Scheduled release date:
August 2, 2011


The original White Knight Chronicles was well received by role-playing fans but didn’t go over quite as well with critics. Nevertheless, the sequel is headed our way – May 20 for Europeans and August 2 for Americans – and with these dates secured, it’s now time to take a close look at Level-5’s promising sequel. Just in case you missed out on the original, WKC2 comes packaged with the first title, so you can get the full White Knight experience. Featuring overhauled visuals and a slightly revamped combat mechanic, the story follows directly on the heels of the first game (the plot takes place one year after the events of WKC). We’ll also get more cut-scenes but we’ll be able to skip them faster, just in case you’re impatient to get your exploring groove on. But most want the story, right?

You’ll be able to create your own avatar right off the bat, and if you just so happen to still have the character you created in the first WKC, you can import it. New characters include Scardigne and Lady Miu, whom you will meet at the start of WKC2; these two will eventually meet Leonard and the rest of the familiar party. Your avatar plays a silent role as he/she did before but then again, how can you expect developers to write lines for you ? That’d be tough. Anyway, you’ll soon find that gameplay is similar to the original, as you will once again see enemies on the world map and engage them by selecting from your available list of commands. In this way, it’s reminiscent of Final Fantasy XII , and that isn’t a bad thing. Chain together combos, customize your attack approach, and gain victory.

Perhaps the biggest difference involves the positioning of your party members: this time, you have to be close enough to an enemy to successfully land an attack. Also, your position directly affects the amount of damage you will deal; obviously, attacking from behind is probably a good idea. New skills come along with this fresh fighting feature, and those skills will allow you to gain the ground advantage in different ways. Another new feature is the ability to break attacks- when a particular limb of a monster is about to do something nasty, a colored icon will appear over that body part. You will have attacks that correspond with that icon so if you’re watching carefully, you can nail that limb and stop the foe’s assault. In fact, it seems you’ll be able to have party members focus specifically on breaking particularly damaging attacks.

And then comes the crowd favorite; the creation and customization of your very own knight: the “incorruptus.” Once created to your own preferences, you can bring it with you online, where you can greatly expand your gameplay experience (as you could in the original). Furthermore, Level-5 is tossing in no less than 400 new weapons and pieces of armor, and we can also expect all new abilities and spells for the party. As for GeoNet, which sort of attained an addictive quality amongst big-time fans of WKC, this will also return and the developers say it’s basically the same, with only a few small updates. Oh, and lastly, the limit of four players per party has been upped to six, so that’s just more fun for all. We’re still not sure why US gamers have to wait so much longer for White Knight Chronicles 2 , but we’ll be patient.  We kinda have to be.

After all, this is one of our most anticipated games of 2011. How about you?

Subscribe
Notify of
93 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

Y can't these guys put Jap Voices in the 25 gb blu-ray disc?
I loved the first one's story.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

Because they don't want to enable your addiction.

Jawknee
Jawknee
9 years ago

LOL!

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

@world
dude go watch some anime in japanese so that u can see how good their acting and stories r.
If ur not into anime atleast then watch Death Note.This anime will get u to like anime.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

I'm already into anime, the original japanese is okay but nothing to get a boner over. I prefer en english dub so I can focus on what's happening versus reading the bottom of the screen.

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

ur into anime huh?No anime fan in the world watches anime english dubbed right now.Only people new into anime watch it dubbed.Dubbed voice acting suck compared to the original.Go ask any person who watches anime.
Would u play Uncharted in Japanese?
Would u play Shadow of the Colossus in English?
I'd always prefer to play them in their Original State to which they were meant to be in.

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
9 years ago

You like dub over sub?! That's crazy…

Claire C
Claire C
9 years ago

Are you saying you don't like Faye's english voice actress?!?!?!? :_(

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

@claire
r u saying u haven't watched Cowboy Bebop in Japanese.I know Cowboy Bebop had good englsih dubs.But by not watching the original ur missing out on a lot.They really capture the essence of the Characters.The voice actor for Spike is done by a famous voice actor in the industry named Kōichi Yamadera.He also played Akiyama Shun in Yakuza 4.


Last edited by Kiryu on 5/3/2011 1:31:22 AM

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

@world
Happened to our argument world stopped?
Looks like i won.

