Scheduled release date:
TBA 2011
Publisher:
Deep Silver
Developer:
Techland
Number Of Players:
1-4
Genre:
Action/RPG


Zombie games will never die. And while many say they’ve long since grown tiresome, repetitive, and just plain old-fashioned, the concept of the walking undead is timeless. Last year’s Dead Nation was great and believe it or not, it seems Techland and Deep Silver are teaming up to deliver one of the bloodiest, most visceral zombie-slaying experiences ever. The guys who brought you nail’d (a damn good and very under-appreciated off-road racer) are pulling out all the stops with Dead Island . But the reason there’s a three and a half year gap in the screenshot accumulation – just check above – is because the game was initially announced way back in 2007. It just took a while for Techland to find a publisher but now they’ve got one, and this promising slasher should launch this year for the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and PC. Prepare to be both appalled and titillated.

The Royal Palms resort on an island in Papua New Guinea is pretty darn remote. It’s a beautiful location; perhaps perfect for a honeymoon or a solitary getaway. But that remoteness could be your undoing because when the undead begin to rise, you are at an immediate disadvantage: no help is coming, and the island isn’t exactly stockpiled with firearms. You’ll start out foraging for weapons or blunt objects; anything that will help you survive, and for the most part, you’ll be hacking your way free. Daggers, axes, bats, machetes, lead pipes, and other items will come in awfully handy, but such tools will also cause the blood to copiously coat the environment. It’s gonna be gut-wrenching. Every strike will have a significant impact, as the rotting flesh will be torn away, the blood will run, and muscle and bone will be revealed. Dubbed a “first-person zombie slasher/action-RPG,” Techland is both nasty and ambitious.

Only you and a handful of tourists remain uninfected when the disease breaks out, and everyone has to sort of band together to escape the island. But there’s more to the story…in fact, there is a story, and you’ll have to uncover the reasons and source behind the outbreak before your adventure is over. The game is also going to offer co-op play for those who wish to play with a friend, and up to four players can drop in and out of a game. But really, playing this one alone at night with all the lights extinguished should be your aim. Personally, I’m a fan of that role-playing element: unlike other zombie-hunting games, you aren’t an expert slayer at the start; you’ve got learn, and your skills will increase over time. As you get better at destroying the rampaging hordes, you’ll obtain new abilities, some of which even come with new animations.

We’ll also see a lot of variety in the zombies, which will come in all shapes and sizes. This means you might have to employ different tactics for taking them down, although it remains true that all these horrific monsters will be extremely aggressive. They too may have special abilities, so it seems you’ll be at a disadvantage throughout. By the way, prepare to feel a little uncomfortable when you watch the trailer here, because while it’s extremely impressive from a cinematic standpoint – is that indicative of how the game will look?! – it’s also…well, unsettling. This could very well be one of the most gruesome, surprisingly in-depth zombie-based games ever ; I just hope all the featured elements blend together to give us a seamless experience. If you hadn’t heard of Dead Island prior to this preview, you have now, and you’ll start hearing more soon…

Subscribe
Notify of
63 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

Watch that trailer. It's just out of control.

Jawknee
Jawknee
9 years ago

I know. Insanity! And depressing.

cLoudou
cLoudou
9 years ago

It must be, for you to comment first.

Karosso
Karosso
9 years ago

This trailer should be nominated for something… Amazing!

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
9 years ago

Now THAT'S a real zombie game! What a trailer.

crunchy_nut_kid
crunchy_nut_kid
9 years ago

if it had funny music it would be a lot less depressing

Xombito
Xombito
9 years ago

I'm as hardcore a horror fan as they come, but what is it with the children and babies getting wasted in horror entertainment lately? Actually I know the answer, but I wanted to say something. It screamed originality though, which bodes well for the game.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

Children already behave like wild zombies, it was a natural progression 😉

kevinater321
kevinater321
9 years ago

I think anything with funny music is less depressing.

Oyashiro
Oyashiro
9 years ago

One of the best trailers I've seen in a long time… even with out gameplay footage.

Jawknee
Jawknee
9 years ago

This game has me interested. I'm not a big Zombie fan but this looks promising.

jjlive168
jjlive168
9 years ago

I must have watched this trailer like 15 plus times and showed it and asked peoples reactions to i even went as far as to tell my mom to watch it walked out the room and peeked in as she was watching with out her knowing…she stopped eating and just starred she then yelled my name seeing as how she couldnt finish it…this trailer is crazy and i love every second of it. its like that scene would have been the perfect ending to the game but add one more person in the room and thats the you perfect ending but what really adds impact is that dang piano and violin lol love this trailer…hopefully they can tie the same feelings into the games its bananas how good this trailer is…good job techland do this game right and you guys will be on the map forever

MadPowerBomber
MadPowerBomber
9 years ago

Yay, zombies! Although there's been a LOT of bad zombie stuff out there the past several years (including George Romero's last two films) there's still really great stuff out there. Max Brooks World War Z and it's most recent companion piece he recently did for the internet, Robert Kirkman's The Walking Dead (which is pretty much the only comic I read anymore, that and Kirkman's Invincible), and hopefully games like this.

No game has ever captured the feel, vibe, and atmosphere of the first three Romero films (Night, Dawn, and Day) where all this zombie stuff started. I'll keep playing 'em until it happens.

Oh, and The Walking Dead game by Telltale games is a go. :D!

jjlive168
jjlive168
9 years ago

And they say Video games isn't art…

SixSpeedKing
SixSpeedKing
9 years ago

Damn! That was one awesome, cinematic and incredible looking trailer! As well I love zombie games and movies and anything with zombies really… Anyway this game looks like it can be very good and hopefully it will be. I will definitely keep my eye out for any new info.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

Awesome trailer, but will the game match up at all? Please tell me this is a full on disc based full budget production. As far as I'm concerned, the PS3 still hasn't had a zombie game this generation and it needs a good one.

