Graphics:
5.9
Gameplay:
6.0
Sound:
7.0
Control:
7.5
Replay Value:
5.0
Online Gameplay:
5.0
Overall Rating:
5.9
Publisher:
Activision
Developer:
Raven Software/Threewave Software
Number Of Players:
1-2 (2-12 Online)
Genre:
FPS


Wolfenstein is the franchise that started it all 17 years ago with the release of the third game in the series, Wolfenstein 3D. It gave birth to the first-person shooter genre, which would later allow id Software to unleash Doom, and three years after that, Quake. id Software is responsible for popularity of the FPS genre, but at the same time, it also feels as if they've lost their touch, with developers like Epic and Guerrilla doing what they do today. Games such as Quake Wars, while only produced by id Software, and not fully developed by them, have began to mar the developers reputation. And unfortunately, the latest game with their name on it, isn't much different. Wolfenstein has arrived, but it's not quite what I wanted…

…on the other hand, it is exactly what I expected: a first person shooter dealing with paranormal events; gameplay that requires a bit of run and gun, some taking cover, some grenade throwing, moving forward, and repeating it all over and over again. Yes, you do have some magical abilities thanks to a medallion infused with powers, but beyond that, it all felt so familiar. But worst of all, where as games like Killzone 2 manage to inject excitement into gameplay, Wolfenstein just feels dull. So, it's exactly what I expected, and unfortunately those expectations are met with disappointment.

Once more, you are thrown into the shoes of B.J. Blazkowicz, our long-time hero of the series. After witnessing a brief encounter on a ship full of Nazis, B.J. demonstrates the power of his discovered medallion and then escapes the ship by jumping through a portal. He later meets his executive officers and is once again dispatched on a mission to stop the Nazis and their plan to discover and utilize a powerful force known as the Black Sun for their destructive needs.

As you complete levels you'll earn rewards in the form of unlockable items and money. The money and items you earn are good upgrading your weapons and powers, granting your arsenal an additional punch. What's nice about the upgrade system is that each weapon has its own unique upgrades, including the grenades, and there's a sizable amount of enhancements per weapon. Gameplay relies on the traditional setup of the shoulder buttons being in charge of your weaponry (shoot, aim, switch weapon, throw grenade), and on occasion you will need to man a turret and take out everything that moves.

Multiplayer is made up of three modes, Team Deathmatch, Stopwatch, and Objective. Unfortunately, as much as I'd love to spend my time describing each mode, it's not worth your time to read it. Not only does the game feature a lackluster and meager three multiplayer modes, but it also features a lackluster and meager 12 player limit. Yes, we're four solid years into this generation, and are still seeing multiplayer games with 12 players. It's especially bothersome coming from such an established franchise. And it seems like gamers were well aware of these drawbacks, as there are barely any people online. This Wolfenstein game should've been an epic adventure. What a shame.

It's an even bigger shame when you realize that the visual quality here is that of a launch game. Terrible character models demonstrate early-generation details that really do not help this game the least bit. Rough texture work is spread all throughout the game, from walls, to ceilings, to the floor, to objectives in the environment, and once again, the character models. Not only do these textures look low-grade from a distance, but they're especially ugly close up. Sure, the framerate runs at, what seems to be a solid 30 frames, but at such a visual expense, this game would've been better off left in the oven and its visuals fine tuned to look good and the game engine to run well.

The audio isn't as lackluster as the rest of the game, as the soundtrack is decent enough to earn a pass, and the voice acting is surprisingly solid, albeit filled with some cheesy moments from our very own protagonist. The one notable problem I have with the audio is that the gunfire simply doesn't pop like it does in many other AAA first-person shooters. I never really felt immersed into the experience, as the sound effects generally felt lacking beyond just the gunshots.

