Graphics:
6.0
Gameplay:
5.1
Sound:
5.7
Control:
4.8
Replay Value:
5.5
Overall Rating:
5.3
Online Gameplay:
Not Rated
Publisher:
Namco Bandai
Developer:
Namco Bandai
Number Of Players:
1-2
Genre:
Action


I’ve played several really solid PlayStation Move titles thus far; Sports Champions and EyePet are tons of fun and although lacking in a few areas, both take advantage of the Move’s top-notch technology and give us a glimpse of the new motion controller’s potential. Time Crisis: Razing Storm , on the other hand, only seems to emphasize Move’s current flaws and as a result, the game becomes an exercise in frustration and even futility. I mean, even after attempting multiple controller setups the Story Mode in Razing Storm remains borderline unplayable, and I could never get my gun controller to line up perfectly with the screen. The only saving grace is the multiple games within this package; we get stuff like Time Crisis 4 and a really cool little addition called Deadstorm Pirates . But I’m not sure that’s enough to save it. In fact, I’m sure it isn’t.

The graphics aren’t anything special but they’re not bad for a game based on motion-sensing. There’s actually a surprising amount of detail, especially in the cut-scenes of the Story Mode, and the bright, vivid colors found in all modes is quite appealing. There were some instances where I even said, “wow, that’s pretty damn good for a game like this!” Of course, the arcade-based modes that will remind you of any Time Crisis you might’ve played in the past aren’t too intricate, but it’s clear Namco put a ton of effort into that Story…too bad the visuals are the only pleasant part of that experience. The special effects are a little repetitive and aren’t exactly loaded with highly accomplished particle effects but then again, anyone familiar with this franchise won’t be disappointed. The graphics are about what you’d expect, with a few nice surprises tossed in.

The sound benefits from sharp, crisp gunplay effects and a soundtrack that fits the hectic, ceaseless action. They went and implemented some hardcore metal tracks for some of the cut-scenes in all modes, which I sort of like, and the music for most any mode enhances the atmosphere. Of course, as you might expect, the voice acting is mediocre, although it can range from dreadful to halfway decent. Again, it depends upon which game and which mode you select but in general, the effects and soundtrack selection are bonuses. The balance is all over the place, though, and I suppose it’s beating a dead horse to use the word “repetitive” again, but there’s no better description. Usually, I’m forgiving when it comes to this trait provided it doesn’t annoy me when playing but in truth, everything – including the sound – started to annoy me after even a short time with Razing Storm .

If you’ve played a Time Crisis before, either in the arcade or at home with a gun accessory of some kind, you probably don’t need much in the way of gameplay explanation. But let’s straighten out the control options: you need the Move controller, of course, but beyond that, it’s very much up to you. You can either use the regular Dual Shock 3 wireless controller or the Navigation controller to handle movement (which is only required for the Story Mode), and you can pick up a gun accessory for Move. I used the Precision Shot 3 with the optional grip, where the Nav controller actually resides. So if you can picture a submachine gun with one hand on the handle and the second hand on the grip just below the barrel, that’s what it looked like; this allowed the analog on the Nav controller to be naturally near the thumb of my left hand.

After selecting and calibrating the controllers you wish to use, it’s time to pick a game: there’s Razing Storm with several modes, along with the arcade classic, Time Crisis 4 , and a special addition called Deadstorm Pirates . The latter is actually one of the more entertaining options, as it’s all about nailing skeleton pirates and ghost ships. It’s not a full game in and of itself but it’s still pretty fun, and because you don’t have to actually move, it works out okay. The problem comes when you do have to use an analog to control movement, and it’s not due to the analog itself, per se. See, you move around with the analog, which is fine, but you direct that movement via the Move stick or in this case, by aiming the gun. I’ve tried doing this without the gun, but that didn’t help much; the bottom line is that it just doesn’t work. The Move is far too sensitive.

Aiming where you wish to go and then moving isn’t natural, either. Any tiny twitch of the gun/Move could cause you to lose your bearings, and although I did finally manage to settle on a way to make it work, it was still frustrating. Plus, even after turning the sensitivity all the way down, it was still extremely difficult to target enemies and when you toss in the weird and incredibly jumpy move mechanic, you get a Story Mode that just flat-out fails before it gets started. You won’t believe how long I had to play before I could even get through the first few sections. I suppose it’s good news to say that every other game and mode is a standard rails-shooter setup, where you don’t have to move. That is a bonus because I could just jump across to the Arcade Mode in Razing Storm or Time Crisis 4 , and garner some relatively entertaining action.

But even then, I never really felt as if I were aiming at the targets on the screen. I was only just trying to find the red targeting reticule to settle it over a desired target. I tried holding the gun in a bunch of different ways; including peering right down the sight, but the result was still unsatisfactory in my eyes. Lastly, it’s just way too easy to lose track of the small red reticule in the midst of particularly insane encounters, and it doesn’t help that danger points are marked with big red spots, in which your reticule essentially disappears. Oh, and you sometimes have to use other buttons on the Move controller; for instance, X reloads but look where the X button is on the Move wand…then picture it lying down in the barrel of a gun accessory; see how you have to reach up with your left hand to press any button on the Move? The Nav controller is only for movement so that doesn’t assist with essential button presses.

