Graphics:
8.0
Gameplay:
9.0
Sound:
9.0
Control:
9.0
Replay Value:
9.0
Online Gameplay:
9.0
Overall Rating:
9.0
Publisher:
EA
Developer:
DICE
Number Of Players:
1 (24 Online)
Genre:
FPS


When it comes down to multiplatform first person shooters, many think that Infinity Ward's Call of Duty has that market cornered. Well, they don't, because Electronic Arts and DICE have something to say about that with their all new Battlefield entry: Bad Company 2. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is truly a solid effort from a multiplatform game, an effort we'd really love to see more of from other developers and publishers.

As the game opens up, a prologue throws you back into time very briefly and sets you during a World War II event. Wait, no, don't scoff! This isn't a World War II game, it just uses that one scenario as a backdrop, as soon as you complete your first mission you'll be fast forwarded to a time that's much closer to the present where tensions between America and Russia escalates and an all new conflict breaks out. Without spoiling anything, this conflict relates to the established prologue, and the story will eventually take you out of Russia and into South American countries like Bolivia and Colombia.

The story is there and, for the most part, it's pretty decent. But you'll likely forget about it when you're completely enamored by the game's superb mechanics. Much like Killzone 2, Bad Company 2 gives you that sense of immersion that every gamer looks for out of an FPS. Every shot feels like it counts for something, as the feedback you get from your guns is spectacular! Not only that, but when those bullets connect with an enemy you get more feedback, as enemies will recoil from impact, fall, grab their wound, or perform various other animations that let you know you were successful.

Best of all, I noticed numerous other things about the A.I., and that's their attire and the effect it has on gameplay. For example, in the opening mission where armor is very weak or non-existent on your enemies, it will only take a shot or two to kill a foe. Where as when you're facing enemies that are decked out with protection, it may require 2-4 shots to take one out, unless you score a headshot. Now, even when you're in the present time of the game, enemies will vary in the amount and type of armor they wear, so you will still come across lightly-armored foes that you can level quickly. And it's that sort of realism that really makes Battlefield: Bad Company 2 click for me. Truly, the game mechanics are some of the best the FPS genre has seen this generation.

But, I'm sure, just like with other FPS games, most of you bought this for the multiplayer. And by all means there's nothing wrong with that, because Bad Company 2 boasts a tremendous multiplayer setup, that can hold even more players than Call of Duty can. A total of 24 gamers can run around, but be aware that BC2's multiplayer is a bit more strategic than other shooters. You've got four different job classes (Assault, Engineer, Recon, and Medic) that you can pick before spawning. All of them should be pretty explanatory, with the exception of Engineer, which boasts both Demolition and Specialist in one package. You can take control of tanks, remote helicopters, and other crafts/vehicles, all of which you can use to gain an advantage on the field. All of the action will unfold across four match types: Rush, Conquest, Squad Deathmatch, and Squad Rush. And yes, weapon customization and experience points are present.

Graphics are often the crux in multiplayer games. While Battlefield doesn't shatter any ground, or topple Sony's own Killzone 2, it still is a good looking game. For starters, BC2 runs at a proper resolution, a full 720p unlike Call of Duty. Lighting effects are also pretty impressive, especially when you're in a lush area full of greenery all around you. There are a high number of really sloppy and washed out textures, and you'll no doubt notice them when you're taking cover. But you will try to look past them when you realize the full picture is very sharp, runs well, and animates well.

Helping aid the game mechanics and the feedback of your gun shots is the audio, which successfully replicates every fired bullet with precision. Turning up the sound on this one is suggested, as it only helps the experience. Of course, aside from sound effects, there's a good amount of voice work that you'll hear all throughout the game, whether its during a cut-scene or during battle from either your squad or the enemies spouting hate in their language. For the most part, it's hard to find too much fault with the voice acting, so Bad Company 2 rounds out its score quite high across the board.

If you were one of the many disappointed by the last Call of Duty game, and haven't scored your copy of Battlefield: Bad Company 2, then I highly encourage you to do so. It is the first blockbuster FPS game of 2010, and it'll take a lot of effort for another game developer to top this. Employing some of the best game mechanics in the genre, terrific balance, terrific multiplayer fun, and a technical package you can appreciate, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is an FPS you need to play.

