Graphics:
7.0
Gameplay:
7.8
Sound:
8.5
Control:
9.0
Replay Value:
7.7
Overall Rating:
7.9
Online Gameplay:
Not Rated
Publisher:
Sega
Developer:
Platinum Games
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
Action


'OHMIGOD, PSX Extreme has lost it!' No we haven't, so shut up and calm your trousers. It's the immediate shock of looking at the overall game score before even reading a word of our review. So we're going to get it out of the way right here, right now: Bayonetta is a flippin' awesome game for the Xbox 360, and a merely good game for the PlayStation 3. Just how awesome? Well, in the conclusion we mention just how high we'd score the Xbox 360 game if we could, so that's that. Now, because this is a dual review, Ben is handling the gameplay, and I'll take over for the technical stuff (engine, visuals, sound) and the conclusion. So, here's Ben words…

Before I get into it, I must beseech you: please do not make any snap assumptions concerning the presentation and style of this game. I’ve seen many examples of overly judgmental gamers coming to misguided conclusions simply due to the main character’s brazen sexuality. There is an ongoing belief that has taken root in the gamer population, that when they see adolescent titillation, it somehow automatically lessens the overall quality of the game. In other words, many believe the primary focus of a game like Bayonetta might be cheesy temptation, and the actual gameplay was ignored because of this supposed fixation. However, I promise you this is not the case. Platinum Games has engineered one of the most accomplished action titles in history, which is the reason why the better version of this game raked in so many high review scores. The critics aren’t 14-year-old children, easily swayed by a curvaceous form; those scores were legitimately earned. What were the scores for BMX XXX , again…?

But all that being said, I have to address the major drawbacks in the PS3 version that you’ve likely heard before in other reviews. First of all, the game simply doesn’t look as good, which is a definite issue because the title won’t be winning any “Best Graphics” awards in 2010, anyway. Secondly, the loading times are longer and more frequent in the PS3 version, and screen tearing and slowdown is more evident. Thirdly, because the latter shortcoming directly impacts the gameplay, you’re looking at an overall inferior package, which will undoubtedly annoy most PS3 owners and fans. The worst part is that because this adventure isn’t long, you’ll have less reason to go back through a version that isn’t quite up to par. I’m really not sure why the developers took this route; having Sega port it couldn’t possibly be seen as the best option and on top of which, the technical lagging is a serious problem in such a project. Due to the unbelievable speed, fluidity and seamlessness are crucial .

As most of you know, I have the 360 version, which means we can make an effective comparison and while I’ve said some bad things about the PS3 version, that doesn’t mean it’s not worth playing. If you don’t have a 360 but still adore fast-action slashfests, you should definitely consider a purchase at some point (perhaps when it drops in price). The bottom line is that this combat system is downright supreme in every sense of the word. The sheer amount of possibilities is absolutely mind-boggling; this becomes even more amazing when you realize that you can purchase many more weapons, techniques and items as you progress. Do you have any idea what the end result is? I will say, without any reservation whatsoever, the single most capable, competent and diverse main character ever seen in any action extravaganza. Note I’m not saying she’s the “best,” because that involves other things, like character development and design. I’m strictly talking about the combat here, and it’s just so goddamn…pretty.

It’s the skill and attention paid to every detail of Bayonetta’s movement. This includes everything from the most basic attack – which almost never appears “basic” – to the most complex combo or over-the-top torture attack. You can pick up weapons dropped by vanquished enemies, enable the bad-ass Witch Time by dodging at the last second (you remain at top speed while everything else is in slo-mo), and ripping off the most intricate combinations has never been so satisfying. There’s also a goodly assortment of platforming and even a wee bit of puzzle solving, along with a surprisingly engaging story that takes more of the limelight than you might expect. Bayonetta can use her powers to walk on walls and ceilings, which frequently results in some outrageously amazing battles, and her magic can also be used to walk on water and do…umm…cool things with her hair. Finishing moves on big enemies are called “Climax Actions” (‘snicker’) and these offer the same extra incentive as the torture moves: press a button really fast to max out the damage.

