; new secondary abilities come in very, very handy when facing down particularly tough foes.

Third, the atmosphere. You start in Haven, one of the last remaining human towns that continues to survive amidst constant threat. People live the best way they can, and you sense that it’s a gritty survival situation; it’s almost frightening because it’s so depressing. Unfortunately, this sensation gives way to more standard action-oriented backdrops, and I would’ve liked to have seen more of that heartrending devastation. Still, those action parts are also freaky, due to the amazing use of music, terrifying enemy design, and environmental effect.

I should also mention the AI, which is more than competent. Some Chimera are just stupid and will blindly rush you, but most will flank, find cover, and tend to avoid standing out in the open. Considering their mobility, you’re forced to remain vigilant and accurate, and that’s all the more entertaining due to the aforementioned reasons. Oh, and let’s not forget those massive bosses for which this franchise is known; they’re better than ever and because they’re so bad-ass, I refuse to give anything away. Just trust me…they’ll scare the sh** out of you, and you’ll adore every second of the encounter. It’s almost a guarantee.

As for the problems, they’re mostly minor and some are more subjective than others. For instance, it drives me a little crazy that moving the camera left-to-right is always faster than moving it up and down. I have no idea why I even noticed it (others probably won’t), but it just seemed to stand out. Also, I think each weapon levels up the same way; general use allows them to advance, thereby unlocking new and valuable upgrades. But the progression is just a little vague, because you basically just keep using a weapon until it levels up and there’s no real player customization.

I also need to mention a few small technical issues. The online isn’t operating at 100% just yet and I had the campaign freeze on me once, and almost froze on me a second time. I’m not used to seeing this in PS3 exclusives, so I was surprised. Again, it might just be me (I’m not implying that all your copies will freeze up at one point or another), but I can’t ignore such events. Lastly, getting back to the online play, I’m not sure it’ll be able to stand out. It’s refreshing because it doesn’t look or feel like the popular military shooters, and it may or may not have been a good idea to lower the max number of players from 60 to 16.

It’s a lot of fun but I’m not sure fans of the genre will flock to it; they may be more willing to jump online with one of the shooters that arrive this fall. But if you want to play with a friend, definitely try the co-op because that’s ridiculous fun. I went through R2 with a buddy and I still remember it; the R3 co-op is a huge plus and you just can’t pass up the opportunity. Above all else, you can tell that Insomniac went out of their way to create a game that puts the campaign center-stage. How much longer are we going to see that with shooters? Really? We should reward this plot-driven experience if we want more of them, shouldn’t we?

Resistance 3 does almost everything right. It hits you right between the eyes from the start and never lets up. The control is tight, the variety (fueled by different enemies, upgradeable weapons, and gigantic bosses) is absolutely essential, the atmosphere has a large impact, the story and characters are compelling, and the pacing and technical style is second-to-none. The online isn’t overly impressive in my eyes, I would’ve liked a bit more control in regards to weapon customization and progression, and I also wanted to see more of humanity's plight. But as I said at the start of this review: I love this game. It’s just oodles of fun.

The Good: Great artistic style and atmosphere. Excellent soundtrack. Smooth, reliable control. Awesome weapon assortment. Plenty of overall variety. Fantastic pacing. Solid AI. Memorable boss encounters.

The Bad: Graphics aren’t extremely sharp and refined. A few technical hangups. Lack of character customization.

The Ugly: “Okay, you gotta stop climbing ladders like that. It’s just plain weird.”

Subscribe
Notify of
103 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
PasteNuggs
PasteNuggs
9 years ago

Ben,
You brought the explosiveness of R3 into your review. It was very easy to tell how much you love it.

I just started. I'm on chapter 3 and yes it is awesome. It's so great firing the Bullseye again and just being back in the Resistance universe.

Also, I agree on the ladders, I mean wow, are your arms like six inches long or something and your elbows can't leave your sides.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

All: I'm very sorry I couldn't properly test the PlayStation Move functionality with this review; I don't have the Sharpshooter accessory and without it, I'm sure I wouldn't be able to deliver an accurate analysis.

For that information, I do encourage you to read other reviews.


Last edited by Ben Dutka PSXE on 9/6/2011 8:52:21 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

silly device anyway.

Alienange
Alienange
9 years ago

It's ok with me. I'm certainly not going to play R3 with Move. Would be surprised if anyone does.

SmokeyPSD
SmokeyPSD
9 years ago

The move by itself is fine with a nav, you don't need the sharpshooter to play fps's.

I actually really love playing this type of game with the move. It's only like using a mouse with no pad. Very immersive and easy to control. I constantly use it for mag and KZ3.

Gordo
Gordo
9 years ago

I used the Move controller on a playthrough of Killzone 3. Definately a good option.

I tended to balance the Move controller on my knee so that I had a solid base and it didn't get tiring…

Do fancy the sharpshooter but can anyone say if it is comfortable for long periods?

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
9 years ago

I didn't get to pick it up today but I'll have it by this weekend! Can't wait to play Resistance again!

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
9 years ago

You will not be disappointed. I am on the fourth level, and the atmosphere (as Ben noted) is second to none.

