Graphics:
9.8
Gameplay:
9.3
Sound:
9.6
Control:
9.0
Replay Value:
10.0
Overall Rating:
9.5
Online Gameplay:
Not Rated
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
Quantic Dream
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
Adventure
Release Date:
February 23, 2010


“Stories are the creative conversion of life itself into a more powerful, clearer, more meaningful experience. They are the currency of human contact.” — Robert McKee

Great stories leave us fulfilled and even breathless. Great stories we control? The concept is in its infancy stages but after playing Heavy Rain , we feel something in addition to fulfillment and satisfaction; we feel as if we’ve only glimpsed the tip of the iceberg. We see it from afar at first, sitting aboard a comfortable vessel that carries the expected, the familiar, and as time rolls on, the mundane and predictable. That tip of ice hovers in the fog, barely perceptible but somehow managing to impart the fact that a glacier of unimaginable proportions spreads beneath. At the start, we’re a little afraid of leaping overboard and leaving all that we know behind but soon, we’ve disregarded the freezing water and reached out a finger to touch that haunting tip of ice. In that instant, the world changes, the water is warm and inviting, and the fog lifts. We’re glad we took that plunge and begin to relax and indulge. “How far will you go to save someone you love?” No plunge…no answer.

There’s little doubt that Quantic Dream’s masterpiece is one of the best looking games you will ever see. With full motion capture from real actors, over 30,000 unique animations recorded, and an astounding level of detail in the backdrops and environments, Heavy Rain can indeed compete with the best of the best. Close-ups on those very human faces are downright incredible (you’re treated to this at the start of each new section) and although some of the landscape occasionally seems viewed through a misty windowpane, the clarity and overall beauty of this title is impressive. Due to the intense atmosphere that continues throughout the story, we need just the right lighting and shading in certain situations; the visuals are essential for infusing the correct mood into each scene. Quantic Dream really shines in this capacity. Now, I personally think the facial animations are a little overdone, in that each character seems to have a few ticks that – for only brief moments – make their expressions appear silly. There is also a bit of pop-in and screen-tearing when viewing the visuals from certain angles, but these flaws are minor.

The point is that Heavy Rain ’s graphics are gorgeous and manage to place the characters in the limelight at all times. We are always drawn to the faces of the major characters, although we continue to drink in our surroundings, which contribute directly to any sensations we feel. Obviously, in order to complete the presentation, the sound needs to blend with the outstanding visual palette. Here, we get the benefit of professional voice acting, nearly flawless sound effects, and a soundtrack that keeps us precariously perched on the edge of our seat. The classical score works extremely well and enhances every tense situation. I’m not the biggest fan of all the spoken voices and I still say Uncharted 2: Among Thieves features the best cast in gaming this generation, but Heavy Rain is a solid second. The professional actors are all wonderful, and Pascal Langdale (Ethan), Jacqui Ainsley (Madison), Sam Douglas (Scott), and Leon Ockenden (Norman) should be commended for excellent performances. The music will sometimes cut out during gameplay, but it’s rarely experienced and hardly a significant drawback. In the end, despite a few extremely small technical missteps, the graphics and sound are absolutely amazing when combined.

What is Heavy Rain ? This is a question that has dominated the Internet ever since we read through the first gameplay details with greedy eyes and anxious hearts. Some claimed it would be just like Indigo Prophecy and wouldn’t boast much in the way of extra innovation, while others didn’t like the idea that it was “only about QTEs.” Let’s clear this up right now- yes, you control the action elements via QTEs. The rest of the time, you walk about with the current character and explore your environment with simple button presses and analog movements. Much has been made about movement being mapped to the R2 button and at first, I too questioned this decision. However, after playing for a bit, I came to the following realization: the right analog handles most of your actions when maneuvering about your surroundings (press down to open a door, rotate right and up to open a cabinet, etc.), and the left analog handles the direction of your head . This allows you to look about – which can even shift the fixed camera a bit – and put your eyes on important things.

