Scheduled release date:
February 2010
Publisher:
NIS America
Developer:
Hit Maker Co.
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
RPG


It’s yet another promising JRPG for the PlayStation 3 and now that it’s confirmed for a February release in the US and a March 12 launch in Europe, we can finally delver an in-depth preview with all the latest information concerning storyline, characters and combat. Perhaps most intriguing about this game is the co-op style Nippon Ichi takes with the battles; you will switch between two primary characters that must destroy both the physical and mental side of any given foe. See, this fantasy world is governed by the power of the Gods who handle life and death but for some reason, the deity responsible for the life part has a stronger hold on the world. Therefore, when you slay the physical side of an enemy, it will return as an even more powerful and supposedly immortal creature. What to do? Why, incorporate the powers of both the Blade and the Sealer, of course, so as to completely eradicate the offending being’s soul from the planet. Here’s where things get interesting.

Nine will be the Blade; he’s 25, confident and unafraid of making a bad impression. He is joined by the Sealer, a girl named Aisha, who is the enigma of enigmas. Long ago, her lack of discipline caused her to accidentally unleash some sort of catastrophe on the world, and it was decided that she must learn to control her power. This apparently required her being cloistered; separated from the outside world to prevent another disaster. Other characters include Nine’s step-brother, Alfred, and the country’s ruler, Azelride. Nine and Aisha are both well aware of their skills and have been trained to defeated the Belzeds (the undead), and this is where you come in. Obviously, considering the state of the world, you need both unique powers in order to vanquish your foes, which means close teamwork will be crucial. And because I know many of you have asked about the combat mechanic, let’s address that now.

You will definitely have to switch back and forth between Nine and Aisha; there will be reasons to do this outside of battles, too. The battles will be turn-based and no, you won’t have to worry about wasting a turn to alternate between the two main characters, so that’s good news. Nine should lead the attack, as his physical assault will engrave a seal of sorts onto the enemy; a seal that Aisha can then use as the target of her magical “sealing” attack. If you keep going with Nine, you can seal multiple enemies or even distinct enemy parts (arms, legs, etc.), after which Aisha can unleash her power and really tear up the screen. The more foes you “mark” with Nine, the bigger Aisha’s power will be and the faster you will be able to dispose of the nasties. However, don’t think for a second that such a system will get repetitive – because it sounds like it could, right? – because NIS has tossed a few wrenches into the works that will require player adaptation. The result should be a dynamic combat format.

As a brief example of the aforementioned diversity, certain enemies may not be vulnerable to Nine’s attack. In this particular case, it’s Aisha who will have to make the first move with her Seal magic, and then Nine will be able to use a “Demon Absorption” ability. This lets him steal away magic points. The point is that each enemy may have to be dealt with in a different manner, despite the fact that the power of both characters will almost always be required. As for the visuals, although I don’t believe the screenshots really do the game justice, you’ll be looking at a very artistic presentation with watercolor-like character designs and full event scenes. Lastly, you’ll be able to customize both Nine and Aisha to your heart’s content; there will be more player freedom than you might expect, and strategy/battle tactics are paramount. Target the arms to avoid powerful attacks, target the legs to stop an enemy’s movement and ultimately, seal ‘em all away to insure total victory. Sounds like a definite plan.

February really is jam-packed but for fans of this sub-genre, Last Rebellion might be a must-try. You don’t see games like this that often anymore, you know. Feel free to check out the game’s official site , too; they gots a cool new trailer to watch.

Subscribe
Notify of
44 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
10 years ago

How the hell did you do that? The 4 articles at once, I mean? Not even a minute's time difference between them.

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
10 years ago

oops, nvm, I looked at the 0 comments in each article and thought it was the time it was posted.

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
10 years ago

Anyway, about the game: So there's no multiple characters at once on the screen? Doesn't really seem my type of thing, but I'll have to wait for the review and then judge.

Alienange
Alienange
10 years ago

So it's only two main characters? There's no other party members? Makes me a little nervous …

Hezzron
Hezzron
10 years ago

Army Of Two: RPG Style

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

What about Alfred and Azelride?

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Okay so firstly, this sounds awesome, is it truly only $40? Secondly, I read that Nine and Aisha share the same body and you have to kind of switch or morph into the other one, that true?

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

I think it'll be $50.