ZettaiSeigi
ZettaiSeigi
9 years ago

Great review Ben! I haven't really played the past Resistance games, but it's good that the third installment has upped the ante when it comes to the campaign mode. If there's anything about the Resistance franchise that I find most interesting, it is the story anyway. So much that I was hoping to see a CGI movie version of it. I bet that would be epic!

And better yet, other sites are also giving good review scores for the game. Honestly speaking, I'm quite shocked! Not because I expected the game to be bad, but I know how terrible most reviewers are.

Dancemachine55
Dancemachine55
9 years ago

After the incredible scores Resistance 2 got, and going by the reservations most people had when previewing R3, I wasn't sure whether or not I wanted to hold onto my Limited Edition preorder of Resistance 3.

After reading this and IGN's review of it, I am very VERY glad I held onto my preorder.

Now I just need to finish Resistance 2 and I can get started. This might take a while. 🙂

Lord carlos
Lord carlos
9 years ago

Awesome
Getting this on friday then buying snacks & beer,locking the front door,closing all the windows & blinds,turning off the lights and my phone and then i'm gonna enjoy the sh!t out of resistance 3.
Hellz yeah

Temjin001
Temjin001
9 years ago

It's installing now for me. I'm excited. I also ignored the Red Box advisory that stated "This Game Requires the Move Controller To Play. Do You Accept?"
=p
Seriously, it did. And they've gotta fix that.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

dumbas*es

johnld
johnld
9 years ago

they didnt tell you that you needed and online pass? you know, the one you would actually need.

Nickjcal
Nickjcal
9 years ago

Hey at least anyone that showed up before you was probably "oh crap I can't play it" You show up "idiots ;P"

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

Lots of 9+s for this game. Good to see Resistance getting some love a-finally.

I noticed you siezed on the weapons, I think that is a major selling point for this game.

I wonder why the online for this game is busted.

cLoudou
cLoudou
9 years ago

No co-op.

cLoudou
cLoudou
9 years ago

I see there co-op but is it local co-op campaign, online co-op campaign , both or co-op similar to R2?

Alienange
Alienange
9 years ago

Both

Temjin001
Temjin001
9 years ago

I've been enjoying myself playing it. I've made it to chapter 8 of the game, which is about 2 and a half hours in.
Man, that second monkey boss fight will make you want to scream like a girl. It gets ninja-intense there.

cLoudou
cLoudou
9 years ago

Can't wait for this game. Bought it off Newegg for $47.99 ( Thanks, Bikersaint) free shipping.The downside : waiting 3 days for free shipping.

Alienange
Alienange
9 years ago

A nice review Ben. Clearly the co-op is worth every cent and I fully intend to play through with a buddy as well. Despite it's weak multiplayer I'm glad to see a great overall score for what is clearly a story-driven fps paradise.

Beamboom
Beamboom
9 years ago

Indeed. This campaign shall be shared here too!
This looks to be the coop highlight of the year so far, maybe even until SR3 arrives.

Alienange
Alienange
9 years ago

Ah, SR3… yes, that will be some good times.

DazeOfWar
DazeOfWar
9 years ago

Great review Ben. I picked my copy today and it's installing right now.

Funny thing is I had this preordered at GS and ended up getting my money back to buy it at K-Mart since they were giving $20 gaming coupons for future purchase with purchase of R3. They are doing the same for Dead Island too so I'll be picking that up tomorrow. Then I can get the Team Ico collection for free.

The guy at GS didn't want to give me my money back. He almost pissed me off. He's lucky I like the other employees there and he's new so he doesn't know I'm in there all the time.

Temjin001
Temjin001
9 years ago

K-Mart is still around? In the states? Crazy. I thought Walmart, Target and, well Walmart and Target, took over the world. =p

johnld
johnld
9 years ago

yes, kmart is still around and almost every game release comes with a 15 or 20 dollar gaming coupon and sometimes a little more incentive like a free $20 dollar game with la noire at launch. i always get my games at kmart now because of that. i preorder from gamestop, take the preorder bonus, return the game, and then buy it at kmart.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
9 years ago

This game looks like a blast for all you console FPS fans. I really like the style and art direction the Resistance series has used and I do intend on playing the 1st and 2nd one eventually.

I'm currently playing the new BloodRayne game and it's really fun. I suggest you give it a look Ben, its style reminds of SOTN though not nearly as amazing as that game but lets be honest it's hard to duplicate perfection.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

let the PC/console thing go man

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
9 years ago

I can't when it comes to FPS. I tried to get into KZ2 and couldn't. I've always been interested in the Resistance series but haven't checked it out yet. It's the damn controls, I can't help my personal tastes.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
9 years ago

I don't know if you care or not but my buddy has a mouse and keyboard adaptor for the PS3 and that's all he uses for FPS when playing online. He says it works great and doesn't feel foreign to the PS3, like others he's had did. I forget the brand but I know he had a setup before this one that lagged really bad. He says this one works really well.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
9 years ago

What kind? I haven't heard good things about those kind of adapters but if your friend is not having problems with it I'd be interested in reading up on that particular one.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
9 years ago