Subscribe
Notify of
64 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jawknee
Jawknee
11 years ago

OUCH! Better score then MW2.

"While Battlefield doesn't shatter any ground, or topple Sony's own Killzone 2, it still is a good looking game."

Didn't they boast this would beat Uncharted 2 in the graphics dept?


Last edited by Jawknee on 3/24/2010 12:06:08 PM

LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
11 years ago

No, they said they saw the game and were like, 'Wow' and wanted to try to compete with that, they never said it'd be better =P

But when you look at everything from a big view, it does look pretty nice graphically, and everything feels like you're actually immersed in the game with the environment and controls, really enjoyed it. SP that it. MP…there's just so much bush camping D:

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

Come on Jawknee, you know full well that DICE said "vistas" and not graphics would be better. Or do you skim through more articles than you pretend to?

Jawknee
Jawknee
11 years ago

Oh another intense over emotional comment from Alienage. what a surprise.

::rolls eyes::

Imagi
Imagi
11 years ago

Alienage is right, not the first time you have commented with this, revealing your own misunderstanding.

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
11 years ago

i remember DICE boasting that they had better "vistas" than Uncharted 2. They do not.
However, BFBC2 is a pretty good online shooter, more enjoyable than MW2, in my opinion. i love smooshing people with tanks!

NonProphet
NonProphet
11 years ago

No, they said the vistas/landscapes were better (though I disagree) The game itself really is a lot of fun, regardless.


Last edited by NonProphet on 3/24/2010 3:52:46 PM

buckoboy1
buckoboy1
11 years ago

om nom nom NOM!

Wage SLAVES
Wage SLAVES
11 years ago

Yeah, I agree they didn't touch U2. Though, everyone wants to knock Mike Tyson out or Dunk on MJ, everyone wants to look like Uncharted 2.

Multiplayer has people moving a little more patiently than MW2 that's for sure.


Last edited by Wage SLAVES on 3/25/2010 9:18:14 AM

FullmetalX10
FullmetalX10
11 years ago

Nice score, even though I won't buy it, I will admit it does look ok, better than cod at least.
Single player is to me the most important part of the game, to me it's the most immersive thing in the game, just sitting there in your room, totally concentrated, and if a game is good, then you will get immersed and forget the room you're in. You will be transfered into the alternate reality that is the video game world.
Don't have that much with multiplayer…

Beamboom
Beamboom
11 years ago

I disagree, my experience is that you have to concentrate a lot more in multiplayer games than solo campaigns… While solo games usually give you a helping hand along the way, multiplayer is no mercy from start to finish. You either get good or get wasted.

SSRGohan
SSRGohan
11 years ago

I've stopped playing Modern Warfare, now all of time time goes to Bad Company 2 and MAG, i love destruction 2.0 in bad company 2, it seems much more realistic than MW2 when i put some c4 and actually make a hole in the wall!!!!

MadKatBebop
MadKatBebop
11 years ago

Same here! I haven't played MW2 in a long time, its just Bad Company 2 for me!.

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
11 years ago

I've heard a lot of people say the same thing.


Last edited by Mr Bitey on 3/24/2010 2:39:55 PM

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
11 years ago

OK, is it worth buying just for SP mode? and about how long is the SP mode?

I'm asking because I'm not interested in playing MP & I don't want another game where SP mode was shortened, just so they could jack up their MP modes.

Maggot666PL
Maggot666PL
11 years ago

SP is nice, took me about three sittings to go through (probably under 9 hours on normal, without any special rush), including methodical seeking for those uplinks. Even though I like the game I'm not sure it's worth full release day price just for SP. Later, when prices fall/renter – of course.

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

Nice try Arnold but I won't bite. Bad Company 2 is a great game that I can hardly wait to get my hands on. To the uninitiated all FPS are the same, but to people who play and love FPSs know full well that MW and BC are two different kinds of shooters. Two of the best in fact.

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

Nice try? Won't bite? You make it seem like I'm trying to sell you a drug. They're different, but not THAT different.