It’s a demanding, brutal endeavor on the “Normal” setting. Of course, you should consider this “Hard” because the three settings are “Very Easy,” “Easy,” and “Normal.” The developers called this game “sadistically hard” and while I won’t go quite that far, it’s a definite challenge and one that will cause you to replay chapters. This will allow you to farm up more Halos to spend on new items, techniques, and weapons at Rodin’s store. Each new skill, combo or deadly weapon can be accessed with a bit of practice but the instant you think you’ve got a firm handle on everything, more sh** comes down the pike. The enemy designs are sweet as hell, the backdrops and areas are nicely created and the boss battles are memorable and fittingly insane. What more can you ask for from a game like this? …oh, right, a better PS3 version. Well, it’s too bad the latter version trips and stumbles a bit due to the technical issues but the gameplay is still of that taxing, rewarding kind that true action aficionados will crave.

Yes, the 360 version is better and if you have the opportunity, get it. However, I will add that if the style doesn’t suit your palette, you might want to take a pass. It really is in your face all the time. Personally, I love it. I think this tongue-in-cheek presentation is hysterical (I never play without a smile on my face, and I laugh outright at Bayonetta’s attitude) and I’m all about the cheesiness. Her one-liners are delivered with seductive alacrity, she poses and dances, she uses lollipops for health, she spanks enemies as one of her punishment maneuvers, she doesn’t walk; she struts and best of all, her cocky, come-hither countenance strikes just the right appealing, comedic chord with me. We’ve got a B-movie setting with the flash and panache of a stylish Devil May Cry glossy veneer, and if that sounds at all intriguing, dive into one of the most accomplished action projects you’ve ever had the pleasure of experiencing.

But, as we mentioned before, and this is a but that's larger than Kim Kardashian's, the technical drawbacks of the PlayStation 3 version really hurt this one. Ben only mildly touched upon just how bad the issues are, but that's what I'm here for. See, he's written the gameplay based on the Xbox 360 game, and unfortunately for me, I don't own an Xbox 360, I simply steal my friend's unit every now and then. That said, I'm stuck with the lowly PlayStation 3 version, and yes, all the flack it's getting is well deserved. Despite what you may have heard regarding Sega optimizing Bayonetta's American PS3 release, it's all hogwash. Playing a game that's just one giant loading screen is not optimization, it's the very opposite, in fact.

I don't know exactly what Sega optimized here, but had they clearly overlooked the flagrant foul that are the never ending load screens. And by never ending, I don't mean that they're extremely long…well, they are long, but I also mean that they don't stop. The game constantly loads and loads, every flipping little action you do, whether you pause the game, enter a slightly different location, pick up a freaking item…everything triggers a load. Sweet mother of God, and to make matters worse, the actual load times in between levels approach the minute mark in some cases. It's an absolute travesty, and I'm showing a great deal of self-restraint here, because my true feelings are a lot harsher than these words.

As far as the visual package, Bayonetta is a 3rd party game that would've been marginally acceptable back in 2006 during the PlayStation 3's infancy, but not 2010 when it's approaching it's fourth year. If low-profile developers can make their multiplatform games look virtually identical these days, there's no reason why a massive company like Sega can't. The differences between the two games are stark: the PlayStation 3 boasts noticeably worse texture detail, tons of screen tearing, and a framerate that refuses to run anywhere near 60 frames per second. The PlayStation 3's framerate tends to hover anywhere between 40, and will dip below 20 often enough (and usually during the worst moments). Inconsistent? That's an understatement, sir. Bayonetta isn't an ugly looking game, but it is marred with a plethora of issues that really hold it back, and for that, even its gameplay suffers.

