Scheduled release date:
TBA 2011
Publisher:
Codemasters
Developer:
Codemasters
Number Of Players:
TBA
Genre:
FPS
Release Date:
TBA 2011


We did not like Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising . The game looked terrible and was just far too broken in regards to gameplay, which is why we weren’t all that excited to hear details on the next iteration from Codemasters, Red River . However, after seeing some footage and checking out the relevant info, one surprise became abundantly clear: rather than taking another stab at ultra-realism and hardcore authenticity, the developers are instead opting to cater to a more diverse demographic. This might not go over well with the avid followers who defend the series because the experiences are just so darn challenging, but considering the last effort, it’s probably a good move. That being said, they’re not turning this into Unreal Tournament ; you’re still a fragile human rather than a superhuman elite soldier, and you’ll still have to rely on both strategy and intelligence to survive.  It might be a nice mix.

You’re in the Marines and you command a small squad of four soldiers; you observe various situations, make some leadership decisions, and issue orders. You can tell unit members to move to a certain position, provide them with the all-important “fire” order, and in general, guide your team to victory through cunning and careful execution. Also, because there are three allies with you, there’s the option of four-player co-op, which ought to be appealing to many. So no, this isn’t suddenly a run ‘n gun, destroy everything you see, shoot first and think later production. But we will get some otherworldly assistance we didn’t have before; it’s the kind of help we’ve had in other shooters: the auto-aim, for instance, which allows the aiming reticule to center on the nearest target of its own accord. They’ve also cut down on the intricacy and complexity of issuing commands, which is a huge deal because the convoluted command wheel in Dragon Rising was a serious downfall.

There’s also some leniency in regards to health this time around. In the previous entry, you were forced to stop the bleeding of an injury with a medical kit, but you weren’t entirely healed until you got to a medic. This made things overly challenging and more than a little frustrating in our eyes and obviously, Codemasters has heeded the backlash: in Red River , you will now have unlimited med packs and once bleeding has been stopped, anybody can be restored to full health. We will also get the benefit of checkpoints and in addition, whenever a checkpoint is reached, fallen allies will be automatically resurrected. Now, if you wish to switch to Hardcore mode, you’ll find some of the same restrictions we had in past titles, but at least the standard mode sounds far more accessible. Last but not least is the all new class system: you can choose to be a Scout, Rifleman, Automatic Rifleman, or Grenadier, and you equip your character and earn experience through progression.

Special abilities will also be available via experience spending, and these abilities will resemble the Perks we have in Call of Duty . You can net experience playing either solo or co-op in the Fireteam Engagement Mode and remember, Codemasters is still gunning for a realistic atmosphere. A single well-placed shot can still put you in the dirt and your bullets will be affected by distance. The AI isn’t stupid and if you turn off all the assists that are worked into this production, it probably won’t be much different than Dragon Rising . As it stands, though, the added accessibility is going to be the determining factor regarding the potential success of Operation Flashpoint: Red River . Well, that and the designer’s ability to drastically upgrade the technical lagging found in prior efforts. Cross your fingers.

Subscribe
Notify of
17 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
NoSmokingBandit
NoSmokingBandit
10 years ago

I kinda really liked Dragon Rising :/

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Operation: Not worth my time.

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

What is it about squad based fps games that make me hate them so much?

Is it the babysitting? The constant need to have eyes in the back of my head watching the useless AI teammates so they don't die? Is it their sluggish response to my orders? Is it the ineffective circular target thing that indicates where I want my squad to go? Or is it that when I tell them to stay put, they take it to mean stand around in the open?

I don't know. But I do know I can't stand squad based fps.

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

I enjoyed dragon Rising too.

Just up the graphics & fix the screen tearing so it doesn't still look like it was just another one of all those old fugly PS1 "Spec Ops" titles that retailed everywhere for only $9.99 brand new(though they were some cheap fun).


Last edited by BikerSaint on 11/29/2010 10:58:48 PM

booze925
booze925
10 years ago

i love how you came out straight up said u did not like the last one.
(EDIT) is dragon rising worth a rent?


