Graphics:
9.3
Gameplay:
9.7
Sound:
9.5
Control:
8.9
Replay Value:
11.0
Online Gameplay:
10.0
Overall Rating:
9.7
Publisher:
Sony Computer Entertainment
Developer:
Media Molecule
Number Of Players:
1-4 Players (4 Online)
Genre:
Platformer
Release Date:
October 28, 2008


Yes, it's finally here! The game all PlayStation 3 owners have been waiting for post-MGS4. It's not Killzone 2, and it's not Resistance 2. It's LittleBigPlanet, Sony's make-your-own-adventure game, a first of its kind, and certainly one of the biggest releases of this generation. Few games have generated the kind of excitement that has surrounded LittleBigPlanet, and with good reason…what other game allows you to create your very own experience? We've got our own copy of LittleBigPlanet, and believe the hype, folks…this is sensational.

If you're not familiar with the concept of LittleBigPlanet here's what you need to know…Basically, you take control of these little rag-dolls called sacks. Your main character's "name" is Sack Boy, a fully customizable doll that'll allow you to change virtually everything about him. You start off with a simple brown Sack Boy, and as you progress through the game's story mode, you'll collect a horde of items. These items will range between anything from decorational tools to customize levels, down to items that you apply on your doll.

I started off with a brown Sack Boy, who, after 20 minutes of playing, somehow formed into a ragdoll incarnation of Jack Sparrow. The creation of Sack Sparrow, as I call him, wasn't really intentional, it just sort of happened randomly while I was toying around with the creator. With my brief time in the beta and with the actual game, I've already seen some really wild creations, including some rather solid attempts at Nintendo characters. The customization aspect is superbly deep, and much like the rest of the game, is arguably only limited by your own imagination. Additionally, these wild creations aren't just limited to customizing your character, but also creating levels.

It's important to mention just how addictive LittleBigPlanet can be. Even though I've had access to the game for weeks now, the amount of time I spend with it per session always tends to be more than a few hours. Time simply flies when you're in the world of LBP, there's just so much to do, so much to play, and so much to try out; a "quick" session of LittleBigPlanet almost always turns into a mini-marathon of exploring a chunk of the stages that have been created thus far in the game's world. And that's precisely how your experience will end up; every time you boot your game up, there will be something new for you to do.

It's comical just how addictive LBP can be, because even the simplistic stages, the ones you'd think you'd never play more than once. have a purpose, if only to finish them the fastest and sit at the top of the leader board. Simplistic stages may be quick and initially seem pointless, but they're not that pointless when you're replaying them, desperately trying to climb the leader board. Artistic stages using music can also be put together; during the beta, I recall seeing a stage where running across a board would play a note of "Sweet Child of Mine" by Guns n' Roses, so if kept your running pace consistent, the melody played consistently as a result. It's simplistic, but its execution is brilliant if only for the sheer amusement.

Like I said, LBP is only limited by your imagination, and to further show you how detailed you can get…some have gone as far as to make their best replicas of stages from Mario Bros. and even Sonic the Hedgehog. Other brilliantly themed levels include a God of War stage, Indiana Jones, and even Uncharted. Again, because all of this is user generated content, the room for variation here is absolutely infinite.

For those who don't wish to just participate playing random user content, there is a story mode that boasts beautiful and lush creations by the Media Molecule team. Each stage is oozing with style and superb artistic details, making LBP feel more like a carefully crafted fantasy storybook…rather than just your everyday videogame. And that's what makes LBP such a special product, it's not an everyday experience and it's certainly not an everyday game. And if you link up with a group of buddies online or off, the experience becomes even better cooperatively.

If I had to address complaints with the game, they'd be limited to just two control issues. First, because the stages support numerous levels of depth, you'll come across levels that will make you alternate between stepping into the foreground, background, or the middle (a'la King of Fighters games). Side-stepping in LBP doesn't seem very responsive sometimes, requiring a more than solid push of the direction in order for your character to perform the action. Furthermore, sometimes the controls can feel floaty and will take some time getting used to. A heavier feeling over your character, something more akin to 2D Mario games, would probably make for a tighter feeling game, for sure.

Visually, everything you've seen from the screenshots has carried over to the final game. The backgrounds are meticulously detailed with some of the best looking textures in a videogame to date. Some of the details in the game are bordering photorealism, even the Sack Boys' cloth texture is beautifully done. While the characters you run into are of the simplistic sort, the art direction and the beautiful texture work still makes LittleBigPlanet one of the best looking games of this generation by far. Feel free to plop your kids down by the TV and show off just how gorgeous this game is, and hey, perhaps even create a storybook stage for them as a treat. The great thing about LittleBigPlanet is that not only is it stunning, but it also runs at a brisk framerate rendering 720p, without a jagged edge in sight.

