Scheduled release date:
TBA
Publisher:
Square Enix
Developer:
Io Interactive
Number Of Players:
1-4
Genre:
Action
Release Date:
November 20, 2012


Agent 47 has planned a triumphant return and the developers at Io Interactive are working the most dynamic title of the series. Stealth fans haven’t really received their just due this generation; even the fantastic Assassin’s Creed franchise adopts more traits from open-world sandbox games rather than pure stealth titles like Thief . But in Hitman: Absolution , you’ll need patience, cunning, and timing, all of which are required for success in a game that revolves around the concept of stealth. Utilize the environment to the best of your ability, hide from eagle-eyed pursuers, and achieve your objective with unparalleled poise and precision.

As you might expect, we’ll be able to take down our targets in a number of different ways. In addition to the obvious options, we’ll have a variety of cover-based takedowns plus the ability to use everyday items as deadly weapons. See that electrical cord over there? …one guess what that can be used for. The designers are calling these "improvised weapons" and they enhance the freedom of choice; i.e., what am I going to use to deal with this particular target? What’s easiest? What will draw the least attention? What do I have at my disposal? Of course, we still have a story to follow so sometimes we’ll be led down a certain path, which is fine by me.

Remaining unnoticed will be a common goal, and the larger number of NPCs this time around will be both a blessing and a curse. Stealing a policeman’s costume and wandering freely through a large crowd shouldn’t be too hard, but when you slip up and everyone is looking for you, bowling over pedestrians will paint a big ol’ bull’s-eye on your back. The environments will range greatly in size and design, which means you’ll always be forced to adapt to your surroundings. Plus, the team has built a brand new AI system called the “comprehensive intelligence spectrum,” which means those NPCs are capable of perceiving even small changes in their environment.

They will also react realistically and communicate with each other, which means your behavior will be constantly on display and must be tempered. In other words, this isn’t the old-fashioned style of stealth where when one enemy spots you, he and all his cronies immediately begin to fire in your direction. These are more intelligent foes and depending on your action, they will react differently. Overall, Hitman: Absolution appears to be a game we’ve been waiting for, one with a clear-cut focus on stealth, and one that rewards the patient and crafty. After all, isn’t that the point of being an elite assassin? Can't wait to give this one a try.

Subscribe
Notify of
18 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Geobaldi
Geobaldi
9 years ago

It's the scripted action sequences, that will also be in the game, that has me worried. Hopefully it'll remain more stealthy than action oriented unlike the trailer that was released a month or so back. Recent gameplay videos also show 47 taking hostages as human shields. In either case it's nice the see him make a much needed return, and one of my most anticipated for the end of this year or sometime next year.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

The real question is, can stealth still sell in this twitchy generation? Or will they have to stick in an action approach?

Beamboom
Beamboom
9 years ago

It wont sell like COD but the market should be large enough now to be profitable also for the more narrow titles.
We are not all twitchers 🙂 And I should think a minority are *only* twitchers – it's just that the fast action gaming is the style most gamers to some degree have in common, that's why it sell so good.
There are very few who *only* play one genre, to put it that way.

Even my son who is 13 and *loves* cod, enjoy other games like Fallout, Dragon Age or Katamari.


Last edited by Beamboom on 7/6/2011 3:30:27 AM

Godslim
Godslim
9 years ago

bring it!
one of my fav game series ever!

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

They've already said that you should be able to get through the game with your guns blazing so… too bad, but that won't be the emphasis, thank goodness.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

Oh, and Godslim, you asked a few days ago about my user review of inFamous 2? I assure you that it will be up by next weekend, but if you want an early abbreviated look at what it will be, take a look here:
http://www.velocitygamer.com/pt/The-Lawless-Perspective-inFamous-2/blog.htm


Last edited by Lawless SXE on 7/6/2011 4:16:17 AM

Godslim
Godslim
9 years ago

wow dude u r really good at writing this stuff
was nice to read the differences between 1 and 2 as i still havent got infamous (lack of money and time atm)
nice dude i look forward it

jdt1981
jdt1981
9 years ago

I have to admit after watching that teaser trailer where 47 was killing everything that moved and he didn't even bother changing his trademark suit I was worried about the direction this series was headed. After reading this preview I feel more confident that this new hitman game will deliver a good stealth experience. I'm a stealth game fan and I'm looking forward to this game as well as Thief 4, I also used to be a huge Splinter Cell fan up until the release of Double Agent.

Beamboom
Beamboom
9 years ago

… But what is this preview based on? A hands on demo? A video clip? Someone demonstrating? Other websites or magazines? Rumors? E3? Whaaat? 😀

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

Info garnered from around tha intarwebz… what else?

Beamboom
Beamboom
9 years ago

But is it a "preview" when it's not "viewed"? I'd rather call it a regular article then. Also, I bet the sources would not mind a referred link to them. 🙂

Nitpicking, sure, but still… All hail the pedantic movement!


Last edited by Beamboom on 7/6/2011 7:43:06 AM

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

Most of our previews are based on information we've received directly from the publishers, along with other details found in dev interviews or things of that nature. We also look at any available media.

…it's sort of how most every preview on earth is done. 😉 With the exception of hands-on previews, which are typically labeled as such in the title.

Beamboom
Beamboom
9 years ago

Yeah, I guess it is.
It's just, when I read this kind of stuff (in general, not on this site in particular), if it's not backed by some sort of evidence like video or at least sources, then I always ask myself, "is this *fact* or speculation? Is it interpreted by the writer based on quotes, or is it confirmed?".

I guess this all started with one GTA site I visited a lot earlier (when I was a fan) where they had all this fantastic info about the upcoming GTAIV.
As it turned out the guy just sat there *speculating* on details about gtaiv based on single frames in the promo videos. He just fantasized!
He talked about how seasons were implemented in the game, how we could climb poles and trees and traverse the landscape in totally new ways, how we had to dress according to the weather, he was drifting faaar off into fantasy land. Totally!

*That's* when I started scanning for sources in articles. 😀

___________
___________
9 years ago

soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cant wait for this!
just one request.
please, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, dont turn this into splinter cell conviction!
they should make this like that other eidos game.
give us twisting branching storyline, characters, different paths to solve each mission.
ala alpha protocol and deus ex human revolution.
but a much heavier focous and influence on stealth.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

I'm liking the sound of this one. The best reboots of next year will almost certainly be this and Tomb Raider, though I still hold out hope for DmC.

This, I feel, is exactly what Assassin's Creed should be. Rather than being relegated to killing your target in a straightforward manner, and immediately being followed by bells and enemies, regardless of how stealthy you tried to be, you should be able to sneak around and do whatever the jolly hell you please. So what if I want to push a guy down the stairs? Will it let me do that? How about dropping a chandelier on someone's head? I hope that they allow you to get REALLY creative. And for the love of god, let the promise of this AI come to fruition, because it sounds GODLY! Is there even the slightest whiff of a release date for this beast yet?

Lotusflow3r
Lotusflow3r
9 years ago

All the recent media on it points to something stealth fans do not desire.

So far, nothing looks in line with the pre Absolution formula. It has me worried.

However, if this doesn't deliver a true Hitman, it at least brings him back and the real installment could still come.

I'll still hold out for this, though.

WKC2 is eating my time atm.

Jalex
Jalex
9 years ago

As long as Silent Assassin is still achievable in every mission, I won't complain about any new additions.
Mostly, I'm just excited about the prospect of having 'Hitman' back. It's been far too long since 'Blood Money.' Hope it's worth the wait.

KNG201
KNG201
9 years ago

nextgen hitman….. now we are talking gaming!
(not sarcasm)