Scheduled release date:
November 9, 2010
Publisher:
Activision
Developer:
Treyarch
Number Of Players:
1-16
Genre:
FPS
Release Date:
November 10, 2010


We’ve known about if for long enough. We’ve heard about all sorts of cool additions and Hollywood-type enhancements. So we really shouldn’t wait any longer; here’s an in-depth look at Treyarch’s Call of Duty: Black Ops , complete with all the footage and media available at this time. The screenshots are certainly tasty and the interview vids are pretty informative, but beyond all that is the gameplay info that ought to turn a few heads. Perhaps the eras on display in this hotly anticipated shooter adventure will prove to be most intriguing: Treyarch won’t divulge exact details on this subject, but it appears as if many of the battles will revolve around the Vietnam and Cold War conflicts. Obviously, this may require something in the way of time travel (which would be admittedly bizarre) but either way, we really like the idea of a continually changing environment. This adds great diversity and variety to the atmosphere, and also means we’ll get to experiment with different weapons and gadgets.

Now, you may have noticed the inclusion of a flying vehicle in that eventful debut trailer; that’s the SR-71 Blackbird and if you’re wondering, yes, you will gain full control of it. Furthermore, you’ll actually have to take off from an aircraft carrier and successfully navigate a flight mission. This sounds more flight-sim-like than it actually is, though, as we’ve learned from IGN's eyes-on session that launching the SR-71 will only require a few simple button presses, and we’re not expecting anything too complex when winging about the sky. The especially appealing aspect of this whole flight aspect is that you’re not up there to roast targets on the ground (at least, that’s not your only objective); you’re also supposed to perform some recon through thermal imaging and control allied troops on the ground. This involves strategically positioning your own forces while being able to view enemy positions; it won’t be as complex as an RTS, of course, but it’s a potentially nice addition.

The majority of the gameplay will certainly focus on the standard first-person shooting aspect the fans know and love. It’s the available weaponry that gets our attention, and that includes the footage we’ve seen of some bad-ass dude with a crossbow as his primary assault tool. It operates exactly as you might think and on top of which, you can even attach explosives to the tip of your arrows; this includes everything from incendiary explosives to mines. Then you’ve got the aforementioned crowd-pleasing elements, which should feature slow-mo insanity that could put the immersion through the roof. There are repelling elements to the gameplay, for instance, and we’ve already highlighted a bit of extra strategy, so the single-player campaign should be a continuous roller-coaster of enthralling Black Ops questing. Toss in the varied confrontations across multiple wars, and you have the potential for a main adventure that boasts solid character development, a surprisingly effective storyline, new mechanics, and nary a boring moment in sight.

And for all you history buffs, you should know that the developers are taking a liberal approach to history; with this new CoD, they want to tell everyone that “everything you know is wrong.” This makes us think we might actually use time travel to change history as it exists…but again, it’d be decidedly strange. Once you take a step back and look at the entire package, from top to bottom, it seems clear that Treyarch is going for one thing: ceaseless fun. Oddly enough, they’re not all that forthcoming with the multiplayer details; we only know the game will feature four-player co-op in a special mode where “unique gameplay” is the focal point. Beyond that, we really don’t know much, but we assume you can expect some of the best multiplayer entertainment around. It’s sort of what this series does . That being said, the single-player campaign could be everything even the most demanding FPS follower desires…

Watch the E3 2010: First Details Interview Part 1

Watch the E3 2010: First Details Interview Part 2

Subscribe
Notify of
36 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
kevinater321
kevinater321
10 years ago

I really doubt I will buy this game. Maybe just so i can take a break from uncharted 2's online.

Killa Tequilla
Killa Tequilla
10 years ago

Mmmmmmm… Call of Duty: Black Ops!

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

I don't buy that whole time traveling idea.

It sounds to me like Black Ops will tell us "the truth" of what REALLY happened during the Cold War.

And hey, isn't the Vietnam War considered a Cold War conflict?

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

thats exactly what I got from it. The truth is that history is written by the winners, so what we read isn't exactly the truth and that's what I got from the video.

Maybe it just covers multiple wars because it starts in the past and works its way forward, telling us how things really were.

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

So after watching the video I'm pretty sure I'll be passing this one up. Some of the graphics look pretty good, but some of them didn't.

It's standard fps gameplay, which I'm not a big fan of. No matter what they claim it'll be the same as before with other games. They'll say the ai is awesome and the game is wonderful, but most likely, just another fps.

Great for you fps fans, not such a big deal for me. Didn't really see anything to sway me yet.

Killa Tequilla
Killa Tequilla
10 years ago

@kraygen

When Black Ops is out & everyone in your list is playing & your standing out alone playing Hamster Ball, Im going to sit there looking at you like my avatar thinking in my brain " You want the game… don't you "?


Last edited by Killa Tequilla on 6/8/2010 11:05:22 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

The sad thing is the previews always look ten times better than when you get the product home too. They show it running on a high end PC.

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

I'm about as likely to play hamster ball as I am to play black ops. I just happen to prefer story driven rpgs, generally of the Japanese variety.

Also of all my friends on ps3, I have 1 who plays fps games on a regular basis. Besides that, I have a mind of my own, I have several friends playing Wow, doesn't mean I'm gonna kill my brain cells doing it too.

StangMan80
StangMan80
10 years ago

I'm not that interested in this game but the footage here makes it look good(but don't all trailers do that to you). I like the idea of 4 player co-op that sounds awesome and it would be tons of fun. What games in the past have done this(4 player co-op)?
This is not a day one buy for me but maybe later on I might pick a copy up if at all.