I like the assortment of weapons, I like the fact that Namco put a lot of effort into how the Story Mode looks and sounds, and I like the inclusion of other shooting games and various modes. Some of the technical aspects did surprise me (even if they all sort of melted into an average presentation), the hardcore metal tracks were a nice touch, and the nonstop action is…well, vintage Time Crisis . But the Story Mode is just plain broken; directing with the Move and actually moving with either the left analog stick of the wireless DS3 or the Nav controller doesn’t work well at all. It’s just unbelievably irritating. Move is an amazingly sensitive device and when it comes to a game like Razing Storm , we don’t feel as if we have pinpoint control; we feel that if we even twitch a finger in the wrong direction, we’re looking at the ground or the sky.

I tamed and refined my movements after a while, but it just isn’t worth it, primarily because the end result isn’t much better. Sorry, but I’m calling “pass” on this one.

The Good: Classic, ceaseless Time Crisis action. Multiple games and multiple modes. Solid weapon and environmental variety. A few nice surprises in the graphics and sound categories.

The Bad: Story Mode is just plain broken due to the movement mechanic. Move proves too sensitive too often. Easy to lose targeting reticule amidst the chaos in Arcade modes. Tough to feel comfortable with any button/control setup. Mostly poor voice acting.

The Ugly: Manual movement controls. Awful.

Subscribe
Notify of
41 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
frylock25
frylock25
10 years ago

i was a little excited to see how this game would turn out. after readin the review i may just stay away from this completly. not many games are getting that low of a score. i just renewed my gamefly account and was gonna put this on there. now i know not to.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

So the Move is no match for a light gun eh?

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Just a different technology and it's waaaay too sensitive.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

I miss my light gun games 🙁

CH1N00K
CH1N00K
10 years ago

If you're looking for just a straight shooting, "Light Gun" style game, I'd recommend The Shoot. My GF and I have been having a blast with that one as it's more of a Duck Hunt style shooter. It's not overly complicated by any means, but fun to pick up and blast away for a little while until your arm gets tired from holding up the gun…

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

That looked kinda cheap, I at least wanna shoot somethin cool like in House of the Dead.

Shadow2222
Shadow2222
10 years ago

Hmm, interesting review. I have not played Story Mode yet, but I have completed Arcade mode on Deadstorm Pirates and have played Arcade mode on both TC4 and Razing Storm, and they are fantastic (with the Move).

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Those are okay; you don't have to move in those. Just try moving around in the Story Mode…

Lemon_Saint
Lemon_Saint
10 years ago

I haven't tried the story mode either … I had no interest in it. I didn't buy this game for a story mode at all, I bought it for three solid light gun games in one package. If that's what you are buying it for, this title delivers solidly.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
10 years ago

So, the main reason for the existence of this game is the arcade mode because the story mode is all sorts of bad? Shame, I thought this was going to be the first showcase of the greatness of the PSMove on FPSes. Guess we have to wait until KZ3 for that. Maybe Namco Bandai realised the game was broken beyond forgiveness and put the other titles on there as consolation. Ah well.
Peace.

oONewcloudOo
oONewcloudOo
10 years ago

thats a shame i was really looking forward to this 🙁

tridon
tridon
10 years ago

That's really too bad as I was looking for a fun shooter for the Move. Maybe I'll just rent this first to see how much it frustrates me.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
10 years ago

Mag and resident evil are great!

frylock25
frylock25
10 years ago

yeah i like mag with move support its fun.

CH1N00K
CH1N00K
10 years ago

I've been wondering about this with MAG. Do the Move controllers work well with it?

A few of the other games I've tried that have had Move Compatibility added to them have seemed a little "twitchy" with the controls. Tiger Woods took a little getting used to. But Heavy Rain is a blast with the Move. I've been thinking of picking up MAG, but I may just wait until K3 and Socom 4 come out. Hopefully those titles will take the time to polish up the move gameplay.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
10 years ago

Sorry chinook don't know if youll get this!

Mag takes great advantage of move! It's easy to over compensate since it tracks your every movement very well so sometime swinging the move controller to the left or right you may go too far since you have control of full 360 degrees. It's somewhere in-between mouse ad joystick, but it does work very very well! It's absolutely very precise! Makes for a good time!

Qubex
Qubex
10 years ago

From what I have seen of it, technically the engine is quite good, but definitely not my type of game.

Q!

"play.experience.enjoy"

Xombito
Xombito
10 years ago

So Ben, is it the technology's fault for the broken story mode? Surely the developers could make it work if perhaps given more time to learn more on the Move functionality. And on a related note how's MAG working after the Move patch.