Wolfenstein is a franchise that seems to have lost its touch, as id Software's brainchild no longer sets off any fires, or even sparks, with gamers anymore. Despite being announced years ago, developer Raven Software did no justice to this historic franchise, and Activision surely didn't help by allowing it to be released. Generic gameplay, poor multiplayer offerings, and below average visuals? This I can't even recommend when it hits the inevitable bargain bin.

Subscribe
Notify of
30 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0_o
0_o
11 years ago

XD

kevinater321
kevinater321
11 years ago

I hate this game. Good review Arnold.

Diggity Dan
Diggity Dan
11 years ago

wow…other critics have given faint praise at best.

I still may rent this just to kill time (har) until the Fall/holiday season onslaught of AAA titles.

0_o
0_o
11 years ago

I want a GT PSP review!

Hexen
Hexen
11 years ago

I don't think you would like that very much.It looks like it's going to get mediocre reviews all around.

Jiggy
Jiggy
11 years ago

Not necessarily. IGN gave it a sh!t score, cause well…it's IGN. GO FIGURE!! Other sites I've read have given it around an 8. It doesn't have a career mode, but still…who doesn't like collecting 800 cars??? (which also can be uploaded onto GT PS3 when it arrives) =)

kevinater321
kevinater321
11 years ago

IGN's reivew main reason for giving it like a 6.8 was because it was "difficult to know what cars you own" and "no career mode"

furbiesmustdie
furbiesmustdie
11 years ago

patience is a virtue

Hexen
Hexen
11 years ago

How in the world did they expect to out sell Madden with this type of bad quality!

ohmikkie
ohmikkie
11 years ago

Well well. Why am I not surprised. This review reinforces my theory that developers have to widen the scope in game-play for FPSs. Live Fallout3 or the Stalkers. Unless you want more of the same, like another COD, I reckon the FPS market is saturated.

Having said that I wouldn't mind another Black. Probably the only decent FPS on the PS2.

H8WL3R
H8WL3R
11 years ago

Cool, Black interested me and seemed cool when I saw a friend play it a few years ago. Although as I don't remember actually trying it. As I haven't tried Wolfeinstein either (but am still midly interested) I can't comment fairly on either.

My personal favorite shooters for the PS2 though was (and still is) TimeSplitter: Futre Perfect (and I also quite liked Project Snowblind). GoldenEye: Rogue Agent, while ok, I think is nowhere near the calibur of GoldenEye for the N64 (which is a classic and probably still ranks as one of the all-time best).

Peace and later.


Last edited by H8WL3R on 9/15/2009 10:13:04 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

OUCH!

Xra897
Xra897
11 years ago

replay value a 5!!!
theres the whole thing where u get to upgrade guns adn stuff

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

FPS..meeh those games are very generic now.

btw and more important..

offtopic.

Valkyria Chronicles 20 bucks at Walmart…buy it now!


Last edited by Oxvial on 9/15/2009 6:10:58 PM

Naga
Naga
11 years ago

Sacred 2 & Littlebigplanet under 20 quid!!! GO GO GO

Naga
Naga
11 years ago

Should've focused on Rage

fatelementality
fatelementality
11 years ago

Glad I passed this one up. Much appreciated.

CaptRon
CaptRon
11 years ago

Uhh.. This actually isn't that bad of a game. On hard that sh*t is crazy. But the killing effects are pretty sweet. I love shootin nazis in the neck and the gargle their own blood, thats classic. I wouldn't pass it up based on just this review. Give them credit, its pretty solid.

Aftab
Aftab
11 years ago

Gargling on blood? Sounds pretty cool. But hardly worth the price of entry for what sounds like a halfassed, craptastic, name-smearing adventure.

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

@ CaptRon – You may be right, but I'm not coming close to this at the $60 price tag.

Oxvial
Oxvial
11 years ago

whats with those thumb downs! be a man a reply to them.

face reality…this game suck!

Aftab
Aftab
11 years ago

Hah, sounds like at least a couple people jumped the gun on the review and wasted some dough. And even if the game is not so bad, there's whole bunch of AAA titles coming out this holiday season more worth your hard-earned cash. But I liked what Arnold said: "…can't even recommend it in the inevitable bargain bin".

