Scheduled release date:
October 12, 2010
Publisher:
EA
Developer:
EA Los Angeles/DICE
Number Of Players:
1-24
Genre:
FPS


The last time I played a great Medal of Honor was back in 2001 when Frontline wowed many a PS2 gamer. Since then, I’ve been waiting for the franchise to reclaim some – or ideally, all – of its former glory, and based on what I’ve seen thus far in the beta test, there’s a chance it could happen. Of course, I can’t test the single-player aspect but I have confidence EALA can deliver a solid and satisfying campaign, and the footage I’ve seen thus far has been most impressive. Besides, with two teams dedicated to the single-player and multiplayer modes respectively, there’s a much better chance that Medal of Honor will represent the full entertainment package. And I can always judge the controls and visuals without having to get involved in the main campaign; the beta may be a little rough, but if this is “rough,” that’s a good sign for the final product. EA has plenty of time to iron out some obvious kinks.

Firstly, you may have heard about some lagging and hitching in this beta and although my experience has been mostly positive, I have noticed such issues. The most common is a definite lag after you die; there was frequently a pause of a few seconds before you actually kicked the bucket, despite the fact that respawning was prompt. I also got booted a few times and there were a few instances of players with super powers…due, of course, to the lag. This being said, it’s hardly unplayable and I’d like to assume that EA will be working on the entire online presentation and process between now and October. When the game does operate correctly, you can really start to see the immense amount of potential and there’s a fluid seamlessness to the gameplay that reminds me of a cross between Call of Duty and another highly refined military shooter like Ghost Recon or Rainbow Six (yes, I know the latter two are third-person shooters).

But maybe the latter feel comes more from the authenticity than the visual display and basic control. Much like MAG , you really won’t survive many shots, and well-placed bullets from snipers are almost always instant kills. This lends the experience a pervading sense of urgency and general tension; open areas are about as deadly as they can be, so running and gunning is ill-advised unless you’ve got several team members by your side…which leads me to the other aspect: when playing as a part of a team, you invariably feel safer when packed in with your teammates. This reinforces the cooperative aspect of the game; I’ve played many shooters where even team-based matches feel like regular deathmatches due to the all-for-one atmosphere. It’s clear that Medal of Honor will require patience, skill, and a dedication to your comrades in arms. Depending on your online FPS experience, it may take some time to adapt to the speed and style of MoH, but it’s worth the effort.

The maps are pretty cool; they offer multiple spots for snipers, ambushes, and the erection of impromptu team fortresses, and the weapons are fairly distinct and effective. Now, it might just be because I’m still trying to get the colors exactly right on my new TV, but the graphics do appear to be a touch bland and washed-out. There just seems to be a preponderance of light tans, greens and browns; there’s a definite lack of any vibrant colors or hues. This sort of turned me off at first, but maybe that’s because I’m used to other games that really put an emphasis on bright colors. Besides, the palette fits the style and the more I played, the more I came to terms with the speed and flow. Despite the occasional lagging, Medal of Honor is loaded with potential and if you have the option to dive into the beta, you should definitely give it a try.

Subscribe
Notify of
45 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

Looking good so far, here's hoping that the SP mode will be great…..and looooong too!!!!!

Sol
Sol
10 years ago

I think the beta is fun. Too bad I can only personally be a sniper so I can't fully appreciate the complexities the beta has to offer.

johnld
johnld
10 years ago

damn, i can barely snipe in that team deathmatch level. theres always a building in the way. cant really find a good spot to snipe since enemies are everywhere too.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
10 years ago

Yep sounds like it's what I wanted from Medal of Honor! I'm personally a huge fan of the series and the only one in the series I really disliked was Rising Sun. Otherwise I've been happy with them all.

I really hope it doesnt feel like BFBC:2, and since there was no mention of that and more so towards COD or Ghost Recon, thats a good sign. Not that the game is bad and COD is better just that I didnt want a clone to a game that just released, ya know?

Anyways wish I was playing I didnt realise to get the beta all I had to do was preorder! Cant wait!

