Scheduled release date:
Q1 2011
Publisher:
Codemasters
Developer:
Codemasters Studios Guilford
Number Of Players:
1-12
Genre:
FPS
Release Date:
August 30, 2011


Those of you who remember Black for the PS2 will likely recall the unbridled, unadulterated action and carnage that went along with that invigorating experience. Therefore, you may be interested to learn more about the game’s spiritual successor, known as Bodycount . Stuart Black himself is on the team at Codemasters Guilford, and he has assembled quite the group of talent for this new project; they’ve got people from Lionhead, Media Molecule and Black Rock. Black has called the team a “supergroup” of sorts and according to what he said during a recent IGN hands-on session , he’s seeking the “modern version” of the “emotional connection” he received when playing Black . It’s his belief that we just don’t have that in shooters so far this era, and he wants to provide gamers with an over-the-top, totally involving experience that’s an absolute blast from start to finish. Even the details are enough to put a smile on your face.

You will play as John Doe – fitting, no? – who represents a traditional, old-school hero who takes no prisoners and relishes every last second of his life-threatening endeavors. Initially, he’s a retired veteran of the shady organization known only as “The Network,” but for some reason, they feel the need to drag Doe back into combat…and against the man’s desire. See, they basically just take him back, drug him, and toss him out of a plane at ten thousand feet with the onscreen words, “Welcome to the Network. Your Safety is Our Concern.” So he may not be in the best of moods when he finally lands and it’s the foes on the ground that will suffer the brunt of his rage. Now, when he embarks on any given mission, he will have the option of approaching various assassination targets at his own discretion. Unfortunately, there will be hordes of elite military forces in his way; multiple classes will throw multiple obstacles in his path, and you’ll have to learn the weaknesses of each class. We just like the idea of choosing the order of our “marks;” it reminds us of Mercenaries .

Perhaps the most appealing facet of this presentation – besides the ceaseless, insane action – is the destructibility of the environment. Crates will believably disintegrate beneath a hail of bullets, for example, and entire structures may eventually collapse to pieces if the ammunition is strong enough. This will result in a continually changing atmosphere with tons of rubble and litter tossed across the screen at true-blue “blowup speeds.” If you’re one of those people who love awesome particle effects and an intricate attention to detail, you’ll just adore your explosive surroundings. Oh, and let’s not forget about the Kill Chain Multiplier, which will encourage you to nail as many foes as humanly possible within a certain span of time. The better you do, the more skills and abilities you will unlock, and those skills can include aerial support in the form of Helicopter strikes or access to hugely powerful weapons, like the mini-gun. Essentially, the faster and more effective you are, the more potent you will become. However, there may be times when you need to seek safety from overwhelming onslaughts…

Yes, we’re talking about a cover system. Strangely enough, it seems there is one, despite Black’s previous insistence that he really despises cover systems and would rather just run ‘n gun. It’s definitely here, though, as you’ll be able to snap into cover with a quick press of the left trigger (likely the L1 or L2 button), and you’ll even be able to move about while in cover, shifting about to locate the best possible strategic position. Last but not least is the inclusion of pop diva Lady Gaga. She’s featured “as a reference point” throughout the game and it was Black’s idea to bring her into the game. “The impact she had on me when I saw her at Glastonbury last year was quite profound. The game wouldn't have the feel and the tone that it's got now without that. It made me go back home and look at my game collection and made me realise they're just so beardy and so nerdy, and that we've got really lazy and insular as an industry. Something like that comes along and blows everyone away, so I wanted to capture some of that spirit.” Okay, it’s a little bizarre but we figure it fits with the game’s style.

Bodycount is slated arrive some time early next year. In the meantime, we’ll keep you updated with any new info that comes our way in 2010.

Subscribe
Notify of
29 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

So far the only thing that looks interesting is the destructible environments. But a shooter has to go above and beyond these days with all the competition. I wish Mr. Black lots of luck with this project, but I doubt it will register as more than a new Duckhunt on my radar.

main_event05
main_event05
10 years ago

These are the exact same claims that Black made and didn't deliver. I refuse to get excited about this. maybe this will be a rental.

___________
___________
10 years ago

you are totally missing the point.
destructible cover is nothing, thats not the point of this game, any game has that look at RFG.

the whole point of this game is enemy AI, and level design.
every single FPS has the same level design.
run to cover your enemies do the same, pop, shoot, take cover, pop, shoot, take cover rinse and repeat.
there trying to break that mold and bring in something different, interesting and most importantly FUN!
thats one thing games are seriously lacking these days, KZ2 was a masterpiece of engineering but seriously lacked in the fun department.

and AI thats a little more realistic, instead of spamming grenades flank your opponent take them by surprise.
i have never played a game where i was surprised by the enemy, they always take the predictable route out.
AI is one thing this gen really has not improved on, there is a seriously long way to go till it catches up to other aspects.

another thing hit detection, shoot a guys arm and he reacts realistically.
shoot him in the leg and he can no longer walk, bring a little more tactical aspect instead of this mindless run and gun, or pop and shoot.

people think FPS have advanced as far as they can go because there so overdone, but that is so not true i can come up with 15 million different things we could add to make them better.
just like any other genre.
games these days should be about innovating, bringing something never seen before.
not taking what the sheep are doing and making it your own.
thats what made DICE famous for mirrors edge, everyone said you can not do a first person platformer it just wont work.
well DICE shut them up!

main_event05
main_event05
10 years ago

I think that Duke Nukem: Time to Kill perfected that. Except when the shot someone in the leg it flies off. I would like to see that mechanic come to this Gen. Since when could someone take a head shot with a Deagle, and still have a head??

