Scheduled release date:
TBA 2011
Publisher:
SCE
Developer:
Sucker Punch
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
Action


inFamous was a blast. It just was. I freely admitted to being wrong about my early skepticism, as I found myself engrossed in the surprisingly addictive cross between Grand Theft Auto and a superhero action title that exuded attitude and flash; the sensation of power and capability was most appreciated. This is why inFamous 2 remains near the top of my most anticipated list for 2011…despite my fresh reservations, this time concerning the look and style of the new Cole. I’ll get to that in a minute but for now, we should examine our new environment, Sucker Punch’s inclusion of various elements in a nod to Naughty Dog’s Uncharted series, and the return of the crowd-pleasing aspects that made inFamous such a well-loved adventure.

At the start of the sequel, Cole is still living in Empire City but The Beast, that massive monster hell-bent on destroying society, pops up and decides to kick the snot out of Cole. Fans will remember that Kessler predicted the arrival of this foe so it probably shouldn’t come as any surprise, but Cole feels beaten and dejected by his humiliating defeat and resolves to become stronger. Therefore, he heads to New Marais, our new playground for inFamous 2 . It’ll remind you of New Orleans and it’s where the First Sons constructed the Ray Sphere, which, if you recall, is the same device that granted Cole his awesome electrical capability. New Marais is a good place to beef up because the entire city is overrun by a new breed of foe; they’ve got mutated arms, grayish skin, and mouths that split in the middle (sort of like those creatures in “Blade II”), and these things pose a formidable challenge to the weakened Cole.

As mentioned, the city boasts a very different look from the standard industrial-like feel of Empire City. You’ll see huge swamp trees lingering on the horizon, for instance, and the overall destructability of the environment has been amped up something fierce: you won’t just shatter the windows of vehicles lining the streets; you’ll pick them up with certain skills and toss them about. Unleashing your growing power on a vulnerable part of particular structures and buildings will cause them to come crashing to the ground and throughout it all, there are legions of freaked-out citizens. In other words, we should be looking at a much more visceral and convincing experience thanks to increased immersion and authenticity, which is awfully appealing to think about. Furthermore, as we’ve heard before, the developers have taken a few hints from Naughty Dog and really worked to polish up the visual presentation. This is why in addition to the standard comic-book like cut-scenes, we’ll also have separate in-game CGI scenes for inFamous 2 that are shaping up nicely.

As for the gameplay, details are a little thin but it seems clear that Sucker Punch isn’t about to annoy inFamous fans by fiddling with a tried-and-true formula. Many of the same powers will return, as will Cole’s speed and nimbleness but on top of that, he’ll have a two-pronged cattle prod that can be used for insane melee attacks. His new “Ultra Moves” prominently feature the tool; simply by pressing Triangle, Cole can unleash a particularly up-close-and-personal assault with the help of his cattle prod. But to add even more flavor and spice to the presentation, the team has increased Cole’s other basic abilities as well. He can glide further (and faster), he can create huge vortexes infused with electricity that suck up anything unfortunate enough to get in its way, and he can even zip along sheer walls by attaching himself to pipes with a cord of electricity. So yeah, bigger and better in just about every possible way…again, with the subjective exception of Cole’s new look.

Sucker Punch has explained Cole’s new appearance and while I understand it, I can’t agree with it. Their description of combining an extreme sports icon with a superhero really doesn’t sit well with me. But provided the gameplay and story is there, I’m sure I’ll get over it, and I have complete faith that we’ll get another completely satisfying product. Other pieces of information we have include the fact that the morality system – choosing between good and bad actions will result in different powers – will be back, but we’re not sure if it will operate in the same fashion. Then there are the new ice-based skills we’ve seen several times in new footage but Sucker Punch hasn’t gone into explicit detail concerning these new additions to Cole’s repertoire. They don’t really need to, though; we know they’ll be there, and they look awesome. Oh, and you may remember those blast shards; the 100% seekers needed to find every last one, and the last few proved intensely annoying to find. Well, these might come back, too.

inFamous 2 is set to release some time next year. The sooner we get a solidified release date, the happier we’ll be.

Subscribe
Notify of
102 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
mike rlz
mike rlz
10 years ago

some sh*t never changes…. other than my face.

