Scheduled release date:
January 12, 2010
Publisher:
Capcom
Developer:
Airtight Games
Number Of Players:
1-2
Genre:
Action/Adventure
Release Date:
January 12, 2010


You may not realize it just yet, but Capcom has high hopes for Dark Void and they fully plan to push this game very hard. You may have already seen some TV commercials and just as a frame of reference, when I got Resident Evil 5 for Christmas, I found a Dark Void insert advertisement inside the box. Furthermore, although they have significantly slashed their ambitious sales forecast for the promising title, the publisher still expects it to sell well…just not quite as well as their initial hope of 2 million copies. Lastly, they’ve got the now very-busy Nolan North voicing the main character, which always adds a definite dose of quality and flavor; this guy is guaranteed to get plenty of acting gigs in the industry from here on out. But the question is, are we looking at a title that has the requisite amount of refinement and polish? Can it compete with the other relatively big games of January to earn a place on the elite sales charts?

Well, if the playable demo is any indication, I’m going to say…maybe. The demo, which is now available to download on the Network and Marketplace, is brief but it does allow you to sample both aspects of the gameplay: combat in the air and on the ground. See, the big selling point for Dark Void – the one major element that separates it from any run-of-the-mill third-person shooter – is what developer Airtight Games has called “vertical battles.” This means you will face conflicts in mid-air thanks to your nifty futuristic jetpack that essentially turns you into a superhero. The jetpack affixed to your back allows you to boost, hover, roll, perform a variety of evasive maneuvers, and even fire upon both flying and stationary targets. When flying, bullets will fire from the top of the pack; when hovering, you’ll use whatever weapon you have equipped. This allows for a great deal of immediate diversity, especially because both gameplay elements appear to be fully realized.

You start with the flying part and although the aiming reticle did feel a touch too sensitive (you can alter it, of course, but even so), this was definitely the best part of the demo. The mechanics actually reminded me a bit of Warhawk as the controls were mostly accessible and responsive, and with the boost and rolling maneuvers, it really felt quite familiar. The frame rate didn’t stutter, either, and it was fun to zip around and experiment. I did feel a little susceptible, though, as you can sustain damage very quickly and I didn’t seem quite maneuverable enough to avoid an enemy directly behind me. But all in all, I was encouraged…until I landed and started playing the more standard third-person shooter part. On the ground, it’s not as impressive due to the very loose controls and guns that feel underpowered. When moving around inside some cramped hallways, I was forced to fight these alien-things that dropped from the ceiling and crawled along the floor. But they were very fast and the camera and controls went spastic down there.

At one point, when backed into a corner, the camera sat behind the wall, leaving me completely blind. And with the loose controls, it was difficult to deal with such enemies. Now, the rest of it seems fine; there’s your usual cover option that works decently enough, the enemies don’t appear to be stupid and the number of possibilities when combining flight and ground combat is almost limitless. The graphics aren’t all that impressive and besides Nolan North’s voice, I’m not sure there’s anything to get excited about concerning the sound and music, but remember, we’re only talking about a 10-minute demo. Dark Void does have a lot going for it but I’m thinking the loose controls during ground combat will really have a significantly negative effect on the overall experience. It’s worth downloading to see for yourself, though, so give it a shot if you’ve got the time.  Just as a reminder, the game comes out this week.

Subscribe
Notify of
35 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Oxvial
Oxvial
10 years ago

This reminds me The Rocketeer and like the movie the demo was boring .

Diggity Dan
Diggity Dan
10 years ago

Did anybody else notice the excessive screen tearing too? It was pretty distracting to me…

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

Oh yea I noticed it. It was horrible. It's Unreal, I have never seen a game made with Unreal that doesn't have screen tearing. I know it's not unique to Unreal(Uncharted 1 had a lot too)but it's certainly seems to be a constant problem with that engine.


Last edited by Jawknee on 1/10/2010 2:34:36 AM

___________
___________
10 years ago

why do people think uncharted was made using the unreal 3 engine?
it wasnt, it was made using the naughty dog 2 engine.
as if a first party game is going to use such a crappy engine like UE3.
dunno where people are getting it from though ive seen so many posts saying that.

St_Jimmy
St_Jimmy
10 years ago

I don't think he is sayibng that Uncharted 1 was made by the unreal engine, i think he is saying that it's not only on the unreal engine that there is screen tearing and he just used uncharted 1 as an example of a game that was made without the unreal engine that had a lot of screen tearing.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

What Kevin said.

Screen tearing is a constant problem with Unreal games but it's certainly not limited to it. Uncharted 1 being an example of a non unreal game with tearing. Read my post again _________.

NoSmokingBandit
NoSmokingBandit
10 years ago

Havent they been working on this for a while?
I have my reservations, but i dont think i'll be picking this up until it drops in price.

