Graphics:
10.0
Gameplay:
10.0
Sound:
9.0
Control:
9.5
Replay Value:
9.0
Overall Rating:
9.8
Online Gameplay:
Not Rated
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
SCEA
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
Action


It didn't take long for God of War to become Sony's biggest property, next to Gran Turismo. In fact, it wasn't that long ago we got our first God of War game, helmed by David Jaffe, back in 2005. And now, four years later, the end to our trilogy has arrived for the PlayStation 3 after a much anticipated and grueling wait. The hysteria around God of War III has been nothing short of epic, as coverage in the press generated massive amounts of feedback…people really wanted this game, and they wanted it bad. Videos and screenshots sent all gaming message boards into a buzz, and I'm about to tell you why.

As we all know, God of War is franchise that pretty much rewrites much of Greek mythology. But in addition to rewriting Greek mythology, the franchise has also rewritten the rule book for what an action game should be, and God of War III takes everything the first two games did and adds to it to what I call the 'infinith power'. About two hours into the game, I picked up the phone and gave Ben a call, and ask about his day. Basically, the point of my call was to setup Ben to ask me how *my* day was, and when he did, I promptly respond with a: "oh, you know…slaying gods, demons, a titan here and there. Just the everyday usual stuff." A few seconds of silence later, Ben told me how much he hated me, and I proceeded to fill that hatred to the brim, by telling him how utterly epic God of War III was.

Ben said he wasn't surprised, seeing as how epic the first two were. And I told him to forget about the first two. Just forget them. Because what God of War I and II were isn't even a bread crumb on a giant loaf of bread. It was hard for me to explain simply how nuts the first hour of the game was, because it is without question *the* most epic first hour of a video game. Ever. Now, a word like epic gets thrown around a lot, and usually when I use it, I mean it. Because games like Uncharted 2 and KillZone 2 were, indeed, pretty damn epic.

But in this case, I need a word that's bigger than epic, but unfortunately, I can't think of one…so what I will do is simply tell you God of War III is epic 2
– yes, that's epic squared. And no, the demo most of you have played is not part of that first hour of the game, like past GOW demos are. In fact, the downloadable demo is very heavily edited and is missing tons and tons of segments and key moments (that are obviously spoilers) that you'll see when you reach the stage in the actual game a few hours into it.

Much of the same concepts remain for the sequel, albeit with newer weapons, abilities, and such. One notable change I've noticed was that the QTE minigames have been given a minor revision. Instead of displaying the button in the center of the screen, obscuring Kratos and whatever enemy he's about to demolish, the buttons are now designated and displayed based on their location on the Dual Shock. So Triangle will appear at the top, X on the bottom, Square on the left, and Circle on the right.

The action is still the smoothest of any action game, bar none. I don't care what you throw at me, you can combine all of those other action titles, and they still don't add up to the lunacy of God of War III. The boss fights are fantastic, and more diverse than you may imagine – I'll refrain from giving out too many details, so you will see how diverse for yourself. The atmosphere of the game is utterly engrossing, moreso than the past games, and that's likely because of the power and flexibility a machine like the PS3 offers the developers. Furthermore, the story is brilliant, and some of the twists you'll encounter will have your jaw on the floor – Kratos does some stuff that's just…cold blooded, and yet so badass!

Now, unfortunately, there are a few quirks, largely related to controls. You will experience a number of cheap deaths as platforms will unexpectedly break, a fire comes from behind and burns you to death, you're trying to dodge falling boulders and instead of shimmying right quickly, Kratos goes straight up, or the worst, you hit an invisible wall mid-jump and plummet to your death. The shimmy and platforming issues bothered me most. There are times I would look straight at my controller, see my analog stick pointed perfectly right or left, only to witness Kratos jump up. After many deaths, I'd eventually get through the segment, only to find myself at a platforming segment that requires a lot of well timed jumps, double jumps, and some wings. Often times my wings wouldn't deploy, or the second jump would barely even happen and I plummet to my death over and over again.

In all seriousness, all 20+ of my deaths were because of the issues mentioned above, and not from a battle. I've also experienced a number of times where I'd be standing directly in front of a chest and the R1 prompt wouldn't pop-up; some chests I had to open either standing further back, more from the side, or walking away and coming back. There are definitely some control quirks here.