The R2 is merely held for the action of walking and it’s not really a distraction. However, I will say that this game’s biggest flaw does indeed center on movement. Moving your head doesn’t always gel with the movement of your body, and in cramped spaces, it can be frustrating to move about and peruse. It’s a common, recurring issue and one that unfortunately remains a minor problem throughout the experience; you’ll no doubt notice this rather quickly. The other problem centers on the camera, which isn’t always in the best position. Now, you can switch to an alternate view with the L1 button, which often helps, but even so, there are areas where neither view is really ideal. …that’s it. I’m done with the negatives, believe it or not. Because the entire experience is one continuous, adapting story, the fluidity and seamlessness of the adventure always reigns supreme and you quickly overlook the aforementioned shortcomings. Now, before I begin with the following, please bear in mind one thing: in 27 years, no video game has ever managed to engage me so completely and so often, on a mental level. This is purely subjective but well worth mentioning.

As for the QTEs, they’re perfectly implemented. At no point will you believe the game cheated you; i.e., you think you executed the correct command in time but it still didn’t work. This never happens. If you do it, it always works; I know because I’ve played the game through twice already. I have never been a fan of the Sixaxis motion control, primarily because it usually feels like a gimmick and isn’t 100% accurate but it never fails you in Heavy Rain . The motions are simple, too; it’s either up and down or side to side (or sometimes tilting it in a steering fashion), so you’ll never feel overwhelmed. You have just the right amount of time to complete each command – not too fast to be hard, not too slow to be overly easy – and there’s a wee bit of leniency offered for the more difficult commands, like when you have to quickly move the right analog right and down. There are times when you have to twist your fingers into a bit of a pretzel when holding down multiple buttons at once, but the developers know enough to make the majority of such combined mechanics “hand logical.” In other words, you’ll often hold down the Square and X button; see how you can do that easily with your thumb?

You view the story through four sets of eyes: Ethan Mars, Scott Shelby, Madison Paige, and Norman Jayden; a father and architect, a private detective, a journalist, and an FBI profiler respectively. You will switch between each of the four characters as the story progresses and at first, they are only linked via the Origami Killer – a maniac who kidnaps boys between the ages of 9 and 13 and drowns them in rainwater; hence the title, “Heavy Rain” – but eventually, they all come closer and closer together…provided you keep them alive. As you might have heard by now, any given character can die in certain situations if you don’t execute correctly, and when that happens, there is no “do-over.” The story adapts to that occurrence and continues forward. This creates many branching storylines with any number of results found at the end of the path. How intricate is this process? At one point, Madison gets attacked by a deranged doctor; I missed one of the button prompts and she got slashed across the midsection. Later, when she’s stripping down in the club, I see that slash on her body. …yeah. Impressive.

The questions immediately begin to swirl after significant events. What if I hadn’t managed to fight off that guy? What if I hadn’t escaped the police? What if Jayden succumbs to either his “problem” or to Mad Jack? What if only Madison and Ethan are alive at the end? What if I had Ethan reject Madison? What if Scott hadn’t finished his mission of revenge? What if…what if…what if…? Well, I had to test this, so after my first play-through – when I got the Silver “Four Heroes” Trophy for keeping everyone alive and what I assume to be the ultimate happy ending; this took about 10 hours – I just had to go back and start a new game, complete with totally different decisions. The result? Well, not every event is crucial and will change the story’s direction, especially in regards to the early occurrences. Win or lose, it doesn’t matter much. But later on, most everything matters. Once the really important events and decisions kicked in and I made my alternate choices, I was greeted to all new scenes and an entirely different climax. I’m currently on my third time through and I’m still seeing new scenes; I’m only just now starting to realize how many branches there may be…

