Scheduled release date:
March 16, 2010
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
SCEA
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
Action


So there’s this demo on the PlayStation Store right now. You might want to have a look-see. At last year’s E3, the SCEA Santa Monica team responsible for God of War III capped off Sony’s press conference with a 10-minute sample of this unbelievably polished and brutally visceral action extravaganza, which caused absolutely every journalist in the vicinity to either drool or unhinge their jaw…or both. All we wanted to do was go hands-on with that very same piece of gameplay. But now, everyone with a PlayStation 3 can do that; you can either have the God of War Collection sitting on your shelf or you can download that very same demo on the PSN right now. It’s a downright massive download, clocking in at nearly 2.8GB, but it’s well worth your time if you’re not a Collection owner. I may not be the biggest fan of every last feature on the PSN but playable demos may be my favorite addition to this generation, and quite possibly the most useful one for consumers. But come on; who needs a demo to convince themselves that GoWIII is gonna rock?

Well, you may not need convincing but you likely want an early glimpse of a guaranteed Game of the Year nominee. They also debuted even more gameplay footage on GTTV last night, and you should’ve seen David Jaffe’s reaction to it. If you missed that, head on over to his Criminal Crackdown blog and check out his latest video update; he starts talking about it at the 4:22 mark. His response to that is similar to the responses we heard to that E3 demo, which is what I just got finished playing a few minutes ago. It’s so pretty and so fluid and such a feast for the eyes, and the instant I began testing out the battle mechanic and experimenting with the most deadly and versatile Kratos yet, I knew I was in for a very special treat. The balance of the combat in every GoW has always been amazingly impressive: you never feel overmatched, but you do feel the challenge and above all else, you feel up to that challenge. I despise action games that are designed to make your supposedly super powerful main character feel like he’s just struggling to survive.  That's just dumb.

Anything that gets in this guy’s way is gonna get torched. And that’s bad-ass . His special abilities and maneuvers are just so damn abusive and humiliating to the offending hordes that continually assault him from all sides. Whether he’s using one enemy as a battering ram, tearing another enemy in half, or destroying a particularly large foe in one of the most grotesque and satisfying ways possible, Kratos is always inflicting his insane brand of justice on any nasty thing that crosses his path. I love the fact that the block button is also mapped to the combo trigger; you hold down L1 to block but you also hold down the same button and press circle, triangle or square to unleash a special skill, which works beautifully. You can block and then without changing a thing, simply press an attack button and launch into a massive whirlwind of death. Then there’s the variety in the gameplay that was on display, even in just a short demo. I flew with my wings through a tunnel packed with debris, rode Harpy Hags across gaps, used the head of some dude to illuminate darkness (and a secret), used one of my alternate weapons for brutal melee attacks, and did a bit of wall climbing. So, so engaging and so wonderfully done.

There are only two aspects of this demo I didn’t particularly like but they’re so minor, they might not even be worth mentioning. The first is that I noticed the camera sits a little too close to Kratos when running through a smaller, enclosed space. However, this being said, the fixed camera has almost never been a problem in any GoW entry and it wasn’t a problem in this demo, either. I just felt it got too close at times when running forward in a few of the narrow alleyways. The other thing is that the QTE button prompts can appear on any side of the screen (top, bottom, left or right), which is a little irritating; I’d much rather be looking in one spot for the next requirement. But again, it doesn’t really affect anything provided you’re aware that QTEs can show up anywhere. I personally like the way Heavy Rain handled the QTEs: you may not have noticed if you’ve played it, but the requisite commands appear near where the action is happening; i.e., if Madison has to throw a chair at her attacker, the command appears by her hands. It just seems natural because your eyes are always drawn to certain places.  Might be tough to do in GoWIII, though.

But really, this demo is awesome, and I’m sure the final version will be a gargantuan achievement and a ridiculously fun ride from start to finish. Kratos really is the biggest bad-ass in gaming today.

