Scheduled release date:
February 22, 2011
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
Guerrilla Games
Number Of Players:
1-32
Genre:
FPS


Although we’ve got nearly four months before Killzone 3 is finally available in finished form, the beta test is currently running and after significant play time, it’s safe to say one thing: few will be disappointed come February. In addition to being the prettiest multiplayer experience to date – the beta alone proves the game is a visual masterpiece – it should also be one of the most stable and robust online shooters around. One can only guess at the sheer level of detail and vibrancy we’ll see in the single-player campaign; the maps included in the beta certainly give us hints and clues, and the spectacular gameplay is one huge indication of overall quality. If you’ve been lucky enough to score a spot in the beta, you’ll likely agree with what is said here; if you’re on the outside looking in….well, I hate to be smug, but you’re missing out. I’m not even a fan of multiplayer action and I found this to be highly entertaining.

Perhaps the weight alteration should be the first order of business. KZ2 had a very particular weight and feel that separated it from other titles in the genre. Now, some of that feel remains and it’s certainly weightier than a Call of Duty , for example, but Guerrilla has clearly tweaked the formula; your character is a bit more fleet of foot and while the animations and reactions are realistic, the heavy sensation has been lifted to some degree. I’m not sure if fans of KZ2 will be happy to hear this, but they shouldn’t be too surprised, as the developers have spoken about the control changes during interviews this year. Perhaps it was about bending to peer pressure or perhaps it’s just because the designers thought they’d make it better with less weight…or maybe it’s a combination of the two. Either way, though, while I do miss the distinct heaviness of KZ2, the weight isn’t completely gone and control is borderline sublime.

The beta offers you the chance to participate in all sorts of modes, including standard Guerrilla Warfare (basically Team Deathmatch) and a more specialized Operations mode where satisfying various objectives are the name of the game. Small cut-scenes accompany the latter, which gives it more of an adventure-driven theme, and you can always pick between five separate “Careers” before loading out. There’s Tactician, Engineer, Infiltrator, Field Medic, and Marksman, all of which have specific primary weapons and special abilities. The Engineer, for instance, can repair busted ammunition boxes. Your choice will likely depend on the map, too, as the smaller Frozen Dam area might prompt you to choose the Infiltrator and his devastating up-close shotgun. This is the kind of strategy multiplayer aficionados have come to expect in their online experiences, so it’s not really anything new, but it all works exceedingly well.

The controls and balance are just about right and it’s pretty tough to spot any glaring problems that need to be fixed. There’s one stairway in the Frozen Dam that sort of has a broken step; you have to jump over it even though it doesn’t look like there’s anything wrong with it. There are also a few minor hitches and glitches here and there but besides that…I’m not sure what else Guerilla has to do, besides dot a few “I”s and cross a few “T”s. Camping is sort of discouraged and the stealth kills and jetpacks are nice features that don’t feel tacked on or out of whack, although it can be immensely frustrating to be stuck on a map with a lot of sneakers, who wait in the shadows to slit your throat. I also think spinning on the X axis can be a touch flighty. But besides that, this is about what one would expect from Killzone 3 : a pretty damn amazing shooter with a ridiculous amount of potential. They’ve got almost four months to polish this up…? Just a few tweaks and some fine-tuning? Well, damn.

Subscribe
Notify of
70 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Neo_Aeon666
Neo_Aeon666
10 years ago

T-T I wish I were invited to the beta. Think I was a little too late in downloading the theme for ps3 plus users 🙁

Glad to see it is turning out very well. This will be my *serious* shooter purchase of 2011 with Duke Nukem beeing my *messy scatty funny* shooter 😀 Now if GT5 could land in my hands the world would be a better place.

LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
10 years ago

The 5000 cap was done in about 10 minutes i think, so yeah. LOL

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

It's gonna be one wild ride. I look forward to the PSXE review, and some other reviews that will no doubt bash it into the ground for not being a CoD title.

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
10 years ago

You look forward to bashing reviews? I look forward to constructive criticism.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Yes, as an avid reader I sometimes amuse myself with poor attempts to be "unique". A great dumping ground is destructoid. Kotaku also flirts with insanity sometimes as well as certain folks at IGN. I enjoy a good laugh.

When you already know you are going to buy the game, you don't really need to be searching for glowing reviews.

CONTRABAND
CONTRABAND
10 years ago

it always was a day1 for me, but after my time in the beta i will Pre-ordee the helghast edition!

