Scheduled release date:
Q4 2010
Publisher:
EA
Developer:
Crytek
Number Of Players:
1-12
Genre:
FPS
Release Date:
March 22, 2011


While many console gamers may not be familiar with Crysis , you can be assured that the original created several very large waves in the PC realm. And the good news is that while it’s likely the PC version of the sequel will be slightly superior to the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions, the latter versions really are looking amazing. Crytek has been good enough to show off some early gameplay and sources like GameSpot have already laid eyes on those brilliant visuals. Furthermore, it’d be wrong to assume this is “just another FPS,” or that it’s a “rehash” of the original title. Based on all the details and information we’ve acquired over the past few weeks, it seems as if Crytek (including the ex-Free Radical team) has worked hard to provide the player with a very fresh and engaging experience. It should be fresh even for those who played the original Crysis , too, so we’re all sorts of excited. So now it’s time to take a look at what is guaranteed to be one of the most anticipated shooter arrivals of 2010.

We normally don’t start with analyzing the graphics in a preview but we’re talking about Crysis , after all. Much of the talk surrounding both the first game and the sequel centers on the gorgeous visuals that accompany our ass-kicking, and according to Crytek boss Cevat Yerli, the PS3 and 360 versions should be “nearly identical,” although the PC is certainly the lead platform. It’s ambitious and large in size and scope, and potentially even innovative, so don’t give the technology behind Crysis 2 short shrift. This being said, we really need the final product before us in order to pass judgment so we must now move on to the gameplay. Firstly, that awesome nanosuit we used in the original game will return, but it has been upgraded. If you’re unfamiliar, this nifty suit lets you switch between max strength, speed, stealth and power; you’ll want to select one of these four traits depending on the combat situation. In the original Crysis , the four abilities were completely separate from one another.

But no longer. We’ll be able to mix and match – to some extent – and the team has also revamped the traits just a bit; the four will now be strength, stealth, power, and a new vision mode that puts handy-dandy tactical info at your disposal. The power ability now encompasses enhanced speed, if you’re wondering. You will select strength or stealth as your “base” option and after making your choice, you can then layer either power or that new vision mode atop the aforementioned foundation. Of course, you won’t be able to use them ceaselessly; the required energy to take advantage of such skills drains over time, so you have to be frugal in your timing an selection process. Yerli also spoke about some sort of upgrading procedure; i.e., your nanosuit might actually be customizable so you can create/hone new skills. It’s all about experimentation, it seems. Enter power mode and grab enemies by the throat – you could do this in the first game – but then zip over to another enemy at top speed without switching your ability set. We’re hoping for two things: effectiveness and fluidity/seamlessness.

By the way, the setting is actually New York City. Why? Yerli admitted that while Crysis may have been awfully pretty, it lacked “emotional buy-in.” Therefore, the team has decided to place the sequel in NYC simply because, as Yerli put it, “If I could pick one city to protect, it would be New York.” And to add to the atmosphere and overall intensity, Crytek has tapped award-winning science fiction novelist Richard Morgan; he’s actually the lead writer for the story in Crysis 2 . He’s preparing a “twisting narrative” that forces us through some tough moral issues, and he’s apparently going to make the nanosuit an integral part of the plot. In fact, he said it could become “a character in its own right…with its own [story] arc.” This all sounds very, very cool, and we can’t wait to learn – and see – more. While some may complain about the influx of shooters, you have to admit that we’ve seen some incredible titles in the FPS and third-person shooter genres, and if Crysis 2 can’t deliver…well, what can?

Subscribe
Notify of
48 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

Will you be doing a PC review Ben?

🙂

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

ha

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

Start saving for a new graphics card now because Crisis 2 will own whatever money pit of a PC you have now.

Oh but it's ok right? The games are cheaper on PC. LOL

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

Oh lordy! What will I do, I can either make due with what I've been using for several years or splurge and get a new graphics card for a couple hundred dollars. Either way I get to play the EXACT same game you'll be playing (if you decide to) for $20 cheaper.