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

Here's a video of in-game Multi-player beta play, although I can't say much for the 2 guys playing & commenting on it.

http://www.giantbomb.com/quick-look-medal-of-honor-beta/17-2835/

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Killzone 3. 'nuff said.

johnld
johnld
10 years ago

its a good way to pass time till killzone 3. sure as hell better than mw2 and probably black ops.

___________
___________
10 years ago

spec ops the line will be 10 times better than KZ3, black ops and MOH put together!
thats a promise!

johnld
johnld
10 years ago

@______
given that i have a pretty good idea on what your taste in games are. i'm pretty glad i made the correct decision in backing medal of honor.

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
10 years ago

From what I have read, this game is coming with MOH Frontlines remastered for the PS3. So even if I do not get into the multiplayer end of things, the singleplayer experiences on this title are more then worth $60.00.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

Yea, it's awesome to get more then what we paid for. Nice offer by EA. I wish other developers were more Sony friendly like this.

::points finger at Square::

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
10 years ago

Buddy, you should point the fingers at a bunch more!!

Ubisoft, Activision, Bethesda… I am looking at you!

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

Beta is pretty fun. Though i have to agree, i'm not too impressed with the graphics. DICE needs to update their frost bite engine. Fix the screen tearing too DICE.

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
10 years ago

Well I just see another BFBC 2 Clone, which IMO is bad set of twins. Honestly BFBC was probably the worst game I've played in recent history. The multiplayer was clunky, uneven, and impossible to just…jump into. I completed 3 levels of the SP and got bored. I then proceeded to the MP where I didn't find my experience to be any better.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

I didn't like the first one either but if you haven't played the second one, at least try it. I like it much better.

johnld
johnld
10 years ago

i've only played the second bad company online and it was great. but the single player was pretty funny so i enjoyed playing bad company 1 and 2. the only thing about bad company 2 multiplayer i didnt like is more about some people playing it. when the objective moves after you destroyed them, some of the enemy snipers actually hang back behind where my team respawns and snipes from on top a mountain. i mean impressive that he can snipe from that far but it gets annoying so i ran all the way back killed him, teabagged his ass, and camped there. sure enough the guy kept coming back until the game ended.

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
10 years ago

I was talking about the second one Jawknee I've played both. When I said BFBC in this sentence here: "Honestly BFBC was probably the worst game I've played in recent history" I was referring to BFBC 2.

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
10 years ago

worse game in recent history? you must not play games often, plenty of games out in the fps genre much worse

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
10 years ago

I have yet to find one worse than that. Granted I dont play a lot of FPS s like at all. I'l play Killzone and Resistance. IMO the game was terrible. And I play plenty of games my friend, I've been gaming since I was 3. I simply don't like the game. Oh and another thing dont twist my words around. I Said "Worst Game I've played in recent history" The game that I HAVE played, not you or anyone else, the worst game I have played in recent history.


Last edited by JMO_INDY on 6/29/2010 9:32:53 PM

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
10 years ago

no offense but it sounds like you kinda sucked at the game, to each his own though, but i stand by what i said, worse game you've played in recent history could definitely mean you don't play too many games.

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
10 years ago

I am picky about what games I play but I do play a wide variety by any standards. I happen to be quite good at FPSs for some odd reason, I don't particularly like them the most but I have fast reactions. I choose games that look good, but this one flopped on me and I never looked back, the game was terrible end of story.

Naztycuts
Naztycuts
10 years ago

I'll take the MoH over BFBC, MoH has a history of EPIC Single Player introductions anyone recall storming the beach of Normandy on PS2? I'm in the Beta from a preorder and all I can say is I'll be buying MoH and Black Ops, after Black Ops the CoD franchise will go to crap as it will really be run in to the ground, I'm sure the popular opinion is it already has been around here though. The MoH is like Battlefield without vehicles (to my knowledge) on CoD 4 sized maps (which are perfect sized IMO) and they've incorporated killstreaks which make any FPS instantly more fun I think so anyway.

*Edit- graphically MoH looks worse than MAG but it's still fun so I dont care


Last edited by Naztycuts on 6/29/2010 1:25:39 AM

johnld
johnld
10 years ago

cod is already circling the drain. it took me 2 days of play to notice that i was getting killstreak rewards. hahaha. i would hear the sound and a flash on the screen but i just kept playing.

