Graphics:
8.8
Gameplay:
9.5
Sound:
9.0
Control:
10.0
Replay Value:
9.5
Online Gameplay:
9.0
Overall Rating:
9.4
Publisher:
Capcom
Developer:
Capcom
Number Of Players:
1-2 (8 Online)
Genre:
Genre


When Street Fighter IV launched last year, it practically told the world that the fighting genre has returned. Sure, Tekken, Virtua Fighter and a few other games have kept fighters afloat, but Street Fighter IV lit a fire under the genre's ass…just like it did nearly 20 years ago with Street Fighter II. Like they say, history has a way of repeating itself, and so here it is in full effect, as Capcom has published a new iteration of Street Fighter IV, much like the numerous iterations of SFII released all those years ago. Aptly named Super Street Fighter IV, this isn't just a glorified expansion that Capcom could've sold as downloadable content (which was initially the plan a few years ago). No, Super SFIV is a full-fledged game boasting a massive 35 character roster.

That roster includes the 25 fighters from the last game, in addition to 10 new fighters. Now, when talks of expanding SFIV first came up last year, it was discovered that Capcom was working on 10 new fighters, but had said they're projecting to add 6-8 new characters. Later on,
Super SFIV producer Yoshinori Ono did say that perhaps they may use a total of 10 fighters if the fan reaction was big enough. The reasoning for the uncertainty is due to the length and difficulty it takes to design and implement a fighter into the game, all the while making sure the balance of the fights remains as perfect as possible. Capcom not only achieved preserving the balance, but they did end up adding two more fighters to their initial projection.

More than just adding new fighters, Capcom went back and reworked the original characters, as well, not only tweaking their balance, but also adding to their arsenal by adding or enhancing a number of their moves. I do have a complaint, though…let's no laugh at me when I admit that Dan is a character I enjoy playing with. I've liked him since the Alpha games. That said, why did Capcom make him look like such a fool in this game? I'm aware that he was always meant to be a parody character, but here in Super SFIV, it's a little ridiculous. First off, he's about 50lbs overweight, and bears the most ridiculous and uncanny resemblance to Steven Seagal. Second, he doesn't even have the same fighting stance as in past games.

Small quibbles aside, Super SFIV is easily worth the purchase. If you recall, I predicted it to retail at 39.99, which it does. And that price-point makes the game a fantastic purchase. Now, on top of the new characters, new moves, and other enhancements, Capcom has also added in bonus stages from Street Fighter II into the single-player mode. So twice during your tournament you'll be treated to some nostalgic interruptions, which includes the car destruction and barrel breaking – now if only a thug cried “oh my car” at the end of the car stage, hey, we do have a few Final Fight characters in Super SFIV, after all. Now, what's even more great about Super SFIV is that each fighter has a unique story that you'll get to see during single-player sessions…and you'd imagine that Capcom would recycle the stories from last year's game, but they didn't – so even the returning fighters have new storyboards. Awesome.

Online modes have seen new additions with the ability to play matches ranging up to 4 on 4. Now, these are elimination based matches, so there won't be eight fighters beating each other senseless on one screen. That said, it's still a fantastic way to play the game with a bunch of friends, simulating that cozy arcade feeling when you'd gather with buddies after school or on the weekends and take turns playing. Even if you have a copy of Street Fighter IV, I'd reckon that Super SFIV is well worth the purchase, considering its fairly friendly $40 price-tag.

Visually, the game has remained largely the same. Perhaps Capcom has cleaned up a few odds and ends here and there, but it isn't anything significant that I noticed immediately. The art style remains the same, and just like past Street Fighter updates, the stages here have seen a few minor aesthetic changes too. In addition to stages, some of the fighters look a little bit different, either in attire or face. For example, I noticed Ken's face doesn't look as unusual as it did in SFIV anymore, which is very nice. And of course, in addition to the enhancements, there's a number of all new stages for you to see and fight on, all of which are done very well.

Moving on, I'll tell you one thing that I was happy to hear in Super SFIV was the changed intro theme. Gone is the terribly cheesy and painful song of last year's game, and replacing it is a very well done arrangement taking cues from Ryu and Ken's themes from Street Fighter II, but largely sounding like a completely unique tune. In addition to that, because the game boasts a story for every character, there's actually a fair amount of voice acting in the game, and it's all done very well! Yes, the announcer is still a bit on the (intentionally) cheesy side, but that's a small gripe.