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
10 years ago

Amazon has it listed for 39.99.

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Well, maybe. But sources, including IGN, have it listed at $50.

Oxvial
Oxvial
10 years ago

not going to buy this.

TheHighlander
TheHighlander
10 years ago

Turn based JRPG? Hmmm….must see more… 😉

Kowhoho
Kowhoho
10 years ago

This peaks my interest just for being turn based.

OtisFeelgood
OtisFeelgood
10 years ago

Same here.

hellish_devil
hellish_devil
10 years ago

Sounds interesting. Any idea on the level cap and the amount of side-quests???

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

any true jrpg level caps at 99

piratedrunk
piratedrunk
10 years ago

NIS games though are known for capping at 9999..so that's an interesting question

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

wow didn't know that

just2skillf00l
just2skillf00l
10 years ago

I like where this game is going…can't wait for more info. Turn-based too, sounds like my piece of pie!

hellish_devil
hellish_devil
10 years ago

Just watched the trailer and I LOVED IT. The music was great, and the graphics are good, I liked them. But there wasn´t much gameplay, so I still have to watch that game in action


Last edited by hellish_devil on 1/18/2010 11:18:04 PM

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
10 years ago

I just might get this over bioshock 2…

___________
___________
10 years ago

WHAT!
are you insane?
come on im sure its safe to say bioshock 2 will be 10 times better than this.

piratedrunk
piratedrunk
10 years ago

hey it all depends on your preference. I personally am waiting until bioshock is bargain priced like the first one

___________
___________
10 years ago

mmmm true.
my cuz hated bioshock even though many say it was the best game released that year.
especially for the storyline, and combat and the little twist at the end.

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
10 years ago

I have bioshock, and i love it. I didn't say i wasn't gonna get bioshock at all. It's just that its been soo long since ive seen a good story with this type of style. It sounds interesting too. Plus i don't have a single rpg in my ps3 library yet and ffxiii is sooo far away…for me at least.

Roach721
Roach721
10 years ago

Heh, just saw the trailer looks ok, i guess but nothing special.To me Resonance of Fate sounds and looks better it represents Tri-Ace's brief break from longtime publisher Square Enix,but who knows now there with Sega.Considering that Square just gave us PS3 users the finger am willing to give it a try.

Arvis
Arvis
10 years ago

Dude, I am SO hyped for Resonance of Fate. I hope it turns out well.

-Arvis

rell
rell
10 years ago

i do want this game so badly

huh1678
huh1678
10 years ago

I want!Will get my hands on this asap

main_event05
main_event05
10 years ago

You had me at, "Turn Based".
*Tear

mastiffchild
mastiffchild
10 years ago

Which is where a lot of jrpgs still lose me these days, sadly. Not that I didn't enjoy loads of turn based rpg/jrpgs because I did and, sometimes, still do today but I just get tired of it after so long yet everyone clings to it like it can't be a jrpg without it.

I realise that here the twist is the two players attacking different parts of the enemies but, as usual, it's just window dressing and is basically JUST turn based combat yet again and I worry that the lower quality(or at least lower review metas) this gen are because of things like this. Jrpgs are scared to lose their existing fans so don't want to change too much and don't want NOT to appeal to those who didn't like turn based or are used to things like TPS/FPS games and that kind of action-and so they just tweak it a little and the same is true of action RPG adding slight turn based bits and bobs or just adding more of the usual micro management and exploration trad turn based games always offered.

However, while I understand the quandary that sees almost every single numbered FF have a load of people up in arms over little(or more major) changes made to appeal to a new audience while trying to stay close enopugh to tradition to keep existing players I'm just not convinced the way devs are doing it do their games any favours myself.

This gen the jrpg I enjoyed most wasmn't trrad at all-it was VC which is as much a RTS done in TPview as an rpg of any kind but I like it not just for the obvious tjhi8ngs like the artstyle, character development and not even really for the refreshing combat. No, it's because it wasn;'t afraid to make REAL changes rather than cosmetic ones like this. Because it was BRAVE I liked it, mainly, I think.