Kowhoho
Kowhoho
10 years ago

I agree that the ground battle was less than impressive. And another thing, the flight maneuvers are extremely uncomfortable. Press R3, and WHILE doing that, move both analog sticks in different direction? Pressing r3 and move the stick at the same time was strange enough.

mastiffchild
mastiffchild
10 years ago

The ground combat was awfully stilted , imo, and the flying fell between sim and arcadey in feel and as a result was, for me, a mess which also made me feelm a bit sick and, you're so right, the controls are a little convoluted to boot. I can go on with the problmes too:there's slowdown and screen tear, there's average animations and genric alien models and for a Capcom title it just feels, 'y'know, a bit cheap.

For me Bemn's being VERY charitable about the game if the demo is ANYTHING to go by at all as it's certainly the poorest thing I think Capcom have made since the abomination that was CTYD on the Wii! Usually, and last gen especially, Capcom were/are one of my favourite developers/publishers but this generation they failed to spark for me really with DMC4 and RE5 being the biggest let downs and this just fels a fair bit "amateur hour" and seems to have a whole host of schoolboy errors(and on both systems as the 360 version has it's own share of the slowdown and tearing, trust me). For a game they've had on the table for an inordinate amount of time for a new IP it's very disappointing and I don't think they've achieved a great deal in delaying it from what i've seen.

If anything it's going thee same way as Bionic Commando did and doesn't, as far as we know, even have the redeeming feature of something as wonderfully dim as the "wife arm" to laugh at!Very cheap and very sad when you consider the bleedin' 8bit DV game looks a whole lot more promising!

RekeHavick
RekeHavick
10 years ago

Exactly what I was going to mention (very akward jetpack manuevering) – I was exited for this demo – I played through it twice (to make sure it wasn't me) then I promptly erased it from the HD. I will keep an eye on reviews and such, but I'm almost sure that I'm not interested at all anymore.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

Never even heard of it.

rogers71
rogers71
10 years ago

I have seen my share of ads for this game and after playing the demo I don't think they will be getting close to their sales projections. I was not impressed.

Snaaaake
Snaaaake
10 years ago

Ground battle sucks ass after Gears and Uncharted.
Air battle was kinda hard though, I had a hard time trying to destroy THREE Watcher disc.

And like rogers71, I'm not impressed with Dark Void so far, it'll either be wait till price drop or review.

Qubex
Qubex
10 years ago

Dark Void should remain in the Void as far as I can tell; I did not like the demo at all. I found flying around very clumsy and difficult, the control issue sucked donkey cahoonies!

Maybe I haven't played it for long enough; but from I did experience, I didn't like it 🙁 Another good I.P. almost gone to waste…

Q!

"i am home"

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
10 years ago

Definitely not getting this game.

___________
___________
10 years ago

the demo was far to short to form a opinion on.
5 minutes of flying, 5 minutes of shooting things and thats it cya later.
i mean come on, how am i suppose to get a feel of a game after only 10 minutes?
take a look at some of the videos, they are much more interesting and impressive.
hint capcom, if your going to release a demo make it 20 minutes long MINIMUM!
if your going to make it 5-10 minutes you might as well not release one and just show videos instead.
ill be getting it on release though im a little skeptical.
publishers should be kissing EBs feet, because if they did not have their 7 day money back policy i would not of bought 1/5th of the games i have

herukuti
herukuti
10 years ago

if this game released on time and competed with red facation over the summer of 09 it probably would have been better for the gamer to have options pertaining game playing over the summer.since capcom decided to focus more on their board and business im not sure this game will reap the benefits.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
10 years ago

So the lesson is to leave the word "Dark" out of your game titles, Darksiders, Dark Void, Dark Sector, …

Qubex
Qubex
10 years ago

Lol World, yes 🙂

Q!

"i am home"

Oxvial
Oxvial
10 years ago

Darkstalkers?

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
10 years ago

I don't believe that's the lesson but I tend to be attentive. Darksiders is great, btw.

tes37
tes37
10 years ago

I thought Dark Sector was alright, not great, but definitely worth the $5 I paid for it.

Jawknee
Jawknee
10 years ago

Unimpressed. I do have to say it looks a lot nicer then most titles made with Unreal though.

The voice acting I thought was quite lame. Seemed like he was going for a Nathen Drake sorta feel. Sorry Capcom, no sale.


Last edited by Jawknee on 1/10/2010 2:36:20 AM

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
10 years ago

yawwwwwwn

Oh yeah! Can't wait to play Infamous!
And Infamous 2 should be ready for E3 (hoping)

St_Jimmy
St_Jimmy
10 years ago

random?

flamefury42
flamefury42
10 years ago

Today's my Birthday!! Thanks PSXE for posting updates and reviews. It makes me choose wisely when I want to game if it gets a bad review, then I'll know to stay away from it.

I hope all of you guys have a great day, if anybody wants my screen name on PSN, it's flamefury42.

Good job all of you at PSXE!