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

Not a big deal they changed the feel of the controls. Killzone 2 was unique but was ultimately flawed when it came to close combat. I like how Bad Company 2 feels the best which is somewhere in between Call of Duty and Killzone 2. So if it's anything like that I'll be happy. Can't wait for this game. Funny, IGN said this beta is running better and smoother than most games on the market. hahaha. PS3 and it's 1st party developers FTW!

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

IGN is right. I've been in plenty of betas…this doesn't even feel like a beta. Feels like I'm playing the final game.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

Simply amazing.

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

Adjusting the controls not an issue. I hope you can at least feel a difference when changing artillery. I should not be able to run with a bazooka as fast a soldier with an machine gun.

Close combat looks interesting. Cant wait to snap some Helgan necks.

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
10 years ago

That's amazing news, and it's on the free to play PSN.

Qubex
Qubex
10 years ago

It simply has to be my most anticipated game… I cannot wait to pick up Killzone 3, a day 1 purchase for me 🙂

…I should add Uncharted 3 to that as well…

How many here will snap it up on the first day of release….

Q!

"play.experience.enjoy"


Last edited by Qubex on 11/1/2010 10:17:30 PM

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

You know I will! Can't wait.

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

Definite! Pre-Order!

HighOnFire
HighOnFire
10 years ago

Day one. This is my most wanted for next year.

sirbob6
sirbob6
10 years ago

I'll be there day one to bash in the skulls of the ISA scum.

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

My Beta code isnt working! Waiting on Sony CS. I wish to experience this Beta/On the market comparison myself!

I also did not receive an invitation to the PSRewards Beta. Not my month for Betas it seems. 🙁

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

See my comment below…


Last edited by FatherSun on 11/1/2010 10:47:00 PM

Shams
Shams
10 years ago

Demos, betas, sneak vids. I'm all set. I'll be saving all the surprises for my D1P, as i always do with Sony's 1st/2nd party exclusives. Will i get slaughtered on my first MP outing? For sure, and probably many more after that. Will i still enjoy the game? Damn straight.

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

I read somewhere that during the BETA that a largescale MAP-CHANGING event took place. Is this fact or fiction? I always wanted mutiplayer games to include this type of feature. Whereas the Developers just drop a bomb and change the map forever. Or a new common enemy emerges making the difficulty level jump. Imagine the possibilities.

Final attempt to make the request mentioned below. Just curious if this would work…

Ben, Is it possible to institute some sort of member voting system? You know, "You have been voted OFF the Island" type of thing. I ask this because everyday I see a comment or two that are simply there to derail the entire thread. This site is not alone of course but this is the only site I actually care to protect from just plain illogical behavior. I admit that the exchanges are quite entertaining but it seems that in general the membership prefers to remain on topic and if there is to be a debate it will be with true passion and honest opinion. As well as respect for those personal opinions. I know that it is a very sensitive topic looking at it from an administrative point of view but give it some consideration.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

You can email him.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

We might do that in the future; we'll have to see. But I must once again try to turn people to the forums for that intelligent discussion of which you speak. The more Commenters from the main site that go in there, the better it will be.

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

@jawknee. I was going to email but I also wanted some feedback from members too. Not sure if it is the best idea but some of the trolls need to be controlled somehow. Funny creatures they are. Maybe the condition is a cry for help?

Thanks Ben. I will try to participate in the forums more.


Last edited by FatherSun on 11/1/2010 11:21:35 PM

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

Ah, I see. Yes they are funny indeed.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Well, I don't really think we have a troll problem. In fact, I doubt any really exist right now.

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
10 years ago

Come to the forums. We joke around but you get a lot less fanboyism and "try hards" in there. Just make sure to keep your pants up.

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

Actually Ben you are right. PSX does not have a troll problem. When I wrote the comment I was surfing and saw some just plain outrageous stuff, Then when I came here first thing I saw was "cough PSX something or another cough cough" Stuff.. Then.. same person on another thread.. Downing the PS3 just for the sake of it. A killjoy attempt. Some people are just bitter I guess. Jawknee knew what to do with him. lol.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
10 years ago

That would be a very good idea for implementation. The ability for a quick community consensus to get rid of any post/posters that are trying to either derail the thread, or introduce an over-the-top amount of hostility would be a very good thing. The only problem I foresee with this is a group of people constantly trying to get rid of one other person in particular. Perhaps a member levelling system to potentially alleviate this?

And I'll get to the forums sooner or later. I promise.
Peace.

Killa Tequilla
Killa Tequilla
10 years ago

We are all in the " same island " here ya know?
Who made you better than the other?
Sometimes people just missread my comments posted. Anyway, please don't call me a troll. Just like Jawknee said, " Tell em to Go Awaaaaay! "

Superman915
Superman915
10 years ago

i need to practice my killzone mp. i never really played it much.

