Scheduled release date:
TBA 2011
Publisher:
EA
Developer:
iD Software
Number Of Players:
1-4
Genre:
Action


The minute some people see the “FPS” label for this preview, they’re going to have expectations and predictions tumbling about in their minds. And when they notice that iD Software is responsible, the same team that produced FPS classics with names like “Quake” and “Wolfenstein,” they’re going to formulate even more assumptions. But before you jump the gun, you should read up on what these developers are doing to separate Rage from the rest of the pack. A post-apocalyptic shooter that sort of reminds us of Borderlands , iD is tossing in a few genre-bending elements to give their game a more dynamic theme. The atmosphere should be second-to-none as well; as a member of the Ark program – one of those lucky few who were selected to live safely underground when an asteroid wiped out the world above – you’re tasked with helping to rebuild civilization after the mass tragedy. But of course, things go loopy as some humans are mutated by the radioactivity and society in general is twisted and entirely out of whack.

Now, while you are free to roam about wherever you please right from the start, the game doesn’t lack direction. In other words, it’s not really like Fallout 3 , where you can wander aimlessly almost forever; you have the freedom to explore in Rage , but it’s clear how you should proceed with the main storyline. The combination of FPS action, a few light role-playing elements, and even vehicular racing will also serve to open the game up, but iD wanted to emphasize the fact that plot is crucial and there’s a good deal of intricacy beneath the sleek surface. A complex item creation system is only one interesting mechanic you’ll find and of course, side-quests should abound, so take advantage and gain the edge over your freakish foes. We’ve seen quite a bit of “genre-blending” this generation and a lot of it is unique and appreciated. To be able to rip across a dusty, challenging course in a Mad Max-like vehicle, then battle it out with crazy mutants ala Doom , and finally settle down to some micromanagement…it’s all very appealing.

Switching weapon types and ammunition is governed by the now-familiar radial menus, which can be brought up with the quick press and hold of a certain button (likely one of the triggers). Furthermore, certain enemies and environmental situations will often dictate what you choose; there is indeed environmental interaction in the game, so when you come across water and you’ve got electricity-infused arrows, you know what to do. We’re also expecting a solid variety of enemies, as we’ve already seen more than a few types in screenshots and videos, and you can bet that each type will require a bit of knowledge and strategy. All we need is some good AI to go along with such diversity and we’ve got one heck of a cool challenge on our hands. Do you think iD can also input a reliable and responsive racing mechanic for the vehicles? It’s always a challenge when a designer takes on different gameplay elements and there’s always the risk of biting off more than they can chew. But hey, this is a talented bunch, so driving, shooting, exploring; it should all come together nicely.

Personally, being a big fan of RPGs, I’m definitely interested in the wandering and interaction with NPCs, as well as the item creation/customization system. You gather up tools and various gadgets as you explore, and as it turns out, you’ll be able to use most any seemingly random part to invent something entirely new and – hopefully – useful. The best part? You don’t need to find any sort of save spot or specific area where the creating process can take place; you can flex your inventing muscle any time you wish. Just combine the parts and pieces you have and voila! And you don’t necessarily need to build on what you already own, because you can even generate entirely new gadgets and other mini-machines that could prove very effective on the battlefield. When you step back and view it all as one project, Rage really looks very, very promising, and we should also mention that those who have seen it in action say it looks gorgeous . Lastly, the game has finally reached the point where it evidently runs just as well on the PS3 as it does on the 360 and PC, so…

For another great look, make sure to check out the latest video . It shows off lots of gameplay and provides you with a fair amount of useful info.

Subscribe
Notify of
25 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

As the info starts coming in, I think this one's getting more & more interesting.

GuardianMode
GuardianMode
10 years ago

The only problem I have is that this game is a port from the 360. That gives me pause. If they dont release a demo and soon, Im going to write this off as a X-Box hand me down.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

I don't think it's a port at all. The way they talk, this sounds as if they either had it built from the ground up for each platform, or there are separate teams working on each version…

Victor321
Victor321
10 years ago

It's definitely not a port, I assure you. The PS3 version is actually running and performing with more stability than the 360 version (I don't know about the PC version, it probably runs the best since iD Software is a PC-oriented developer).

However, all 3 versions are performing super smooth, so whichever version you buy, you're not at a disadvantage if you only own one system and are afraid that the version of the game for your system isn't up to par with the versions.


Last edited by Victor321 on 5/6/2010 10:28:54 PM

GuardianMode
GuardianMode
10 years ago

Im just a little nervous when I see the word Muliplatform. It gives me the chills. >.<

MyWorstNightmar
MyWorstNightmar
10 years ago

Hopefully as the months and years go by "Multiplatform" won't be such a cause for concern. Eventually these developers will make the PS3 versions equal to and in many cases the superior version as they become more and more familiar with it.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Games like GTAIV, Assassin's Creed II, Batman: Arkham Asylum, FFXIII, Bioshock 2, RDR, etc. shouldn't give you the "chills." ūüėČ

Hezzron
Hezzron
10 years ago

If you disregard all multiplats, you'll be missing out on multifun!