The audio is not for everyone. I (Arnold), for one, do not like the soundtrack very much at all. I prefer the darker soundtrack of a game like Devil May Cry. Bayonetta very much the opposite of that, and it's not exactly a fitting note for a game this chaotic, brutal, and violent. On the other hand, the voice acting is what's tough to judge here. The voice work is intentionally bad, and it's not the voice actors themselves, it's just the absurd dialogue that, quite frankly, no one can possibly act without sounding absolutely silly. So it's a love it or leave it ordeal. Personally, I hate it. But Ben loves it. It's purely subjective, and because it is an intentional characteristic of the game (it's supposed to be B-grade movie cheese), we'll give the audio a thumbs up.

So, what's the verdict? Simple: buy the Xbox 360 version. The PlayStation 3 version of Bayonetta is a mess we haven't seen from a multiplatform game in quite some time, and this is simply a slap to the PlayStation 3 community who so eagerly looked forward to a maniacal action romp. Is Bayonetta for the PlayStation 3 not even worth playing? Well, I'd suggest a rental, at the very least. You'd likely replay the Xbox 360 version numerous times, but once will be more than enough on the PS3, because the loading simply gets to you. PlayStation 3 owners should just save their money for God of War III. If you have both HD consoles, buy the Xbox 360 game. If you have only the PS3, rent it and save your money. That said, just how much more do we prefer the Xbox 360 version over the PlayStation 3 game? Well, had we reviewed the Xbox 360 version, we'd have easily given it a 9+.

Subscribe
Notify of
98 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
shadowpal2
shadowpal2
11 years ago

Jeese it's a shame how developers are treating multiplatform games these days.

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
11 years ago

it's a shame and a sin.

Xra897
Xra897
11 years ago

Well EA and Activision got their acts together.

Xra897
Xra897
11 years ago

Well EA and Activision got their acts together.

sonic1899
sonic1899
11 years ago

i gotta say i like the honest review. it's disappointing the game didn't turn out well for both sides. i thought sony fixed the problems, but it seems the problems were bigger than they thought. honestly, i got the 360 version, which was why i had no complaints about it. i WAS considering the ps3 version when i was at eb games, but i got the it for the 360 because i hardly play that thing anymore. guess that was a smart decision

to comment on the review tho, i thought the voice work was well done. i enjoyed bayonetta and jeanne's accent and the badassary in rodin's voice. i thought luka's was okay and i didnt care much for enzo's voice.
the soundtrack itself IS a hit-or-miss; i didn't like most of the j-pop. but the music during the boss battles are some of the best i've ever heard. in fact, those are some of the most epic boss battles in gaming in general. even if you fight against the game boss twice, a slightly different tactic is involved to beat them. the battles between bayonetta and jeanne were just as epic as the battles between dante and vergil imo. even the final boss was hell of a lot of fun to fight, even though i died more times than i can count. that's another thing i like about bayonetta; when you die you don't have the urge to smash the controller at the screen *looks at ninja gaiden*

i still recommend bayonetta and suggest everyone at least give it a chance on either console. bayonetta is still a stellar game despite the ps3's technical problems. it has high replayablity and the content, difficulties, unlockables, and aiming for all platinums will keep you busy for a while.

as for sega, all i can say is this: get your sh*t together! im no longer a sonic fan because of that gun-trotting crap called shadow the hedgehog and sonic 2006. if bayonetta goes down too i'll never buy another sega game. you can shove sega's all-star racing up your a*s for all i care

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

yeah I'm liking more DS btw for me the music gives this game a -2(6.5) to da sound.

great review Arnold .

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
11 years ago

at least we still have god of war 3 to look forward to. 🙂

MyWorstNightmar
MyWorstNightmar
11 years ago

That's why I like you guys, you're not afraid to stick your face out there and beg to have feces thrown at you.

Good review as always!

I agree with PSX, game should be cheaper on PS3. Oh well, in a few months it will be…

TheHighlander
TheHighlander
11 years ago

I think there was a typo in your post…

"I agree with PSX, game should be cheaper on PS3. Oh well, in a few weeks it will be… "

There, fixed it for ya!