Subscribe
Notify of
72 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
10 years ago

this demo was incredible, and i must say this might be one of the greatest games of all time…only a few weeks left until we find out!

"zipper technology" FTW!


Last edited by Rings0fUranus on 2/27/2010 5:31:53 PM

to_far_apart
to_far_apart
10 years ago

Totally agree! I was thinking the same exact thing

Victor321
Victor321
10 years ago

I agree also, and love your Avatar by the way ^.^

tumbletunnel
tumbletunnel
10 years ago

If you checked gttv or gametrailers you can spot the differences between the E3 demo and what they've improved on the final build. More fluid movement for example.

No doubt this will be game of the year contender.
I already ordered it months ago.

Superman915
Superman915
10 years ago

this demo has converted 360 fanboys who come over to my house to play it. Made them buy a ps3 that same day.


Last edited by Superman915 on 2/27/2010 5:57:51 PM

H8WL3R
H8WL3R
10 years ago

So I assume it's the same one that's on the District 9 Blu-Ray right? I know I have one on mine (pretty sure it's the same E3 Demo), which I've tried and is pretty awesome.

camaro300zx
camaro300zx
10 years ago

Yeah it's the same demo that came with District 9.

Buckeyestar
Buckeyestar
10 years ago

Why so long for "hands on preview" on a demo that's been available for months? Sure it wasn't available to just anyone, but anybody who loves God of War had this pre-ordered long ago or already got the code from the Collection.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

We do hands-on previews of either exclusive builds we have or demos that are available to all. Not random demos that might show up in one product on store shelves.

No, most people have not played the God of War III demo yet.

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
10 years ago

Ben , the QTEs were specifically designed that way to keep your eyes glued to the action . Triangle appears on top , x on bottom , square on left and circle on right . They said once you get used to it , you won't have to look to see which button to press .


Last edited by Sir Shak on 2/27/2010 6:08:50 PM

YesterdysRising
YesterdysRising
10 years ago

This is what I was gonna say. I think it's great because then you'll never have to look at the button, just use your peripheral version to see the positioning. I guess it makes it a little easier but like Sir Shak said, now you won't miss any of the glorious not to mention absolutely beautiful action 🙂

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

I get it, but I have yet to see how continually checking each of the four edges of the screen keeps our eyes on the "action."

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
10 years ago

I guess it's supposed to become intuitive after some practice .

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

As in left screen is square, top of screen will be triangle, you see where I'm going with this…

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
10 years ago

its probably a better feautre in my opinion. I dont like the way qte button promps crowd the screen honestly. And as shak said the button prompts appears on the edges of the screen in comparison to the buttons on the controller. Its so simple and so cluster free its brilliant!

Snaaaake
Snaaaake
10 years ago

Nobody needs GOWIII demo to know it rocks but everybody needs it to satisfy their hunger for GOWIII in the meantime!!!!

Condemnedsoul23
Condemnedsoul23
10 years ago

I sooooooooooooooo know this is unrelated but I couldn't find a forum yet to ask this question. On Walmart.com they have Gran Turismo with a release date of April this year. Is this actually true? I figure this site would post something about that as soon as it was verified. Last I heard it would be a Christmas release but if April is accurate then, this is shaping up to be the best new release quarter ever!

Oh and God of War 3 looks like the greatest game ever yadda yadda yadda lol.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

highly unlikely, look for GT5 in the summer or around the holidays.

Kr3sn1k
Kr3sn1k
10 years ago

THISGAMEISTHESHITICANTFUCKINGWAITTILLITCOMESOUTOMG ! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Last edited by Kr3sn1k on 2/27/2010 6:39:29 PM

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
10 years ago

USINGSCAPSISSOCOOL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Don't do that again.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

ever.

The Doom
The Doom
10 years ago

@Ben
At Mr. ZOMG-I-GOT-ADD!!!!!111 or The Corrector?

mike rlz
mike rlz
10 years ago

can anyone explain why things take so much longer to download on psn vs live?