The key to the entire experience is the sensation and feeling that makes the heart race. For instance, I am not a father and yet, the prologue was very difficult to watch and even watching it a second time didn’t make it any less horrible. Furthermore, I have this old-fashioned respect for females; even a deference, so-to-speak, so when I was controlling Madison and suffered an injury, I actually winced. The point is, I’m not a father nor am I a woman, but when a single bachelor honestly feels the unimaginable pangs of a distraught father, and when a 6’3, 220lb. individual is terrified for an innocent woman’s well-being (when she’s being attacked in her apartment, I was actually breathing heavy), that is a true, undeniable sign of immersion. You feel so wonderfully connected to every character when you control them. Now, prior to playing, I would have agreed with the argument that less actual control over a character would detract from the overall immersion, but I won’t make that claim now. My reactions are solely responsible for this person’s survival; if he or she dies, that’s it . No “Game Over.”

I don’t think we really understand just how poignant that is. And speaking of poignancy, the artistry of Heavy Rain must be appreciated. It may sound boring to control a character as he brushes his teeth, opens a cabinet, cooks something in the microwave, or simply leans against a wall. But here’s where the atmosphere comes into play; I’m not a good enough writer to make you feel this appropriately, but I’ll try:

An unthinkable tragedy causes a happy family to splinter. Two years later, the father, gaunt and unshaven, stands in the rain and picks up an unsmiling, mostly unresponsive son after school. The aforementioned tragedy prompted a split of the two dedicated parents; for the father, the large, bright, meticulously decorated house has given way to a drab, cramped apartment. The son is on one of his scheduled visits; he sits on the sofa and watches TV, replying to his father’s gently probing questions about school and friends with a depressingly dismissive tone. The ceaseless rain beats against the dirty windowpane as the father prepares a modest dinner for his son, who has finished his homework in silence and now proceeds to eat in silence. In a heart-wrenching display of desperation for an idyllic past that can never be reclaimed, the father juggles a few apples, which elicits the first bright response from his son. But the somber mood returns immediately and the father sits at the kitchen table and waits patiently for his son to finish. Later, just before he puts the son to bed, the father dusts off a desk that hasn’t seen an architect’s touch in quite some time, and views an old home video. He weeps quietly.

Now, in the game, I made all this happen but at the same time, it all happened fluidly and in real-time. Can you appreciate the simple act of sitting down beside your son and watching some TV? Considering the situation, it’s deeply poetic. But if you need more in the way of traditional action, you’ll just think all of this is boring. And here comes the most difficult part of my review; the admission that Heavy Rain , despite its brilliance, isn’t for everyone. Unfortunately, not everyone has the requisite patience, sentimentality, and appreciation for artistic storytelling to actually experience this drama. You must give yourself over to this story. You must realize what it is . If you can’t do that, you will never enjoy it and you will likely be confused as to why it receives any acclaim at all. “It’s barely even a game ,” they’ll say. And they have a point. I’m not entirely sure this is a “video game” based on our current definition. But I can indeed tell you it’s a revolution for the industry; this is storytelling that makes us feel in every damn scene. Up to this point, I haven’t felt like this when experiencing a story unless I’m watching a movie or reading a book.

Lastly, there is indeed full nudity in this game but as David Cage said in a recent interview, none of the content is gratuitous. Yes, Madison gets fully nude and takes a shower but that’s only if you decide to wander into the bathroom and make her do it. Yes, she strips down in a nightclub but only if you take off her clothes before reaching for the lamp. It’s all about choice. There is some strong language as well, but it’s hardly overdone and there’s little or nothing in the way of blood and gore (these designers understand that our imaginations are typically worse than actually seeing ). I especially like how all the characters are distinctly human. Nobody is a superhero; they move like humans, they have the same limitations and capabilities as humans, and one major character – Scott Shelby – even has a big ol’ gut. Madison has a hell of a body but she doesn’t have the impossible “DD/tiny waist” dimensions we see in other games; she’s a slender, healthy, good-looking woman. Ethan and Norman exhibit the very same traits as males. This is absolutely essential because we always have to believe in the realism of the characters we control.

Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction. I’m terrified that it won’t do well on the sales charts, because this means gamers aren’t mature enough. It means the developers have grown up faster. I honestly hope this isn’t the case and I want nothing more than for Quantic Dream to be rewarded for this effort. If you’re not sure about this game, here’s a clue- if you’ve read this entire review and you actually enjoy reading (you know, books), you’ll likely adore this title. If the only games you’ve played in the past year are shooters and you aren’t having any fun unless there’s blood or explosions or a combination of both, you’ll probably just play this game and laugh at its “lameness.” At which point, I start to feel sorry for you. But to each his own and as amazing as Heavy Rain is, this 9.5 score doesn’t necessarily mean it’s a must-buy for everyone. But I will say this may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will.

Subscribe
Notify of
189 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
pavlovic
pavlovic
11 years ago

Awewsome, played the demo and I'm in love.

Great review Ben

convergecrew
convergecrew
11 years ago

Yes. I think this will be my first game purchase of 2010.

to_far_apart
to_far_apart
11 years ago

Masterful review Ben.

OPHIDIAN
OPHIDIAN
11 years ago

I'm going to ask a straightforward, perhaps stupid, question: Why do people love this game so much?

I'm I the only one uninterested?

Just got 37/40 fro Famitsu too!

BTW, that was an incredibly well written article. Brilliant use of English punctuation and grammar.


Last edited by OPHIDIAN on 2/10/2010 7:09:50 PM

Lazytrappin
Lazytrappin
11 years ago

Haven't played the demo yet, but I've already placed my pre-order. Not going to miss this one. I'm playing Dante's Inferno and I don't care if they ripped off GOW's control scheme. The game looks good, it's full of action, and the overall gameplay is excellent. I'm also buying GOW III as on day one, so don't think I'm picking sides. I will own both of these games. Similar gameplay is fine as long as it's quality.

BTNwarrior
BTNwarrior
11 years ago

And that is why this is going to be a day one purchase for me

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
11 years ago

i've already paid this off. i knew this would get a great review


Last edited by ace_boon_coon on 2/10/2010 1:13:21 PM

spiderboi
spiderboi
11 years ago

Ditto. Day 1 purchase for me too. It's gonna be waay captivating (similar to my experience in U2 when exploring), looking around the eye-candy surroundings

Superman915
Superman915
11 years ago

The minor complaint about the head movement seems like something one simply needs to get used to. everything else sounds amazing. cant wait for this. However, I also fear that it wont get the deserved sales, mainly because Ive yet to see a single commercial for it.

"Up to this point, I haven’t felt like this when experiencing a story unless I’m watching a movie or reading a book."

Hmm…the only video game I can say that came close and many times succeeded in portraying those feelings were Shadow of the Colossus and to a lesser extent, the Metal Gear Solid.

The PlayStation brand wins again!


Last edited by Superman915 on 2/10/2010 12:48:40 PM

Bromus398
Bromus398
11 years ago

Great review, Ben. I've been following the site for quite some time, but I had to register after reading this review just to mention that I appreciate your perspective on games as it is definitely closer to my own than most gaming sites.

Once again: thanks man, great review.

robinhood2010
robinhood2010
11 years ago

You are obviously in love with this game =)

Sounds like my videogame store employee discount is going to be well used on this.

Jawknee
Jawknee
11 years ago

Nice, ill be getting this now for sure.

556pineapple
556pineapple
11 years ago

Excellent review, Ben. As much as I wanted this game already, you've succeeded in convincing me it is an absolute must-have. Now all I have to do is summon the patience to wait another two weeks for it :(.

chucknasty
chucknasty
11 years ago

you and me both Pineapple. I usually abhor QTEs but I am willing to make an exception for this.

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
11 years ago

waitin another 2 weeks is the hard part. and the demo comin this week will make it harder to wait ugh

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
11 years ago

I read up until " …yeah. Impressive." Are there many spoilers or things in this that may take away from the first time experience? (Moves away, giddy like a girl who's about to climb the rope in gym class for the second time.)


