Graphics:
9.0
Gameplay:
9.0
Sound:
9.0
Control:
8.9
Replay Value:
8.5
Overall Rating:
8.9
Online Gameplay:
Not Rated
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
Insomniac Games
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
Genre


So here it is, the conclusion to the "Future" arc for the Ratchet & Clank series. Mind you, this is not the conclusion of the franchise, just this particular story. Marking its first entry into the current generation, Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction amazed us all with its visuals, scale, and charm. It's "sequel", Quest for Booty, continued onward with the storyline directly following the events of Tools of Destruction. Quest for Booty was a first-of-its kind offering, boasting a full fledged experience, in a three hour downloadable package that cost a mere $15. It was the steal of the year, no doubt about it. But, a proper sequel is finally here and, as expected, Insomniac's latest does not disappoint.

First off, if you're up to date with your R&C happenings, then you should be well aware that Clank was kidnapped by Doctor Nefarious. This, of course, means it's up to Ratchet, and Captain Quark (what! what!), to rescue Clank. As the game opens up, a lengthy cinematic eventually leads to Clank awakening to discover he's been kidnapped to, what Nefarious calls, his birthplace in the very center of the universe (give or take 50 feet). Heavy. So Ratchet and Quark embark on their adventure, and immediately something goes wrong. The duo finds themselves in an odd, and very beautiful, tropical environment, home to the Fongoids, which later befriend the duo and help them get back on course. That is essentially the first 20-30 minutes or so of the game, and what a fantastic way it is to open up a game that has no problem telling you, off the bat, that there's an epic scale in store.

The scenery around you extends as far as your eye can see, and gorgeous objects tower way, way, way over you. It's truly stunning to see just how expansive the environments are, and moreover, most of them continue the tradition of feeling alive and full of presence, as there's a lot of miscellaneous animations going on all around you. Now experiencing the action all throughout these fantastic levels feels even better than before, as the addition of new weapons and a few new abilities helps enhance the enjoyment.

For starters, Ratchet can now throw his wrench while he's running, so no longer do you have to stop to do it. While it may not seem like anything special, it's a nice ability to have, allowing you to damage enemies from afar while you're on the move, and especially pick off crates even quicker than before. Next up is the whole element of time manipulation. There are numerous areas of stages in the game where time has been disturbed and cannot be put back on track. In these segments/portions of a stage, you'll see various scenarios unfold and then watch as time reverses itself and everything rewinds itself – and this repeats non-stop, creating opportunities for some puzzles, as well. If you're confused, think of it this way, in certain parts of the game time is a broken record constantly repeating itself.

Now, with Clank you are given a special staff that grants him the ability to activate time pods, allowing Clank to record four holographic versions of himself and play those recordings back in order to complete numerous puzzles, usually relating to unlocking a door. Admittedly, solving these puzzles and utilizing the recordings of Clank can be rather complicated and will surely frustrate some. But at the same time, they sure are quite creative, and strangely enough, remind me of Portal. Allow me to explain with a bit more detail about this feature. You know how in a lot of adventure games, you'll eventually encounter a door and multiple floor switches that'll open the door? Well, in those games, you need to either take an object and move it over the floor switch to press it down, or if you have a partner with you, tell your partner to step on the switch. In Ratchet, you create physical recordings of Clank running to the switches. When you're ready, trigger all of the recordings so that the recorded Clanks run and enable every switch, allowing you to move on to the next section.

Moving along, space exploration becomes a slightly larger focus, but not being able to travel freely while you're piloting Ratchet's ship feels a bit limited. As far as movement, you're basically locked to either left or right, you can perform a few evasive maneuvers, such as a barrel roll or a 180, but that's about it. More freedom would've surely been nice, but wait until I tell you about the space exploration. You see, in the game there are a whole bunch of moons scattered around the galaxy, which is yours to explore. Each one of these moons is unique in its setup and the reward will be a Zoni (yes, the magical creatures we've been looking for). Traveling from one moon to the next requires absolutely no loading screens or times, as it's all done seamlessly. You hop into your ship, fly to where you wish, land, quickly explore, hop back into the ship and move on to the next moon. And no, these moons are not actually full fledged stages, but rather quick little bursts of action that do not replace the full fledged experience of a massive Ratchet and Clank stage.