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

LOL I was just goofing about the biting part. Thought maybe you were trying to get people who prefer MW all riled up by scoring BC2 a smidgen better. I'm sure you'll feel that heat soon enough, but it won't be from me. If anything, your review solidifies my desire to get this game.


Last edited by Alienange on 3/24/2010 1:08:05 PM

Jawknee
Jawknee
11 years ago

Alienage has a problem, if you don't like or agree with his tastes, Your sir are a hater and possibly worse then Hitler.

Great Review Arnold.

Hezzron
Hezzron
11 years ago

Hitler? Really?

Who's being "over emotional" now?

Shame on you Johnny. You need to hit the history books.

Jawknee
Jawknee
11 years ago

You don't get it.

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

Jawknee, are you seriously using the PSXE comments section to call me a "hater" and a "Hitler?" That's friggin' harsh man. I don't call you names do I?

Jawknee
Jawknee
11 years ago

hahahahahaha read the post again. i didn't call you any names. If anything you constantly accuse people of being haters. I didn't call you any name and i don't think your Hitler. Please read the comment again.

i said YOU call people haters and you don't like it when people disagree with you. the Hitler part was as little joke to illustrate just how much you dislike it when people disagree with you. YOUR not Hitler, you treat your opponents like they are. You need to relax.


Last edited by Jawknee on 3/24/2010 1:51:36 PM

MadKatBebop
MadKatBebop
11 years ago

Hey guys! lets just all calm down!. This seems like it can get out of hand real quick!. Have a nice day!

Jawknee
Jawknee
11 years ago

I'm calm. And i apologize Alienage if you thought i was calling you Hitler. I wasn't. Sorry meng. 🙂

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

Damn your capital 'Y' !

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

Now, now boys…

Nick Maim
Nick Maim
11 years ago

Gonna have to chime in and agree with Alienage. MW2 and BadCo 2 are only the same in that they are fps games in a modern setting.

I have both games and have played both extensively. Bad Company 2 picks up where MW2 leaves off. Not only can you run around on huge maps shooting your friends on the internet, but in BadCo 2 you can fly around, drive around and boat around. Squad co-operation is necessary, and rewarded. Environmental destruction is part of game advantage, as is using ingenuity such as placing c-4 on a quad bike, driving up to a tank, jumping off just before impact, sending the quad into the tank and detonating it, and everyone in it.

BadCo is full of epic moments. The closest you get to that in MW2 is when you can control a chopper… sort of. Lame that you can only use the turret, not actually fly it..

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
11 years ago

what the hell???

hehateme
hehateme
11 years ago

ive had my eye on this game….. but i want mag too…. and i already have gow 3 and darksiders and bioshock 2 aaaand heavy rain…… and im renting final fantasy from gamefly…lol yeah im all video gamed out…. <~ doesnt sound right but gets the point across… by the way…. dantes inferno….. gow 3 makes that game irrelevant

ohmikkie
ohmikkie
11 years ago

I enjoyed the single player to this. Should be getting into the multi-player next week after I "Vet" the third time in MAG.

tridon
tridon
11 years ago

Grr… I'm so torn! I wanna get this but I don't want two modern shooters this year and at the moment, I'm leaning more towards Medal of Honor. Maybe I'll hold off until the fall and see what the MoH reviews look like. If they're not very good, then I'll just get this game at a lower price.

MadKatBebop
MadKatBebop
11 years ago

What you can do is buy MoH for the SP and buy BC2 for the MP (that's what I'm doing). MoH SP will most likely be a real good one, but its MP is most likely going to be like MW2 (and after playing BC2 MP you really don't need to play any other MP games).


Last edited by MadKatBebop on 3/24/2010 1:55:36 PM

Lazytrappin
Lazytrappin
11 years ago

Get it or you will miss out on this quality game. It is well worth owning. It's all I've played since it came out. The multiplayer trumps Modern Warfare by a long shot.

Hezzron
Hezzron
11 years ago

Despite only being somewhat entertained by the first BC, I do have some interest in this game. It looks like a decent improvement. From what I've seen, it's taken a few hints from MW2 (leveling up), which is a good thing IMO.

I like this kind of stuff, but I'm gonna wait until it's cheaper in a few months. Sue me, I'm thrifty.

tlpn99
tlpn99
11 years ago

I got this game the day it came out. Single player is good im still working my way through it.

