Scheduled release date:
January 5, 2010
Publisher:
Sega
Developer:
Platinum Games
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
Action


For the record, I’ve been waiting for Bayonetta ever since I heard early details and saw a few screenshots well over a year ago. Although I find sadistically difficult games to be more of a chore than enjoyable entertainment, I have still overcome some of the stiffer action challenges in the past few generations. I’ve taken down every Devil May Cry (including DMC3 before the Special Edition arrived and they fixed the difficulty), and I also beat Ninja Gaiden for the Xbox, so I’ve cut my teeth on some severely punishing titles. Still, I prefer games like God of War because I believe that challenge isn’t everything; I believe we play games to escape, to feel powerful, to perform the impossible. Kratos is perfect for this; his adventures aren’t necessarily easy, but they’re still a blast to play and you almost never feel overmatched. All this being said, the style and attitude found in a game like Bayonetta has always appealed to me, so…

First of all, people will complain about the cheesiness of the dialogue and what some may describe as shameless or adolescent posturing in regards to scantily clad females and various forms of innuendo. But I think context subtlety is lost on far too many people these days (try reading a book, please) and that most don't understand what lies on the surface is merely an artistic covering. Basically, it’s supposed to embrace cheesiness; the developers aren’t striving for realistic dialogue or heroes and heroines we’d meet next door. If you still have difficulty differentiating, here’s a little hint: when the heroine blows a kiss at foes she just eliminated by wielding a weapon twice her size and using torturous magic attacks, we’re supposed to grin. We’re not supposed to scoff and go, “oh, that’s just ridiculous.” No, you’re ridiculous because you missed the very obvious pun. So do me a favor and don’t run Bayonetta through the shredder just because she’s part witch, part stripper. She’s supposed to be, genius, and by the way, the entire thing is partly – or mostly – tongue-in-cheek.  You have to realize that such presentations are designed to be parodies of themselves, in some capacity.  I just wanted to clear this up.

As for the gameplay, I’d first like to say that some reports are coming in saying the PS3 demo found in North America is actually better than the Japanese demo. After all, we’ve been hearing about how Sega plans to clean up the lesser version as much as humanly possible for its January 5 launch, and some of that work may be on display in this demo. I don’t know because I didn’t play the one on the Japan’s PSN; if any of you have, feel free to let me know if you notice any differences. Based on what I see here, though, I can understand why everyone is getting so excited for the game. Two things jump right out at you: the sheer number of options you have in combat, and the overall speed of battle. The latter is almost blinding and is about on par with the speed you might find in Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 . This may sound intimidating but I noticed that if you play longer, the game starts to slow down and you can really start to see things better. This didn’t happen when I played NG; it only happened to me in this demo…not sure why.

It’s just the onslaught of insanity that makes Bayonetta shine. For several consecutive minutes, I continually saw new things from that slim acrobat that made me go, “WTF was that ?” Her torture moves when the magic meter is full are out of control, her combo attacks are beautifully designed and wonderfully effective, and successfully tying in the evade (R2) button with your slaughter makes Bayonetta appear invincible for brief stretches of time. Dodging at the last second will enable “Witch Time,” which allows the heroine to continue to move at full speed while her foes are stuck in slo-mo for a bit. Yeah, you can deal some serious damage right then. If you had to break down each animation, you’d be impressed with the amount of effort that went into producing each one, and perhaps above all else, the game will indeed reward patience and skill. If it was just plain lame; if the game was getting in cheap shots and the enemies clearly had the advantage regardless of what you do (something I downright abhor), that’d be a different story.

I couldn’t pick up on any significant frame rate hitches and I played through the demo three times. In all honesty, the amount of sh** that’s happening on screen at once makes it tough to notice much of anything that isn’t directly linked to the fighting, but I’m sure I’d notice if the frame rate was a detriment to the gameplay. I’m not overly impressed with the visuals and I’m relatively certain they’re still a little better in the 360 version, but it’s not like they’re bad. They remind me a lot of DMC4, actually, and in some ways, there’s a certain flair and colorfulness you don’t normally find in brutal action games like this. Battling boss after boss after boss is a little nuts and something I hope I don’t have to suffer through too often in the final game, but each boss is so crazy , it’s almost a pleasure to suffer. In the end, I won’t care what kind of medal I get after each level; I just want to be able to finish it, provided my controller can withstand the attack. The game is super ridiculous fun to play, but I’m not quite sure I understand the perfect scores it has received…

