Scheduled release date:
May 11, 2010
Publisher:
Atlus
Developer:
Silicon Studios
Number Of Players:
1
Genre:
Genre
Release Date:


Much like many other kids from my generation, Pong was my very first video game. And when, at the tender and naïve age of 4, I asked my father why the “ball” on the screen looked like a square, he didn’t really have an answer. He may have said something along the lines of, “it’s the best they can do,” but I honestly don’t remember. As the industry grew, we gradually erased the blatantly boxy visuals that are downright comical to behold today. However, there’s such a great deal of nostalgia and rose-tinged childhood memories wrapped up in those archaic graphics that Silicon Studios decided to take advantage. Just about anything ‘80s is a big deal today – the retro fad remains solidly in place, from what I can see – so it would stand to reason that those entering their 30s wish to take time and fondly reflect on simpler times. Enter 3D Dot Game Heroes , a game designed specifically for the gaming vets.

Of course, anyone should be able to have fun with this one, but only those who recall the dawn of gaming will fully appreciate the spoof. First of all, you may recognize that beneath that blocky veneer, this game looks a lot like the Zelda titles of old, so you should also anticipate a similar gameplay style and setting. The story is even laced with good old-fashioned cheesiness- the evil Dark King Onyx first covered the Dotnia Kingdom (ha!) in darkness and misfortune, but a certain hero defeated the king and sealed him away in a special orb. Many years have passed since that time; the land flourishing in relative peace and quiet. But now, the Dark Bishop Fuelle has located the orb and intends to free the Dark King and bring sorrow back to the world…which is where you come in, of course. The environment is entirely in 3D by royal decree, believe it or not, as the current King believes sprites are outdated and the land should definitely make the “leap.”

In a nod to many old adventure games (but again, we’re specifically thinking of Zelda ), the game will have a familiar old-school gameplay format. Your health will be displayed by apples and at full strength, your sword will grow to ridiculous size, thereby granting you more reach and power. You will also find a variety of items that will help you in your travels; objects like candles, boomerangs, and oh yes, a trusty bow can be found. But they do add a more modern tinge to the game by giving us the option of multiple (and upgradeable) weapons, which means we’ll still have some new-age flavor mixed in with that nod to ancient technology. You won’t have to worry about complex controls, though – big surprise there, right? – as you’ll really only use one button to swing your sword, another button will be allocated for item use, and you’ll hold down one of the trigger buttons to bring up your shield. You will, however, have the benefit of using the left analog stick to swing your sword in a full circle, which is something we wish we had way back when.

Ah, but it doesn’t end there; this melding of new and old continues. For example, you’ll be able to create your own character from scratch using a 3D sprite editor and every monster you collect will contribute to a growing bestiary. But defeating the creature won’t cause its profile to pop up in this bestiary; no, you actually have to bop it over the head with the book. That’s right, just get in close, smack it with the book, and that monster will occupy its rightful place in your collection. If this doesn’t put a grin on your face than you simply take your favorite hobby too seriously; this is exactly the type of feature that causes the game to be plenty endearing. So basically, you head out, battling enemies in the fields and dungeons, solving a few puzzles, all on your noble quest to stop the evil Bishop from allowing the Dark King to start a new reign of suffering. We kinda miss doing something like this in most every game we play and to relive at least a portion of the olden days with 3D Dot Game Heroes should be a pleasure.

From Software has already released this title in Japan (it came out on November 5), but Atlus will handle the distribution duties in North America. Expect to see this cute and amusing title on May 11, 2010 in the US.

Subscribe
Notify of
16 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
LegendaryWolfeh
LegendaryWolfeh
11 years ago

If this is the only game in this 3D Dot heroes, I seriously have to say, I wonder how much nintendo cares? Haha since it's obviously Zelda. (also why is it called The Legend of Zelda? Link is the main focus). But none the less, it's really kewl, it's like a sideways view of a game we only had verticle view a long time ago =)

Naztycuts
Naztycuts
11 years ago

They must have something worked out with Nintendo or something Legendary I mean damn it's not even a rip off it IS "next gen" NES Zelda ya know, I'm surprised we aren't reading about legal action, but I'll definitely buy it.

Kevadu
Kevadu
11 years ago

What laws would From Software be breaking, exactly? There are no copyrights or patents protecting the style of a game. If there were then id Software could be suing every company that makes a FPS…

This game is obviously an homage to Zelda and games like it, but as long as they aren't ripping off specific characters, enemy designs, levels, music, etc. then there's really not much Nintendo can do about it.