Mista
Mista
10 years ago

Yeah that demo definitely leaned me away from a day one purchase. With all the AAA titles coming in the next 60-90 days I need to be a little more cautious will impulse game buying. I was looking forward to Darksiders buts looks like that gonna be a bargin buy for me later. Still hoping Dantes Inferno fares better and being a DMC fan, I think with all the high praise Bayonetta is getting I gonna have to buy it. Even though I've been waiting forever for WKC it might take a backseat purchase untill after FFXIII for me now. With all the other titles like Bio 2, Dante, Bayo, GoW 3, Heavy Rain, etc, I'll never get as much time as I want to out of WKC. Actually might even wait till the summer drought. I'm still missing out on Dragons Age and AC 2 whice will be my next 2 buys before the storm hits.


Last edited by Mista on 1/10/2010 10:03:37 AM

mastiffchild
mastiffchild
10 years ago

Well, I've just got D'siders and finished a copy of Bayonetta I wangled off a mate in the press last week and can say that if you do indeed like DMC there's a hell of a lot for you tom like about Bayonetta-seeing as it's too close to the series Kamiya made earlier to really be termed a new IP in my eyes. It really is another step down the same road he took with Dante and all that's really new is the tits and the hair and torture attacks(though you can draw a parralel with the deeper combo system by thinking about the different play styles in, say, DMC3). Frankly, I feel Ka,miya's been a little lazy in creating a new game so closely mirroring his old work but that can't stop you from enjoying the romp(if you don't mind the knowing winks and wiggles that litter the game and don't feel patronised too badly by the fact it feels aimed at 12 year old boys with way more imagination than experience of the fairer sex!). Obviously, the story is as batty as a barn door in a tu tu and while it in no way deserves all the perfect scores it's getting it's undenaibly great, stylish fun-with the flashy combio system being the real start as you could make gamepl;ay as dep or mashy shallow as you wished veven if you will almost definitely end up using the same five or six moverss for most of a game with literally hundreds of combos. So, I'd say a solid 8 to 8.5 out of ten for myself and maybe a little hedhging toward the higherr end for crazy DMC fans who should love it!

BTW, imo the tales of woe about Sega's port of the game are VERY much overstated-for some reason! I found a little slowdown(not always at busy times either so it's a bit odd)and a few longer than I'd have liked load times but unless you have a real issue with patience(or lack of it) I definitely wouldn't put anyone off buying the PS3 version as the differences wouldn't be enough to overcome things like controller preference or, like my mate, if you play all your multi plats on your PS3 to save your more fragile 360 the work. Seriously, I found nothing game breaking at all, didn't think the 360 version was as perfect as it;'s made out either and that neither version have anytjhing crippling them even if the 360 version is noticably smoother and has better load times and AA, it's not by THAT much.

D'siders, though I've only got past the first couple of hours is nother game worth playing and one I feel I'll end up preferring to Bayonetta as it's got more variation in it's gameplay(outside of the 200 or so combos there's not a great deal of anything else in Bayonetta really), has more changes of pace and though it blatantly steals from other games you couldn't call it a clone of anything while Bayonetta's really just a welcome extension to DMC style gaming. They aren't very much alike as games even if some media types have compared the two quite often of late and D'siders also has a better thought out story so far. wjhere the games are simlar is in the way /uI imagine they'll both turn out to be a it Marmite. I think it's possible to dislike the arstyle of either or both games and Bayonetta's overt sexual cheek will grate on a lot of gamers too so if you think you might fall into either camp with Bayonetta I'd possibly rent first and if you don't like Darksiders aesthetic I'd do the same there or wait a few weeks for the inevitabkle price drops for SP based games these days. hope this helps fella-I know it's only my opinion but it's, at least, honest.

tlpn99
tlpn99
10 years ago

Tried it didn't like the feel of it when flying I was all over the place. So Don't think it's one I'll be buying.

Hexen
Hexen
10 years ago

I thought the game(or demo) was awful,Controlling him felt awkward and wasn't fun at all.I'll make sure to avoid the game at all cost (unless it gets praised to death).

Beamboom
Beamboom
10 years ago

Judging from the demo this is not something to buy until the reviews are out, but I agree with Ben's "maybe". I didn't find the controls to be too quirky, and as far as I remember you did not have to hold R3 while moving both sticks, it was enough to hit it once then move the sticks… I think. I had no problems with the "special moves" anyways.
And while the controls may be a tad too responsive I much prefer that to a sluggish/slow responsiveness.

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
10 years ago

I think demos can increase sales but can also decrease them.

Beamboom
Beamboom
10 years ago

Good point – and there has been very few demos I've tried that's been as good as the game itself. Take inFamous for example – the demo made me *not* buy that game. It was only after reading so much praise about it that I redecided.

dveisalive
dveisalive
10 years ago

This game is fun, Im buying it. If it has MP that would be f ing insane. I love flying around outside and inside. Capcom just makes fun addicting games.

SvenMD
SvenMD
10 years ago

They reviewed this on G4 the other day and it looked like crap. Kinda like the same gameplay that was seen in Fracture, but not as colorful.

I don't even think I'll d/l the demo…just doesn't look interesting.