Beamboom
Beamboom
11 years ago

Forgive me for being slightly off-topic but since framerate is mentioned and compared in this review: How do you know what framerate a game is running on? Is this a feature on the PS3 I am not aware of, or do you have some sort of additional measuring equipment? Or is it all educated guesses?

LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
11 years ago

If you're staring at the screen, and you start seeing juttering and lagging and slow reaction times, that is low frame rates, meaning there's too much stuff going on for it to process fast enough for it to go smoothly so it has to slow down to take it all in, approximately it's just guessing on the consoles but it's quite obvious, on PC games quite a few come with a debug mode or some way to view the fps.

psxmax
psxmax
11 years ago

Since they made this game so inferior on the PS3, it should be at a cheaper price ($39).

OtisFeelgood
OtisFeelgood
11 years ago

$39????? $19.99 is more like it.

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
11 years ago

now this is the rating this game some what deserves. anything above an 8 is inaccurate IMO

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
11 years ago

its a shame kamiya and his team completely neglected us PS3 owners. I dont feel like he owes us anything of course, but come on man there's gotta be a lot of pissed of DMC fans from the ps2 days, you know? ah well, maybe they'll patch it…

Oyashiro
Oyashiro
11 years ago

OHMIGOD, PSX Extreme has lost it!

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
11 years ago

Don't thumbs down! He's being sarcastic!….right?

Oyashiro
Oyashiro
11 years ago

I was thinking the first sentence of the review would have made that clear lol. Maybe people read the comments first?

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
11 years ago

Maybe they just look at the score!

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
11 years ago

we deserve better. i really hope this game bombs. no reason to support this crappy half assed port. how does the superior system recieve the inferior port? they don't deserve 60 bucks.

OtisFeelgood
OtisFeelgood
11 years ago

I totally agree.

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

This game badly needed an install feature but because the game is a conversion job, you couldn't put one in (since it's just a straight port from the 360 version) and it's probably impossible to fix the loading times.

All I will say is that I will never buy a game from Platinum Games ever again. They are lazy developers who don't deserve their games to sell. It's too bad because I really enjoyed what was going on storyline-wise while playing Bayonetta during my rental. Crapping and pissing on PS3 owners…we will always remember that, Platinum.


Last edited by n/a on 1/13/2010 7:00:31 PM

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

The score is way too high. You're basically telling us not to buy this so why score it a 7.9? Also, control is a 9? You just wrote that there are loading screens every time you "pick up a freaking item." That's BAD controls if you ask me.

Oh, and LMAO @ "steal my friend's unit"

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

This is a critic's game. You have to play for yourself and catch all the neat touches and in-jokes. All the references to past games from the people at Platinum and some Sega references to boot. If you are a student of video gaming, you will see for yourself. It's a serious gamer's wet dream.


Last edited by n/a on 1/13/2010 7:04:16 PM

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

…since when do loading times have ANYTHING to do with control? 'scratches head'

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

Wouldn't loading screens while trying to pick up something be considered "choppy" controls? That's what it means to me…

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

No, control is the control a player has over the character. It can be smooth and responsive with great animations like Bayonetta or it can be choppy and clunky, in that the character doesn't respond reliably or quickly enough to commands.

Loading when picking up an item is just poor programming and while it affects the gameplay and pacing, it doesn't affect the control score. 🙂

TheHighlander
TheHighlander
11 years ago

I read it more as a case of Bayonetta on PS3 merits a 7.9 reviewed on it's own and if the 360 version didn't exist as a comparison, 7.9 would be a decent enough score.

On the other hand since the 360 version does exist and can be compared side by side the deficiencies of the SP3 version are painfully clear, so by comparison, the PS3 version is a disappointment considering what it could have been. Therefore if you can, go buy the 360 version rent the PS3 version.

