Scheduled release date:
March 9, 2010
Publisher:
Capcom
Developer:
Capcom
Number Of Players:
1-2 (Online Co-Op)
Genre:
Action
Release Date:
March 9, 2010


You know, I appreciate it when a developer listens. Although, I appreciate a lot more when a developer listens before actually releasing the product the first time around. Unfortunately, from what I gather, Capcom seems to have done neither. While all of the enhancements added for Resident Evil 5 Gold should make it more than a worthwhile experience for many who enjoyed the game despite it's archaic controls, it's actually the lack of a new control scheme, found commonly in games like Uncharted and Gears of War, that would've had me all excited.

On one hand, I don't understand why Capcom can't just release a patch for those who just want the updated controls. On the other hand, I don't understand why I've seen no mention of new control schemes being added to this Gold Edition, which should've been called Director's Cut, to keep it traditional. Because, let's face it, this is essentially Resident Evil 5: Director's Cut. In any case, admittedly, this is a package that does offer considerably more than what the original game had. First, I'll get the little stuff out of the way…there are four new costumes. Yep, big whoop. Now moving on…

There is an all new pair of side-stories, one featuring Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine, and the other featuring Jill and Josh Stone. In Lost in Nightmares, Chris and Jill are back at the Spencer Mansion from Resident Evil 1, with all new puzzles to solve and more secrets to discover. In all honesty, I am a *huge* sucker for nostalgic trips down memory lane in full-HD (example: Metal Gear Solid 4 made me wet during chapter 4), so I absolutely cannot wait to see how amazing the mansion looks with the all new visuals. I mean sure, we had the Resident Evil remake, but that was still pre-rendered.

The second side-story is the Desperate Escape, where Jill is found unconscious at the Tricell facility and awoken by BSAA Agent Josh Stone. The pair must escape the facility alive fighting through hordes and hordes of enemies. Sounds like a good time to me.

Then we have The Mercenaries Reunion, which is a mode where eight new playable characters have to take out as many enemies as possible within an allotted amount of time. A Versus mode exists that'll allow you to take control of numerous RE5 characters and engage into four player battles. Four variations of the versus mode are featured.

Now of course, everything you got in the original RE5 will be carried over here. But I'm still really holding out for an option to enjoy the game using an all new and action friendly control mechanic. There are some really cool features in the game, and I simply will not be able to enjoy them until I have a better control over the game.

Subscribe
Notify of
33 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
ace_boon_coon
ace_boon_coon
10 years ago

eh i think i'll pass on this.

Lazytrappin
Lazytrappin
10 years ago

I didn't buy this game simply because of the controls. Controls mean a lot to me. Bad controls equals no purchase. I thought Killzone 2 had lagging controls. They just weren't resposive enough even after setting the sensitivity as high as possible.

Charger7302
Charger7302
10 years ago

I love this game, I got it as a gift from my uncle(limited edition red xbox) and since then I have loved it but I hate the way it feels on the xbox. The ps3 controller is the best(IMO) so maybe I will buy this gold edition on my ps3.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

Could you please explain to me why you love this game. I've yet to understand this myth.

OtisFeelgood
OtisFeelgood
10 years ago

I don't know what all the complaining is about. I enjoyed this game also and plan on getting the Gold Edition.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

-Weak Story
-Boring characters
-Slow Pace with no real purpose
-Terrible level design
-Action shooter mechanics
-Little to no resemblance of being a survivor horror game
-Forced Co-play
-Short playthrough with no real reason to play again
-Loss of Merchant aspect
-Terrible and I mean TERRIBLE item carrying system.
-Took what was bad about 4 and expanded upon it
-Took what was good about 4 and RE and threw it out the window
-Chris does steroids evidently?
-Far too easy
-There's more but you get the point.

coverton341
coverton341
10 years ago

I really enjoyed RE5 despite my constant hate of the controller scheme, but I think I will take a pass on this one. I mean the added content does sound cool and all but am I the only one who smells a cash grab attempt? I mean as much as some people hate DLC this is an example of when you could release the extra content as DLC for 2.99 for the costume pack, and 9.99 for each of the extra side missions costing the gamer around 25 bucks instead of 60 for a whole new game with 2 side missions and four costumes.

