Graphics:
8.5
Gameplay:
9.0
Sound:
8.6
Control:
8.8
Replay Value:
9.1
Overall Rating:
8.9
Online Gameplay:
Not Rated
Publisher:
Sony Computer Entertainment
Developer:
Sucker Punch
Number Of Players:
1 Player
Genre:
Action


Sucker Punch has made a name for themselves as the developer of Sony's Sly Cooper franchise. So when we got wind that they were going in a whole other direction with inFamous, we were curious. Making up the massive list of all new I.P.s for Sony, inFamous is a fairly unique title, albeit one that mixes elements from other games.

By now, you're well aware that there's a new trend going on in the third-person genre, one that can be directly linked to the massive success of Resident Evil 4 and Gears of War. Resident Evil 4 introduced an over-the-shoulder camera perspective that did away with the typical third-person perspective for shooters, and years later Gears of War would go on to perfect the setup, creating a trend of games that would strive to achieve the same effect as Epic's game. inFamous, follows this trend, but unlike others, it doesn't use guns.

When I played the preview build of inFamous back in March, I genuinely had fun with it. While certain parts did leave me feeling a lack of amazement, I chalked it up to it just being an issue of the early build. As I mentioned already, your main source of power as Cole McGrath is…well, yourself. After getting caught in a massive blast, Cole has slowly gained the ability to control the use electricity that flows through his body. It started out as being barely able to cast a spark, to generating massive shockwaves and withstanding massive jumps from buildings. And the more you play the game, the more powerful Cole will become in your control.

Because Cole was the only survivor of this explosion, an airwave hijacker who calls himself "The Voice of Survival" convinces the city that Cole is a terrorist, turning the population against him. And so this sets up a moral dilemma that you'll encounter throughout parts of the game with civilians. In the first mission, you will put your morality to the test after helping the city receive their supply of food. The test is simple: do you scare the civilians off and take the food for yourself and your buddy Zeke? Or do you let them have the food and wait for something else? Karma plays a major role in the game, and your actions will have an effect on your progression, which makes for a more dynamic experience.

The color of your energy blasts determine your karma level, red being evil, and blue being good. If you go down one path, you can always have a change of heart and take the righteous way, so you won't be forced to stay on the same course of action all throughout the game. We noticed that with different actions, the civilians reacted to Cole differently: if you're evil, they'd run away; if you're good they'd cheer you, give you things, and etc. But there is a little catch to being good and evil. You see, each side has a set of unique powers and abilities that you can purchase using your experience points. And many of those abilities will feature enhancements, but will require you to have achieved a certain Karmic state.

Now, to delve more into the action, inFamous plays a lot like other third-person games do, but instead of guns you're using powerful blasts of electricity. You can either shoot electricity using the over-the-shoulder camera, send out powerful shockwaves that are strong enough to repel massive fireballs and various other attacks, for example, among other attacks, melee included. Your fighting style will also differ, depending on your karma level, with good and evil featuring two different styles: aggressive for evil, and defensive for good. But don't get that classification wrong, because Cole is damn powerful in either form, and you'll have anywhere in the neighborhood of 70 different powers at your disposal.

When battling the standard enemies, gameplay feels straightforward, although for some odd reason is just short of feeling amazing. On the smaller enemies you'll primarily use your standard electrical attack, where as boss fights will require the combined use of a number of different powers, which makes them more interesting. I honestly can't quite put my finger on what makes fighting the enemies feel a little bit hollow, because I do enjoy zapping a horde of Reapers, as I'll often go out of my way to hunt packs of them. Maybe it's a slight lack of feedback? Because when I'm really far from an enemy I can't always tell when I've successfully hit him, or when I've missed.

My small quibble aside, I noticed that there is a solid amount of strategy required behind every fight I engage in. Seeing as how enemies are never alone, jumping into a crowd of them is never a good idea and will result in death. Instead, you'll have to utilize your ability to scale the environment and use leverage as your advantage. But don't think for one second that the A.I. is dumb, because most of them actually hang out on roof tops, as well, so when you're climbing a building, make sure it's taller than the ones they're on. Furthermore, use the environment to your advantage, so if you see an enemy nearby a car shoot the car until it explodes. And if you see an enemy hiding behind a machine gun turret mounted on a truck, shoot to blow the truck up. I really have to give Sucker Punch credit with the A.I., they're extremely smart.