Claire C
Claire C
9 years ago

No I haven't. 🙁

But Spike and Faye's voice actors are perfect. They're all perfect to me. I don't know Japanese so I don't understand what subtitles would add.

I do agree that foreign films should only be viewed in their original languages with subtitles. Film dubbing is always poor, but not anime.


Last edited by Claire C on 5/3/2011 1:35:12 AM

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
9 years ago

Nice, Kiryu.

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

@claire
Naruto,Bleach and Death Note ,the 3rd most popular anime right now suck in dubbed compared to the original.

duomaxwell007
duomaxwell007
9 years ago

have you seen the original fullmetal alchemist? PLENTY of ppl say that the english dub is BETTER than the japanese for that one soo explain that

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

I watched FullMetal Alchemist Brotherhood in Japanese which followed the Original Manga Story and it was Epic!

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

I went to bed dude, just relax. I'm tired of anime elitists making that argument is all.

Bebop in English ftw

mikeA92
mikeA92
9 years ago

I guess I'm not an anime fan then…dang.
Oh well, *goes back to watching Eden of the East(dub)*

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

@world
k world let continue.now where were we?
oh yes
Would u play Uncharted in Japanese?or
Would u play Shadow of the Colossus in English?
I'd always prefer to play them in their Original State to which they were meant to be in.

what do u say?

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

I would play any game in the language I spoke. Games and Anime don't do half assed dubs like movies do anymore. In the old days I'd agree with you, but this isn't the old days.

mikeA92
mikeA92
9 years ago

@Kiryu
Hey man, I know your question wasn't directed at me but I'm just curious. You say this and that about how one should stick to the original state because its how the creator intended for it to be consumed and all. But consider that this is just one aspect of the entire production, isn't it? In your case its just the language, the creator doesn't think his product will succeed based on just that does he? I mean, last I checked, the overall experience is what makes these things successful, and that doesn't include just language. So what I wanna say is, if I play/watch a different version of a product that caters to my preferences, and I get the same experience as the guy who goes for the original, won't that be a win-win for both of us?

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

originality matters to me.The ones who created it r the ones who do it best.
I guess u would play any game in your language even if it's crap.
I see anime and play games the way they r made,it's my choice.

GuyverLT
GuyverLT
9 years ago

I personally like Goku's(dbz) English voice over his Japanese counter-part.

For the most anime I will agree that the english isn't as good as the sub version, but I can watch the english dubs just as long as there are not completely unbearable.


Last edited by GuyverLT on 5/3/2011 10:48:58 AM

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

k one more thing.If u started watching DBZ from cartoon network,Dragonball didn't start from raditz landing on earth.Dragonball started from goku as boy living in the woods.In Japanese the voice of goku was done from a young boy to a teenager to a man.Which were all played by the same voice actor.If u had watched Dragonball from start to finish in Japanese u would have loved goku's voice.
and by the way nobody can shout Kamehameha as good as Japanese Goku's Voice Actor in the World.

There r so many mistakes in the english version,the script especially was not at all correct.and vegeta actually says over 8000 not 9000.


Last edited by Kiryu on 5/3/2011 10:55:28 AM

Arvis
Arvis
9 years ago

Um, you know what I like about watching television shows?

NO READING!!

Talk about "originality" until you're blue in the face, but there is NO SENSE in preferring subs over dubs. To say "the acting is better in Japanese" is the most idiotic thing I have ever heard in my life. Unless you speak the language, you are not qualified to make a judgment on the quality of the voice acting, and there's no arguing that.

You can't go around saying "the Japanese actors capture the essence of the characters better" and act like you've actually made a point. That sentence doesn't even MEAN anything, considering there is no set qualitative standard for measuring "character essence capturing."
In other words, what you're actually saying is: "The Japanese voice actors are better because I like them better."

If you like subs better, that is perfectly fine and rational. But to go around acting like only stupid people would disagree is simply ignorant arrogance. And to pretend that your opinion has a stronger foundation than someone else's (especially on such a trivial issue) is just the most egocentric thing I can think of.

Oh, and by the way: Death Note sucks in any language.

-Arvis

SayWord
SayWord
9 years ago

@kiryu dude I've been watching anime for like 15 years and I hate reading subtitles (unless the english sucks). recent animes english dubs have been fantastic. I get it you like the japanese voice option, but don't try to force your opinions onto others.