Qubex
Qubex
10 years ago

No doubt, it will be interesting too see what ID has done with this. Considering what ID has done for the FPS genre all those years ago, and yet they have been beaten to their own game somewhat. Killzone 2 still holds the crown for technical excellence… we will see what all the rage is about when Rage finally releases!

Q!

"play.experience.enjoy"

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

The fact that this game has been delayed right into 2011 is pretty much an assurance that they don't have a product that even THEY like. It's going to be a tough sell id, it's going to be a tough sell.

PAKINIPS
PAKINIPS
10 years ago

gran turismo 5 has been delayed many times, you could see it as a good thing as much as a bad thing

whiskeytango74
whiskeytango74
10 years ago

looks like this could be alot of fun

Hezzron
Hezzron
10 years ago

I used to love iD games back in the day. I remember when their cutting edge game engines would be used for just about everything.

Those days are long gone now, and I'm sure iD knows it. Hopefully they're cranking out something special with Rage, to put them back near the top of the industry again.

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

It's got my interest but so far it's all just big talk. Until I see something to back up all that talk I'll still be wary of getting my hopes up.

___________
___________
10 years ago

well there goes my GOTY 2010, i was positive this would be out this year ūüôĀ
come on ID for f*cks sake how long does it take to make one fugging game?
they have released absolutely jack %$#@ since quake 4 came out, o yea there was quake live but thats more of a mod than a full fledged game.

just because yous are the best developers in the history of the earth does not mean you can take your sweet freaking time making one freaking game!
remember what happened to 3D realms?
yeah, i thought so!

i cant wait for this since its ID.
they are the daddy of not only FPS, but games themselves.
if theres anyone who has the Midas touch its ID.
but that said i wish they would throw this away and just give us doom 4.
i loved doom 3, it was such a good game, and sadly one of the only games that are fairly new and actually scare me.
i can pick up almost any horror game from the ps1 days, or later and within 5 minutes im cowering like a school girl!
sadly, i cant say the same about todays games……………….
dead space is by far the scariest game ive played this gen, and thats kinda pathetic because, well, it did not scare me at all!!!

so long story short ID HURRY THE FU*K UP GET THIS TIME WASTER OUT THE DOOR SO WE CAN HAVE ANOTHER KING OF HORROR GAMES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
that way they can get back to what made them my favorite developer out there.
QUAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PAKINIPS
PAKINIPS
10 years ago

What the hell man?
Get a punchbag or something

Milonakis
Milonakis
10 years ago

Quake is lame. Doom is dumb, and I hope ID gets bought out by Activision.

JackC8
JackC8
10 years ago

This is sounding really interesting. Sort of like Borderlands before they decided to go with that hideous animation style. Oh well, let's not get too excited just yet, we've got a whole year to wait.

thj_1980
thj_1980
10 years ago

I don't want anymore bad posrts to the PS3, I really could care less if the grpahics were a lttle bit more enchanced but really noone going to care about that. Just a tiny speck of difference in graphics mean garbage. The only real way is full 60fps with no clipping and cutting because that's the only way to enjoy smooth quality games.

TEG3SH
TEG3SH
10 years ago

AHHHHHH god damn u m$, i'll have to buy new 360 just for alan wake , that game is hella sweet

Milonakis
Milonakis
10 years ago

What I want is a zombie rpg where you need to set up a home base and rig it with traps and explore into the world in search of survivors, radio parts, and guns.

TEG3SH
TEG3SH
10 years ago

watch I Am legend again .lol

BeezleDrop
BeezleDrop
10 years ago

Rage seriously had potential, seriously. If you don't realize by now that _________ has some serious anger issues than you don't notice all caps, and exclamation marks, etc, etc.

@ TEG3SH,

Yeah I have been wanting to play Alan Wake for awhile now, and honestly, I am quite surprised it didn't score higher. I mean >Dont< get me wrong, 8.5 and 9's are pretty good in this day and age but I expected higher. Either way it is a rental for me.


Last edited by BeezleDrop on 5/7/2010 11:34:11 AM

TEG3SH
TEG3SH
10 years ago

dude I dont care that much about reviews, If I see a game I like I get it and judge for myself , Halo always gets high reviews but apart from the first 2 I didnt enjoy any .

Streets_74
Streets_74
10 years ago

I want to get excited about Rage but, all I hear is talk, this is definetly a demo play before buy or its a ebay buy.