BTNwarrior
BTNwarrior
11 years ago

@kevadu
from the preview I have seen they rip off all these things, the music was pretty much spot on to the original legend of zelda, the enemies were near identical to the ones found in zelda games, and well it just seemed like it was all zelda with a new coat of paint (not that that is a bad thing, in fact I'll definitely pick this one up cause I loved the old zeldas)

Naztycuts
Naztycuts
11 years ago

Im sorry Kevadu but I actually watched the gameplay videdo and I'm old enough to remember playing the original, anyone who saw those damn chickens KNOWS this is Zelda redone. You can't copy a game to the T IT'S CALLED STEALING. idsoftware can't do it with fps' BECAUSE THEY ARE ALL DIFFERENT. Everything about 3d dot heroes IS Zelda from the hearts for health to the sound Link makes when he's attacked. But as I said before I will be buying this even if it is a NES ripoff. I dont need a review Zelda was fun back in the day.

Kevadu
Kevadu
11 years ago

Funny, I also watched the game videos and I also remember playing the original Zelda. I never denied the similarities, but similarities alone do not copyright infringement make.

Joystiq had an article on this very subject a while back:

http://www.joystiq.com/2009/10/10/lgj-3d-dot-game-infringement/

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

CANT WAIT CANT WAIT CANT WAIT CANT WAIT!!

End of Line.

Qubex
Qubex
11 years ago

I don't mind waiting!

Q!

"i am home"

SnipeySnake
SnipeySnake
11 years ago

"your sword will grow to ridiculous size"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzLlfU_xIFs&feature=related

___________
___________
11 years ago

ahhhh memories of the good old simple days.
its weird when you think of it games are going backwards.
getting a psp and downloading some of the ps1 classics has made me realize how much i miss the old ps1 games.
i enjoy playing them allot more than i enjoy playing any of the new games.
even R&C my favorite series of all time, the third one they made, up your arsenal is the best by far.
the more time passes the more i seem to appreciate them, wired im like that with everything.
music, movies, games, i enjoy everything more thats old than new.
maybe i was born in the wrong era.
my dream car is not a lambo or Ferrari like most kids, its actually a mustang gt.
stuff this nostalgia and bring back some of the classics, i would kill for a new ape escape or pandemonium game.
and you dont want to know what i would do for a new crash bandicoot game.
Evan name the place, price, ill be there.

Lotusflow3r
Lotusflow3r
11 years ago

from software are doing some innovative stuff! i like it!

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
11 years ago

I'm so glad to hear that Atlus picked up the publishing rights. This is one of my most anticipated games of 2010.

NeoHumpty
NeoHumpty
11 years ago

When I first saw pics from this game I was hoping it was more of a Dragon Warrior rip-off. I played the first Zelda, but was never a huge fan. I do want this game, though. Looking forward to you guys getting to review it.

frostface
frostface
11 years ago

Ahh Pong, now that really does take me back to my childhood days. I remember if you positioned the paddles in such a way, the square ball would bounce endlessly from one side of the screen to the other without either side ever scoring. You'd go off for your dinner and come back and the square was still bleeping back and forward.
Of course after Pong the Atari 2600 came into the house and there were many welts on the hands from the rapid Atari joystick bashing required from some of them games.
Then we'd the Master System and the NES (I forget which order). I remember when the NES was on sale in a local corner shop and kids, myself included, would Q up for hours to have a shot at Mario Brothers. State of the art at the time. I always wanted the Commadore 64 but never did get one.
Then the SNES came out and had to have that. Mario Cart rocked and still does to this day. Zelda came out and I don't remember which Zelda sequel it was, the Gold one is all I remember, but all of a sudden you could save your game instead of it ending and you having to start all over again when you wanted to leave the room.
Then of course got the first Playstation. Got more years out of that, upgraded to the PS2 and didn't believe we'd ever get to this stage with gaming. Yet here we are.
If this game (3D Dot Game Heroes) lives up to Bens preview, I think it's a definite purchase.

Sorry for the nostalgia rant, once I got to reminiscing I just couldn't stop.


Last edited by frostface on 11/18/2009 9:02:03 AM

Lotusflow3r
Lotusflow3r
11 years ago

Im actually becoming obsessed with this game. 2 astonishingly fresh rpg games from the same company….From Software have gone up!

Banky A
Banky A
11 years ago

Wow, looks sick!