Moving on, I will make this very blunt: God of War III is the biggest powerhouse to run on any console at the moment. It is easily the best looking game available today – just a smidge better looking than Uncharted 2, if only because of the better framerate and sense of scale being so tremendous. The texture detail all around you is absurdly detailed, and the work applied on Kratos makes him perhaps the single best looking videogame character to date. Sony has gone through great lengths to make God of War III an unparalleled visual experience and they've succeeded in their efforts to do so. The screenshots and videos simply do this game no justice, it is truly needed to be witnessed in person.

Furthermore, since I mentioned the framerate, unlike the first two God of War games, God of War III is not locked to 60 frames per second, but rather, runs between 30 and 60, depending on the situation. It's no drawback to the game, solely because the changes in framerate aren't very perceptible at all, and if I can barely notice them, I highly doubt anyone else will have an issue with it. The framerate was left to vary in such a way so that the game can boast a horde of extra effects that truly give the visuals a beautiful and cinematic effect. To add to this cinematic effect is the downright flawless lighting, the superb animation (which, we're told, is not physics based), and a slew of other visual goodies that make this the absolute best looking videogame to date.

Now, the audio is a bit of a questionable issue here, because the retail game seems to have a problem with the voice acting sounding way too low. As some of you may recall, this is an issue that's occurred in the past with other games, and has been patched. So I'm certain Sony will address the issue…unfortunately, I'm grading this based on what I have in front of me. And at this moment, I can only play the game using subtitles, otherwise I can barely make sense of the cutscene dialogue. Oddly enough, the voices of gigantic characters have no problem coming through the speakers loud and clear, just characters like Kratos, Zeus, etc. When the audio is loud, I can most certainly hear how brilliant the voice acting is, and how every aspect of it is acted out so flawlessly. Moreover, the orchestrated soundtrack and those powerful sound effects deliver a punch few action games can compete with. Let me make note of this: if Sony addresses the voice volume with a patch, I will raise the audio to a proper 10.

So what else can I say about God of War III? There probably isn't a whole lot to say to make you guys want the game any more than you already do. I can't praise this game enough for everything that it does so effortlessly. The adventure will run you about 8-10 hours, and chances are you will go back for another round with your acquired goodies in tow. God of War III is the epitome of what this generation is all about: lavish visuals, marvelous gameplay, storytelling that is unlike any other, and an overall presentation that simply cannot be beat. God of War III is an early candidate and sure fire front-runner for game of the year.

Subscribe
Notify of
256 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Condemnedsoul23
Condemnedsoul23
11 years ago

I don't think I have ever seen a review this high. Glad I ordered this but we all know everyone that has a PS3 is going to buy this. Interesting on the replay value. None of the others had high replay value in my opinion even after unlocking costumes and stuff because it was the exact same game all over again so I wasn't in a rush to do so but looks like this one will be different. Can't wait and excellent review as usual.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

We gave Uncharted 2 the same score, GTAIV got a 9.9 and MGS4 got a 10.

Arvis
Arvis
11 years ago

I have a PS3, and I'm not going to buy it. I'm going to buy Resonance of Fate, instead.

…what?

-Arvis

buckoboy1
buckoboy1
11 years ago

@ ben. If you could compare those games to today's games im sure they would have gotten a lower score, im sick of gta4 now but i must agre with mgs4 the graphics were the best id ever seen!

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

Resonance does look good, I will wait for reviews though. Well, A review.

NoMoreWar
NoMoreWar
11 years ago

i have a ps3 and i won't be buying this game either. not my style

Arvis
Arvis
11 years ago

@ World,

I checked out the Famitsu review, and I think it's enough to know that the game isn't broken. Also, I did some research and found out that, at the very least, they DIDN'T lead development on a 360-specific engine, so we shouldn't have to worry too much about any version being too much worse than another.

That being said… I HAVE held off on my Amazon preorder until I can find out more.

-Arvis

Lotusflow3r
Lotusflow3r
11 years ago

Me too, i ain't getting.

Not my style also.

Appreciate the volume of it though.

I gotta get Yakuza 3, RoF, Last rebellion in march alone….and as an optional side order i got Just Cause 2 as a pass time game!

No time for chaos.

Hexen
Hexen
11 years ago

I have a PS3 and won't be getting GOWIII because I wanna look cool and unique.On a side note I wonder if Ben or Arnold are going to be reviewing Episodes From Liberty City?

Geobaldi
Geobaldi
11 years ago

I have a PS3 and I'm not buying it either.

