Scheduled release date:
TBA 2011
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
Team ICO
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
Adventure
Release Date:
TBA 2011


For PlayStation 3 owners, The Last Guardian is just one of those games. It’s a PS3 exclusive that should be an excellent addition to any library, and with Team ICO and respected designer Fumito Ueda behind the scenes, we’re expecting nothing less than an original, memorable experience. Ueda has often described the game and his artistic sensibilities usually shine through. For instance, various levels of distinct emotion will be found in this touching adventure, and that massive creature (named Torico) will be about as realistic as a fantasy creation can be. Fantasy is going to be a major theme in The Last Guardian ; fantasy is something we feel transported by, it’s something almost intangible that puts us in touch with something deeper and more human. We felt this keenly in ICO and – perhaps to a lesser extent – in Shadow of the Colossus . In short, it’s about the entire experience.

Ueda has said he wants to “evoke feeling in a greater range of people,” which is part of the reason behind selecting an animal as one of the main characters. The team will also implement physiological features to launch the fantastical sensation of immersion into the stratosphere. You’ll not only command Torico, you’ll also be able to feed him and, for the most part, take care of him. The key is that the entire process is dynamic; i.e., you might not realize that what you’re feeding him he can’t eat, or that when trouble rears its ugly head, something unexpected may keep your protector from helping. It’s all about surveying the situation and your surroundings, and forging a bizarre sort of relationship between small boy and mammoth, mythical creature. Ueda wants people to realize that you can’t control everything; that we must leave some elements and facets up to natural uncertainty. This will also act as the root cause of any tension or urgency.

As for combat, it ought to be an interesting mix. The boy can’t physically take on the enemies; in this case, fully armored knights. He can run away from them and possibly lead them to their demise, but the boy can’t directly engage them and survive, which makes perfect sense. We’ve heard there will be some sort of paper-rock-scissors mechanic in place for the guards, Torico, and the boy…we’re not entirely sure how it’ll work just yet, but bear in mind that the devs haven’t yet nailed down all the control schemes. The bottom line is that if you wish to defeat the bad knights – who may be possessed by something – Torico will have to do the dirty work. Obviously, the big creature is capable of a great many things; it’s only a matter of issuing the right commands at the right time. Perhaps strangely, a lot of what we hear almost reminds us of the old Deception games on the original PlayStation, where you had to create elaborate traps for your pursuers…

The game’s environment and set designs will also be big highlights. According to a recent write-up in Famitsu, we should get some of the most meticulously designed set pieces seen to date. Even the tiniest elements, like moths and individual stones, have been carefully drawn. For past games, Ueda said a single artist would make an entire stage but with the added power of the PS3 and the option for much bigger spaces, quite a few artists and designers tackle individual elements. In fact, they say we’ll see exquisite detail everywhere, even in the places you can’t go. Ueda even hinted at one currently unseen stage where the scope and scale is so huge, people will be surprised the team was able to implement that much intricate detail. If you’re not intrigued by now, you haven’t an artistic bone in your body. The Last Guardian now has a vague release window of late 2011, which could translate to next year’s holiday season.

Subscribe
Notify of
42 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
TheCrazyMerc
TheCrazyMerc
10 years ago

This game is gonna beast, im sold. Anyone else?

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Sounds like nothing but greatness. Kinda nails home Kojima's comments about art and tech. But we keep hearing that a lot hasn't been figured out yet, so I doubt this will release before 2012. Did you know the boy was gonna be a girl at first?

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

Maybe they will give players a choice between a boy and a girl. It would be very inviting to the to the growing female demographic.

Teddie9
Teddie9
10 years ago

I don't know if you already did World, but his reasons were a tad ridiculous(why not to have a girl). However Ueda is nonetheless an amazing developer.

Kiryu
Kiryu
10 years ago

Let it release at a good time and get great sales.It greatly deserves a lot of sales.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

I don't need previews, reviews, news, etc… This game will be in my possession the day it's released.

Kiryu
Kiryu
10 years ago

Absolutely!

gumbi
gumbi
10 years ago

Ditto. This one's a no brainer.

FxTales
FxTales
10 years ago

It's got my attention.

spiderboi
spiderboi
10 years ago

I'll have to play the first two first before I get this. Similar to GoW, I was too engrossed in other PS2 RPGs to play this (so sue me!)

Kiryu
Kiryu
10 years ago

sue u!

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

This is going to be a good one. Definitely grabbing his collection too.

Shams
Shams
10 years ago

While you're waiting for the collection, i suggest keeping an out for a good deal on C:LoS. Besides the ice-beast, the Colossi battles are ingeniously done, and Kojima's touch is quite obvious in the ending. Just beat it tonight, and it was quite a mind-blowing experience.

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

Nice to hear. Castlevania deserves a good game like that.

fstop
fstop
10 years ago

I was sold on this game when Ico came out, which mean before it was even created I knew I'd buy it. Which also means anything with Fumito Ueda attached to it is a selling point for me. This also means my $70, $80 or what-the-hell ever Sony wants to price this game has been sold. I can see my future and it is grand.