Gameplay is definitely solid here, as the game mixes elements of Grand Theft Auto with elements from other third-person shooters. The game world is huge, and scaling buildings is a ton of fun, especially when you're jumping from one to the next. Mission variety is good too, and the game has a tendency to really suck you in for hours. I do feel like the controls could've been a bit tighter, and the feedback in action could also be a bit more pronounced. Other than that, this is a very fine playing game.

Visually, inFamous is a good looking game with a large playground to explore, but it isn't the most gorgeous title out there. For starters, character detail is a bit weak in some spots, as you'll notice even the main characters sport sloppy textures, diminishing their level of quality. On the other hand, as I've already said, the game world is huge, and seeing as how there is barely a sign of any pop-up or draw-in and the fact that the engine is rendering everything so seamlessly is impressive. There are some framerate hiccups occasionally, but they aren't very common and almost never get in the way of the game. Lastly, texture detail is nice, but again, not great considering the size of the game. What I do find very impressive is how interactive the world is, and how virtually everything around you has a purpose of some sort – be it something you can grab while you're climbing a building, or an electrical object that can recharge Cole's power.

Voice acting is heavy in the game, as you'd expect, and thankfully, it's pretty good. The voiceover for Cole has a deep and gruff voice which suits the character, even if he does sound a bit like Solid Snake. There isn't any blaring music (although there is a decent soundtrack), so what you hear in the game is the sound of a community. Sound effects are pretty solid, as explosions, crashes, and other sounds that go 'boom' sound terrific. Although I must complain about the slightly muffled cut-scene audio, as the voice acting sounds noticeably different between in-game and the game's comic book-esque cut-scenes.

All in all, inFamous is well worth the wait and well worth your cash. It's yet another fantastic exclusive to add to Sony's never ending list, and it's also yet another great action game to add to yours. inFamous plays extremely well, and has an unusually fun character to it, on top of an addictive one. It boasts a massive game world that you can scale fully and interact with extensively, on top of a game engine that makes it all happen with minimal issues. You've waited for a while now, and you should be happy to know this is a great game.

Subscribe
Notify of
96 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Oyashiro
Oyashiro
12 years ago

Great Review! I played the demo today and it was awesome! Can't wait till the full copy is in my hands!

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
12 years ago

Good to see ya around the forums Oyashiru

Oyashiro
Oyashiro
12 years ago

Yeah I decided to register ^_^

YesterdysRising
YesterdysRising
12 years ago

I also played the demo today and it's great! I'll be sure to play this one a ton on Tuesday. Plus the Uncharted 2 beta code makes this game even better 🙂

Alienange
Alienange
12 years ago

Sounds good.

vicious54
vicious54
12 years ago

I'm with you guys, I love the demo. Can't wait for Tuesday night!

OriginalSin
OriginalSin
12 years ago

Sweet. inFamous is next on my list. Just waiting till I get my hands on it….

vicious54
vicious54
12 years ago

I wonder if they will do a prototype demo as well. I wonder if it will be as fun as infamous, prototype looks more like crackdown.

Oyashiro
Oyashiro
12 years ago

I don't know… They haven't said anything regarding a Demo for Prototype as far as I know, and the game isn't to far off.

BigTonesAUS
BigTonesAUS
12 years ago

Cool, i'll have a crack at the demo tonight but it seems like this is definitly one to grab a copy of.

Oxvial
Oxvial
12 years ago

Played the demo and well I found it solid but it lacks something I still don't know why but I wasn't able to enjoy it perhaps like AC this isn't my type of game.

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 years ago

Same thoughts here.

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
12 years ago

my vros preordered it, but i can't play until he's had a go and he's only gonna go on it after his AS levels. o well, i can wait

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
12 years ago

Greatest Hit!

This game is beautiful, almost like a good 'ol Super Nintendo game, in next-gen greatness!

So looking forward to immersing myself in the infamous world of inFamous

Hexen
Hexen
12 years ago

Yeah for some reason my first time playing it, it felt classic and original like playing in the good old days.This is a definite must buy title for the PS3.

kratos17
kratos17
12 years ago

one thing about the good old days is that………

THERE WAS NO CONSOLE WARS!!!!!!!!!