Zeppo
Zeppo
10 years ago

I was almost thinking it was his son or something, too drastic a change to be the same character i figured

frylock25
frylock25
10 years ago

is this like when women say they have to go put on their face? did cole just not put on his face in the last game? cuz he looks like a prissy b!t(h. subjectivly.

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
10 years ago

i hope for that sucker punch keeps the model as prissy as possible, just to smite those who hate the new look lol.


Last edited by aaronisbla on 6/22/2010 4:23:56 AM

GuernicaReborn
GuernicaReborn
10 years ago

Aww man Ben you had to bring up those blast shards… I'll forever be 347/350

natho86
natho86
10 years ago

lol im 346

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
10 years ago

lol…

Nerull
Nerull
10 years ago

I feel your pain, 349/350.

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
10 years ago

i got them all a few weeks ago, found 2 of them on the historic side of the destroyed bridge

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
10 years ago

350/350! 😀 Had to comb the entire map 3 times to get the last one.

/brag

Gamer Girl Gemo
Gamer Girl Gemo
10 years ago

@Nerull

As do I… 349/350 as well… WHY?!

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

count me into the 349/350 crowd, I think I broke it, I have combed every island about 30 times and no luck.

RadioHeader
RadioHeader
10 years ago

@ the 349 guys:

I'm assuming you've heard about the one on the really tall building? …it doesn't show on your radar until you've climbed a good way up it.

If that's not the one, then all I can reluctantly say is…. lol?

Gamer Girl Gemo
Gamer Girl Gemo
10 years ago

I've tried combing the city all the way through many, many times but I always somehow end up going in circles… (Sigh)
I still need to do all stunts before I get my platinum anyway… So, screw it lol.

hadouken
hadouken
10 years ago

I agree, I hate Cole's Nathan Drake look. He was very cool the way he was.

Karosso
Karosso
10 years ago

Yep, he looks like a gay version of Drake , not that there is anything wrong with that 🙂

Tim Speed24
Tim Speed24
10 years ago

No …of course not.

frostface
frostface
10 years ago

I know it's just a small thing and we need to look at the whole scope of this game, but I just can't get my past the new Cole appearance. Nathan Drake was awesome as an explorer type hero but this new Nathan'd out Cole doesn't resemble a character I want to play as a super hero. It might seem silly but I may give this game a miss based on this one minor change from the original.
I'm gonna hang back for the reviews when the game releases, based on the trailer, I'm not feeling the love for this one.


Last edited by frostface on 6/21/2010 10:05:52 PM

Gamer Girl Gemo
Gamer Girl Gemo
10 years ago

I believe what they were going for was a… What was it? Oh yeah, Tony Hawk/Travis Pastrana/Chris Sharma look. God, help us all…

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

NOOOOOO, not another chance for us to bash this new Cole. He sucks, I hate him. You can't just cut ten years off Cole and steal Nathan Drake. I would be willing to wait till 2012 for this game if they would change him back.

frostface
frostface
10 years ago

I have to agree with you. It'd be worth waiting the extra time to have the right Cole back in the game. Even his voice sounds lame in this sequel.

sawao_yamanaka
sawao_yamanaka
10 years ago

Just a minor change. Doesn't really detract me from getting the game. Definitely day one purchase when it comes out for me.

frylock25
frylock25
10 years ago

its like when a movie doesnt do as well as they hoped so they dump the actor and try for a new style. maybe they keep a person or 2 from the last movie, maybe they dont ditch the first movie completly and build on it. eh i would have prefered keeping old cole.

hey i know!! have it an option to change the skin back to the old cole!! i mean from the start of the game no unlocking or anything just right away choose old cole or new cole. that way it doesnt piss off those of us that liked pre-douche cole.