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

@ Ben

How is the scoring handled for each round? One aspect of MP I hate on all these shooters is that even tho you're on a team, its all about who can get the highest score for themselves and there is no need for teamwork.

On some games your teammates will even kill you to steal a kill, because with the right kill you can still get more points than you'd lose in killing your teammate and thats just dumb.

johnld
johnld
10 years ago

you'll need teamwork in this game because its actually safer to roll with a squad than by yourself. from what i see round ends with total points and kills for the whole team. the points you get for the round are basically for unlocking stuff.

johnld
johnld
10 years ago

what i dont get with medal of honor team deathmatch is how they pick the winner. i know my team had the most kills and points on a lot of rounds but it still told me that my team lost.

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

oh its one of those games that makes sense in that it doesn't make any sense, oh goody.

Godslim
Godslim
10 years ago

i had that aswell it told us we lost 🙁

Naztycuts
Naztycuts
10 years ago

must be a Beta problem guys

___________
___________
10 years ago

ive always been a big fan of MoH BUT how many war games can we play?
honestly!

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

You said something I agreed with!

Godslim
Godslim
10 years ago

been playing the beta and apart from the problems like freezin it is a great game….although it does look like it needs more polishing

gameplay is brilliant tho nice and fast …..feels like a faster bad company


Last edited by Godslim on 6/29/2010 5:59:49 AM

TheOldOne
TheOldOne
10 years ago

I'll give it a try if a demo comes up before the game release (since I don't like betas).

JackC8
JackC8
10 years ago

I played the single player portion of Medal of Honor Frontline on the PS2. It was one of the most boring and repetitive shooters I've ever come across. And Gamespot rates it the best PS2 shooter of all time.

Maybe if they come out with a single player demo for this game, I might get around to tying it eventually. Or not.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

…the hell is wrong with you?

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
10 years ago

Indeed Ben… indeed.

dkmrules
dkmrules
10 years ago

@JackC8

http://captionsearch.com/pix/pijobf4e8h.jpg


Last edited by dkmrules on 6/29/2010 3:14:13 PM

Godslim
Godslim
10 years ago

frontline was brilliant in its day

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
10 years ago

@dkmrules…..that pic is epic LMAO

spiderboi
spiderboi
10 years ago

I may have to wait on this. I checked the Beta vids on youtube, and it pretty much looks like BFBC2 with CoD speed. I'll check with PSXe's general consensus on which of Black Ops or MoH you guys fancy and I'll get that 🙂

KZ3 w/o a question, I'll getcha!

CharlesD
CharlesD
10 years ago

It's on the wait and see list. I am fairly confident it will turn out to be as good as everybody is expecting but I generally like to wait and look at the review first.

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
10 years ago

Its not the worse fps game ive played but it has a been there done that feel to it. MW2 feels like a CoD game, BFBC2 feels like a battlefield game, MoH feels like it wants to draw in people from both sides but it doesn't sit well with me. Yeah, i know its a beta but it doesn't change the way i feel about it right now. Perhaps it will improve who knows.

The release timing is gonna be harsh on it though, Halo Reach, Black ops hitting somewhere near the same time frame won't do it any favors, perhaps if it turns out stellar and grabs some great reviews it might drive sells for it

RobiinzZ
RobiinzZ
10 years ago

I cant wait to play this, i loved the medal of honors on ps2. Never been a fan of call of duty, so hopefully this will get me into war games again.

snypa_69
snypa_69
10 years ago

No point getting MoH at all. Its all about Black ops!! There is just nothing that compares to the Call of Duty games. MoH beta was ok i suppose, but it is distinctly lacking in character. I started playing MoH:AA on pc back in the day and that rocked. But they went down hill when the programmers left and made CoD. Altho i think Black ops may be my last CoD. <tear rolls down eye>.
This is because i think my allegiance will change when Respawn release their first game!!
Anyway CoD:Black ops FTW!!!

Snypa 🙂

Markus_him19
Markus_him19
10 years ago

its Beta Sucked and so will the game, CoD will kick MoH's ass.