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
10 years ago

negative man, if you didnt think KZ2 was fun, i don't even wanna hear ONE of your 15 million "improvements" you could make to the genre…

…i understand and accept other peoples' opinions, but seriously man, do you ever read back what you type? and does it make sense?

…just, wow…

___________
___________
10 years ago

well maybe you could explain to me how doing the same crap for 10 hours is fun?
also maybe you could explain what part of take cover, pop, shoot, take cover, pop, shoot, rinse and repeat sounds like fun?
i dont know about you but when im doing the same thing for hours on end it gets just a little repetitive and boring.
but just a little!

o, and main_event05 we have had a game with limb dismemberment it was soldier of fortune payback.
shoot someone in the leg, their leg flys off and they drop to the ground.
shoot their arm, their arm drops off.
shoot their head, and well you catch my drift.

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

Somebody got overruled at the "cover system" board meeting.

"No cover system. It'll be great!"

"Denied!"

Someone whispers "pwnd"

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Bodycount is kind of a bad name for anything wishing to be taken seriously.

ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
10 years ago

when they say bodycount i instantly think of killzone 2.

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
10 years ago

lol, same here cochise

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

I want…..
more info, some trailers, and a demo!!!!

Superman915
Superman915
10 years ago

Black was the first FPS I can honestly say I loved. I'll be checking for this, even though I'm just about done with FPS games.

Milonakis
Milonakis
10 years ago

When do we find out about the big exclusive?

"I'm super cereal guys"

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

No point in asking…

mike rlz
mike rlz
10 years ago

off topic but when is the second ff review coming?

___________
___________
10 years ago

a sequel to BLACK?
using the EGO engine the engine used in red faction guerrilla with full environmental destruction?
what more could i ask for?
just got the latest edition of game informer and theres a article in there on this and its sounding really impressive!
this has jumped to my most anticipated title already released.
i will say this.
bodycount will be the best shooter released this gen, full stop!
BLACK went on to be the best shooter available last gen, so its predecessor will follow in the tradition, keep the torch flaming and blow everyone into a new dimension!

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

@_______________,
Proud of ya there, & I knew ya had it in you, keep up the good work)

A decent post, & not one negative word in there either. ūüôā

main_event05
main_event05
10 years ago

But he still got a thumbs down. lol

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

I'm glad psx covers such a broad array of games and information, but personally I'm not going to look into this game until I see it for less than $20. Why buy more shooters, I have 1 already.

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
10 years ago

i had no idea everyone liked the first black so much

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
10 years ago

oops, sorry, replied by accident kraygen

but while im at it, i get the feeling you'll be seeing this game for 20 bucks pretty soon ūüėČ

JackC8
JackC8
10 years ago

"we've got really lazy and insular as an industry"? Um, okay. If Lady Gaga is his idea of not being lazy, I think I'll stick with Uncharted 2, GOW 3, FF XIII and Heavy Rain.

main_event05
main_event05
10 years ago

she has no place in games, or in music for that matter.

Lairfan
Lairfan
10 years ago

So he's saying that video games aren't hip or cool anymore because they don't have bands like Lady Gaga in them?

Right…I also like how he thinks no other shooter this gen has delivered an emotional experience, yet he claims that a game called "Bodycount" will.

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

I hope Bodycount winds up good, but as for anyone having an impact…..
I certainly wouldn't go putting up an alter in front of my fireplace to worship lady gaga, although she has a sexy bod.

GaGa's Music Video:"Telephone"
(mature themed)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQ95z6ywcBY&feature=player_embedded

main_event05
main_event05
10 years ago

and also comes "Fully Equipped". lol

totozero18
totozero18
10 years ago

Touche…
I wouldn't like being poked with 'the' sword…*vomits*


Last edited by totozero18 on 3/17/2010 8:32:15 AM

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

@main-event05,

Huh? Really?
Well GAGA's name matches fer face which looks a more than a bit rough(like she uses that manly Irish Spring soap way too much), but according to Wikipedia……

It really is a "she"devil….
Stefani Germanotta was born on March 28, 1986


Last edited by BikerSaint on 3/17/2010 6:29:28 PM

main_event05
main_event05
10 years ago

she came forward and admitted to being a hermie