That's how I read it. I've also read into this (via many comments and articles) that Sega decided that they wanted to give the PS3 a version of this 360 exclusive and took on the task of porting it. No disrespect to Sega and their team, but I get the feeling that they were not ready to port a native 360 engine to the PS3 and properly optimize it. Then again, as we've seen, porting a 360 game to the PS3 is difficult because you really have to re-implement the engine from the ground up. I'd go as far as to say that you can't port a natively 360 graphics engine to the PS3 directly, just as you can't really do the same in reverse. You need to build a graphics engine on the PS3 that can run an action game and then bring that engine and the game assets from the 360 original together. Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 for example was out on PS3 how long after the 360 version? That was because they implemented a separate PS3 engine running at 1080p and then brought the game assets across from the 360, updating to 1080p as they went.

The more I think about it, the more convinced I am that if you do not begin a multi-platform game on both platforms at the same time, taking into account BOTH platforms during the design phase, you are doomed to produce a substandard game on whichever of the two platforms you don't develop for first. This is because the second platform will always get a port of the game. If you design actively for both platforms simultaneously, and have teams working on each platform's graphics engine, optimizing it for the specific platform, then I think you can produce a game that is great on both.

As an example, Criterion Games implemented their graphics engine for Burnout paradise on both the 360 and PS3 separately. Think of the engine as a black box. It provides the same capabilities to the game, but is specific to the platform. Because of the platform specific nature of each engine there are slight visual differences, but overall, both games look and perform nearly identically because they have equally advanced graphics engines.

Had Bayonetta been implemented this way, everyone would be happy. Think about it though, Sega decided somewhere during the development of the game that they wanted to port it to the PS3, so they took an unfinished 360 version of the game engine and ported it to the PS3, polishing it up as much as possible before release. If there were 9 months between the decision to port and release, then the porting team had 9 months to redevelop the game engine and implement the game, while the original development team had 9 months to finish and polish their game. It's no surprise then that the 360 specific original version is more polished.

Every time we get a substandard port, I think about this and I've come to the conclusion that part of the problem with ported games is that if it takes 18 months to build a new game, and 9 months into the process a decision is made to 'port' it to a second platform, the porting team has half the time that the original team has to do the same work. Sure they have the advantage that some work has been done, but it may take them 3-6 months to get the thing up and running on the new platform to the same state that the game is in when they get the code and assets from the original development team. Not only are they playing catch up from the beginning, but they are already months behind the original team. We really should not force ports of games to be released even remotely close to the same time as the original. If we game Sega another 6 months to work on Bayonetta for PS3, the result would be more or less identical to the 360 version. But would the market tolerate the delay?

That's why in the end I am not concerned that Tales of Vesperia and Star Ocean 4 have had an extended delay before appearing on the PS3, it's allowed the teams creating the PS3 versions to worry about the quality of their game instead of simply working feverishly to get it running for release day.

7.9 seems a fair score, and in the absence of a 360 version, I suspect that the tone of the review would be something like "If you're a fan of action games buy this, you won't regret it. If you're not sure try before you buy and rent it for a weekend."

Hexen
Hexen
11 years ago

Dammit!!!!I thought Sega was going to make the PS3 version equal to the 360 one.I want this game but I don't want to support lazy ports; hopefully if it doesn't get a big patch it will make it's way to the PC.

Snaaaake
Snaaaake
11 years ago

I will never ever buy a game from Platinum anymore after this unless they make something that's worth my time and not a crap port.

Oyashiro
Oyashiro
11 years ago

This is Sega's fault not Platinums. Sega was the one that did the porting. Platinum was making this to be a 360 exclusive, but Sega wanted a PS3 version.

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
11 years ago

They should make a patch (which is highly unlikely..)

OtisFeelgood
OtisFeelgood
11 years ago

I'm so f*cking annoyed right now. They release garbage like this and expect people to pay $60 for it??? I was looking forward to getting it until I heard all of the PS3 version issues. F*ck Platinum Games.

OtisFeelgood
OtisFeelgood
11 years ago

Edit: F*ck Sega too. >:(

sonic1899
sonic1899
11 years ago

no just f*ck sega.