Dancemachine55
Dancemachine55
9 years ago

Easily one of the best game trailers I've seen in ages. My interest in this game has just been raised quite a lot.

Here's hoping the gameplay and story is as stylish and emotional as that trailer.

I wasn't interested in anymore zombie games, but with all the hype surrounding this trailer, I just had to check it out. I'm very glad I did now.

I hope the cinematic from that trailer is part of the story, like the halfway point. Start the game off with the first outbreak.

Also, I'm loving the tropical island setting during a bright sunny day. Very different to many zombie games out there. Can't wait to see more.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

Wait, why did they have trouble finding a publisher?

MyWorstNightmar
MyWorstNightmar
9 years ago

Maybe it's hard to set up a meeting when the publisher hears you are making yet another zombie game?

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

Maybe. But zombie are a cash cow. I mean, somebody ACTUALLY green lit Dead Rising 2. That is in the top 5 worst games this gen.

Chelsea United
Chelsea United
9 years ago

I don't get it…. DR2 has a ton of reviews that score it around 8, I don't have the game so I don't know, but if it's that bad why is everyone giving it praise?


Last edited by Chelsea United on 2/18/2011 6:33:15 PM

CH1N00K
CH1N00K
9 years ago

Wow…..just……Wow…..

I don't know about the game but that trailer should win some awards at least…


Last edited by CH1N00K on 2/17/2011 10:42:39 PM

matt99
matt99
9 years ago

It's good to see a hack n' slash zombie game with a story. I mean left 4 dead and dead rising were fun, but it got old real fast without a substantial story.

MyWorstNightmar
MyWorstNightmar
9 years ago

Wow, extremely creative trailer. Almost enough to make me want to play a zombie game. Looking forward to seeing the reviews for this one when it comes out. I hope the game plays as good as the trailer looks.

MyWorstNightmar
MyWorstNightmar
9 years ago

Wonder if the co-op is just online, or if you can do split screen at home?

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

I just watched it in non-backwards order on youtube… not even nearly as good.

MyWorstNightmar
MyWorstNightmar
9 years ago

Maybe if we're lucky, we get to play the game backwards.

Karosso
Karosso
9 years ago

Amazing Trailer! If the game can provoke the kind of feelings I got from this video, It's gonna be one of my favorite games of 2011.
Does anyone else feel a pinch of Heavy Rain in the trailer?


Last edited by Karosso on 2/17/2011 10:54:49 PM

CH1N00K
CH1N00K
9 years ago

Actually while I was watching it, I couldn't get the "Mad World" song out of my head that they used to promote Gears of War with.

Karosso
Karosso
9 years ago

It would be awesome if they let us play the cut scenes like in Heavy Rain…

Karosso
Karosso
9 years ago

"Mad World" would have been perfect for this trailer but, the original score is very good as well.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

I like your avatar, what games does Sega want me to buy?

Kangasfwa
Kangasfwa
9 years ago

@ World

Valkyria Chronicles

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

No problem there, already own it 🙂

kellett007
kellett007
9 years ago

WOW I really like how I have not heard anything about this game and then this trailer comes out. I am very stoked for this game given it is anything like the trailer.

Milonakis
Milonakis
9 years ago

This looks pretty great. Wow. I still think their should be a zombie game where you get trapped and have to build your own safehouse and advance into the world uncovering a map to find other survivors and weapons, while setting traps, and researching a cure cause your a scientist or something.

Kangasfwa
Kangasfwa
9 years ago

I think minecraft is close enough to that

MyWorstNightmar
MyWorstNightmar
9 years ago

I like your idea.

SvenMD
SvenMD
9 years ago

Just don't call it I Am Legend…

But that would be kinda fun.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
9 years ago

I watched the trailer a few dAys ago and had no idea this would be on the PS3. It looked insane what an awesome trailer! It definitely
Made me want this game! Looking forward too it!

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
9 years ago

This is the direction Resident Evil should have taken after Resident Evil 3.

I know a lot of RE fans will be happy, me included.

I will have to get this even if it's just average.

Loving the fact that it's not so much about guns. I love melee weapons and it would make it more challenging and interesting. Fine if there are guns, but let us also fight with some melee stuff.

Amazing graphics so far, I know the trailer's pre-rendered, but the images are in-game, no?

This looks to be great fun, can't wait to see more.

I really hope we can co-op in this game. I see 1-4 players, so that should be a lot of fun.


Last edited by Scarecrow on 2/18/2011 12:44:06 AM

main_event05
main_event05
9 years ago

maybe if it sells well Capcom will take a hint.

Also, have you tried the RE: Outbreak series??

kraygen
kraygen
9 years ago

Not a fan of zombie games, but that sure was one heck of a trailer.

___________
___________
9 years ago

wait, i thought this was a 360 exclusive?

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

Well, it's not.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

Not anymore.

Vivi_Gamer
Vivi_Gamer
9 years ago

Brilliant cinematic, i give them credit for that. But i have to say i was kind of hoping for it to be in 3rd person perspective. still i'll keep it on my radar if it's a Left 4 Dead beater i'll be so pleased as thats one exclusive i wish we had on the PS3.

main_event05
main_event05
9 years ago

Woooo, eff yeah.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
9 years ago

Awesome trailer and premise. This is on my interest list.

gangan19
gangan19
9 years ago

does everyone die at the end? cause thats what its looking like