Last edited by SayWord on 5/3/2011 11:32:40 AM

Kiryu
Kiryu
9 years ago

@sayword

When i posted this comment "i wanted Japanese voices" i specified so it's my choice and that world guy comes and comments against my wishes.So i had to start this argument.Nothin aganist u others.
if u want to watch anime in english go ahead i don't have anything against u.


Last edited by Kiryu on 5/3/2011 12:13:42 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

lol, Kiryu, I HAD to make that joke that started this whole thing. It simply had to be done. I've never seen you deviate from these 2 comment structures: "Yakuza is good" and "Japanese voices are best"

So you see I HAD to poke a little fun at you. It really was outside of my control. It just had to be done 🙂


Last edited by WorldEndsWithMe on 5/3/2011 12:53:45 PM

huh1678
huh1678
9 years ago

Bu bu but Japanese Voices are the best!

Temjin001
Temjin001
9 years ago

Okay, so is WKC good, or so-so? It seemed the game wasn't well received by critics and forum posters. Now it seems people are heralding it as something more.
I don't get it.
Anyway, back in the day, I wanted this one to be a hit. Now I get the feeling that starving jRPG gamers are just accepting WKC for what it is and playing and enjoying it because it's one of the few games of it's type on ps3.
Anyway, I'm on the fence looking away on this one. Maybe I'll change my mind someday.

SayWord
SayWord
9 years ago

I would highly recommend getting wkc2 especially since it comes with the first one. It wasn't the greatest rpg of all time but it was under rated by most critics and gamers. I dived into playing with pretty low expectations because of scores the majority of reviewers gave it, but I was glad I didn't listen:p

Temjin001
Temjin001
9 years ago

I suppose Lost Odyssey also didn't net a very high critic average, and I think it's great.
In fact, it seems I remember LO was attacked and marked down for staying true to a traditional jRPG format. Just imagine how FPS games would rate if that same belief was leveled against them.
And not to open a big can of debate (eh, I don't care, debate all you want) but I sense the wRPG insurgence over the last 10 years, or so, has caused many critics to think of the jPRG format as a "dated" genre format. Suggesting that by not conforming to wRPG conventions the jRPG games are decidedly inferior, or lacking. That's sort of sad, actually. Seeing that the very nature of the game's design has been confused. As despite similarities in attribute progression and the "RPG" label, a Dragon Age/Oblivion isn't really like a FF/Xeno/LO.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

There's no debate Temjin, critics are THAT stupid these days.

As for WKC, it's good but not up there with the old classics. What it does do is give you some of that old feeling, punishes you with some of that old grind, has some sweet towns and locales, and has customization options we haven't seen in twelve thousand years. Overall I see it as a very good start for an IP and I can't wait for the second one.


Last edited by WorldEndsWithMe on 5/2/2011 10:32:32 PM

kraygen
kraygen
9 years ago

I'm a big rpg fan, old school final fantasies are my favs. I was looking forward to this game for 2 years and had such high hopes I was wondering if it wouldn't disappoint because I was expecting too much.

I loved it, I loved the story, the gameplay, most of the characters. Which usually I only like 2-3, but I really enjoyed everything about this game. Maybe it was tailored specifically for me, but if you like JRPG's then you really should not pass this one up.

Jawknee
Jawknee
9 years ago

Seems like most critics, especially western critics rip anything that's Japanese themed to shreds.

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
9 years ago

Tem, that second sentence in your second paragraph sums it up. White Knight is mediocre at best. Like most mediocre games
(yes, like Dynasty Warriors!), it can only be enjoyed by a few. There are plenty better JRPGs than this to spend your money on.

TheHighlander
TheHighlander
9 years ago

Mediocre is not a word I'd use to describe the game – at all. It's better than about 85% of the games release this generation – if not more. OK, it's not a shooter and doesn't have that fast paced action that so many games feature today, but it does bring a lot to the table, and the graphics are really, really well done. Faces aren't the best, but the towns and landscapes are gorgeous.

Mediocre is not the right word at all for this game.

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
9 years ago

85%? Nah. I'd put White Knight right above Last Rebellion. There really are better JRPGS out there. Heck, even Enchanted Arms is a better JRPG if you can suffer the Pizza Man golems and goofy storyline of the first four hours.

kraygen
kraygen
9 years ago

Porkchop do you play all your games while drunk and high?