Last edited by fluffer nutter on 2/10/2010 12:47:01 PM

LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
11 years ago

No, he's already said he wouldn't spoil anything and there are none in the review =)

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
11 years ago

Thanks. I still had to ask. I can't wait to climb the rope, er, play this game. lol

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
11 years ago

You lied! I went and read something that I wouldn't want to have known during my first playthrough. Drats!

HAMCHUNKS
HAMCHUNKS
11 years ago

hey bro i was disappointed about the slight spoilers, having never played it i can't be certain but still i will now just be waiting for these moments to come

LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
11 years ago

Aw, really? Crap, maybe I missed that part? All the paragraphs I might have skipped one, haha, sorry man =P At least I'M still not spoiled =D LOL

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

Christ. I can't believe I have to say it again.

There are NO SPOILERS. Just because you know something about the story doesn't mean it's in any way important. That's like saying, "OMG, I know that person's NAME, now I'm screwed." Just calm down, people.

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
11 years ago

I can't speak for others but I am calm. I understand your point about spoilers, Ben but I didn't want to know certain aspects of the game before the first playthrough. I know, it's my fault for reading. My choice, my fault and no one else's. I don't get upset, either. Life's too short. Remember, I don't listen to mallcore bands so all is good. 😀

whiskeytango74
whiskeytango74
11 years ago

Awesome review, I played the demo and loved it. Now lets all pray that i have a little extra cash so that i will be able to buy this game when it releases

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
11 years ago

we have to find the cash to gets this game. we have to make sure it succeeds or else this might be the last time and game of this stature is released.

Buckeyestar
Buckeyestar
11 years ago

I have my copy already paid in full, can't wait for the release date.

LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
11 years ago

Pure genius. This game is so innovative and groundbreaking =O Feb 23rd can't come soon enough. Sigh, I'll be playing this non-stop once I get my hands on it.

killzone100
killzone100
11 years ago

The demo didnt have enough time to show your consequences for your action so the full game wwill be so much better!

tridon
tridon
11 years ago

Damn, I wish I had the money next week to pick this up immediately. Actually, now that I think of it, I think I'll pick this up in April when I'm done with God of War III. The way I see it, I'm going to spend a lot more time with Heavy Rain than with GoW, and this way I won't have to rush through this game before it's time to play with Kratos (boy, does that sound dirty).

I want to read your entire review, Ben, but I'm afraid of spoilers. Either way, though, I'm sure it's a kick-ass review and I'll definitely spend the time to read it after I've played through the game.

tridon
tridon
11 years ago

Okay… I gave in and read it.

Kick-ass review, Ben! Really, truly great stuff!


Last edited by tridon on 2/10/2010 1:08:54 PM

bOnEs
bOnEs
11 years ago

i wasn't sure if this style of game was my cup of tea… but, the demo convinced me that i am going to have a blast playing this… but, it's not a day one purchase for me, yet… i've got more games to spend my money on in the next couple of months that, i am finding it hard to fit this into the budget as well…

if it wasn't for R* announcing episodes of liberty city coming to the PS3, this would be a day one purchase for me… now i'm not so sure i can afford it…

but, great review ben… as always, your reviews are the ones to read…


Last edited by bOnEs on 2/10/2010 12:55:53 PM

inkme101
inkme101
11 years ago

you are putting off heavy rain for gta dlc? wtf?

bOnEs
bOnEs
11 years ago

i loved GTAIV so, to each their own… i'd rather have that personally since my friends are getting it too… but, i also want heavy rain… maybe i'll bite the bullet and add another game to the budget, even though i really can't afford to…

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

Hey, to each his own. I loved GTAIV.

