Scheduled release date:
September 6, 2011
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
Insomniac Games
Number Of Players:
1-16
Genre:
FPS


The shooter genre on consoles has exploded this generation, and we shouldn’t forget that one of the earliest successes was Resistance: Fall of Man . Undoubtedly the class of the PlayStation 3 launch, it provided a glimpse of what was to come; of what developers could do with Sony’s powerful new hardware. The second was a mixed bag in the eyes of the fans (although we loved it) and the third has been confirmed for a September 6, 2011 release. And considering that we have a bunch of new information, plus a hefty amount of gameplay floating about, it’s long past time we issued a formal preview. Hale is gone and Joseph Capelli is the new protagonist; he’ll face new enemies, utilize overhauled and more effective weaponry and…well, act as mankind’s savior.

First up, let’s touch on a few of the differences: new enemies will challenge us in different ways, as both alien drones and cloaking hybrids highlight the fresh list of adversaries. Sniper hybrids can take you down fast, and they’re all the more difficult to track and kill due to their annoying cloak ability. Drones will often have to be destroyed before their “masters” can be eliminated, and let’s not forget the signature feature of the franchise: mammoth bosses. Although we’ve only caught glimpses of a few, you can bet they will return in full force in this third installment. A lot of our favorite weapons will be coming back as well, but there’s the addition of the Dead Eye, which is the Chimeran sniper rifle and similar to the L23 Fareye, which fans will recognize. The difference? Dead Eye has a fun alternate fire…

The Carbine, Magnum, Bullseye, Rossmore (shotgun), and Auger will also return, and we’ve already seen them in action during recently released gameplay videos. The weapon wheel from the original Resistance is back as well; we’ll access it with the Triangle button and then make our selection with the left analog, as we did before. Perhaps the most important feature pertaining to the weaponry is that every firearm will have two upgrade paths; one for primary fire and one for the alternate fire. Along with the aforementioned familiar names, Insomniac says we can expect new additions to our hefty arsenal, and that’s always good news. One last change involves the health- it will no longer restore when you take cover.

See, Hale was infected, which gave him those restorative powers, but Capelli doesn't seem to have that skill, so he’ll have to hunt for health packs when he’s injured. This might alter the style of gameplay just a tad, as we imagine a slightly more cautious approach will be required when facing stiff odds. Plus, with all those weapons, we might have to focus on a few of our favorites and upgrade the crap out of them. The story will also be an important part of this production, as it was in the past two entries; we’ll be interested to see how everything plays out in the post-apocalyptic U.S. Resistance 3 looks fantastic and perhaps the launch date will be beneficial, as it doesn’t have to butt heads with either this year’s Call of Duty or Battlefield 3 , both of which are expected in November.

But regardless of the release date, we know one thing to be true: we really, really want it.

Subscribe
Notify of
72 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
BTNwarrior
BTNwarrior
9 years ago

I am definitely going to get this day 1, however I'm still a little disappointed that they got rid of the shooter/rpg hybrid that was the online co-op

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
9 years ago

I couldn't stand the Co-Op from Resistance 2. Glad it's gone.

Beamboom
Beamboom
9 years ago

… But there's storyline coop this time? That's even better, don't you think?

AshT
AshT
9 years ago

I liked the co-op in R2, multiplayer was something i cudn't get into

BTNwarrior
BTNwarrior
9 years ago

yeah but the story co-op won't be randomly generated maps, with 8 players and an rpg leveling system that makes you come back constantly. Plus it was the only online game that I have ever played where you had to work as a team to win. And each of the three classes was unique in how they played and all three were required to get through a level. And this is the only game online where the majority of players had a mike and actually used them. So there is no way they will be able to put that into the story co-op and that is why I am sad

HighOnFire
HighOnFire
9 years ago

Im so glad to see the regen health go away for this one. Thats really gonna add to the challenge and cause some major tension. The COD kids are gonna hate it! Other than UC3, this is my most anticipated for the rest of the year.