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
11 years ago

The demo for Resonance of Fate has been up on the Japanese PS Store for ages. The battle system is pretty good, but as a whole it seems kinda meh.

Arvis
Arvis
11 years ago

Yeah, well THIS guys doesn't think it seems meh: http://www.gametrawler.com/node/30

-Arvis

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
11 years ago

You're not alone Arvis.

Reccaman18
Reccaman18
11 years ago

Did you play the demo for Resonance of Fate, Arvis? Its on the Japanese store. The graphics are good, but I thought the game play was kinda weird.

randomname
randomname
11 years ago

I have a PS3 and I'm buying it.

chedison
chedison
11 years ago

Condemned, don't say everyone….

IronFace2
IronFace2
11 years ago

I have a ps3 and im not buying it…
Ill save some money and get something else…

sonic1899
sonic1899
11 years ago

I find it a bit petty to thumb Arvis down just because he said he wants to play Resonance of Fate instead. He didn't talk bad about GOW3 and not everyone who has a PS3 is obligated to buy it. I'm not buying it either, because I can only buy one game at the moment and that game happens to be Resonance of Fate, since I've been looking towards it since 2009. I hope GOW3 and FFXIII sells millions (I know they will), but for the time being, I have my sights set on other things 😛

Arvis
Arvis
11 years ago

Well, thank you Sonic. 🙂

Did you read the link I posted above? You'd like it. 😀

-Arvis

fatelementality
fatelementality
11 years ago

GTAIV deserved no such score. I woulda given it an 8

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

''The adventure will run you about 8-10 hours, and chances are you will go back for another round with your acquired goodies in tow.''

''The adventure will run you about 8-10 hours''

''8-10 hours''

damn… first my disappoint with FFXIII and now this.


Last edited by Oxvial on 3/8/2010 11:10:05 AM

vicious54
vicious54
11 years ago

What are you disappointed about? 8 – 10 hrs for an action game seem pretty long to me, any longer I would think make the story loose its luster.

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

because the game was announced to be 15-20 hours , and no .. 8-10 isn't enough for 60 bucks imo.

Condemnedsoul23
Condemnedsoul23
11 years ago

8-10 hours? I don't remember hearing or seeing that anywhere. I am trying to remember how long Infamous or Dante's Inferno took because that does sound kind of short especially since I heard they used to much disk space to make this game. Regardless I will take quality over quantity any day and if this game damn near gets a perfect 10 score it could be 5 mintues long for all I care because Kratos has never disappointed us before and he doesn't ened a lot of time tog et his point across.
I can't wait to dismember people. This is one game Hollywood SURELY should make a movie after. Can you imagine James Cameron in the directors chair for a Gow of War movie in 3d nonetheless?. Avatar as great as it was couldn't touch it.

sonic1899
sonic1899
11 years ago

So what? A game doesn't need to be 100+ hours to be fun; 100 hours can be filled with boring, inane content anyway. NGS2 & Bayonetta are both 16 hours long on average, but I'm having so much fun with them and they'll be keeping me busy for a while.

michiganfan1983
michiganfan1983
11 years ago

Yea, I thought this game was supposed to be twice the game play length as the first two games. So that is slightly disappointing but I will get over it.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

Length is irrelevant. I've always said that. Provided the experience is fulfilling, length is IRRELEVANT.

I would've paid $60 for Heavy Rain if it had been 5 hours.

Jian2069
Jian2069
11 years ago

How long was MGS4?

TheHighlander
TheHighlander
11 years ago

What's the replay value of the game? Is it 8-10 hours playing quickly through?

vicious54
vicious54
11 years ago

Even if the game takes you 8 hrs to beat it once, that is $7.50 an hour so I think that is very good value.

You must never go to the movie theater either with that kind of mentality.


Last edited by vicious54 on 3/8/2010 1:23:53 PM

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

Length is irrelevant? What the heck are you saying?

I guarantee you that GoWIII has just lost some day one sales based on the light that's just been shed on its length.

It's disturbing news to say the least.

leonardodavanti
leonardodavanti
11 years ago

Don't be an idiot like the reviewer. Officially announced by the game director he said that it depends on the players to finish the game in 10 hours. Even if you are good it will take you more than at least 11 hours. For amateurs will be like 13 to 15 hours. God of War 3 is more than 10 hours. TRUST ME.

telly
telly
11 years ago

@Ben, THANK YOU. A game should be as long as it should be. Like books, movies and pretty much everything else, the appropriate length should be determined on a case-by-case basis. I've always loved God of War games because they are not too long — the game ends and you feel thrilled, not overstuffed.