Weapon selection continues to be vast, and customization aids gameplay quite well. You can customize the weapons you find or buy in a variety of ways, altering their damage and function to your liking. It's not an extremely deep aspect of customization, but it's solid enough for a game like this, so it's still very welcome. Additionally, the hover boots you'll earn a little further down the line will prove themselves to be an extremely worthy accessory, as utilizing them for the awesome speed boost they give Ratchet when running around really rocks. The hover boots will also be used for some other really exciting and high-flying purposes, as well, those which I'd rather not spoil. But trust me, expect some fun stuff with them.

Unfortunately, we're still finding ourselves disappointed that Insomniac has yet again chose against a multiplayer mode for Ratchet & Clank. We figured perhaps it was because the first PS3 game was still early into the console's life that Insomniac didn't have enough time. And clearly it wasn't possible with the downloadable Quest For Booty. But alas, the third game in the story arc still has no online. We're holding out hope for whatever the next follow-up will be.

As far as the graphics go, this game engine provides the smoothest Ratchet experience to date. Virtually no screen tearing with a silky smooth framerate ensures that the complaints gamers had with the first two games are gone. Granted, the frame rates have always been extraordinarily smooth in the PS3 games, but a small few dips were not unheard of. On top of that, that same signature look with the polished edges demonstrating virtually no jaggies, the clean cartoon-like textures, and the absolutely astonishing texture work on the characters continues to make this a stand-out franchise in the aesthetic department. Two things worth mentioning also is the animation. Well, that is to say, the facial animation (lip-syncing, facial expressions, etc.), and the actual animation of the characters – it is seriously astonishing stuff. Sure, some may argue that the overall look of the game hasn't been enhanced enough, but the fact remains that this is a great looking title.

Audio is every bit as good as it has been in the past two games. Voice work continues to be simply superb, as the actors demonstrate solid chemistry, so there's no forced or awkward moments to be heard. The soundtrack is pretty much the standard Ratchet affair we've come to know from the franchise, and it continues to be enjoyable. And lastly, because big guns are a staple of the series, big explosions and sound effects are too – and with the volume up, A Crack in Time does a good job of shaking walls, especially during some of the cut-scenes.

Even though the formula of this series hasn't seen a dramatic overhaul, the gameplay does continue to offer a very solid experience, complete with enough new features to keep it feeling fresh. The game will run you a total of 12 hours or so, and unless you're the perfectionist type who likes to replay games, there isn't much else to do after you're done. Still, it's worth experiencing the end of the story, and worth witnessing the new locations the game takes you through. Ratchet & Clank Future: A Crack in Time is a great way to end a trilogy.

Subscribe
Notify of
62 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Oxvial
Oxvial
12 years ago

Hmm gonna download the demo =).

Dridion
Dridion
12 years ago

Though I'm slightly disappointed that it only got a 8.9, you do tell it how it is. Great review ;).

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
12 years ago

There's no such thing as getting "only" an 8.9. An 8.9 is a very high score.

Bugzbunny109
Bugzbunny109
12 years ago

As a ps3 exclusive, "8.9" is not a very high score. I am quite disappointed 🙁 Still will be getting it 🙂

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
12 years ago

that rediculous of you to say at all…

wether its a ps3 exclusive or not an 8.9 says must play all over it!

you kinda contrdict yourself in saying you'll be getting it anyways! who knows when you play it maybe you'll rate it higher than an 8.9!

Beamboom
Beamboom
12 years ago

Of course 8.9 (or 89%, as we gamerankings-dwellers prefer to call it) is a very high score (mathematically as well as logically speaking), and should remain being considered as such.