Now, jrpg devs haven't got the freedom we gamers have and have to break even and VC hardly set the sales world alight even if it should have(FFS the sequel got shunted to the rpg happy PSP!)bút, I'd argue, neither have any other more trad jrpgs on the 360(we haven't had many yet on PS3 to judge)except, maybe, Tales but that, like FF, is a big franchise anyway. Perhaps if devs would just go EITHER way and stick with what we all know and love and keep the purity to concentrate on that genres strengths in story, exploration, character dev and levelling up your character and his/her party and attacks they'd be better off. Maybe the same is true of action RPGs as well and they could be better off sticking to the blueprint and upping the ante elsewhere a la DS?

Whatever, my point is IF they're going to mix it up don't mess about as, to me, it dilutes everything and though I din't know that's the case with LR yet I do suspect it might be as it's another game that just has a minor twist on the turn based genre. It's where LO fell down for me, among a host of others recently as well-ahgian with the minor twists.

I'm sure it's probably just me but I honestly think games like these would be better of pure or better off really mashing the genres together with gusto and bravery in the hope of finding something new, exciting and likely to get people to look inot their other more traditional, pure games too, no?

But a semi co-op twist which, by it's nature limits party members to the two of them, just feels like a desperate sop to altering what we already love in the hope that it'll attract more gamers but at heart it's still too far away from what people who don't play jrpgs anyway are used to that it'll still stay niche as it ever would have been and won't please the faithful as much as more of what they really already love would do.

Maybe I'm totally wrong (and to be fair I'll still definitely look into this if and when it comes to the UK)and being way too romantic over all this but it seems to me like jrpgs are struggling outside of the really big names to make any sales impact at all(SO4, for example, sold underwhelmingly on 360 for a game with a strong wstern fanbase-and the jury is out on whether PS3 gamers will pick up a late port of a critically abused game as well)and so must either go the whole hog in spreading their net or trust the gamers they already have and make sure they give them what they know they like and cut their budget cloth accordingly(as Atlus did by keeping Persona3 and4 on the PS2 rather than going the expensive HD route right off the bat or as the even more niche Disgaea3 did on PS3 by not trying to push the system whatsoever in tech trms). If I'm right and they carry on as many, many have then I do worry whether we'll see so many jrpgs next gen and whether we'll see much of an upturn in quality this time round either.

BTW, don't hang me for my opinion as it is only that-one persons worry. Other things have had their effects as well like MS being badly advised into timed exclusivity over a few titles to try and expensively succeed in the Japanese market but ultimately I feel the turn based, and action based, jrpg genres are at a crossroads and devs need to think carefully before choosing which road they eventually choose to take. How many poor reviewing and poorer selling games can the genre take anyway?

It could be that the audience being more split between platforms is also hobbling them a little or a lot but I see the big number of them coming this year as pivotal to the survival of the genre as a whole and really hope for some gems among the muck to get more gamers looking into a kind of gaming that has always offered amazing playability and amaziong value for those prepared to give it a real go.That is all, worry rant over!

The Doom
The Doom
10 years ago

@mastiffchild
tl; dr

Hexen
Hexen
10 years ago

People and their long books.

Gamer Girl Gemo
Gamer Girl Gemo
10 years ago

I like the idea of turn based… Last game that I saw that was turn based was FFX. Oh, the good old days… Anyway, I'll have to see if I want this or not. Right now, I'm undecided, but it's a definate maybe…

MysteriousMagus
MysteriousMagus
10 years ago

FFX was my favorite FF… they should make more of that style 🙁

Ricochet
Ricochet
10 years ago

Wow, what's with the surge for JRPG's for the PS3 this Q1. I still haven't even touched Vakyria Chronicles (yeah, hit me). Anyways, I think I can wait till April to play this and Tales of Vesperia.

Arvis
Arvis
10 years ago

*hits*

-Arvis

Banky A
Banky A
10 years ago

*Slaps*

MysteriousMagus
MysteriousMagus
10 years ago

*Punches*
At least I tried the demo!!!

Lotusflow3r
Lotusflow3r
10 years ago

Like the sound of this! Consider it purchased

Hexen
Hexen
10 years ago

+_+

Rings0fUranus
Rings0fUranus
10 years ago

remember the days when, from this "sub-genre" came some of the greatest games of all time? snes/psone era…ah the good old jrpg, how i've miss ye

Banky A
Banky A
10 years ago

INTERESTED.

stemon
stemon
10 years ago

Turn based FTW! game will go under the radar very fast i wish NIS would do a 3d full on disgaea although that would take away its charm heh