bOnEs
bOnEs
11 years ago

that's right… and get this, you might not believe me but, i got a feeling that some might not get god of war III because of the episodes coming out around the same time… don't let the internet fool you, millions enjoyed GTAIV…

but my goodness, heavy rain's demo was probably the most enjoyable demo i've ever played… maybe i'll axe god of war III off my list to get this one… i mean, i already know what i'm getting with GoW… but, heavy rain is something entirely different…


Last edited by bOnEs on 2/10/2010 4:11:12 PM

inkme101
inkme101
11 years ago

i loved gta as well but there is no way id "axe" either HR or GOW3 for it. but, u r right. to each his own.

bOnEs
bOnEs
11 years ago

i wouldn't normally "axe" god of war or heavy rain either off my list… but, the fact that some of these games pushed their release date into this part of the year has forced me to make sacrifices… and with bills to pay, i have to make sacrifices…

and they are putting their games up against the games i wanted to play well before they put they're games into this quarter… i've been wanting to play the episodes of liberty city and R*'s other game, red dead redemption… all of a sudden, these "exclusives" are jumping at me saying, "BUY ME!! BUY ME!!" and everyone on the internet is saying i'm stupid for passing on these…

but, i guarantee that ben is excited about playing red dead redemption and the episodes just like me…

to each their own… so, don't get mad that i passed on this… get mad at the fact that i am not rich, lol…


Last edited by bOnEs on 2/11/2010 12:48:18 AM

Roach721
Roach721
11 years ago

You need to go ahead and bite that bullet bones,do whatever you have to do to add
Heavy Rain to your collection.

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
11 years ago

What an impressive pair of statements Ben..

"in 27 years, no video game has ever managed to engage me so completely and so often, on a mental level."

"But I will say this may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry."

I am now buying this game for sure..

If what you say is accurate, and I tend to agree with you, this could be the greatest game made.


Last edited by maxpontiac on 2/10/2010 1:03:41 PM

Roach721
Roach721
11 years ago

I too will definitely buy this game when it comes out. It's a must buy hands down!!!!

BeezleDrop
BeezleDrop
11 years ago

Kudos on the review, I feel generally the same way about the game. It's something I have been looking forward to, I followed all the articles, blogs, and footage just to see more. Finally when I got my hands on a demonstration I played it 3 times, the detail, how people interact, the detail in the faces, its just so astounding it made my adrenaline rush. It is the little things I enjoy, like holding L2 to see what they're thinking, and exploring, just doing things around the house that makes the characters real, like Ben stated, Human. I love actually being able to connect to the characters and get in to it. Pure emotion, and an actual gripping story makes this game 1 for the record books. Thank you Sony and Quantic Dream for making this happen!


Last edited by BeezleDrop on 2/10/2010 1:00:35 PM

JofaMang
JofaMang
11 years ago

Having created a UK account to get the demo early, I have indeed been waiting eagerly for this game. The demo alone shows the advancement over IP/Farenheit, not only in graphics (a no brainer) but in general fluidity. It is too bad that they won't have a graphically captured game developer hosting the tutorial again, unless that is a nugget they are holding onto for the full game.

This is a fantastic review, that confirms the impressions I had gathered about what this game will actually be. We are closer to the interactive movie than ever before, and while not all gamers will desire this, or get satisfaction from it should they give it a chance, many like myself might be (re?)introduced to a new genre. perhaps it shouldn't be called a game, afterall.

I would be ok with that, as the metric that most "games" are judged upon would unfairly punish HR. a 9.5 is a killer score, but I am afraid less empathetic writers will merely measure it against other high scoring games (GTAIV, MW2, UC2 etc) and not appreciate it for what it is. I understand a bit more where you were coming from, Ben, when you predicted a substantial variance amongst reviewers.

TheHighlander
TheHighlander
11 years ago

Thank you Ben. Well written and in-depth. I love it.

Thank you for taking the time to play through and bring us a review that gives us a taste of what Heavy Rain really and truly is. I was kind of hoping it would be as you have described. From your review this seems like a novel that you play. By that I mean that although it's a visual presentation, it takes a minimal approach to things. It allows your imagination to do it's work, while providing the framework for your imagination to work on.