Multiplayer online right first off the bat when you get this dont be put off by the online side when you try it. At first I was running round like a noob and you soon get taken out by the people who are a higher skill level than you. I was like what's this all about as I wasn't sure what I was doing etc now I love playing it.

You have to get into a squad that talks. The amount of times I jumped on with a load of random people and not one of them was talking. The only downside I would say to this is that you can only talk to your squad members. So if your friend jumps online with you then chances are they will end up playing on the opposite side and you wont be able to talk to them. This is only if your squad is full. If a space is available then they will jump into your sqaud.

Also when playing you can spot other enemies this is done by pressing select so that they become highlighted on the map. Other members on your side but not in your sqaud can see this so they know where they are etc.

The 4 classes are good and bring a variety to the game. I play with a clan all the time online and were all different levels so we will say I'll go medic or such and such it does help if you have a good mixture of the classes though.

I also like the use of the vehicles in this game. Flying the helicopter will take you some time getting used to but it's something your going to have to have to practice. I have landed one once and that was a fluke but it bounched and skidded along the ground lol. The tanks are great fun but hard to control sometimes.

I like this game as much as I like MW2. Playing both online is very different though and you soon realise that.

Good review Arnold.

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

That's what I'm talking about. A gamer who knows when he's a noob and makes the needed changes to actually enjoy the game.

MadKatBebop
MadKatBebop
11 years ago

I admit, I need more practice with the helicopters. My fear of crashing or looking like an idiot with my squad inside the haul discourages me greatly. But its something I should learn to do.

BeezleDrop
BeezleDrop
11 years ago

I believe it is Definitely worth a purchase if you are a FPS fan. I bought it on Day 1 as well and thoroughly enjoy every aspect of it. I am actually having so much more fun with this then I did with MW2, plus there aren't as many angry people online. I do agreed, great review. There is much more depth then your average shooter, it encompasses Tactical Destruction, many fun vehicles, and some of the Best Weapons to fight with, and Huge maps. I recommend!

kraygen
kraygen
11 years ago

Well I'm not a big shooter fan, but I've always enjoyed battlefield shooters more than most. However I was really interested in trying mag just because of 256 player.

However due to money constraints and what not I never pay more than $20 for a shooter.

Beamboom
Beamboom
11 years ago

I rarely pay more than $20 on *any* game… It's just to wait a few months after release… Patience is king 😉

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

I wanted split screen though.

NonProphet
NonProphet
11 years ago

Totally agree, I really want to be able to go online with friends and play together when we're hanging out. Still a pretty great game.

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

You wouldn't be able to get the full effect of their massive vistas with split screen. Besides, with 12 players on each team it's hardly the time to reduce your field of vision.

Shams
Shams
11 years ago

Vehicles and destructible environments. Sounds rich.

Bloodysilence19
Bloodysilence19
11 years ago

i defently know bfbc 2 doesn't look as good as mw2. but that's cause bfbc2 graphics are unique in its one way. bfbc2 online is 10xs better than mw2 for sure just wish there were more game types in bfbc2 like mw2 has. online for bfbc2 is more fun with better things you can do in it like spotting a enemy from far distance, which helps with snipers. also bfbc2 online doesn't have idiot nuke noobs and halo 30 feet jumping with a knife crap in every game. now mw2 single player is better than bfbc 2 for sure. other than that bfbc 2 is better still than mw2.

NonProphet
NonProphet
11 years ago

COD might have better graphics but its much more confined. I'm sure its easier to render/animate a map when its 1/10th the size of the competition. After playing MAG and BFBC2 I feel claustrophobic when I go back to COD.

Imagi
Imagi
11 years ago

Bought the game for the multi-player, which is worth the price of admission alone, the single player campaign is good, well worth the play and has replay value due to the destructible environment and gun selection options.

This is, for me, the best online shooter to date on the console platform, by far. No other game touches it for the epic adrenalin fuelled moments, and the mayhem of battle which can barrage your senses.

It is probably the closest you will come to post traumatic stress disorder without actually being in the firing line.

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

And thank goodness they changed the knifing button.

New Report

Close