Oops, and the extra Merc characters for 5.99 for the lot of them. 30 bucks for DLC as opposed to 60 for a new disc.

Fane1024
Fane1024
10 years ago

They are releasing it as DLC.

Lex Luthor
Lex Luthor
10 years ago

Conclusion:

1) Capcom is trying to milk RE5 (again) and strip us more money.

2) If you already have the game, forget it and move on

3) For the rest of us who haven't played it (And I was damn sure something like this was most probable) wait until it drops to 29.99

This is my pacific protest against Crapcom's new "policies"

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

Please correct me if I'm not remembering right, but wasn't this one of the 3 games(besides ACII & FFXIII) that was also "out"ed for taking out a bunch of content????

If I'm right, then now we know where it all went.

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
10 years ago

You are 100% right.

Actually Capcom took it a step further, by charging for content which was already found on the disc. The 1st batch of DLC was nothing more than a key to unlock it.


Last edited by Mr Bitey on 2/10/2010 6:57:11 PM

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

DVD9 FTW!

Culoslap
Culoslap
10 years ago

I liked RE5 and I think I'll be getting this eventually. I think the game would have been more fun if it upped the difficult by adding a lot more Majini on screen. Similar to the first RE5 trailer. This could be balanced by making the control scheme similar to that of Dead Space. Just a thought.

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
10 years ago

As someone who has beaten 0-5 and Code Veronica, I don't see what all of the fuss about the controls is.

It's a Resident Evil game. The controls have evolved over the years, but still stay true to their roots.

Just like in real life, you can't run and gun. Standing still to aim is important. And as a result, head shots are vital.

Lex Luthor
Lex Luthor
10 years ago

"Just like in real life, you can't run and gun. Standing still to aim is important. And as a result, head shots are vital. "

Nathan Drake would like to have a word with you about this…

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
10 years ago

Ha! Good point. And good avatar also.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

The controls were the least of my complaints. But if they must be remade, something close to Dead Space's would do.

YesterdysRising
YesterdysRising
10 years ago

First off, I felt a little dirty reading this part… "(example: Metal Gear Solid 4 made me wet during chapter 4)" haha, but anyways, I enjoyed RE5 a lot and I still play it sometimes. I don't think I'll end up buying this version even though I'd like to play the new stories. I guess it also depends on how long they last and if I can get anything for my old copy of RE5. I wish they would add them as DLC for just a few bucks but we all know that won't happen…

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

Arnold has both male and female genitals, it's natural nowadays.

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
10 years ago

I might buy this when it hits 30$.

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
10 years ago

That won't take long considering the MSRP will be 39.99. Someone will have it with a $10GC most likely. There you have it.

___________
___________
10 years ago

3 letters.
meh.
capcom could not pay me to play this game, no scratch that they could not give me a free car to play this game thats how much i hated resident evil 5.
F.E.A.R 2 going from a horror game to action i could handle.
silent hill going from a horror game to action i could handle.
but resident evil?
sorry that was a little too much.
i mean WTF capcom?
RE5 = the worst game i have ever played!
worse than the avatar, worse than rouge warrior, worse than halo 3, worse than damnation.
worse than anything out there!
some how managed to also obtain the most disappointing game ive ever played also.
i had MASSIVE! expectations for RE5 since RE1,2,3,4 are some of my favorite games of all time.
capcom you will NEVER! earn my respect ever again.
everything they have released this gen was either crap or no where near as good as their predecessors.
example RE5 which was both.
DMC 4 which was not crap but was no where near as good as either 1,2 or 3.
dark void, the less said about that the better!
hopefully they can redeem themselves with dead rising 2 and lost planet 2, but its going to take a hell of allot more than 2 good games to win me back.
allot of developers have gone greedy this gen, and as a result their games are no where near as good as their predecessors.
capcom, rockstar, $E just to name a few.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