Last edited by booze925 on 11/29/2010 11:02:02 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

I don't think so since it's a download.

booze925
booze925
10 years ago

operation flashpoint dragon rising?
im pretty sure its a disk

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
10 years ago

@booze925 Please try the game, dude. It's awesome. It feels like the original Rainbow 6 game for the PC when it comes to gameplay, IMO. Even moreso. You can micromanage down to what formation you walk in, which is important depending on what you need to do. It is alot to do and remember, if all you want to do is shoot. Interesting story that is believable, but it's to the point. No Hollywood cutscenes. The graphics are good. Not great, but you won't be getting tears in your eyes, either. Every shot counts. And when you you get through an intense fire fight and a remaining squadmate says 'Found a body. It's one ours.", it gets you in the gut a little. But check out other reviews. It's got a 76 average out of 42 reviews, so obviously, the game is doing enough right. Not everyone puts such a premium on graphics as this site does, noted by their first complaint in this article.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

We care less about graphics than just about any site you'll ever find.

And Dragon Rising sucked for plenty of reasons. You seem to like to defend crappy games, but whatever.


Last edited by Ben Dutka PSXE on 11/30/2010 12:46:25 AM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
9 years ago

Maybe I mixed it up with another recently poor FPS.

PorkChopGamer
PorkChopGamer
9 years ago

@ Ben My flaw is that I have alot of love for my hobby of 26 years and look for the best in every game I play. I'm not a snob or a fanboy. I don't get paid to rip games apart or put them on a pedestal. I'm just a guy with alot of hard earned disposable income loving his hobby. One man's Halo is another man's Haze and vice versa. They should get another opinion, right? Or is the comments section for the drones who agree with you 100%? I like this site for it's info, hilarious community, but not for reviews. Admittedly, you couldn't have fun with Super Mario Galaxy 2, so your gaming judgement to me is questionable at best.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
9 years ago

Don't act all holier than thou. A mature person would be able to offer an opinion rather than attempting to undermine the review with not-so-subtle jabs.

Crap like "not everyone puts such a premium on graphics as this site does" is insulting, and you know it. People post comments all the time that are in contrast to our opinions and reviews. You seem incapable of making a post that doesn't scream, "don't listen to this garbage; I'm better than you."

I also never said I didn't have fun with SMG2. That's your own interpretation of my words and unsurprisingly, it's followed up by another insult. So don't do it again.

The only thing "questionable" is your understanding of video games. I would suggest not posting in reviews if you can't help yourself.


Last edited by Ben Dutka PSXE on 11/30/2010 9:14:49 AM

Roach721
Roach721
9 years ago

Dragon Rising did suck I played it for about half an hour and Then sold it on Ebay and let me tell you that half an hour seemed like an eternity. This game will not sell good, they should just scratch this game entirely and make something else. This is why some developers go bankrupt (very hard headed).

___________
___________
9 years ago

"rather than taking another stab at ultra-realism and hardcore authenticity, the developers are instead opting to cater to a more diverse demographic"

now that SUCKS!
the one thing i liked about dragon rising is the ultra realism.
what is it with developers these days and completely changing there games!?
honestly i can honestly see this gen being my last gen of gaming, its going down hill so freaking fast its sinking like the titanic!
soon were going to have nothing but one game with a million copiers like it.
how much you want to bet this will turn out another COD rip off?
DEVELOPERS, ENOUGH!
FOR F*CKS SAKE, FOR ONCE CAN WE HAVE A GAME THAT IS NOT A RIP OFF OF ANYTHING!?
FOR ONCE, JUST SOME ORIGINALITY PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
GOD!

DUNDEAL79
DUNDEAL79
9 years ago

dude really , it's not that serious . Get over yourself.

Ludicrous_Liam
Ludicrous_Liam
9 years ago

@DUNDEAL79
That's the calmest I've ever seen him XD

Nick Maim
Nick Maim
9 years ago

Dear Codemasters.

You've lost your way. Please get back on track. A proper rally track that is. A proper Collin McRae Rally track that is.

Thanks