The multiple branching story lines and events with consequences in the story, such as being injured and seeing the effects of that injury later are very different concepts for some. It's a rare game that makes all your decisions count. The fact that there are multiple paths, as presumably multiple endings really adds to the game for me.

I think this will be a quick buy for me, and I suspect that even if it's not my wife's cup of tea to play, she may enjoy watching me play it. Which brings me to the thought I had about this game at the start. It's something that happened with both Uncharted games and the Xenosaga games I mention so frequently. This almost seems like a game that some will enjoy watching others play, *more* than they will enjoy playing it themselves. Now What I am getting at is that although the game play may not be everyone's cup of tea, the presentation makes the game almost a movie for the viewer. Because of the multiple paths and endings, even a second (or third) play through doesn't have to be the same story all the way through.

I wonder whether the game will be played by more than one person at a time with one player holding the controller but everyone influencing the decisions made? I see a husband and wife playing together, or a small group of friends. This could turn out to be a very social game – in an understated manner.

Again, thanks for such an in-depth look.

I wonder whether this game could be a hook for some who are not into games and yet see someone playing this and give games a second look?

Last thought. I don't know how many gamers are mature enough to give this game the patience it needs. But I know I am. Could there be a market for this game in some of the older PS3 consumers who purchased the PS3 with BluRay playback as one of their major criteria? In other words PS3 owners who play the occasional game but use their PS3 more for movie watching.


Last edited by TheHighlander on 2/10/2010 1:01:43 PM

tridon
tridon
11 years ago

My girlfriend is the same way, Highlander. She likes to various puzzle games on my PS3, but that is all. She LOVES to watch me play games, though.

She loved watching the God of War games, she loved watching the Uncharted games, and she loved watching Shadow of the Colossus. In fact, the only time she'll buy me a game is when she thinks she'll like watching it. If she thinks she won't like to watch it, she won't buy it for me because she thinks that I'll ultimately not like the game. She's usually right, too.

I'm getting the feeling that she'll absolutely adore watching me play this game since she loves reading fiction. Here's hoping she does… because I'll probably be playing this forever when I do get it!

LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
11 years ago

LOL that's how my GF is too, only enjoys watching games because she said she doesn't play too well? But then she took my Monster Hunter Freedom Unite and won't stop playing it, LOL. But we recently got Folklore (epic game) and she's been watching me play that a lot, haha

Crabba
Crabba
11 years ago

You know, I was thinking the same thing. This is the kind of game that could appeal to a lot of people who normally don't play games, or only very casually, such as a lot of those people who only bought the PS3 for its blu-ray capability. I would like to include Uncharted 1&2 in that category, but Heavy Rain takes it another step further.

I'm sure there are a lot of people out there who don't get into gaming simply because they think it's all about shooting/killing and nothing else, and sadly most blockbuster AAA-titles are…

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
11 years ago

My wife is going to be watching and helping me with the choices during this game. I can't wait.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

Thanks, Highlander. I put a lot of effort into this review.

It's also interesting to hear people talk about how their girlfriends and wives might appreciate seeing it. I didn't really consider that angle but it makes sense. It really IS like a novel; in fact, when you first start the game, you get a Trophy called "Tried the Interactive Drama" or something like that.

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
11 years ago

yeah i know my girlfriend is going to love this game. she reads a lot of book and i haven't shut up about this game so i know she's very interested

rogers71
rogers71
11 years ago

Great article once again.

I share alot of the same interests as you. (Books especially) I usually read 4-5 books per month. I really love the certain way an author is able to paint a scene or detail a character. I was hoping that Heavy Rain could get that aspect and based on your review, they did. I really hope the game can hit sales but sadly I don't think it will.

Like you, I think the majority of gamers will see this as boring and lame and jump back online for thoughtless shooting and blood.

New Report

Close