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
11 years ago

But..but.. Sega gave us Valkyria Chronicles!

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
11 years ago

Too long of a review for ME (specially since a game I'm not that interested in)

i read halfway….and yeah it seems this game was made for the 360. It was their intention from the start.

It's all good, Heavenly Sword is still the best female action/adventure game imo. Strong story, characters, and gameplay.

In fact, that's the game I recommend many of you get. If you feel that you want some female action/adventure….action


Last edited by Scarecrow on 1/13/2010 7:34:13 PM

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

I agree the only weak point HS has its being a short game…but Bayo its also a short game.

plus Nariko its a much better eye candy 😉


Last edited by Oxvial on 1/13/2010 7:39:55 PM

OtisFeelgood
OtisFeelgood
11 years ago

Yeah, Heavenly Sword was the sh*t.

sonic1899
sonic1899
11 years ago

@Oxvial
i don't know. i just cant find nariko attractive at all. but then again i've always had a thing for women with dark hair (real and fiction).

oldmike
oldmike
11 years ago

nariko looked more real and was not out there

HighLife
HighLife
11 years ago

Thanks for the honest review. Was going to purchase this when it was cheaper but I will pass now.

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
11 years ago

I guess i'll only get bayonetta only if they make a patch, otherwise i'll probably rent it. Well,….*puts on ninja gear*

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

I would just like to add that the review is accurate for PS3 owners, but if you do have a 360 and you like action games, you should definitely consider Bayonetta.

It's the best action title of the generation as far as I'm concerned (although DMC4 is a close 2nd).

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
11 years ago

Best action title… yet. We still don't have GoW3.

___________
___________
11 years ago

how dare you say its better than DMC4.

sonic1899
sonic1899
11 years ago

i enjoyed dmc4 and completed 100%, but bayonetta tops it. i didn't like the fact it was a step backward from dmc3. one thing i hated about it was that dante's missions were basically one huge backtrack of nero's missions. they should've given us more levels and areas to play through instead of forcing us to replay the same ones. and speaking of dante, he felt a bit out of place gameplay-wise because the game was obviously meant for nero and his devil bringer. on top of that, the last boss lacked the epicness of mundus, vergil, and even despair embodied from dmc2. if bayonetta was missing something, it was an install option. results would've been much different

___________
___________
11 years ago

yea thats the only thing i hated about DMC4 it was extremely repetitive.
O and i was sort of disappointed that they replaced dante is the main character.
i like nero, but i prefer dantes attitude hes really funny and seems like a tough guy where nero seems like a pu*** in comparison.
O and WTF is vergil?
i have to say i preferred the combat and level design in DMC 4 but everything else was better in DMC3.
honestly DMC4 is better than bayonetta in every aspect.
better art design.
better graphics.
better sound.
better combat.
better level design.
more enjoyable platforming.
better bosses.
better storyline.
bayonetta has the WORST! storyline in a video game.
actually scrap that, second worst.
its all over the place, it feels like theres massive chunks missing and is near impossible to understand.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

Dude, STOP talking. You can't play a game for 10 minutes or not at all and then make judgments.

There was little to no platforming in DMC4 compared to Bayonetta (where you walk on walls and ceilings, for Christ's sake), the bosses in Bayonetta are freakin' EPIC so you have NO clue there, the storyline is equally lame but still prominent in both and as for sound, music, art, character design, etc., that's all SUBJECTIVE. You can't sit there and say one is 100% unequivocally "better" in those respects.

Really, where did you get the idea that you can compare two games when you've never even PLAYED one of them?


Last edited by Ben Dutka PSXE on 1/21/2010 8:38:53 PM

fatelementality
fatelementality
11 years ago

Ha, I was just thinking about BMX XXX today. Did I say that out loud? Want to play this game really badly. It's too bad I'm broke as hell. If that's not bad enough, I'm broke as hell on my Birthday. I can't even afford the whiskey to drown my sorrows.

New Report

Close