I hated mw2 and will not pick up a copy. But maybe this will be different, maybe not.


Last edited by StangMan80 on 6/8/2010 11:27:48 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

I don't like the idea of a schizophrenic changing environment, or anything that has tons of flashbacks for the time travel effect. It will be fun to watch the fallout from this game among the fans though.

Edit: Wait a sec, did that guy get hit with an exploding arrow and all he did was fly backward?


Last edited by WorldEndsWithMe on 6/8/2010 11:29:03 PM

booze925
booze925
10 years ago

AND his leg n arms blew off, World at War style

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

okay i missed that

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

lol, your comment about the penisman shifted to me.

booze925
booze925
10 years ago

lol @World
looks like you're the new penisman 😀 jk

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

I can live with that.

booze925
booze925
10 years ago

wow. n people say I do stupid stuff in the comments section.
ladies n gentlemen, Ive been topped.

LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
10 years ago

I lol'd @ spam

Also when it comes to Black Ops, sadly I'll end up buying if not for anything more than to just play around with my friends, we just do stupid sh** on multiplayer, running around being stupid so we don't take it to seriously, we make it fun so it'll be worth it.

And yay for being back from vacation =D

Killa Tequilla
Killa Tequilla
10 years ago

LOL Whats wrong with that guy , will heget penalised? how will he get penalised? is this the end of PSXExtreme?

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

instant ip permaban.

Underdog15
Underdog15
10 years ago

Awww, I missed it!

Oxvial
Oxvial
10 years ago

Sorry AH but we don't share your diet .

Snaaaake
Snaaaake
10 years ago

The most disgusting spammer yet……
He'll be gone once Ben is online.

Anyway, it's between Black Ops and MoH now.

But I'm leaning towards MoH for some reason.

booze925
booze925
10 years ago

just get both if u can afford it

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Sorry 'bout that. All gone now.

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

thank you so much Ben.

NonProphet
NonProphet
10 years ago

Leaning towards MOH as well. Really like what I've seen so far from that game, plus that series is due for a come back.

I've gotten tired of the COD multiplayer maps, they're just too small for me after playing a lot MAG and BFBC2, playing COD makes me feel claustrophobic. If they opened up the maps I'd be psyched.

Lawless SXE
Lawless SXE
10 years ago

Bah, STILL not interested. I never could stand anything even resembling a flight sim, and the rapelling sounds kinda gimmicky. Honestly, how many times will you get a chance to do it in gameplay? On top of that, LOST gave me enough of a headache with the time-travel and of course, as always no online.
Make the story sound more coherent though and I might be interested.
Peace.

___________
___________
10 years ago

meh im still not impressed by this, another one for the yet another shooter that looks and plays like every other shooter out there.
if you want to release a shooter you really need to change up the gameplay, do something different something your competitors are not doing.
thats the main problem with most shooters these days, you played one you played them all!

thats why im really looking forward to bulletstorm and bodycount.
for once we actually have games coming out and actually doing something different, trying to push the industry forward instead of following the sheep off the cliff!

same as alpha protocol, thats what makes it a good game it actually tries to bring a breath of fresh air. that more so than anything else is most important in a game because by the end of the day if a games another sheep follower than whos really going to remember it?

why is goldeneye, the N64 classic so well remembered, and considered one of the all time most famous games?
certainly not for following the flock of the cliff.

Nickjcal
Nickjcal
10 years ago

BulletStorm and maybe Singularity are on my top watch list right now. I have really high hopes for singularity because any game that uses time well is fun i have to admit

www
www
10 years ago

Damn I failed, I haven't been on PSXE for some time now.

Call Of Duty is now a sports game, an installment each year, anyhoo I don't know if I'll be getting this, damn I feel so outdated, I haven't updated myself on gaming news, btw have been playing the heck outta the 2010 FIFA World Cup 😉

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
10 years ago

HA! Yeah me too man I cant get enough for some reason, it's a very enjoyable game actually, I played the hell out of the demo before I picked up the full thing. OH! and in the X-Box version there is actually SONY Make.Believe ads on the sidelines LMAO

JackC8
JackC8
10 years ago

The trailer sure looks nice. If the single player campaign is nice and long – and really excellent – who knows. Maybe a year from now I'll pick up a used copy.

Nickjcal
Nickjcal
10 years ago

Ill probably buy both MOH and Black OPS. But nowadays trailers and previews are deciving or however u spell it lol. Anyways the one preview i remember is Far Cry 2s i pictured myself in the preview being able to stealthfuly sneak into a base and take out all the enemies with some C4 etc. I got this out of the preview. With the ai in the game thats impossible. Previews are sometimes a little bit too detailed or over exaggerated sometimes when the reporters get a little too into their stories is my point

CharlesD
CharlesD
10 years ago

I've already commented on what I want from this new COD. And hopefully, it will live up to the expectations I set

WickedScarecrow
WickedScarecrow
10 years ago

That just plain sounds stupid. Flying a SR-71 Blackbird from an aircraft carrier? Are you kidding me? Thats not even possible. Make this game half way realistic. Only Treyarch would try something so dumb.

snypa_69
snypa_69
10 years ago

I am more than looking forward to "Black – ops". This is gonna be the king of shooters. Battlefield can go rot for all I care. MOH Beta was poor imitation of COD multiplayer!! This looks like a nice change from the modern/WW2 settings normally associated with these games 🙂 Treyarch FTW!!! lolz

Snypa 🙂