RE5 was one of the WORST gaming moments of my life. I loved everything before it in the series and had been anticipating this game for 3 years and 30 minutes into it I knew I was in for a huge letdown. This is not Resident Evil, this is Action Joe Somebody vs African Crazees.

main_event05
main_event05
10 years ago

True, I wish I could blame M$ and their ADHD gamers who want explosions and fast action, but RE started this direction before them, although I can say they exasperate things. I would like to see a good ol' return to survival horror. For example, they could redo or reimagine previous titles with the new style with zombies but severely limit ammo and make head shots instants kill, (but they should still give us the option to blow a random limb off at will).

Shatterday
Shatterday
10 years ago

I really enjoyed RE5 until I started playing it online. Once that let me down, there really wasn't much replay value to the game. I pretty much just got my platinum and moved on…

Again, I think everyone needs to stop being butthurt about the controls. I had a great time regardless of whether I could run and shoot at the same time or not.

I really enjoyed being able to play through the whole story with a friend over the PSN. I hope that features like that spread to other games.

As much as I would love to play the 2 new stories, I don't think it's worth rebuying the game.

I'll always be a Resident Evil fan. No matter where they take the series, I'll likely follow… I'm a tool. Though, that doesn't mean that I'll always like every decision they make.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

I can easily look past the controls, they never bothered me before. My biggest problems were the direction they took the series. No longer does it have anything to do with survivor horror but rather a mixture of FarCry and GearsofWar. Also the forced co-play really pissed me off. This is Resident Evil, not Army of Two. Resident Evil is all about being on your own within the story and being scared out of your mind. I was NEVER scared or alarmed during the entire playthrough.

I'm a tool too though and I will play whatever they throw at us next but if it sucks just like 5 I won't be keeping it either.

Shatterday
Shatterday
10 years ago

Yeah… Resident Evil used to be scary but I think they're taking it in the action direction… I remember when I was younger and playing Resident Evil 3 and not knowing when Nemsis was going to jump out and shove a tentacle through my face.(The main character was Jill so I don't feel bad about saying that)

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
10 years ago

Actually, Shatterday, I figured out how to know if Nemesis will appear: Listen to the music of the game. If it's different than the usual "ER"-ish music, then that means RUN AS FAST YOU CAN, NEMESIS IS OUT TO GET YOU!

They need to bring it over to the EU store, first.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
10 years ago

I agree they're taking it in a new direction, a wrong one in my opinion since it looks nothing like a RE game or a survival horror. If Nintendo took Zelda and threw out the RPG aspect and simpy sold it as an adventure game comparable to Tomb Raider people would be outraged.

main_event05
main_event05
10 years ago

I guess the RE dream is almost over, (its in that stage where you are awake but the dream was so good that you pretend to be asleep hoping it'll pick up where it left off). Oh well, looks like I'll be swapping Umbrella for FoxHound soon. At least MGS will always be a stealth based. surely?


Last edited by main_event05 on 2/12/2010 1:40:29 AM

thisbluewolf
thisbluewolf
10 years ago

RE is one of my favorite games to play. So i am supporting capcom by getting the GOLD!

anyone know where to get it for cheap. lol

thisbluewolf
thisbluewolf
10 years ago

found it! searched on google shopping. sorted by price and got a result of 39.99

woohoo!

hmss1
hmss1
10 years ago

I read all your conversations around here and i get some of your points.. others not really.. i mean some of u complain about RE series changing a lot from horror to action and u dont want RE to change u want it to follow the previews game editions so why complaining about dont being able to walk and shoot? in RE we've never been able to do that so u should be waiting for it…
i can say i loved all RE series so far and i cant wait to buy my RE 5 Gold Edition… I'm not here to critic anyone and their opinions, i'm just saying what i think… Hope u guys can appreciate RE 5 as much as me cumps to everyone