On a side note, my "mental shopping barrier" on games based on average review score is at 80%. Over the years my experience is that generally speaking the games that score an 80+ is guaranteed to give you a decent amount of fun for your money, practically regardless of genre. It's just too much good stuff going on in there to be ignored (at least when you eventually find it on sale/platinum release).
An average below 80 is only worth buying if you got a particular interest in the title (being a fanboy of the franchise or is a genre you particulary love). To me personally "Spider-man Friend or Foe" works as a good example of this. I am a Marvel-fan, and to me the handling of Spidey and freedom of movement in this game is worth the purchase in itself. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone outside the Marvel-sphere, though.

However, below 70% and it's not worth wasting time on at all – there are way too many much better alternatives.

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
12 years ago

This game looks hilarious, and extremely fun, "We'll take all you got" "The money is already in your bank account"

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
12 years ago

i'm disappointed that there is no online. i'll still buy it though.

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
12 years ago

Story based games don't need online

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
12 years ago

I think I have to try this out .

Deadman
Deadman
12 years ago

I'm getting mine Fri or Sat.

furbiesmustdie
furbiesmustdie
12 years ago

on the day buy.

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
12 years ago

I disagree with the 8.9
Should be a full 9

Replay value shouldn't factor that much into a platformer's overall score.

I give it a 9! Follow my score ya'll!

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
12 years ago

Agreed Scarecrow, deserves a full 9, too great of an exclusive for anything lower.

kevinater321
kevinater321
12 years ago

agreed.

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
12 years ago

i see where your coming from, but does .1/10 really make much of a difference

Qwarktast1c
Qwarktast1c
12 years ago

captain qwark is the man 🙂

well sometimes, most of the time he's just great comic relief

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
12 years ago

Who the fu** is Qwark? HAHA JK! Sorry, just got done watching Semi-Pro for like the 100th time, from the scene, "Who the fu** is Bambi?" HAHA, O Will Ferrell.


Last edited by JMO_INDY on 10/28/2009 8:29:32 PM

Xra897
Xra897
12 years ago

this'll be my first ratchet game

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
12 years ago

Same, though i played a bunch of the other ones, i've never really owned one of them.

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
12 years ago

I will never understand why people immediately assume 8.9 is anything to be disappointed about.

psxmax
psxmax
12 years ago

I guess it is like getting a B+ instead of an A- .

(^o^)


Last edited by psxmax on 10/28/2009 10:12:12 PM

LividFiction
LividFiction
12 years ago

Because 8s have become 7s, 7s have become the equivalent of 4s, and 6s have become the equivalent of 0s. Basically the majority of scores (at "other" sites, anyway) often get compressed into the 7–10 range. 7/10 should actually be a pretty damn good game, but not to most people; it's assumed to be mostly bad (which would actually be a 4 or lower). I'm rambling. Need whiskey to make sense of it all.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
12 years ago

i think its becuase games are getting more and more expensive, and if companies like toys r' us and best buy can offer up 3 games for the price of 2, we as the consumer know they are marking them way up! Fine so be it. but alot of gamers rely on reviews for purchases and when alot of gamers see an 8, then maybe its not worth spending the money compared to game that got a 9, and hear comes the dissapointment, becus they really wanted this game.

myself dont judge by score i look and read reviews and as long as it doesnt fall to a 6 its probably worth my time. if a game gets an 8.9 thats a really high score especially considering uncharted is pulling an 9.8 on this site, and is by far the best thing this gen. so a game gets less than a point below that and its bad? no thats a completely good score and replicates trying out this game!

im with you arnold i dont know why people think an 8 even an even 8 is a bad score but they do… i am noticing though alot more people were upset about this game getting an 8.9 than borderlands getting a 7.9 there were alot more "i dont cares" and "im still buying this" towards 2k's game, maybe becuase Sony' 1st party games have set the bar? idk, whatever the reason is,you people need to listen, AN 8.9 IS A GREAT SCORE!