Super Street Fighter IV is one of those rare exceptions where it's worth double-dipping. The exception is simply because instead of just releasing the same game with 10 new characters, Capcom went back and reworked the balance, added new modes, added bonus stages, redid the storyboards, changed various aesthetic bits and pieces, and on top of that only charged $40 for it all. To me, Super Street Fighter IV is a no-brainer. I urge fans of the genre and the last game to pick this up!

Subscribe
Notify of
41 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Condemnedsoul23
Condemnedsoul23
11 years ago

Yeah this game is bad ass. Love the new fighters and I am soooooooo glad they got rid of that song indestructable the first version. The bonus rounds have a nice nostalgic feature to them and it's cool that all characters are unlocked from the beginning. Also have 2 ultra combos is pretty cool but it would be a lot better if you can use whichever one you wanted during the fight instead of having to pick beforehand.
I'm still not completely happy since I dished out 60 bucks for the first version but I got about half of it back on Ebay and used a gift card on this one so in the end it's cool. I recommend this to everyone. A great buy. No reason to wait for a price drop

hellish_devil
hellish_devil
11 years ago

I don't know if get this or wait for BlazBlue: Continumm Shift. Blazblue apeals me more for the anime style, and since the first came last year, and it was almost as good as Street Figther IV, I suppose Continumm Shift will be almost as good as this one.


Last edited by hellish_devil on 5/7/2010 7:56:25 PM

sonic1899
sonic1899
11 years ago

Blazblue: CS isn't coming out until fall. You could buy this for now until then

hellish_devil
hellish_devil
11 years ago

I don't have that much money. I'm planing on getting Dead Space and LBP now that they are cheap. Besides, I'm not the "day-one purchase" guy, so I can wait.


Last edited by hellish_devil on 5/7/2010 9:55:56 PM

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
11 years ago

blazblue is better than street fighter. if you can only choose one, stick with blazblue. 🙂


Last edited by Rings0fUranus on 5/8/2010 1:57:27 PM

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

to arnold i see a error you have gener twice

i just pick this game up this week along with 5 other games 4 for the ps3 and 1 for my 360. i tried to get in to super street fighter IV but i sux at it.

currently playing
Ps3 – GTA EFLC (LATD)
360 – splinter cell conviction

mike rlz
mike rlz
11 years ago

do i need sfiv or am i good with super

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

@mike

all u need is super.

NeoHumpty
NeoHumpty
11 years ago

There is no frigging way that the version they sold me last year is so inferior. If it is, then they released too early. I won't buy it. I refuse. 9.4? Really?

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
11 years ago

Are you new to the fighting genre?

You do know all fighters get updates, right?

Blazblue is getting one this fall, a year after the first one, with 2 or 3 new fighters and some extra stuff.

Tekken got two Arcade versions. Same with Virtua Fighter.

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
11 years ago

@Scarecrow: Blazblue is getting a sequel, not an update.

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
11 years ago

Solid!

Very analytical and points out the fact that SSFIV has set the standard in the fighting games genre.

It's way more than an update. It's a whole new game on its own. With whole new story lines, modes, characters. It could easily be called SFV

But best of all, they finally achieved FULL CONTROL. You can tell they tweaked the game as perfectly as they could. The characters were reworked and made better.

@Arnold,
Beat Arcade mode with Guy. When you get to the Car Bonus stage and you destroy the car; enjoy! There's something very special after that (straight out of Final Fight)

H8WL3R
H8WL3R
11 years ago

Scarecrow perhaps you could help me with an inquiry since you seem to be very well versed in SF (as well as fighters in general). Although anyone else is aslo welcome.

I thought they were also going to include 2-3 more alternate costumes per character that were to be included on the disc without a DLC charge. Have they done that or taken out the alts in order to charge for the DLC?

JofaMang
JofaMang
11 years ago

Hey Arnold, do the car bonus stage with Guy or Cody and you get "Oh My Car!" guy as a little easter egg.

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
11 years ago

It's so funny and cool haha 😀

Man, if only Rolento made it to SSFIV…

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

Haha, that shows me. I have a bad tendency to stick to the original cast since I'm so familiar with them. But I'm going to do that now!

Arvis
Arvis
11 years ago

Dude, Guy and Cody are two of the best new characters! Definitely check them out. 🙂

-Arvis

YesterdysRising
YesterdysRising
11 years ago

I've never been a fan of fighting games but when PS2 came out, I used to play hell out of Tekken Tag Tournament. That's pretty much the only fighting game I've ever played though and I was thinking about getting this but I'm not sure I'll like it. I think I'll give it a rent first and hopefully I'll enjoy it. Everyone seems to like it but then again, they might already be fans of the genre.