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
9 years ago

I watched Killzone 3 take a step back because of GG listening to the COD fans. Oh well!!

PasteNuggs
PasteNuggs
9 years ago

I really can't wait for this. I think the reason this is my most anticipated is because it's had the longest gap from the previous one.

Lord carlos
Lord carlos
9 years ago

Was'nt capelli a sentinel & infected just like hale??
Really looking forward to this!
Thought the other resistance games were epic!!!

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

nah he was just a f*cking douchebag that was always on Hale's case for being infected.

Lord carlos
Lord carlos
9 years ago

Interesting as i could of sworn that to be a sentinel you had to be infected and partake in malakovs crazy inhibitors.
I do remember the douchieness that was capelli.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

I thought the same thing. The Sentinels were supposedly humans that were immune, or resistant to the Chimera virus. Although they didn't need to be a part of Project Abraham. Only Hale and Shepard were a part of that. Still… at least it means that it'll require the hunting of health packs. The regen in the second annoyed me.
Peace.

slugga_status
slugga_status
9 years ago

Capelli was a Sentinel and also was infected. All Sentinels were soldiers exposed to the Chimeran Virus that gave them super strength and ability to regenerate health. They all got inhibitor treatments…

I love the idea of med packs..but that is a huge hole in the Resistance story if they're trying to say he's not infected..

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

Having trouble sleeping, and I've been thinking about this (among other things): Apparently, in this third game, Malikov has discovered a cure for the Chimeran virus, and the whole road trip between him and Capelli is to create it or distribute it or something. Theoretically, it makes it possible that Malikov gives Capelli a dose of that anti-virus and cures him at the beginning of the game to gain his trust and show that he's not BSing.

How likely is that?

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

I stand corrected.

sirbob6
sirbob6
9 years ago

It could have something to do with the level of infection. Hale was level 8 well Capelli was four or something like that.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

I'm glad the weapon wheel is back to be sure, I hope we see that gun that shoots the explosive boogers too.


Last edited by WorldEndsWithMe on 4/14/2011 10:42:03 PM

Shams
Shams
9 years ago

Weapon wheel & upgradeable weapons: Very "Ratchet", and I dig that.

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
9 years ago

As am I. Was one of my favorite features from R1.

Killa Tequilla
Killa Tequilla
9 years ago

"One last change involves the health- it will no longer restore when you take cover."
So much joyment grew in my insides as I read this! I was going to get inFAMOUS over this BUT not anymore!!! The gameplay plus preview reconsidered my purchase!!! Fall Of Man was easily one of my 1st games I played on Ps3! It was A GREAT GAME & STILL IS! Cant wait.
Unlike Zipper with their major over fu**ing haul, Insomniac Upgrades and adds not subtracts. If you don't own a playstation 3, you better sometime soon. Maybe XBOX hold Ps3 back on multiplats, but there are SOOOOOOOO MANY Ps3 exclusives out there that dont & give you maximum potential. Uncharted 3 aint even out yet & it's already doing what Avatar did for movies but for games… man dont miss out, get your playstation.

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
9 years ago

can't wait for this game to come

PAKINIPS
PAKINIPS
9 years ago

Ha

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
9 years ago

That looked totally badass. I still have spent countless hours playing Resistance retribution and would solely recommend a PSP for that game alone. I loved the TPS aspect and was totally fun. The online was actually quite enjoyable as the SP campaign. Plus the PS3 cross-platform hook-up. The game had A LOT of hidden rooms and bonuses I tell you. So I can't wait for this.

gangan19
gangan19
9 years ago

only 16 players in multiplayer?

Beamboom
Beamboom
9 years ago

"Only"? How many do you think it should be?

sirbob6
sirbob6
9 years ago

80 or so

BIGRED15
BIGRED15
9 years ago

Resistance 3 battlefield 3 and uncharted 3 are gonna be top purchases in the next 6 months. with infamous as a very close afterthought. I'll probably wait on that one a bit. Resistance three is looking way sick. The bullseye even looks to be a lot better tons of improvements

Qubex
Qubex
9 years ago

While the Resistance 3 news is quite exciting… something off-topic and earth shuttering…

Eurogamer reporting that there is to be a Wii2 announcement at e3 2011…

Nintendo was reported as stating that the Wii2 will be significantly more powerful than the 360 and the PS3.