Reccaman18
Reccaman18
12 years ago

Kratos17, there has always been a console war. Remember Sega and Nintendo?

kratos17
kratos17
12 years ago

but it was never like this

Cpt_Geez
Cpt_Geez
12 years ago

Yeah the demo was great, II have this game paid off so imma be zapping some reapers on tuesday. Hopefully we get a prototype demo im, almost through paying off that game too.

Qubex
Qubex
12 years ago

I'll have a crack at it in the next 2 hours… will be on the bus home and then I will download the demo to get some inFamous play time 🙂

Q!

"i am home"

kratos17
kratos17
12 years ago

infamous is an ingenious creation

this is the best action/platforming game that i have played on ps3 so far
and i only played the demo

anyone that doesnt like it are people that dont like platforming

and the difference between infamous and prototype is that infamous has a deeper story and prototype is pure destruction, much like hulk ultimate destruction


Last edited by kratos17 on 5/22/2009 6:51:29 PM

GuernicaReborn
GuernicaReborn
12 years ago

1. There are no serious, gameplay-hindering problems. That would make this a pretty good piece of software.

2. A piece of crap is brown and smelly. inFamous is a PS3 game on a Blu-ray disk. WTF kind of craps do you take.

3. If you are an anesthetic RN with a PhD, you must have failed pretty hard somewhere because you only need a 2 year degree to be an RN. Underachieving much?

4. Keep calling everyone 12 years old all you want, yours were the most immature comments. Any mature person would have commented something like: I wasn't a fan of the demo… the fighting mechanics weren't to my liking… I'll pass on this one.

5. You are a dick. Don't worry, it takes dickheads years before they realize that a dick is stapled to their forehead. Once you realize your shortcomings, recovery can start.

6. Why are you so fixated on everyone here being 12 anyway? Pedophile much?

b3mike
b3mike
12 years ago

The demo was great, I just wish I wasnt so poor right now =(

Lord carlos
Lord carlos
12 years ago

me too,wanna do a bank heist?

Banky A
Banky A
12 years ago

*And this my friends, is the typical story of the infamous 'Bank robber'*

-The tale of two gamers short on cash

😉

coverton341
coverton341
12 years ago

Add a third to that

I'm in WooHoo!!!!!

Now we just need a monkey to drive the van

Lord carlos
Lord carlos
12 years ago

dibs on crowd control,and no shooting each other like in that batman flick!!

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
12 years ago

Nah, lets just knock over a liquor store.

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
12 years ago

I'm in !

CH1N00K
CH1N00K
12 years ago

This late breaking news just in! A small group of would be robbers where arrested today trying to rob a bank. They had actually succeeded in robbing the bank but then instead of running they were arrested while huddling around the ATM. When asked why they stopped there, one replied, "We thought it was a demo for a new video game and were trying to figure out how to play it." A monkey sitting in an unmarked van in front of the bank was also taken into custody.

Stay tuned for more info…

fstop
fstop
12 years ago

I'm in on this one too. I will even be a decoy and lead the cops elsewhere. They have PS3's in prison right?
I can see the cops now:
"You wanna rob a bank for a video game?"
-"Yes sir."
*WHACK* (game box imprint on head)
"Now you can play for life! In prison!"
-"Thank you sir. That's what I wanted sir."

Hexen
Hexen
12 years ago

Lol..What are you people saying:D

Deadman
Deadman
12 years ago

My mom got me a $50 Best Buy gift card for my B-Day Friday I was in on the hiest till then I gots the other $10 plus tax it will be mine Tmorrow. Played the demo out Iv never been this preparred for any game.

Jizmack
Jizmack
12 years ago

ufc the only good game on the x box nowadays?

kratos17
kratos17
12 years ago

dont forget about the new dead rising game coming in the near future.

oh, wait a minute that game is now multiplatform

thats one exclusive i wont have to buy on 360

Lord carlos
Lord carlos
12 years ago

Any game that allows you to shoot arcs of lighting from your fingertips is very welcome in my opinion.The demo is lots of fun,i jolted a car up into the air and when it came down it did a short roll and smuched three innocent bystanders who were watching me climb a set of traffic lights,totally awesome.
Cant wait to play the full game!!