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

I like that they put the theme of the character you use in the rival battles and not the theme of the rival, good change!


Last edited by Oxvial on 5/7/2010 10:04:37 PM

johnld
johnld
11 years ago

too bad i cant afford to get this, already getting modnation, thinking of 3ddotgame heroes, and have an eye on red dead. plus saving up for fall. if i can trade in my SF4 and get SSF4 for 10-20 bucks then i might get it. but since i dont really play sf4 anymore, then i'm good.

hadouken
hadouken
11 years ago

All I can say is hadouken! Good review.

RebelJD
RebelJD
11 years ago

SSFIV feels and plays awesome. I give it an "Awesome" score.

Naztycuts
Naztycuts
11 years ago

I couldn't agree more, this is how a fighter should be made. Capcom did an excellent job in not destroying their (and our) precious SF name. The online is excellent and should only get better. I hear they have some sort of Tournament dlc planned for June that's supposed to be free but I dont know how reliable the source was, especially given the RE5 dlc fiasco. I'm always looking to improve let me know if you want to fight. 🙂

Ultimate_Balla
Ultimate_Balla
11 years ago

Always start a SF game with Ryu, followed by Ken and Guile, with the story that is. Motoko's slooow movement annoys me though. Loving this game like mad! Hahaha, Arnold, now that you mention it, he does look like Steven. . .

Arvis
Arvis
11 years ago

I don't think Segal is capapble of making that many different facial expressions, though…

-Arvis

Ergi
Ergi
11 years ago

Great review!
Definitely picking this up, never got SFIV because I knew this was coming. Square-enix should take a hint from Capcom! Though they are two completely different genres, Capcom didn't tweak too much to the already wonderful Street Fighter and it's awesome.

Rinoa
Rinoa
11 years ago

cool
my copy should arrive monday =)

Mavfan321
Mavfan321
11 years ago

SSF4 is a MUST own for fans. It is superior to SSF4, except for Akuma's second ultra.

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
11 years ago

So SSFIV is superior to itself… *existence paradox* 😛
yeah I know you meant SFIV the second time.

Mavfan321
Mavfan321
11 years ago

I see what I did there oops. But you get my point this is far from a simple rehash there are a great amount of additions to warrant the price.

Arvis
Arvis
11 years ago

What's wrong with Akuma's 2nd Ultra?

-Arvis

Mavfan321
Mavfan321
11 years ago

Getting deeper into the game it's not (that) horrible I still prefer his Ultra 1.

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
11 years ago

"The exception is simply because instead of just releasing the same game with 10 new characters, Capcom went back and reworked the balance, added new modes, added bonus stages, redid the storyboards, changed various aesthetic bits and pieces, and on top of that only charged $40 for it all."

This is what confused me; Capcom charging $40 for the game. I mean they added alot of things, and I mean ALOT. Makes sense for them to charge full price, but they didn't. Obviously this is better for the gamers, and I'm not complaining. It just that… it kinda feels like they're apologizing for SFIV or something.

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
11 years ago

amazon has the continuum shift preorder listed at 39.99 🙂

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

39.99!?!?!? if thats true I would buy the Blazblue TE Madcat Stick like I did this time with SSF4 =)

Jawknee
Jawknee
11 years ago

I picked this up from the mom n pop shop by my house, i have to say i am pleasantly surprised with this title. There is still has a bit of a learning curve for me but i will get the hang of it.

Arvis
Arvis
11 years ago

You could play against me sometime. I'm not particularly good.

-Arvis

shadowscorpio
shadowscorpio
11 years ago

Luv it when devs listen to fans and make a quality game. Now if only SE and Namco Bandai would listen to their Us and European fanbases…

DjEezzy
DjEezzy
11 years ago

I'm a huge fan of Dudley. The control is good even for playing with a Dualshock 3. My thumbs hurt to be honest. I think i need to get a fighting pad or stick. Any good recommendations?

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

Madcatz-TE with Sanwa parts are the best ones.

but actually playing with a stick is a lot more harder than the pad! , but in the end after 4-6 months the advantage of the stick starts to show.

nerdyWisdom
nerdyWisdom
11 years ago

i was wondering. i heard that people who have SFIV would have some kind of special treat they get. anyone have any idea if there is something like that?

New Report

Close