That camera just isn’t right all the time, and don’t tell me it’s any different in the 360 version because I’m sure it isn’t. The speed of the game is enough to throw the camera view for a loop and moving the camera manually is surprisingly sluggish, especially in comparison to the speed at which things happen on the screen. Furthermore, I’m not convinced the “Witch Time” is 100% accurate; I’ve dodged something that was nowhere near me and still activiated Witch Time. I’m not complaining, per se, but it’s one of a few little erratic issues I found. 10 out of 10? I doubt it. But I’m now convinced it’s a game I need to at least attempt, and I can’t help but be impressed with the artistic and design efforts; what you’re looking at during intense combat is an absolute visual feast . There’s just so much going on. And being able to pick up all those diverse weapons really adds another dose of flavor to an already deep mechanic.

Oh, and one last thing: while Chloe still has the best ass in games, I think she now has some competition. Bayonetta’s curves are just…lovely.

Subscribe
Notify of
32 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
sabitrulz
sabitrulz
10 years ago

noooo, man itz the same ol' demo………but yeah provably looks bit more colorful……it's still not as smooth as dmc4……disappointed….

StevieRV
StevieRV
10 years ago

my only gripe was the manual camera movements, when steering the camera using the analog stick, it moves at an incredibly slow rate and i always cop a few hits whilst waiting 4 the camera to turn around, im perfecting the ability of facing the opponent then pressing R3 to reset the view, that seems to work best

Banky A
Banky A
10 years ago

The 'Options' menu has the answer =]

Aftab
Aftab
10 years ago

Kool. I guess I'll have to download the demo, tonight.

NeoHumpty
NeoHumpty
10 years ago

I only played the Jap version so far, so I will have to get the US one to compare. But, the one I played seemed very fuzzy, for lack of a better word. Framerate seemed fine and controls were fairly solid. It was hard to make out details, though. I hope they clean it up, but I have a full plate right now so, no loss if I have to skip it until it is cheaper.

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
10 years ago

Sweeet! I've been waiting for this preview. I played both demos and didn't notice any difference honestly. This is a really good preview so thanks. And Ben, do you like the music in this game?

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

I actually do. It seems to fit; I love the piano.

just2skillf00l
just2skillf00l
10 years ago

I'm glad there are some people who don't join in on launching bull**** at certain good titles. Yes the 10/10 may seem outlandish seeing that other titles may be more deserving of this score, however, it seems like an awesome game to me. Framerate issues and screen tearing and blahblahblah. Can we honestly say it's that bad? Bioshock which receives heavy praise had some of the worst glitches of any game I have ever played for the ps3 and for some reason not much is said about that. Unless my game was personally flawed in some magical way.

Why don't we just give the demo a try while not gazing intently at the perfect score sitting so feebly on our computers. While not thinking of rumored issues that by rumor "plague" the game. While not prejudging the game because of it's portish essence. Why don't we give these games a chance before we give up on the titles because of what someone else said. You'll only really know when you pick up the controller and play with Bayonetta yourself.

Enuff said.


Last edited by just2skillf00l on 12/5/2009 11:39:11 PM

therabbitkinge
therabbitkinge
10 years ago

Well this is great news as usual and I've been keeping a tight grip on my pre-order so its Bayonetta and Darksiders for me ^_^ action game palooza this january ya'll ^_^

firehahahahaha
firehahahahaha
10 years ago

You guys do know that you can change the camera speed right?

I was pesonaly pretty impressed with the demo, and it seems to be alot better than what I expected

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

Yes, but that doesn't stop the camera from being a little unreliable.

WolfCrimson
WolfCrimson
10 years ago

Sooo… does it compare to GoW? And I'm not talking about GoW3, any past GoW would do. Is it at least good enough to back up the ridiculous claim EDGE gave about it (Bayonetta) kicking Dante and Kratos back to the drawing board?

newchef
newchef
10 years ago

telling from the demo, i highly doubt it can compare to GoW; maybe dantes (but i not sure, havent played it yet)

Banky A
Banky A
10 years ago

Demo is great long lasting fun.
Especially when you're looking to practice doing perfect stylish fights because you played too much DMC.