You don't have to be a jerk Alienage. When you take into consideration that my PC does hundreds of things my PS3 can't do I'd say the roughly 1100 dollars I've put into it over the years is quite justified.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

You think your clever but your not Alienage.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Okay, but…that "splurge" of a couple hundred dollars is about equivalent to a game system. Does the graphics card – and any other upgrades needed to play the games at maximum level – cost more or less than one console every six or seven years…?

I think you and I both know the answer to that, LV, regardless of what you support. 😉

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

I understand your point Ben. However my setup which I've had for several years still outperforms or is equivalent to any PS3 game there is so I can either spend nothing and continue to have performance a little ahead of this console generation or spend a few hundred dollars and be that much further ahead of the consoles.

I love having the option to expand on the PC side and while I understand it's not cheap you don't have to do it. Either way I'm a happy gamer with my PS3 and PC. Unlike the 360 the PS3 continues to offer tons of games I can only find on the system.

RadioHeader
RadioHeader
10 years ago

PC gamer huh? Hit me up for some Checkers!

Banky A
Banky A
10 years ago

Pinball and Minesweep's where it's at.

RadioHeader
RadioHeader
10 years ago

I just got the new Flux Capacitor 9000GTI gfx card. You haven't seen Minesweep till you've seen it at 400 frames per second!!!

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Fine by me. But I've seen the most monster setups. …just not seeing this so called "significant superiority" over PS3 games like Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, MGS4, Heavy Rain, etc. The gap just isn't there to justify the extra money in my eyes. And it IS extra money; PC gaming remains the most expensive by far if you look at it over the course of a decade.

On the other hand, if you know something about it and can build your own stuff, or don't care so much about the cost, then I get it.

Jackyl
Jackyl
10 years ago

I'm with LV here. And there is some give and take with the cost of these upgrades. As LV stated PC games are typically $10-20 cheaper than their console counterparts. So depending on how many games you buy between upgrades you may have already saved more than enough to buy that upgraded video card and still have money left over as compared to buying more expensive console games. Especially when you have companies like Valve/Steam where you can often get great discounts on new games.

Yes, initially a PC is often (I once spent about $500 for a new PC compared with the PS3's $600) quite a bit more expensive than a console but there are other factors that can reduce the cost and increase the value of a PC.

It only does everything.

DeathOfChaos
DeathOfChaos
10 years ago

I'd rather pay $300 for a slim PS3 and buy used PS3 games for about$20-$30 than to have to buy new components every few years or so that cost just about as much as a PS3 does just so I can play certain games. Besides, I'm not gonna be playing God of War III, Heavy Rain, LBP, and other games of that sort on a PC any time soon, lol.

DemonNeno
DemonNeno
10 years ago

I have a PC gaming rig that has cost me ~$700 for the past 5 years. This includes updating its hardware. I build my own PC and throw hardware at it as it becomes an extreme bottleneck.

This happens to be my main PC and the price includes my monitor. I budget-buy and don't look for the best graphics in the world. Realistically, that's what drives the PC gaming rigs price through the ceiling.

If you want to run games at ridiculous resolutions, which most monitors can't even handle, then you pay out the gizzard. If you want a well balanced PC that'll do everything you want to do without needing 1200p resolutions, then you can easily achieve it for a decent amount of time.

I enjoy games of many shapes and sizes. The PC still offers quite a plethora of RPG games that are still attractive to me (game play-wise) and also expands my game library if such games aren't PS3 titles. It's win-win if you can balance it out well and aren't the craziest fan of the highest tech gadgets to max out every games settings.

Back on topic, C2 looks like it'll be a phenomenal game! I really am looking forward to seeing this game in action. I'll probably get it for the PS3. The first game took my PC, bit off it's testicles and fed it to my wall outlet. 😛

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Demon: But that's entirely my point. You did things the average gamer and consumer wouldn't know how to do. What matters is how much each platform costs for the vast majority of people out there.