Condemnedsoul23
Condemnedsoul23
10 years ago

I don't think it's a matter of one is faster than the other. I think it really has to do with internet connection speeds. I have sorry cable internet but when I am at a friends house I use their fiber optic and there is a major difference when downloading. Also some downloads are a lot smaller than others. For instance Little Big Planet has the small packets of updates while downloading Final Fantasy 7 will take like a full episode of South Park to finish.

Taha1
Taha1
10 years ago

@mike Your routers firewall throotles psn to death.
i have recently sped up my connection.
this is my first comment btw:D im new:D
if you would like to know how just ask

@condemned as a revious owner of an xbox i can say xbox downloads are faster out the box where as ps3 downloads take ages and you need to optimize your router for the ps3 which will cause disconnection problems and such. im happy to say though that thats the only area where xbox is better.


Last edited by Taha1 on 2/27/2010 6:50:13 PM

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

My downloads are fine and i never get disconnected.

NoSmokingBandit
NoSmokingBandit
10 years ago

forward ports 80,443,5223,3478-3479, and 3658 in your router. It should help the speed a little.

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
10 years ago

my downloads are fine as well. I cant compare with the 360 but i will say i have no compaints.

At one time i was getting disconnected a lot though when wireless. The reason being is because you need to set up your ports to match the PS3. You can do this by first contacting sony and asking which ports to open. Then if you know how to adjust the ports for your router then thats all you need to do. or you can call your router company and get assistance. The next thing and i dont know why but when the media server (under settings on your ps3 xmb) is on it takes far longer to download things, and disconnections happen much more often, (maybe because its acting as a server to much more things) that when its off. For the most part turning the media server off solved all those problems for me.

DarthSayver21
DarthSayver21
10 years ago

theres 33 million PS3s out der aroud da globe, and im sayn GoWIII will sell minimum of 8 mil in its first week. But i have high hopes dat i'll pass 12-15 mil in its first week. who agrees?

Hexen
Hexen
10 years ago

12-15 mil in its first week you say……I think you forgot to add this s/

Snaaaake
Snaaaake
10 years ago

No way man, it'll be a miracle if GOWIII even sell 7 million copies.

Hexen
Hexen
10 years ago

My guess is less then half of those 7 million.But why does that matter anyway; it won't make it any more epic then it already is.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

I'd be surprised at 4 million.


Last edited by WorldEndsWithMe on 2/27/2010 9:12:28 PM

bigrailer19
bigrailer19
10 years ago

my guess is it will only sell around 2 million in its first week. it probbaly wont suepass 8 million for a long time either.

Taha1
Taha1
10 years ago

@jawknee

you probably have a router that works well with ps3's upnp however most don't.
and i dont get disconnected either but when you try to speed up your ps3's downloads by using dmz on the ps3 or stuff it will cause problems

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Definitely the most brutal fun I ever had. Nice preview Benster. Wonder if PSXE will be inclined to give it a 10er.

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
10 years ago

It depends on who reviews it , I find Arnold to be a bit more stern .

Shams
Shams
10 years ago

The other things, Ben, that made me a bit disappointed was that I had just finished GOW collection and the Bayonetta demo, both of which clock in at 60fps, before playing the demo, which was at 30fps, with occasional blips at 60fps like in AC or inFamous at the edge of areas.

And although, everything was beautifully drawn, and beautifully animated, I could not help but feel the move set was identical to GOW2 with just a couple more moves.

Being a NG fan, I was also a little disappointed to being stuck to a fixed camera, instead of a free-roaming one.

So although it did have it's wow moments, despite the limitations, I still didn't think it approached U2 or KZ2 in the visual department.