Alienange
Alienange
11 years ago

There's no doubt that some people have big bucks to spend on crap games.

NonProphet
NonProphet
11 years ago

Its too bad that this game didn't turn out well. As Arnold pointed out, Wolfenstein 3D was the first FPS and thus pioneered one of the most popular genres (over-saturated though it might be).

I have fond memories of playing the original at my friends house and even though it made me a little nauseous, it was still a remarkable milestone that deserved better than the evidently sub-par iteration we see before us.

556pineapple
556pineapple
11 years ago

I rented it, played it for a couple hours, and saw they had a cool concept. They just didn't do anything with it.

___________
___________
11 years ago

why is everyone hating on this game?
6?
6?
come on guys this is way way way better than a 6.
the environmental detail, the attention to detail, the german propaganda.
no game has such presence to the environment, its not there just for the sake of it, you really feel like your in natzi germany.
and the burn effects were really cool, ive never played a game where if you burn something be it wood walls or a enemy theres actually burn damage visable.
like all games ive played once their dead and the flames are gone the enemy or whatever that was burning looks EXACTLY! the same as it did before burn.
the weapons are really cool, the upgrades actually make a effect.
this is the first game ive played in a long time where the upgrades DO SOMETHING!
normally when you upgrade damage to your gun or accuracy or whatever it feels no different.
not with this.
there was some cool gadgets.
theres only 3 bad things about Wolfenstein.
1 the boss battles, 1 theres far to many and 2 there so repetitive and annoying as hell.
2 the AI is not great.
3 quite short and theres no variety in enemies, whats there you see very early in the game so each level feels like a repeat of the past just in a different area.
thats it, this game DOES NOT! deserve less than a 7


Last edited by ___________ on 9/16/2009 2:41:42 AM

___________
___________
11 years ago

"it also feels as if they've lost their touch, with developers like Epic and Guerrilla doing what they do today"

ahhhh you do realize this was not developed by ID software right?
they had a helping hand sort of, but they were not heavily involved.
IF rage sucks (which will not happen) than you can shoot ID down but until then keep your ID bashing soul out of here.
ID have proven themselves with 3 GREAT series.
what has GG done?
made 1 mediocre repetitive game.
1.
ID has quake 1-4.
god knows how many wolfenstine games.
doom 1,2,3.
im sorry but ID have proven themselves way way way more than most developers have, and 1 mediocre game (that was not even done by them) does not give you the wright to shoot them down.
as far as im concerned ID, valve, crytek, and 3D realms are THE BEST! developers in the industry and they dont have to answer to anyone.
if they make one bad game who cares, good devs never made a bad game?
if it was not for ID and valve games would not be what there like today.
they gave birth to the hardcore big league games.
before then games were a pity $2 job like your pacman or tetris.
ID realms and valve made games what they are today, so show some respect.

Aftab
Aftab
11 years ago

Whoa there, take it easy. I'm glad Arnold saved my money. Arnold was just saying that this game was not good for Id's name, though they didn't develop it, just as games like Quake wars weren't. If you couldn't save your money, at least save your time and read carefully before vomiting a wall of text.

Hexen
Hexen
11 years ago

I could care less about past or future titles or how great a developer is been but all I know is this game is not better then KZ2.Could rage be better then KZ2..of course it can, can this game…no.

Geobaldi
Geobaldi
11 years ago

I'm enjoying the game. If you try to take the game too seriously then you'll be disappointed. The Wolfenstein series were always meant to be fun shooters, and this one accomplishes just that. Having the semi-free roam world and the random enemies on each map, it adds some variety to the pre-scripted encounters that pretty much every other shooter falls victim to. Is it the best shooter available, no. Is it a fun shooter, absolutely. Bring on the next entry in the series.

New Report

Close