As far as the audio is concerned, well…that's a touchy subject as many of you may know. While we're not quite sure how Sony is addressing the one track with verses from the Qur'an, we suspect that they will just mute the chanting voice and keep the rest of the track intact. Despite not having an immense assortment of tunes, the soundtrack is nothing short of perfection; this is easily the best soundtrack I've heard since perhaps Donkey Kong Country and Super Mario 64 – neither of which had anymore diversity in their soundtracks. For the story mode, there is quite a bit of voice acting in the game, largely from the narrator, Stephen Fry, who guides you through the game's story with some really sharp dialogue.

It's a great time to be a gamer, and with a game like LittleBigPlanet part of the PlayStation 3's portfolio it's just gotten a lot better. If you haven't made up your mind on a purchase of LBP yet, then allow me to convince you; not owning LittleBigPlanet and being a PlayStation 3 owner should be a crime against, well…something. Media Molecule has created a game that'll go down in videogame history as one of the best gaming achievements ever, and you'd be extremely foolish to pass this up. There is absolutely nothing out there that can give you this much bang for your buck.

Subscribe
Notify of
79 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
12 years ago

Btw, yes that 11 is intentional.

eLLeJuss
eLLeJuss
12 years ago

LoL 11.. WooooW.. i won't be getting this till next month though :(. im broke, nice review arnold really helpful 🙂

pavlovic
pavlovic
12 years ago

Great! Didn't expext a lower review!

John Shoemaker
John Shoemaker
12 years ago

Haha!

dillonthebunny
dillonthebunny
12 years ago

lol.. spinal tap

Joema
Joema
12 years ago

Why don't you just make ten louder and make ten be the top number and make that a little louder?

OhYessss
OhYessss
12 years ago

Errr, yeah. It goes up to 11!

shindelion
shindelion
12 years ago

Nice what you did with the replay Ben 11/10. sweet! You earn props in creativity.

www
www
12 years ago

It's done LBP FO SHO!,thanks Arnold.Just watched some video reviews n like wat i see.

AAy FABI where u at? Props mi bwoy,ur hypin helped.

Now there go ma would-buy list thus far :
LBP
Fifa 09
Bioshock(am tired of bein bombarded)

Unsure list: Fable II,Quantum of Solace,CODWAW,Gears2,Res2.


Last edited by www on 10/21/2008 6:58:12 PM

Schmitty
Schmitty
12 years ago

id love to get this game but im really not creative so i would prob never make maps so im not sure if its worth it ot buy the game…. any suggestions??

caliblue15
caliblue15
12 years ago

u can still play everyone elses creative masterpieces…

Zaben
Zaben
12 years ago

Even if you may think you would never make maps, the amount of possibilities with all the mechanics in the game will still draw you in to make something. You might surprise yourself and make something completely awe-inspiring. If you really aren't sure, then it is at least worth a rent.

OhYessss
OhYessss
12 years ago

You'll find out how easy it is to start mucking around and building and once you get the hang of it there are really endless possibilities whether you're creative or not.

Zaben
Zaben
12 years ago

Haha, 11/10 is so very true. Awesome review, Arnold. I completely agree with the control issues regarding switching on the Z plane, but MM has made a statement that they too aren't satisfied with it and are hopefully working on a smoother way to do it. They made a very good decision with the guy who does the narrator, he is just fun to listen to.

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 years ago

this is a kids game! it should be on the Wii!

www
www
12 years ago

Yeah it might fit to be on the wii but i bet it can't handle LBP's graphics,only ps3 can.

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 years ago

its a Wii game! I want to play a man's game!!!

Dingodial
Dingodial
12 years ago

Great game! But I disagree with paying $60 for a game as fiction as this. I suggest somewhere under $50 maybe (I don't want to pay the "Call of Duty price" for a game that isn't even 1080p)

Fabi
Fabi
12 years ago

@Ghana – Glad you're getting it man.

AceTatsujin
AceTatsujin
12 years ago

Ben this is the best review ever man! 11 out of 10 for LBP for replay value. Lmao! You're awesome man.

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 years ago

Ace are you being paid too?

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 years ago

Ben is being paid to lie to say this kids game is good! not good Ben!

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
12 years ago

Have a great vacation, Blackstar. Trolling will not be tolerated. You've been banned until my 45th birthday. I.P. ban if you return.

Thanks to everyone else for the kind words, as always…even if they are for the guy who didn't write this. =)


Last edited by ArnoldK PSXE on 10/21/2008 8:28:00 PM

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
12 years ago

Heh…let that be a lesson to all: the PSXE community will not be tarnished! 🙂

Btw, don't you guys look at the author of these articles? LOL

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
12 years ago

They probably think you and I are one in the same.

