Scheduled release date:
October 27th, 2009
Publisher:
Namco Bandai
Developer:
Namco Bandai
Number Of Players:
1-2 (2 Online)
Genre:
Action


At Sony's holiday event in Manhattan, there was a notable focus of third-party games, as SCEA brought out folks from LucasArts, Eidos, Tecmo and Namco to show off their PlayStation branded titles. Namco was demonstrating both Katamari Forever and Tekken 6, the latter of which this piece is obviously about. I walked over to the PlayStation 3 running Tekken 6, picked up both controllers and handed my buddy the second one.

Having missed E3, this was my first exposure to Tekken 6, and I loved every second of it. We played a total of six three-round matches, the final score ending in a 3-and-3 tie. We figured we shouldn't hog the controllers anymore, so there was no winner-takes-all tie-breaker match. Regardless, that should tell you just how much fun we had with Tekken 6. The moment you pick your favorite character there was virtually no feeling of being lost, as all of the classic commands for every fighter have been retained, in addition to an assortment of new actions that have been added.

Tekken 6 is unlike other fighting games. Take Virtua Fighter, it tends to focus a lot more on being very technical, and so loses accessibility in the process. That's not a knock on the Sega franchise, it's simply the truth. Tekken is a perfect mixture of being both accessible and very deep, and with a massive roster of 40 fighters to choose from, you have a very wide assortment of fighters and fighter-types to choose from.

What I like about the large selection of fighters is that they're all unlocked from the start. But most importantly, that gives me an incentive to play through and unlock every one of their endings, which is what I've always loved about the franchise. This furthermore lends to the whole sensation of feeling right at home with Tekken 6. You never feel lost, thanks to the game retaining its classic feel, and in more ways than one.

But of course, for those looking for something new, there are still a ton of enhancements and additions made to the fighters, such as the Rage system. And what would a Tekken game be without a whole bunch of game modes to choose from? An all new Tekken Scenario Campaign mode will be featured, allowing fans of the Force Mode from past Tekken games to engage in a beat'em-up campaign just like before. And don't forget the online mode.

As far as the aesthetics go, the game now boasts a notably bigger bump in animation and its smoothness. Despite how nice the fighters animated in Tekken Tag, Tekken 4, and Tekken 5, Tekken 6 manages to outdo them all considerably – bravo, Namco. Fighter details are very nice, but it's the stages that looked really fantastic and steal the show. Lastly, the superb art direction shines here yet again, making this one gorgeous game to look at.

Tekken 6 is set to launch October 27th, 2009.

Subscribe
Notify of
19 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
chicko1983
chicko1983
11 years ago

sounds good, but I'll stick with SFIV

Hexen
Hexen
11 years ago

I second that; no need for this when I already got Tekken 5.

Tristan
Tristan
11 years ago

Our office is going to be unproductive when I get a copy of this.

Naga
Naga
11 years ago

Sweet Its a must buy for me

dillonthebunny
dillonthebunny
11 years ago

yeh, I guess I'll pick this up ..lol

www
www
11 years ago

Same

Dante399
Dante399
11 years ago

Certainly a must buy 🙂

Mornelithe
Mornelithe
11 years ago

Wicked, preordering this on Monday.

Vivi_Gamer
Vivi_Gamer
11 years ago

This game should have been out on the release of the PS3, It took its time but it looks like its finally here, cant wait to slaughter people online with Heihachi 😀

but i have to admit i am a little worried, the juggling/ bouncing off the ground system seems to overrule the game, every trailer i watch thats all it contains, its a really lousy way of playing the game.

Oyashiro
Oyashiro
11 years ago

I'm glad other people see that problem as well. I stopped playing Tekken when it stopped being a competition of skill, and became a competition of who can get the other in the air first.

Byakko2009
Byakko2009
11 years ago

Juggling has been an integral part of Tekken since the series began. It gives your opponent something to worry about, and it's how you create mind games. Starting a juggle is not by any means easy against a skilled player. It isn't just Tekken that follows this structure, no no no. SF4, Blazblue, VF5R are a guilty as charged here. VF obviously is more grounded. However a skilled player will make you pay for a mistake with a 65% damage juggle.

In any of the games I just mentioned, you just play defensively against scrubs. Watch them make a mistake and punish them with a big combo. Skilled players keep mistakes to a minimum and know how to mount a good offense to keep you guessing.

I do admit the bound system seems a little off-putting, but the response from most competitors is fairly positive. The complaint is that juggles can seem too long, but play Blazblue and try getting juggled by Nu. My main problem with T6 is the balance. Two characters are definitely too strong: Law and Steve. Otherwise T6 is fine.

NULL
NULL
11 years ago

Since tekken 5 the series has died for me, it just seems to unrealistic and pantomime, so basicallly the are trying to make street fighter.

Titch1794
Titch1794
11 years ago

LOL, I can't believe it. I pre ordered the game last february (feb 08) thinking that it was soon coming out. and now i hear that the release date is october. WHAT. however, can't wait to rip open the seal and start button bashing.

Byakko2009
Byakko2009
11 years ago

Keep your button bashing offline or I'll force you to rage quit online.

migabyte
migabyte
11 years ago

I used to love this series, but I don't know about it now, I might try it out. I rented the last soul caliber game and I was so unimpressed. It was so mediocre. I think these franchises need a bit of freshness breathed into them.

Ory2288
Ory2288
11 years ago

The new juggling system can be a little overwhelming but when you learn how to beat people around the stage with it, you dont seem to mind that its there. Wall stages are especially frustrating but again knowing how to roll out of it or being on the giving end feels good. The new characters are unique but I think are more adept to Tekken 6s' juggling system with exceptions of course. Still I'm buying a new ps3 just for Tekken…

BeezleDrop
BeezleDrop
11 years ago

Certain people know how to play Tekken and others just want to win anyway they can, be ready kids! Law is going to bring the pain!

Titch1794
Titch1794
11 years ago

I'm a big fan of the tekken series and I've heard that there are gonna be 40 characters. I still don't think thats enough, they're missing valuable characters like devil, gon, and unknown (remember unknown)

Ultimate_Balla
Ultimate_Balla
11 years ago

Day One Purchase For Me