Temjin001
Temjin001
10 years ago

phew, writing a review for Castlevania takes a lot of time. THe game has so much to write about. I just submitted it.

As for Killzone 3, I really want to play this one. It keeps looking better and better and February won't come soon enough.

johnld
johnld
10 years ago

i'm still a bit pissed i didnt get into the killzone 3 beta even after getting plus. i figured since it was a first party game they'll allow more people.

funny thing is i got in a lot of betas before plus. now i've only been on Assassins creed brotherhood which was open to ALL psn plus subscribers, MAG 2.0 which was open to ALL MAG owners, and Medal of Honor which i got through ea/gun club thing.

___________
___________
10 years ago

be happy you got into the others, this is the first one ive been into.

PAKINIPS
PAKINIPS
10 years ago

I've never got into a beta 🙁

Clamedeus
Clamedeus
10 years ago

The only Beta i have ever been in was MAG but that was it.

hellish_devil
hellish_devil
10 years ago

I was in the Battlefield Bad Company 2 beta. It was really fun, but I don't do much multiplayer, just killzone 2 online and counter-strike LAN.


Last edited by hellish_devil on 11/2/2010 9:37:34 AM

johnld
johnld
10 years ago

all im saying is before plus, i pretty much got into any beta. after it, nothing.

Simcoe
Simcoe
10 years ago

I was in on the BF: Bad Company 2 beta, got the beta code from a friend who had at least two. Played that beta sooo much.

AcHiLLiA
AcHiLLiA
10 years ago

too many good games, so little time. Damn!


Last edited by AcHiLLiA on 11/2/2010 12:01:33 AM

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
10 years ago

3 words: Emphasis On Story

I love looking at images of this game. You can tell you'll be battling through some of the most atmospheric and engaging places ever in an FPS.

So immerse.

RX78Zero
RX78Zero
10 years ago

Man, i missied out on the 14th(i was away from home at the time). But i can wait four months i guess.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
10 years ago

Wow, sounds pretty. I waited for about four months before picking up the second one, but I think the third is going to be a D1P (or however close I can get to it). Now all I need is a broadband connection to partake in the online Helghast shooting fun. I hope the single player is a decent length though…
Peace.

___________
___________
10 years ago

its most certainly not ready for release!
the guns are so unbalanced, the shotgun is really weak and as i said yesterday since when can you snipe with a LMG or SMG?
theres allot of bugs, im constantly getting stuck in stairs, the bots in a couple of games were invincible stood still for 5 minutes straight shooting one and it did not die.
im constantly having sound issues too, every time i boot up the beta the sound wont work i have to reset to XMB and restart it a few times.
ive stopped playing it now, it has just become a chore not fun at all to play!
i fire a full magazine into a enemy his fine, he turns around and shoots me once and im dead.
since when does a single bullet do more damage than 30?
perfect example in a assassination match the target was right in front of me, i had a LMG so i zoomed in and fired a full mag into him.
did he die?
NOPE!
1 bullet kills me, but a full mag does not kill him!
wwwwwwwwwwttttttttttffffffffff???????????????

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

That must have been one hell of a report you submitted to Guerilla.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
10 years ago

Doubt he did. He's good at ranting, just not so good when writing something that is halfway lucid and legible. 😀
Peace.

___________
___________
10 years ago

wtf?
ive submitted plenty forms to GG thank you very much!

Cavan1
Cavan1
10 years ago

your most likely not very good, then again, your probs just moaning for the sake of moaning as always, i really wish you'd stop coming to this site, your never have anything positive to say, always moan moan moan, and how you think you know better.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Here-

I mentioned one spot where you got stuck on a stair. It's one spot. One. Nobody has any idea what you're talking about.

The shotgun isn't weak. …you just suck with it.

The bots aren't invincible. …you just suck at killing them.

I've used the LMG a ton…people die…you just suck using it.

In short- you suck. I'm sorry, but sometimes your rants are just unbelievably stupid and I'm getting sick of reading them. You can't seem to be able to express opinion without yelling at everyone about how you're always right. This is going to stop.


Last edited by Ben Dutka PSXE on 11/2/2010 9:56:53 AM

spiderboi
spiderboi
10 years ago

______________, please be more objective with your posts, so that people here will give you a better ear.

Can you give details on what glitches you encountered? was it point-blank shotgun shot that didn't work?

And yeah, best to also note your overall K/D ratio to support your claims on the 30 bullets vs 1 bullet; and your hit% statistics would help your argument.

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
10 years ago

Ben, it's time to enforce proper punctuation. It's really not that hard to write sentences with capital letters where they belong.