@ Ben and Arnold: can we do a poll of how many people would be influenced by a skin choice like that? just sayin then we could send the results to ND 😉


Last edited by frylock25 on 6/21/2010 10:15:38 PM

frostface
frostface
10 years ago

Don't you mean send the results to Sucker Punch? Not Naughty Dog (ND)!

frylock25
frylock25
10 years ago

ha ha yea that is totally my bad but yes that is what i meant. i think it was the talking about Uncharted and Nathan Drake that got me thinkin ND. make that read Sucker Punch and thats what i meant lol


Last edited by frylock25 on 6/21/2010 10:38:20 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Send it to ND too so they can tell SP to not rip off Nathan Drake. Oh I just noticed Drakes initials are the same as Naughty Dog.

frylock25
frylock25
10 years ago

hey that is a good point world they are friends arent they? they will tell them "listen to the fans" ha ha

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Precisely my good man.

sawao_yamanaka
sawao_yamanaka
10 years ago

I remember when it came out quite a few people disliked how he looked and his voice. He sounds too much like batman! Why does he look like that?!? Blah blah blah. The 1st thing I said watch they're gonna change him and people are gonna complain about it. They are now. I know they had a website about. Sucks for them. I'm still gonna get it. I like sucker punch I don't doubt them at all.

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
10 years ago

true, i remember that being a huge complaint for some, he voice was too plain and gritty, sounded like a wanna be solid snake/batman, looks kinda plain, all of those are fresh in my memory. Looks like Sucker Punch listened, as i doubt they imagined all of that criticism

sawao_yamanaka
sawao_yamanaka
10 years ago

Glad I'm not the only one that remembers that.

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

Knowing SP they'll probably work the appearance change into the script. The FBI is looking for Cole and Zeke knows a plastic surgeon or some such.

I for one fully underestimated how awesome inFamous was going to be and nearly missed out on it. I'm not about to back away from the next one. SP has my full attention.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

I might be able to accept it if they used the time travel aspect of the original and that is Cole at 20yrs old.

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

So when the hell did Cole find the Fountain of Youth in game 1, cause I sure don't remember it?

So now they've really gone and Sucker-Punched us with a new Cole Slaw face & Cabbage Patch Kid voice.

I sure hope his hair gel is non-conductive or he's gonna be one hell of a nuclear crispy critter before he even leaves home.

(but regardless of Cole's face rape, I'll still get the game, cause it's just too good a game)


Last edited by BikerSaint on 6/21/2010 10:40:53 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

You wouldn't take away Mr. T's mohawk, you wouldn't flatten Chloe's ass, you wouldn't chop off Cloud's spikes, you wouldn't strip the white paint off Kratos, you wouldn't take the bounce of DOA, you wouldn't make King Kong a pee-wee. And you shouldn't douchify Cole.

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

Well maybe Mr T's mowhawk … nah, you're right.

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

You wouldn't go making Pee-Wee Herman, macho!

Gamer Girl Gemo
Gamer Girl Gemo
10 years ago

And lastly, you wouldn't make Sora manly!

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
10 years ago

Pee Wee Herman IS macho!

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
10 years ago

Good game play is good game play.

Sure Cole looks and sounds younger, but that's not going to change the awesome powers and exploring the open city. If anything, I wouldn't be surprised if the sequel ends up being better.

I'm really looking forward to this.

Hezzron
Hezzron
10 years ago

Is he REALLY that different? Maybe he just got some ink done, grew out his hair, and changed his pants. As far as the voice change, maybe he quit smoking and drinking whiskey.

You have to remember, it could be worse. He could be George Clooney with Bat-nipples.

cLoudou
cLoudou
10 years ago

Just get the game. Before you know it, you'll forget the fact that he looks like a douche.

Kr3sn1k
Kr3sn1k
10 years ago

They gave cole a weapon….

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Let's call it a Tuning Fork shall we? "Cattle prod"… I don't like.

I did like when Sherlock Holmes used it to zap that big guy.

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
10 years ago

cattle prods are longer last i checked, tuning fork is what i thought it was to begin with

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
10 years ago

He performed plastic surgery on himself…
He's got superpowers after all…

The game does look graphically better, the colors are so much more engaging as well.

I liked the grimy/sorrowful look of Infamous1, but I think this new look shows progression. Crap I'm repeating myself again *cough*

SayWord
SayWord
10 years ago

Change cole back! But one thing I hope they don't change either is the dark atmosphere of the first one!

BeezleDrop
BeezleDrop
10 years ago

I was hoping everyone here wouldn't cry about his new look, it will take time but like me, everyone will come around to it! But really, what is it with games happening around or in The Big Easy?

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

I'm sure I'll like the game, but never that look.

aaronisbla
aaronisbla
10 years ago

Waaaay too many crybabies about this issue, i can see it won't stop, even after the game comes out