ūüėČ

The Sword/Masamune/Murasame/big katana thing is a flippin' sweet idea!
Doing comobs with that and switching to the Scarborough.
To me it's like a Final Fantasy Devil May Cry.

Loves it, but not going to buy it anyway.

fatelementality
fatelementality
10 years ago

It's now between this and Darksiders for me. Until they release a Darksiders demo, I'm going with this.

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

Just played the demo.

And even though I'm not much for these type of games, Bayonetta is awesome, and is totally on my radar now.

___________
___________
10 years ago

best hack and slash game ive ever played.
only if they slapped on a decent believable story and improve the graphics.
DMC4 looks better than this, kinda sad considering by the time this is out DMC4 would be 2 years old.

Streets_74
Streets_74
10 years ago

I wanted to like this after hearing nothing but good things about it but after the demo, I don't see buying it. It looks pretty the controls are smooth, and the combos are beast, but I didn't get that feeling like I would enjoy it for long. I guess I was expecting a female Kratos or something.

JackC8
JackC8
10 years ago

Good to hear a positive preview. I'm quite impressed that they're bringing in Sony to help with some of the games issues. I'll wait for the full review and then decide. Sounds fun.

tazbrat
tazbrat
10 years ago

Demo rules my wife even loves it, the camera was not an issue with me and i never changed it at all. I like the graphics and colors, its a nice blend with the action very smooth. I'll be renting it before buying but thats to make sure it has good upgrade options and replay value…

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
10 years ago

hmmm, apparently a lot better than GoW?? ive downloaded but i've yet to play

newchef
newchef
10 years ago

not even close

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
10 years ago

yea i no, played it now and its just not very good. i hate the way she walks, its so japanese and pervy

karneli lll
karneli lll
10 years ago

For a minute there i thought you were previewing some other game involving a witch and guns, i must've downloaded the wrong demo, no?


Last edited by karneli lll on 12/6/2009 4:33:03 PM

newchef
newchef
10 years ago

was i the only one tht was completely lost on wat was happening in the story during the demo?


Last edited by newchef on 12/6/2009 6:33:17 PM

bruno_py
bruno_py
10 years ago

I've been following this site for quite sometime. I've just signed up to agree with you Ben on the last paragraph. That witch is smoking hot. No doubt about it.

Superman915
Superman915
10 years ago

I'm usually all for a generic action shoot em up with a very likeable lead character, excellent music, neat attacks, and cool monster fights, but I can't forgive the crap graphics. Sorry Sega. Get to work on that Yakuza and maybe I'll get Bayonetta when it drops to 20-30 and only if Sony does some extensive graphical work.

BigBoss4ever
BigBoss4ever
10 years ago

the demon play is just awesome. this game truly rocks and it will be the start of action genre storm of 2010 — Bayonetta, Darksiders, Dante's Inferno, GOW3, lords of Shadow, Nier ….


Last edited by BigBoss4ever on 12/6/2009 7:19:30 PM

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
10 years ago

I really don't think you can compare Bayonetta to God of War in any way. Yeah, they're in the same category – even in the same action sub-category – but they're so different in so many ways…

BikerSaint
BikerSaint
10 years ago

I saw Banonetta's bare curvaceous heiny quite a few times in the demo.

RekeHavick
RekeHavick
10 years ago

I don't know – after playing the demo a few times over, I'm just not seeing this in the same light as some (Famitsu especially – perfect score! Really?). It's too arcade for me – all the combos and points and all the on-screen noise tallying those elements really ruins the experience for me. I'm intrigued about the story – for a Japanese game is was pretty coherent and even made sense some times. I can understand that this game will appeal to many and will offer some great action sequences worth the time and effort to master. For me it doesn't come across as the 'game changer' that I thought it might become. I WILL play it some day – just not at the full price for admission.

kraygen
kraygen
10 years ago

CAMERA SPEED NOTE!

I noticed in the review and from lots of responses ppl had issues with the manual control of the camera. I did too, however you can change the speed in the options and you can make the camera move as quickly as you'd like. As for the unreliability part i didn't have any issues.


Last edited by kraygen on 12/9/2009 3:41:50 PM