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

Trust leonardodavanti over Arnold? Not going to happen buddy.

Hezzron
Hezzron
11 years ago

"Length is irrelevant. I've always said that. Provided the experience is fulfilling, length is IRRELEVANT."

Sounds like someone defending their short, um… manhood. GOW3 has a mini-game that will make you feel better in that department.

Good review for a great game. Keep up the good work.

Oyashiro
Oyashiro
11 years ago

"Length is irrelevant. I've always said that. Provided the experience is fulfilling, length is IRRELEVANT."

I always say that as well… to my girlfriends!

*Buh Dum Tish*

Kowhoho
Kowhoho
11 years ago

Lol, where's Limited Vertigo? He should be having a hay day.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
11 years ago

^
HAHA

Length most certainly does matter (to me). I wouldn't pay 12bux to see a movie that was less than an hour and I'm not going to buy (up front) a game that is less than 12hrs of game play.

Wage SLAVES
Wage SLAVES
11 years ago

@Oxvial
Im beginning to think your not much of a gamer to say something like that! I still havent beaten GTA4 and that has tons of hours of gameplay but it isn't quality gameplay. GoW3 is pure action quality gameplay. I'll take that thank you!

I remember paying full price for Mario games that I beat in a day! My, have we come so far just to become spoiled…

BTW
If your into trophies like I am tack on double the replay value.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
11 years ago

Wage,

Those Mario games weren't $60 and they were pretty much the only good games during their release window.

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

I expected more thumb's down..why lie to myself?yeah I'm disappointed and I'm not 100% happy giving 60 bucks for a game that its 8-10 hours, I sure the game its going to be awesome but was wrong with me wanting some hours more?.

Also I read in this site and others that the game was going to be 15 hours at least.. not 8, but well I search again and it looks that info was a misunderstanding .

other thing in some of the negative reviews they talk about length so yeah, a lot of people cares about length.

p.s yes I'm not a gamer, just a regular dude that like games.


Last edited by Oxvial on 3/8/2010 8:53:42 PM

Kowhoho
Kowhoho
11 years ago

Well, I have now played both God of War I and II about 3 or 4 times, resulting in about 80+ hours of gaming between the two. Some people would say that re-plays don't count, but for me it makes it worth it because trophies have made a completionist out of me. Even if they removed the trophies, the need to find every little thing would still be there. My two cents.

Oh and btw, you can have whatever opinion you want about the length of the game, but unless you link me to some proof I remember the "announced" length of the game being just a rumour.


Last edited by Kowhoho on 3/8/2010 9:36:05 PM

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

https://temp.psxextreme.com/ps3-news/6515.html


Last edited by Oxvial on 3/8/2010 10:57:34 PM

Irievibes
Irievibes
11 years ago

question….

10 hours played TIME
or

then actual RL hours?

because if its 10 hours played time, you can be sure there will be time between all the fights , retries and such, play it in hard, why rush thru it?

vicious54
vicious54
11 years ago

I knew this game would live up to our expectations. I loved the first two and since the collection came out I have been playing through them again. March 16th feels so far away.

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
11 years ago

Ben,
<<<Length is irrelevant. I've always said that. Provided the experience is fulfilling, length is IRRELEVANT.>>>

I'd have to disagree a bit there.
I liked Ghost Recon:Advanced Warfighter 2, but I was pissed upon ending the SP campaign(don't do MP modes) that I(an average player) was able to complete it in only 4 hours.

Dridion
Dridion
11 years ago

HELL YEA! Great review as usual Arnold. I war scared for a moment that it wasn't gonna score so damn high. Regardless, it could have received a 1 and it still would have been a day one purchase, it's just reassuring. Again, thanks!

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
11 years ago

Nice review . Are these audio issues present throughout the game or in certain areas only ?

COBB
COBB
11 years ago

Great read, can't wait till next Tuesday. had mine pre-ordered for months now.

Condemnedsoul23
Condemnedsoul23
11 years ago

Oh and I thought of a word you could use other than epic. How about scrumtrulescent? That;s the only thing I think of when I see trailers for this game. It's obviously in a class all by itself.

New Report

Close