Last edited by Xombito on 10/23/2010 11:44:03 PM

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

If it were more the Move's fault, the game would've scored higher. I know it's the developer's fault. But the result is that the Move is too sensitive in this format, regardless of where the fault lies.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
10 years ago

ThAts weird Cus the demo seemed fine to me! Too bad Cus I was looking forward to it.

tridon
tridon
10 years ago

Which country's store were you able to download a demo off of?

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
10 years ago

Sorry it came in the Playstation move sports champion bundle…

Shams
Shams
10 years ago

A pass it is then. Thanks for saving us the ill-fortune of playing this one, Ben.

Kangasfwa
Kangasfwa
10 years ago

At times like this I really appreciate game reviews (critics play the crap so we don't have to). Thanks guys.

A2K78
A2K78
10 years ago

First and foremost, Razing Storm is NOT, and I say not a true Time Crisis title. All Namco did was slap the title "Time Crisis" onto Razing Storm for what reason I don't know, but the game that have been in arcades for the past 2 years now.

Anyhow this review didn't suprise me much, but thankfully though the arcade release of Razing Storm is much better than given how the review sound.

Naga
Naga
10 years ago

Yeah I seen it in the arcades in Blackpool, I was surprised to see Razing Storm.
No surprise…

A2K78
A2K78
10 years ago

"So, the main reason for the existence of this game is the arcade mode because the story mode is all sorts of bad? Shame, I thought this was going to be the first showcase of the greatness of the PSMove on FPSes."

Razing Storm was never a FPS to begin with, other than just the typical light gun game:

http://www.namcoamerica.com/game.php?gameid=21

Temjin001
Temjin001
10 years ago

I used to enjoy the Time Crisis games back in the arcade days. It's too bad the series seems to have gone suck now.

___________
___________
10 years ago

dam i was hoping this would get me to dust off my move controllers.
wish i could trade them in.
🙁 looks like ill have to wait till KZ3 to do that.
unless ecchochrome 2 suddenly appears, what the hell happened sony said it would be out in september!

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
10 years ago

You complain a lot…

sawao_yamanaka
sawao_yamanaka
10 years ago

Lol bigrailer I thought you knew by now!.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
10 years ago

Wait, there are still games coming that you want to use Move for, yet you want to trade them in. Were that the case, would you not then be paying even more for the same thing as you would have to buy them over again? Maaate… I'm not sure whether you confuse me, or I confuse myself trying to decipher some of the things you write on here.
Peace.

___________
___________
10 years ago

yea, but whats the point of keeping something if your not going to be using it for 4+ months?
might as well get rid of it, use the credit i get for it towards a game.
plus by the time KZ3 is out the price of move would of dropped, or they may even have a bundle.
its called future thinking.

CH1N00K
CH1N00K
10 years ago

Future thinking? Others call it impatience…but to each his own. I wouldn't bet on the price of the Move dropping anytime soon. Have you not seen the sales records for it? Sony can't keep it on the shelves.

You'll end up paying for it twice, just so you can get a few bucks worth of credit.

Instead of thinking of the Move as a waste of space…Think of on the same lines you would your penis… If you don't use it for the next 4 months, it will be frustrating but not the end of the world. You could use it on other items for the time being but it won't be as satisfying. Remember though that if you just point it at anything, it might not work the way you want it, it could get dirty or you could go blind…

If you simply get rid of it because you don't use it? Well, that will be expensive to replace and you're pretty much just screwing yourself…


Last edited by CH1N00K on 10/24/2010 8:49:09 AM

bleach630
bleach630
10 years ago

well am still going to buy it

JackC8
JackC8
10 years ago

I thought the game looked pretty dumb, with dozens and dozens of enemies running right up to you and you just mow them down. Seemed like it would get old in about five minutes. Odd that they couldn't even get the sensitivity setting anywhere in the ballpark. Oh well, wasn't interested in it anyway.

CH1N00K
CH1N00K
10 years ago

I've been wondering about this game. I know that Time Crisis games on consoles have never really done well to begin with, but I kind of hoped that It would do okay with the Move. I'll probably still pick this up eventually because I am having fun with the Move shooters, but this will be a bargain bin purchase just to play the Arcade modes. Unless Namco decides to update the game with a couple of patches in order to fix some of the issues…

tridon
tridon
10 years ago

Anyone know which country's PS Store has the demo available for this?

spiderboi
spiderboi
10 years ago

Shucks, and I was looking forward to having this as one of my party library games for Move. I'm getting less and less intrigued by Move now, moving towards getting my priority games first. (Don't get me wrong, I like the tech, but yeah, priorities have changed…)

JPBooch
JPBooch
10 years ago

I sure there aren't any control options to decrease the sensitivity? I had the same complaints about MAG with Move until I watched a video of how to tweak the controls.

Frenchy17
Frenchy17
10 years ago

I rented this and the only thing I enjoyed was the Deadstorm Pirates.

New Report

Close