Jackyl
Jackyl
10 years ago

I hate how the standard is based on the lowest common denominator. Doing simple video card upgrades should be nearing the equivalent of changing a light bulb. Just like 15 some odd years ago, typing became a basic skill that the majority of people should be able to do.

I really can't imagine someone replacing an entire desktop instead of doing some very simple upgrades. And at least any gamer should have at least one friend who could show them how to upgrade a video card.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

I may just get the PC version if my comp can handle it.

Taha1
Taha1
10 years ago

are you going to plug a controller into your comp?
or are you one of those idiots who think that fps should be played with keyboard and mouse?:P

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

The Rock is your picture and you're calling people idiots simply for choosing to play a game with a keyboard/mouse.

You're a real winner.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

Mouse and keyboard.

Imagi
Imagi
10 years ago

I would comment, but do not want to sully myself!

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

It's gonna have to work hard to impress me since it's a multiplat.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

The game looks good but i only watched a prerendered trailer on IGN. I have doubts it will be better then Uncharted 2 or GoW3 like some are saying. On the consoles at least.


Last edited by Jawknee on 4/12/2010 10:04:41 PM

Kingshitv4
Kingshitv4
10 years ago

It will be alright the first was descent so this one should be fun, But I have a huge feeling it will be like Far Cry 2 in terms of how the first PC only one translated to multi.

NoSmokingBandit
NoSmokingBandit
10 years ago

The first half of Crysis was fun, but i didnt like it after the alien things showed up. At that point the maps got pretty linear and your ability to go in quietly was pointless. If they keep the aliens away as much as possible it should be a fun game.

Banky A
Banky A
10 years ago

There's aliens? OMGawd I never knew. Haha I was never tempted to research or play it's story.

/Banky's been spoiled/

wiiplay
wiiplay
10 years ago

Yeah, I have to agree.
I did however love the zero gravity moments, hard at first but I got used to it.
I for one will be buying Crysis 2 on everything, including the PS3 and 360.
Being a game reviewer myself, it's critical to play games on all gaming platforms, even if I don't want to.
And man was it hard to determine a review for Chicken Shoot. That game was just so bad!
I also found it hard to review Heavy Rain, mainly because each time I play, the game is slightly different. 9.5 out of 10 nonetheless.
I can't wait for Crysis 2, and I just hope my department gets a pre-release copy.

Jackyl
Jackyl
10 years ago

Can't wait to see what they are going to do with DirectX 11 for this game.

SmokeyPSD
SmokeyPSD
10 years ago

maybe they wont have forgotten about a interesting game this time rather than just visually great…

Kowhoho
Kowhoho
10 years ago

My most anticipated shooter is still KZ3 ;P.
I am excited to see this on console though, if only for the technology.

Snaaaake
Snaaaake
10 years ago

Crysis was great but in terms of graphic it's just godlike.

Crysis 2 will be the best looking game ever.

Now since this is Crytek's first game on the PS3, I'm worried that the PS3 version will be the worst.

Godslim
Godslim
10 years ago

same dude i have a feeling the ps3 version wont look nearly as good as the others

AStiffyIffy
AStiffyIffy
10 years ago

This game looks great! I can't wait to see how awesome the graphics will be on the PC and how that translates into the consoles. Perhaps they can max they 360's graphics? Then we can see the best that the 360 can do and compare it to the awesome PS3 graphics.

just2skillf00l
just2skillf00l
10 years ago

Sounds cool! I want to be impressed!

___________
___________
10 years ago

cant wait for this, i just hope they have not watered down the PC version just so they can get it running on consoles.
i think weve had to put up with that enough lately with the BS crappy ports.
funny too, splinter cell conviction the PC version gets DRM and guess which version i just saw?
thats right the PC version 12 days before release!
thats what you get ubisoft for giving your fans the finger!
if IW and moneyvision have taught us anything, its DONT FU*K WITH PC GAMERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

The funniest thing is AC2's DRM problems that plagues those that actually bought the game while the torrent and crack available for free has ZERO problems.