Schmitty
Schmitty
12 years ago

uhhhh ben i dont want to get personsal but was that a joke or are you actually near 45?

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
12 years ago

…wtf?

Aftab
Aftab
12 years ago

Haha! Gamer and site owner since birth.

mk ultra
mk ultra
12 years ago

Thanks Arnold, I was still undecided until this review. Definetly getting it now. Dont want to commit any crimes against gaming.lol

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 years ago

you are 45?

AceTatsujin
AceTatsujin
12 years ago

man I never read articles. I can't believe Arnold wrote this. Why not have Arnold introduce himself to us a bit? Like maybe this weekend? Let him prep himself and talk about his "gaming" life so we get to know him. I personally don't know much about him.

but Arnold, 11 out of 10 replay value. FREAKING AWESOME MAN!


Last edited by AceTatsujin on 10/21/2008 8:44:05 PM

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
12 years ago

Here's an intro Ace: I'm the co-founder of PSXE and have been running it for the better part of the past decade. =)

Schmitty
Schmitty
12 years ago

hahah forget it…

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
12 years ago

And for the record, I'll be 45 in 2030. =)

Schmitty
Schmitty
12 years ago

ok….. thats what i was curious about

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
12 years ago

Any word on whether or not they kept the beta levels made? Oh wow, why is Best Buy listing release as 11/14? Shouldn't it be 10/27?


Last edited by WorldEndsWithMe on 10/21/2008 9:01:20 PM

coverton341
coverton341
12 years ago

There was a vote on it I believe and yes they are keeping the user developed content from the beta

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 years ago

i dont know

Schmitty
Schmitty
12 years ago

wow ive never seen anyone be banned before…hmm

Jizmack
Jizmack
12 years ago

cant wait still mad about undisputable delay, stupids, I cant believe sony would do that. i mean cmon i heard so many muslim jokes on gta 4 but not on lbp huh, oh well nice review and im loving the 11/10, im expecting better replay value than mgs4 since u guys gave it lower haha.

javon_27
javon_27
12 years ago

Arnold, we're the same age? Like schmitty said, never seen someone get the boot from here. Just don't get ban happy guys. I wish i could get this but i used my blockbuster credit on the socom headset package.

Ps. I work pt at bb

Zaben
Zaben
12 years ago

I also don't like how they said that they will be releasing the game the Week of the 27th. It may mean nothing, which I desperately hope for, but this could mean the delay is longer than at first though for us pre-orderers.

And Come on people. I haven't even been here half a year and I've known Arnold the entire time. Ben even said in a previous update that Arnold was going to do the LPB review…

Schmitty
Schmitty
12 years ago

I dont normally read who does the reviews….sry guys….. does ben normally do theM?

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
12 years ago

We typically split them, although Arnold usually does more PS3 reviews.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
12 years ago

Such a neat site, a pity people sometimes try so hard to get banned.

LightShow
LightShow
12 years ago

I can see it now: Arnold's week in review.

"So I reviewed a ton of games and kept the site from exploding. thats pretty much it."

^_^ jk, arnold

Schmitty
Schmitty
12 years ago

will the ps3 patriot act that we all recently signed effect any of the map sharing and copyrighting thing to due with little big planet …. i mean i wouldnt be suprised if they reserved the right to sell our maps without our consent….

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
12 years ago

Not that I know of but they do now reserve the right to call us fanboys and pee in our cheerios.

BigBoss4ever
BigBoss4ever
12 years ago

this is the best fan-based play-station game site, most up-to-date news for PS community, and really hands-on reviews. thanks to Ben, Arnold and all the other staff! hail gaming!!!

P.S. As I stated in my other postings, I am only a JRPG fan, but after the review here, I might give it a try for this LBP just to extend my gaming horizon. Hope it is as good as stated.

BTW, I find IGN game reviews sometimes are so biased, the reviews are sometimes so not reflecting the real quality of games, i.e. their most recent review for Golden Axes Beast Rider only gives it 3.2 out of 10, thats totally irresponsible for the gamers and for the developers. Judging by the video trailer or youtube gameplay, it does not deserve that low score wutsoever.


Last edited by BigBoss4ever on 10/21/2008 10:37:41 PM

Thinker
Thinker
12 years ago

Personally I don't think IGN is that bad.

If you want bad, look at sites like Eurogamer. In my opinion, they are just this shy of being blatant 360 fanboys. EVERYTHING they write – including news articles/spin, game reviews and previews – seems to imply that the 360 is better value for money. GameSpot is bad as well (I'm thinking of the R and C: TOD review with "too much variety and diversity" being a factor for marking it down), but in recent months, it seems to have toned down the 360 fanboyism somewhat.

Compared to these two, IGN is WAY better.

New Report

Close