Great review,although i think the graghics should get a 9 considering its looks nicer than any other sandbox game,now off to fry more innocent bystanders!!

Tim Speed24
Tim Speed24
12 years ago

This game looks like Gallram fun. Shiney.

Banky A
Banky A
12 years ago

Awww 0.1 point away from a super duper 9/10.

Day of Sorrow =(

Game will still be sweeeeeeet though.


Last edited by Banky A on 5/22/2009 7:12:52 AM

Skatejimmy5
Skatejimmy5
12 years ago

Pre-ordered the game two days ago. Can't wait to play it! 😀

Silent_J
Silent_J
12 years ago

oh man I cant wait to get home tonight to play the demo .downloaded it last night.

ZubraZap
ZubraZap
12 years ago

The demo is zip-zappin' fun! The full game may be in my home next week. Just gotta get my Summer Slaughter tix first.

Andysw
Andysw
12 years ago

8.9? You're kidding me.

bearbobby
bearbobby
12 years ago

My thoughts: The demo is fun. I love the platforming aspects, scaling buildings, zooming down power lines, etc. The city looks great, but seems to be all exterior, which is fine, but would be nice to be able to run into an electronics store or something and go nuts!

It took a minute to get used to the controls as he fixes himself to objects and you have to disengage or jump to get off, but it allows you to move on a narrow object and shoot at the same time without worrying about falling off.

I dig the abilities, the grenade and shockwaves are awesome (love blowing cars and knocking dudes into the air,) I agree that the standard electric bolts are kinda lacking in "oomph" though, but from reading from the power upgrade page it seems like it gets better over time, with headshots to one baddie snaking out to hit others.

I also enjoy the karmic opportunities such as saving innocents from thugs or healing the sick, as well as restraining downed baddies vs sucking the energy from them.

Really its the combat that kinda drags it down. I wish there were less instants of being shot at by 8-10 baddies, and more up close and personal brawls. Most of the time I was being shot at from 3 directions before the red blips showed up on my radar, and they're all crack shots. I would have loved for them to mix it up a bit and have more fisticuffs for my up close and personal form of justice 🙂

But then this is just the demo and hopefully it's more varied down the road. But overall I'm pleased and would pick it up. I love jumping from high up and slamming down into the pavement, scattering everyone around!

Mista
Mista
12 years ago

I traded RE5 and Fallout 3 to pay my copy off, and waiting on a few reviews on Prototype. I'll probably end up getting it when a used copy pops up. After I read Fallout DLC was PS3 bound figured might as well since I'll end up getting the GOTY version. And I can always get RE5 again… Now I'm about to check out that demo.

Willcome2Urf
Willcome2Urf
12 years ago

Demo was fun. I like how it "knows" your trying to jump onto a narrow platform, but I don't like how it auto-clings to every thing I come in contact with. I like jumping off the rooftops straight down into the pavement, but I got so angry watching Cole auto-cling to dumpsters or gutters at the last second.AHHH.

Anyway, more interest in Infamous than the chaos of "it's cool cause it's violent" Prototype.

kevinater321
kevinater321
12 years ago

Hold square when you jump off and it will make every thing around you explode and it doesn't auto cling to things like dumpsters or cars 😉

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
12 years ago

Well, now all I need to do is take the plunge when it drops, I think I can justify it since my to-beat list has finally been whittled down, hmm, just for fun though I wanna scan the net for people who rag on this game for not having multiplayer.

CH1N00K
CH1N00K
12 years ago

What?! No multiplayer? Ah this game sucks! That's it back to Fallout 3…oh wait that doesn't have multiplayer either…lol

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
12 years ago

Nice review Arnold .

I have kept an eye on this game since it was announced . Nice to hear it turned out well, will get this next month .

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 years ago

Guys, when someone has a negative comment (even if it's real negative) it doesn't automatically make them a 360 Fanboy. You guys jump on anyone who doesn't think Sony's games are the greatest of all time. Relax, you're the ones coming off as fanboys when you do that.

New Report

Close