___________
___________
10 years ago

and ubisoft says no ones cracked it yet 😉
its official, ubisoft are the new activision!
first their DRM BS, and now i find out one of my most anticipated titles of the year SCC is only 5 hours long!
WTF is this? MW2?
4+ years to create a 5 hour game, un be fu**ing leiveable!

Mamills
Mamills
10 years ago

i dunno, i really didn't enjoy crysis
AI was dumb as a post, graphics were pretty but graphics aren't enough to hold me. the story seemed like garbage to me.

saw the crysis 2 trailer and again i will ask. What's the hook?

i see nothing that warrants a $60 purchase

Titch1794
Titch1794
10 years ago

I'm so hyped for this game now.
I really enjoyed the orginal crysis on pc, especially for the amazing graphics. I also like the 'perklike' characteristics of the nanosuit. However I just hope the devs behind this game can pull it off, it is a multiplat afterall. :s

JackC8
JackC8
10 years ago

Oh praise the lord, a PC developer is seeing fit to grace us with one of their vastly superior games. Gawd. I'm sure it'll be light years beyond anything that the dedicated PS3 developers – who have been working with the console for years – could ever hope to accomplish.

Milonakis
Milonakis
10 years ago

Am I the only one who's wondering where Postal 3 is to save us from these nonsense FPS's.

ValdiPS3
ValdiPS3
10 years ago

"The game will be identical on PS3 and Deadbox", well not wanting to be pessimistic, but only discouraged me this sentence, it may be true, but will have to fill a blu-ray and at least 5 dvds, oh yes the idea of identical begins to make sense if this happens.

maxpontiac
maxpontiac
10 years ago

I am honestly concerned over this game. So much to the fact that I am not even considering purchasing it until I find out more information.

– Is the PS3 going to be optimized for it's strengths first?

– Is the PS3 version going to be nothing more then a port of a PC/360 version?

– Does "nearly identical" mean one Blu ray and 3 DVD's?

Like I said, concerned.. and considering Killzone 3 will most likely be out then, my money will always go to an exclusive dev FIRST.


Last edited by maxpontiac on 4/13/2010 12:11:48 PM

Zorigo
Zorigo
10 years ago

award winning lead story writer?
excellent graphics?
intriguingly interesting gameplay mechanics?

thats is enough to get me watching. and if its set inner city that'd be interesting. i mean opposed to shooters set in the far east and the bloody jungle. (cough*COD*cough)

and its got a seperate dev team for online. woo.

FullmetalX10
FullmetalX10
10 years ago

I still won't believe anyone saying that console versions of multiplat games are the same, cuz they are never, dam 360 version usually gets the long straw.
If I could play games with my mouse and keyboard I would probably buy this though, just to see the fanciness, my hands are tied though, can't control any games without a Playstation controller.

DeathOfChaos
DeathOfChaos
10 years ago

Too bad the FPS genre gaming is over used and stale. The graphics that may shine through wont appeal to me at all because the game in general will be yet another stale, dry, overused genre.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

The Comedy genre in movies has been overused for over 50 years, does that mean there are no good Comedy movies? No of course not, there are plenty of great comedy movies released each year.

I suggest you judge a game based on its own merits, not those of the genre.

wiiplay
wiiplay
10 years ago

I've been thinking the same thing lately.
We should have more games similar to LittleBigPlanet.
Since our technology is increasing each year, maybe even a real-life simulator? Nothing like The Sims 3 or Grand Theft Auto 4. A game designed to simulate your life.
Of course it needs to be PS3 exclusive, as if it was also available on the Xbox 360 we might get one city. On the PS3 we might get over 20 cities to freely explore.
Blu-ray discs are capable of so much, we can jam so much data onto them, yet no one has tried to fill it up all the way yet. Naughty Dog, I'm talking to you!