They want to regain the hardcore market!!!

Looks like my prediction was correct and has come true…

Nintendo was the Dark Horse after all!

Q!

"play.experience.enjoy"

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
9 years ago

Earth shattering would be a reveal. Nothing has been revealed yet… Just don't see it happening. I do believe they will release a wii hd though, at some point anyways.

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

I highly doubt it will be more powerful than the PS3. But who knows.

Qubex
Qubex
9 years ago

Why would it not be – Nintendo want to go after their asses!

I think it is only obvious with falling sales of the Wii and the fact that motion controlling has become so commoditised now!

Q!

"play.experience.enjoy"

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

I won't believe it until i see it, i won't go off a rumor.

I heard a rumor similar to that before the Wii, PS3, and 360 was announced but it fell short from what they said. It's not impossible but i want to see it first before i believe it.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

It's logical that the Wii2 will be more powerful than even the PS3. I mean, yeah it still is cutting edge technology, sort of, but there has still been progression. It may not be leagues more powerful, but it wouldn't surprise me if it really is capable of rendering something like KZ3 at full 1080p and 60fps. Or do you think that may be a tad too hopeful?

I'll be very interested in seeing how all of this pans out, particularly with the broad market brand recognition that the Wii has managed to garner since its release.
Peace.

___________
___________
9 years ago

ninty, regaining the hardcore market?
HA!
good joke!
all ninty ever put out is mario and pokemon games, good luck regaining the hardcore market with that!

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

It might be Lawless. I'm not sure, it's certainly possible but for some reason i don't see it happening. I'm not making any stoned tablets on what will happen i am just going to wait and see what happens, it's interesting.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

Hey Anon, Have you ever heard of Kid Icarus, Zelda, Metroid, Starfox or Earthbound. Nintendo does still have more 'mature' franchises that can cater to the hardcore gamers. Besides, they could always follow Sony's example and come up with some new ones.

Clamedeus,
Yeah, I'm not about to make any official guesses yet, but with Ninty's desire to get the gamer faithful back on their side, I don't doubt that they're going to put their balls to the wall and create something that will appeal to the gadget freaks. Surprises still do happen in this world.
Peace.

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

Indeed, i can't wait to see what they have under that sleeve of theirs.

Temjin001
Temjin001
9 years ago

I don't think Nintendo is going to suddenly change their identity.
For over a decade they've maintained a consistency in their product offerings.
While I don't doubt that the next Wii will be a powerful system, I do doubt that we'll start seeing a large effort on their part to re-engage Microsoft and Sony head on with the kind of content that those gamers crave.
Nintendo has not been one to dump 25-55 million into their game titles. Games like Uncharted, GoW, and Killzone are Hollywood-like in presentation and production values. That just isn't Nintendo's MO. They also have a ton of catch up to do on the online side of things.
But I guess anything could happen.

Pandacastro
Pandacastro
9 years ago

Pretty much everyone predicted Nintendo was going to announce a new console.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

Heh, I'm interested in the rumoured controller they're talking about. Apparently it has a built-in 6" touch screen and you'll be able to stream Wii2 games onto it and play without the need for a TV. I can see that being very helpful for splitscreen games (or what would otherwise be required to be splitscreen). It just seems like a really out-there concept, and probably overly expensive. I also wonder at the necessity of it. I mean, sure, Nintendo has made a name for themselves off innovative control schemes recently (DS touch screen/Wii motion controls), but implementing a touch function in a home console just seems… silly. Who knows though, it could take off in a big way. But if this is the new default controller, then what happens to the Wiimote? Will they offer an upgraded version of it? I mean, the system is supposed to be backwards compatible, so why would they simply drop support of their main method of control?