FatherSun
FatherSun
10 years ago

I've already pre-ordered, and pre-order isn't even available yet!

Robochic
Robochic
10 years ago

SOLD! can't wait for this game.

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

Another one sold too.

Damn, that trailer was so good, I wanted to jump right in & pull those spears out of Chickenfoot's back!!!

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Whose goin chicken huntin? We's goin chicken huntin!

Hezzron
Hezzron
10 years ago

Definitely a beacon of light on an all too dark Japanese gaming landscape.

Was that too artsy-fartsy?

sawao_yamanaka
sawao_yamanaka
10 years ago

I wonder how the creature will die. Ueda said that he will. Maybe like shadow of the colossus? Self sacrifice.

frylock25
frylock25
10 years ago

the way its been lately i dont see this one showing up next year. i call it for 2012. maybe early 2012. either way when it shows up i will be getting it. everything about this has looked very wonderful. i like when developers think outside the box.

___________
___________
10 years ago

just hope they release the collection a good time before this.
really looking forward to play all 3, nice to be able to sit down and get a unique experience, something i have not sat through 1000000000 times before.

Bjorn77
Bjorn77
10 years ago

This hame will be awesome and if it will have some Deception influences the game will even more awesome.

I loved Deception on the PS1. Trapping the whole mansion and then watch your enemy's get punished.

AshT
AshT
10 years ago

Whoa… im so looking forward to this game, wish it cud come out any sooner

Lotusflow3r
Lotusflow3r
10 years ago

In my estimation, it's going to be the 2nd best of this generation down from LBP2.

Nothing will prepare us for this game.

P.S and off topic: Why hasn't Sonic The Hedgehog 4 gotten any news lately? You do know it's been 16 years right? And it's absolutely effing BRILLIANT!

8s and 9s from press.


Last edited by Lotusflow3r on 10/15/2010 8:08:59 AM

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
10 years ago

From what I understand, Sonic was $20 and only about an hour long. The episodic format means that you'll end up paying $80 for a 4 hour HD Genesis game.

No matter how good the game is, that's way over priced IMO. It's shamelessly price gouging the fans.

___________
___________
10 years ago

its not a hour long, i spent over a hour playing it today and im not even a 1/4 of the way through it.
its a really good game, back to the series old roots.
what the fans have been begging for decades!
finally, SEGA has FINALLY released a good game this gen!
only took them 4 blooming years!!!!!!!

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
10 years ago

Sorry ____,

That's just what I heard. Glad to hear that's not the case. I thought that didn't sound right 🙂

Lotusflow3r
Lotusflow3r
10 years ago

Yeah, i have spent a mass amount of time on it just today! Just got all 7 Chaos emeralds and now going through it with Golden Sonic to get that trophy!

___________
___________
10 years ago

no problems, no need to apologize.
anyone whos a fan on the old sonics should definitely download this, im having allot of fun with it.

gumbi
gumbi
10 years ago

This is easily my most anticipated game ever for the PS3. I can't wait!

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
10 years ago

This is my most anticipated of 2011 easily.

SvenMD
SvenMD
10 years ago

Glad we're getting more details about this game.

But like everyone said, it doesn't matter what the reviews say, I'll pick it up and try it for myself on day 1.

DeathOfChaos
DeathOfChaos
10 years ago

I wonder how it's going to be linked to Ico and Shadow of the Colossus, if it is of course. I love artistic games and this one seems to be the most artistic games ever created 🙂

daus26
daus26
10 years ago

I always appreciate developers going into detail that the majority will probably not notice. It shows they had great passion on making the game, unlike some other developers in the Japanese market.

slimey
slimey
10 years ago

This is my joint most anticipated game for PS3.
The other one is The Another World

BigBoss4ever
BigBoss4ever
10 years ago

The most artistic game of this gen, sitting firmly on the top of my most wanted PS3 game list.


Last edited by BigBoss4ever on 10/15/2010 4:55:18 PM

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

I'll make bet that in 3-4 years time from when TLG finally releases, that team Ico will wind up making the whole TriIco trilogy all together on 1 BR disc.

Pyramid
Pyramid
10 years ago

Why preview a game is more than a year to be released? It is like a magazine GameStop offers u where they put in the cover/Special Feature a game 2 years before come out. A good example:Borderland was totally different when finished. Dont get mad but this is a way to punish us, the loooooong wait.

ChloeAngelCat
ChloeAngelCat
10 years ago

WOW amazing trailer of the last guardian
now if its truth that the chicken like creatures dies then it probably most of the fans will cry?

bingshi
bingshi
10 years ago

welcome to our website:
===W W W – Lttsy – c o m===
Dedicated service, the new style, so you feel like a warm autumn!!!
50%off ca,ed hardy t-shirt$15 jeans,coach handbag$33,air max90,dunk,polo t-shirt$13,,lacoste t-shirt $13 air jordan for sale,l nba jersy for sale sale,$35,nfl nba jersy for sale
and so on..
if you like to order anything you like.
More details,
please just browse our website Quality is our Dignity;
Service is our Lift.
enjoy yourself.
thank you!!
===W W W ( Lttsy ) c o m===