It's called "eagle eye". I wouldn't give anyone blind suggestions, so if you havnt heard of it theres quite a bit of YouTube demonstrations, reviews and videos. Check those out and watch a few cus everyone has a different opinion but more so because some videos show a person talking more so than a demonstration.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

Well, you know, considering the PC blows ass in every possible way, LV has to try to make himself feel better every now and then. Ain't that right, buddy? 😉

Anyway, I want to try the 2D BloodRayne. I'm just not sure I'll have the time.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
9 years ago

Hehe, a majority of my gaming time is spent on my PS3 so cut me some slack! Hell all I said was that this game looked interesting for those interested in console FPS and I even followed it up by mentioning I plan on trying out the series eventually.

HATERS! 😉

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

I'm no hater, okay that's not true I hate sometimes for fun.

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
9 years ago

Haters gonna hate! 🙂

YesterdysRising
YesterdysRising
9 years ago

Nice review. I was really excited to play this today… Too bad while I wasn't home someone broke into my apartment, stole my ps3, a controller, 35 games, my bluetooth and a camera 🙁

Gordo
Gordo
9 years ago

Bad luck!!!

I hope you were insured… Some people are going to get some bad karma in their next life!

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
9 years ago

…omg! I hope you have renters insurance.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
9 years ago

What the f***!!!! seriously that's terrible man!

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

Suuuuuucks.

YesterdysRising
YesterdysRising
9 years ago

Ya, I have renters insurance but it's a $500 deductible. It really sucks. I just hope they give me a decent amount of money for all my games. And I just installed a 1TB hard drive not too long ago. I'm pretty sure anything I had played since then I used cloud saving so I shouldn't have to worry about my progress and I still have my backup from before the new hard drive. I also saved my box so I have the serial number and gave it to the police and I'm gonna contact all the pawn shops around and keep an eye on Craig's List. I doubt I'll get anything back but I'd like to think there's a little hope…

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
9 years ago

Might I ask how they broke into your apartment? The reason I ask is a friend of mine a few years ago had a similar situation. The apartment he lived in didn't use regulation deadbolts and he won a case against them in small claims court.

YesterdysRising
YesterdysRising
9 years ago

They kicked the door in. The deadbolt busted through the wood frame and part of the door frame broke off. The apartment told me they are going to put in a metal security door, cut down all the bushes around my apartment and install a motion light, even though it happened during the day. It's more than I expected them to do but I'm glad they are. And I'm gonna get one of those loud door and window alarms.

Jed
Jed
9 years ago

Damn, that really sucks. Best of luck to you in the future, maybe you might even find the bastard(s).

telly
telly
9 years ago

Dude, that's ROUGH. I own so few things of value that if someone stole my stash of games I would just be inconsolable. Thoughts are with you, seriously. At least no one got hurt, right?

Snorge
Snorge
9 years ago

@YesterdysRising

I have to say I REALLY feel your pain. That same thing happened to me almost 2 years ago too. I lived on the 2nd floor of an apt. They appearently climbed in my front window(Remember 2nd floor and daytime at that) and stole my PS3, all but 4 of my games, my 360 and all but 3-5 of those games some games were in a different room) TWO 32in HDtvs, my Wii and my all my controllers.

At that time I DIDNT have renters insurance (OUCH). Didnt have any PS3, 360, or Wii (mii) info saved so I lost all that too. I hurt……bad. I even had the serials and the original boxes for everything including the TVs. Police said I was ahead of the game but nothing came out of it.

Luckily someone was watching over me becuase I actually came across a broke PS3 that I fixed (That I still use to this day) Same with my 360 (I fix things for a side hustle) and my father went to a swap meet and found a working Wii for $15 (no cords or controllers but thats better than nothing) and now we have a 40in HDTV and a 60in 3D tv and couldn't be happier. So in the long run I bounced back better than ever, and Karma will indeed pay them folks back someway or another.

Best of luck to you man and thank the stars you had insurance!


Last edited by Snorge on 9/7/2011 2:27:12 PM

YesterdysRising
YesterdysRising
9 years ago

Thanks everyone. I'm hoping to get this all sorted out. I feel like the insurance company will try to screw me over on the value of a lot of it but I guess I'll find out. I need some good luck to come my way. This is probably the worst thing that has ever happened to me. It feels weird to know someone just broke into the place that I live and feel, well, felt safe anyways. I'm thinking about just ordering a new PS3, the 320GB bundle for $300 with Infamous 2 and then selling the hard drive and putting my old 120GB in there for now until I can get another 1TB. I wish I was rich so I could replace everything, but sadly, I'm just a college student.

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
9 years ago

YesterdysRising,

Hate to hear that,

I remember reading once long ago of a guy who was able to track down his stolen PS3's location(like some smart phones), just by the thieves turning it on & playing it for a while.

I'm not sure if he had some special program installed or not, but maybe you can call Sony with your stolen PS3's serial number & PSN Id, & maybe they can send you any info when it gets turned on & played again.
It's worth a shot to try.

New Report

Close