Last edited by bigrailer19 on 10/29/2009 10:04:45 AM

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
12 years ago

@ bigrailer19, how are games getting expensive? Brand new NES games were 49.99. Brand new Genesis games were 49.99. Brand new PS3 games are typically 59.99 or less. Almost 20 years later and the cost have gone up $10. I don't see the massive inflation.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
12 years ago

ok let me explain something. im not one who strongly believes we are economic struggling although the signs are there. but the fact remains if people wanna spend money they will. i dont care about the $60 price but alot of people do, now more than ever!

The point i was trying to make with the price is if toys r us and best buy can sell 3 games for $120 thats 1/3 of the price of retail, which means they could (maybe not for long periods) sell games for 1/3 of there retail price which would be $40. the mark up is high on vids and wether or not you only pay $10 more today for a game than in 1992 doesnt rid the fact that people want bang for there buck! Thats the point i was trying to make! let me also say an 8.9 is worth $60 any day as well… i think people just get worked up over review scores, and let the idea of what they thought a game would be, get tampered with by what is realistically still a high score!

You assume to much because as i said ill pay $60 all day for a vid. it dont bother me one bit, but the price did in fact raise wether it was .10 cents or $10 and it does in fact put a strain on some consumers when they are trying to decide if buying a game is worth it, thats my point all along, nothing else!


Last edited by bigrailer19 on 10/29/2009 12:49:06 PM

kevinater321
kevinater321
12 years ago

Love this game, already beat it and dare i say it, it's just as good as U2 (in my opinion) the storyline is just so sweet. new time gameplay is breathtaking. Anyway great review but i give this a 9.5 at least! but it doesn't help r&c is my all time fave franchise ;P

tes37
tes37
12 years ago

The game is definitely worth buying if you're a fan of the franchise. I just got the hover boots and there pretty cool.

Banky A
Banky A
12 years ago

Ahhh damnit another game that's missing 0.1 of a decimal so it cannot reach the glory of 9/10!

But it's okay Arnold, haha 😉

C'mon Ratchet, get your awesome new multiplayer into your next big trilogy.

Bandit1
Bandit1
12 years ago

Got the game and lovin' every bit of it

Slick Rick
Slick Rick
12 years ago

I reali dnt care abt reviews,im gna check out the game my self


Last edited by Slick Rick on 10/29/2009 1:04:11 AM

Qwarktast1c
Qwarktast1c
12 years ago

to be honest, i could care less about what ANY reviewer says. i am still going to get this game!!!

but i believe that you gave a pretty fair review arnold, thumbs up! 🙂

___________
___________
12 years ago

quark?
he couldn't find his own a$$ with two hands…. and a map!

___________
___________
12 years ago

just one thing how does the replay value get a 8.5?
i mean it takes FOREVER! to do everything in the game.
theres golden bolts to find, as far as i know the holoplans are back, theres zoni to collect to upgrade your equipment theres the V5 weapons.
i mean no game has more incentive to replay than this, no game not even a RPG.
i cant think of 1 game that has weapons you cant collect till youve finished it once.
R&C takes forever to complete and unlock everything, to finding the golden bolts and zoni to collecting enough bolts so you can buy all the armor and weapons, to actually using the weapons so they upgrade.
if this does not deserve a 10 nothing does, in fact if this deserves a 8.5 than every other game deserves no more than a 7.5.
R&C is the only game i can think of that makes you finish the game before you can use certain weapons and items.
PLUS theres the arena i love going back there and redoing the challenges.
R&C is the only game i can sit and play for months straight without getting bored.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
12 years ago

an 8.5 is pretty legit, you also have to factor in alot of games have online multiplayer. the mp offers alot to go back to in one sense, and if this were regards to just single player i say again an 8.5 is pretty legit. he did mention if your thorough there will be plenty to go back to, and if you just wanna play through and you dont wanna collect then theres also a line drawn there too. sounds to me like an 8.5 is fair!