Last rebellion wasn't even playable, it wasn't for specific people.

WKC may be only for a certain crowd, but that crowd would be any rpg fan.

I think calling WKC that bad is an insult to psx, just look at the review score.

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
9 years ago

Nope. Been a teetotaler my whole life. Never saw the draw to the stuff.

I don't think it's a great RPG as many claim. It's decent. But nothing to recommend wholeheartedly.

Claire C
Claire C
9 years ago

After reading this conversation I don't know what to think. Still interested in taking a chance on WK2 though.

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
9 years ago

Porkchopgamer is unqualified to voice an EDUCATED statement about WKC2

You'll find some of those gamers around the net.

Nothing personal, porkchop just doesn't know what makes an rpg good. WKC had it all, a real story, real characters, a true lore, and a sense of adventure. It's the closest thing to classic Final Fantasy that you will find this gen. A bit short, yes, but still a fulfilling and engaging story.

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
9 years ago

Last Rebellion was playable. Figuring out the order of attacks was kinda neat. And the REALLY(I mean, REALLY) bad voice acting made me chuckle some.

WKC didn't really have a charm of it's own for me to hold onto. It was run of the mill, by the numbers. I expected more from Level 5. Especially after stuff like, Jeanne D Arc.

Beamboom
Beamboom
9 years ago

I totally agree with Pork. I qualify as a "rpg lover" and never found the fascination for wkc, and I played *hours* of that game just cause I wanted to get the bloody coop gaming going.
Above all it felt so… weirdly old-fashioned.
Like the looting of the same tree several times to pick up resources.What's the point in that? The game is riddled with details like that, who to me appear totally meaningless. It's not like they are showstoppers, but *why* was it done in the first place… That's what I asked myself all the time while playing.

And quoting Ben, "how can you expect developers to write lines for you" – well isn't that what practically *every* other rpg do? I think it's a weird and stupid decision to put your character entirely outside the story. What's the point? Why was this done? I suspect it is for one thing only: Laziness. It's easier to script npc's in a story than the player character. Easier on a less powerful system, like back in the days.


Last edited by Beamboom on 5/3/2011 4:50:45 AM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

No, Enchanted arms is like a 4, doesn't even touch WKC.

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
9 years ago

I saw you write once that you only played this game for a little bit and never played it again. You tyically give review scores to games you haven't played much? You gotta future in this business, for sure. Enchanted Arms is way better than WKC. Better, darker story, more substantial characters, better traditional turn/strategy-based gameplay. And it doesn't rely on MP to flesh out the gameplay hours.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

Anybody who puts Last Rebellion – which absolutely WAS unplayable, as all critics and I would say most all RPG lovers will attest to – on the same plane as WKC has no clue what they're talking about. I'm sorry, but that's a fact.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

Don't confuse an extemporaneous remark with a professional review.

Dude, as Ben just pointed out you are so out of your element here you're embarrassing yourself.


Last edited by WorldEndsWithMe on 5/3/2011 10:32:52 AM

Arvis
Arvis
9 years ago

I actually think the story in WKC is total crap.

But everything else about the game is either good or great!

-Arvis

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
9 years ago

For safety's sake, I'll just keep any comment you make away from being anything remotely professoinal. The fact, is I've played all these games in this discussion to completion. ALL of them. And any RPG that has come out of Japan in the last 3 gens, no matter the system,I own and have completed about 80%, played half of 100%. Don't confuse the fact that I don't talk about RPGs on this site as much as the regulars as some proof of lack of knowledge. Now I know that's gonna get everyone running and crying to Ben because I say that, but it is what it is. I said WKC was a step above Last Rebellion. The production values make it so, but it was just as broken and boring, in my opinion. But at least, Last Rebellion was SO bad it was like watching Troll 2 or Plan 9 from Outer Space, so the terribleness amused me. WKC tried to take itself seriously and it had nothing to latch onto because it was full of RPG stereotypes. The only two RPGs I never plan on going back thru again ever are those two.

SayWord
SayWord
9 years ago

I don't understand you porkchop, I get it you don't think wkc is that great. But the majority here think otherwise yet you keep insisting for us to agree with you. Either you are very over opinionated or you love to be laughed at?