Well, from the French PSM3 review you notified us, my interest was thankfully restored. The review very simply says in the visual/technical department, that "forget U2, and forget the demo, which it will make you almost pity, forget every game you wanted up until now. Even the great Nathan Drake will falter/stumble/shake…"

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

I think you need to go back and play GoW2…just about everything I did in this demo outside of the basic attacks was entirely different. Also, I thought they never got the camera right in NG; it always sat too low behind Ryu and was a continual irritation during combat. The fixed cameras in the GoW's, from my recollection, never once infringed on my capability to fight.

As for the graphics, I know the final product will look and run better. After all, this demo is quite old now.

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
10 years ago

The demo build is almost an year old .

NoSmokingBandit
NoSmokingBandit
10 years ago

YES! Someone else thinks NG's camera is way too low! I kept finding myself reaching for the stick to adjust the camera up but it wouldnt work, lol. They should have a fixed camera like GoW.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Sometimes the fixed camera pisses me off because I can't look at something I want to see or I'm too far away from the character, but you tend to need all those buttons and sticks to run the action.

inkme101
inkme101
10 years ago

@ shams

are you a square, square, triangle type of guy?
you must be! because if you actually used the combos the way the fighting mechanic was made to be used then youd notice that the only likenesses are square and triangle. try something more complicated than button mashing and youll see its one helluva fighting system!

Shams
Shams
10 years ago

With NG1/2, I initially had the same problem with the free-roaming camera, because I was a DMC fan (dmc1 rocked, dmc2 didn't but was stylish, dmc3se was my favorite, and dmc4 was a hodge-podge chimera, Bayonetta should've been the successor to the third). DMC used a partially free-roaming camera, where for the most part it was fixed, say in enclosed areas, but allowed occasional adjustment via clicking or adjusting R3 for scanning areas. But you never had to adjust it, say, mid-combat. If something ever obscured your sight, like a column, it was nothing that a little hop out of the way couldn't solve.

However, once I realized I had to actively control the camera in NG (by clicking on R1 to recenter it in midst of combat or using R3 to follow Ryu), it became second-nature, where I would even forget that I was actually doing it. R1 automatically puts the camera up and behind Ryu, making the action more cinematic, dynamic, and in your face, so you learn to just tap it (when needed) right before, or while approaching an enemy. It became such a habit, that I found myself instinctively trying to do it while playing GOW3. Using R3 allowed you to manually adjust the camera, say, traversing a play-field.

But the true advantage of the adjustable camera, as World says, is for platforming, and particularly for judging distances, finding obscured paths, and hidden items, making the whole experience more immersive, and therefore, totally worth the initial bump in the learning curve of having to get used to the camera (which I mysteriously never did when I played NG through for the first time on xbox, but I only did when I played Sigma).

In GOW3, the new moves I found were the dashing battering ram, a modifed version of the L1 heavy, heavy, heavy attack, a scorpion get-over-here grab, a L1 light cross hit, and whatever new moves offered by the cestus. I was hoping they would've used the light/heavy counter system from Chains of Olympus instead of just striking the ground like in GOW2, so hopefully they'll fix that. And I'm sure we'll be getting a plethora of other moves from the other weapons offered in the game as well. Though, I myself, didn't find the move set significantly different, I noticed that the hit-detection felt more solid, and the animations were retooled to feel more vicious. And how can we forget the new footage of the real-time battle against the Leviathan on Gaia's arm? Don't get me wrong, I'm totally psyched for this game.

Shams
Shams
10 years ago

Whoa, sorry. That was way too long. What can I say? I love talking about what I love.

Shams
Shams
10 years ago

Carlos, NG fans can't be button mashers 😉

inkme101
inkme101
10 years ago

@shams
AGREED!!
but your complaint made you sound like one! sorry


Last edited by inkme101 on 2/27/2010 10:57:11 PM

Shams
Shams
10 years ago

Aw, no worries, man. I realize that critiquing GOW can be a sensitive matter 😉

NoSmokingBandit
NoSmokingBandit
10 years ago

Holy God's sweet queef this game is going to be amazing…