Last edited by bigrailer19 on 10/29/2009 9:54:54 AM

TheHighlander
TheHighlander
12 years ago

12 hours for a run through? What did you do, literally *run* through?I've put 5-6 hours into it already and I know I am no where near halfway through the game. Arnold, it sounds like you're playing games as a reviewer and not a gamer. Stop to look around, find the collectibles, play the side-quests, do all the things you're supposed to, and then do the replay with the multiplier – that's what Ratchet and Clank is all about.

I mean, it's a good review and all, but you're saying 12 hours for a play through. The only way I can contemplate a 12 hour run through is to play on easy and simply ignore the enemies.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
12 years ago

i thought that about drakes fortune. i was about 7 hourse through and thought wow this game is gonna be long, then all of a sudden around 9 hours i thought uh-oh this games gonna end soon. So u never know as u keep playing you may see that end coming closer and closer!

LowKey
LowKey
12 years ago

anybody got about 150 bucks they wanna lend me?? LMAO

www
www
12 years ago

Lol Arnold is just a big fan of '.9'
7.9, 8.9, 9.9. Maybe you should just round it off and make this 8.9 a 9.

tanner1
tanner1
12 years ago

So what ur saying Arnold is that its not as good as T.O.D, hence the lower score

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
12 years ago

he didnt say that!

though tools of destruction is couple years old and i think the curve of the scale games are reviewed on has changed in that span.

Naga
Naga
12 years ago

AND NOW VICTORY!!! must buy for fans of the Ratchet & Clank series.
Gotta get my copy soon!!

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
12 years ago

im so glad that you havent marked it down purely due to it being similar installments. I mean if it aint broke, dont fix it, does that not apply to other reviewers

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
12 years ago

appparently it doesnt. other reviewers must want to see an over haul which wouldnt do the series justice!

Silent_J
Silent_J
12 years ago

I just got playing through a quest for booty ,its the first ratchet and clank game I've ever played .I think im definitely a fan now …will be getting this game

GuinnessGulper
GuinnessGulper
12 years ago

What an incredible game, enjoying every second of it!!

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
12 years ago

Wow…reading these comments is just…wow. I'm sorry, but the game is great. But it doesn't reach a 9 because the gameplay, while great, doesn't add a whole ton to the franchise. There is no multiplayer, and so that hurts the overall value of the game. Read the words and don't just look at the score – the words barely have a bad thing in them about the game.

Masterofallz
Masterofallz
12 years ago

"There is no multiplayer, and so that hurts the overall value of the game."

Uh, you are suppose to be reviewing whats in the game, not what it doesnt have. Also, multiplayer is not everything. Look at Fallout 3 or Oblivion. Those dont have multiplayer, yet they are excellent games. Even God of War 3 won't have multiplayer. Will you take points of the score off every singleplayer only game?


Last edited by Masterofallz on 10/29/2009 7:28:44 PM

Hexen
Hexen
12 years ago

ACII,Bayonetta,Dante's Inferno,Splinter Cell Conviction and Heavy Rain have little value and are not worth the purchase since they got not multiplayer…. ;(

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
12 years ago

First of all, Oblivion and Fallout are games worth hundreds of hours. They HAVE value despite a lack of multiplayer. You can't even compare them to Ratchet. Second of all, VALUE is value. Is the game worth $60? Yes, for the most part. But it doesn't take full advantage of that money, because you can be done with the game in a few days or a week's time.

I grade these games based on a standard. You guys seem to have a very hard time realizing that. There are games out there like Killzone 2 and Uncharted 2 which have full fledged stories AND a complete multiplayer experience – they are the standard, a benchmark that other action games are based on in numerous ways.

And Hexen: Don't be a fool and put words into my mouth. Where in the hell did I ever say not having multiplayer is not worth a purchase? Are you nuts? Some of you people are clearly NOT reading my reviews and what I write. It's sad.


Last edited by ArnoldK PSXE on 10/29/2009 11:06:07 PM