I know this isn't really the right place, but this is sounding like it may tempt me away from the PS family for a while, provided they have solid software support for it.
Peace.

___________
___________
9 years ago

of course they do, but not enough.
sorry, ninty retaking the core crowd is as likely as dolphins taking over the world!

Qubex
Qubex
9 years ago

Blu-Ray dot com are rumour reporting the Wii2 will come with a blu-ray player as well…

Q!

"play.experience.enjoy"


Last edited by Qubex on 4/15/2011 2:03:36 AM

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

The upgradeable weapons sound awesome. Hopefully it plays out well… like the way it was scaled in inFamous so that you never feel overly powerful. And I'm so glad to see the return of the weapon wheel. The two-weapon loadout is good for some games, but the inventiveness of Insomniac really means that it turns into a lost opportunity. Speaking of which, I can't wait to see some of the new weapons they have to play with. I hope that they feel as fresh as the XR1 Hailstorm from the first game, or those Backlash Grenades. Better yet would be the Tapper that they cut from the second game. The concept of that was cool.
The story, I really like. I mean, it's so rare that you are left feeling as though you really are fighting a losing battle, so hopefully that hopelessness is evident in everything that you do. It was alright in R2, but I want it pushed to the next level. I just hope that the game is a decent length to really live up to what I'm hoping for. If it's yet another six-eight hour campaign, I'm going to be heartbroken.
The eradication of the regenerating health (as I mentioned above) is a definite plus. It may seem an archaic mechanic, but I like the strategy that you have to employ in choosing when to fall back and hunt. And if the AI is as good as it seems to be, it should turn into a very hairy, harrowing experience. That will be aided by the new enemy types, and the inclusion of both 'feral' and 'militarised' Chimera. That alone sounds awesome. I wonder if we'll see any more of the Cloven. And I wonder who the new leaders of the Chimera are. It was the Angels in the original, Daedalus in the second and the Chrysalid in Retribution. It's only logical that they'll have something entirely new. Can't wait to see it.
But I still can't come to grips with the thought that Hale is gone. Still makes me sad.

In case you couldn't tell, the Resistance series is one of my favourites, in spite of the fact that it's an FPS. I can't help but be overly excited about this. It really is a close call on whether I want this or Uncharted 3 more. inFamous 2 beats out both of them though.
Peace.

___________
___________
9 years ago

meh.
i really hope this turns out to be the worthy successor to one of the ps3s best games!
but i seriously doubt it, its looking allot more like a tad better then resistance 2.
i mean how can you have a war based off girls?
ohhhhh mommy the scary monsters have taken over the world, so im leaving the army and going into hiding.
come on, this is suppose to be a war game!
wheres the hero?

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

To save them and the human race? Not sure. It is a war game, but not the kind that we are used to.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

Oh yes, because you would be so damn courageous if the world was indeed taken over by aliens. Now, I know that it's a game, but that doesn't mean that it needs to follow the same bored cliches of overblown 'heroes'. What can't you accept that Insomniac are trying to create a 'real' character that the average person can connect with?

Seriously, it adds an emotional element to the story, and as far as I'm concerned that CAN'T be a bad thing.
Peace.

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
9 years ago

I agree Lawless.

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
9 years ago

You gotta understand, blank has already decided this game will fail in his eyes but he will still claim he fail for the 'massive hype' the game has.

___________
___________
9 years ago

there trying to go for too much of a dramatic feel, the announcement trailer showed that.
war games are not suppose to be dramatic, there suppose to be fast paced and about superhumans!

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

So wait… You don't want to see someone trying something new from a story perspective? Look, based on what we've seen, there will still be plenty of combat scenarios, and plenty of high speed battles. One gets tired of macho men who are out to save the world because it's the 'right' thing to do, or because they're soldiers and it's their job. The emotional impact here is a GOOD thing. Why can't you see that? Instead, you complain that Capelli seems like a coward. What's wrong with seeing something different once in a while. That is what you're always crying about, isn't it? Or are you only interested in seeing different gameplay mechanics, and don't give a **it about the story?
Peace.