Scheduled release date:
Q4 2009
Publisher:
Konami
Developer:
Frozen Codebase
Number Of Players:
1-2
Genre:
Action
Release Date:
Q4 2009


If you’re at all familiar with the Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim lineup, you’ve certainly heard of “Metalocalypse,” an off-the-wall animated headbanger-fest for hardcore fans of the music genre in question. Now, if you’re a fan, you’ve likely been asking yourself, “gee, I wonder when they’re going to make a game based on my favorite cartoon?” After all, they’ve already done it several times in the past, and they’ve even gone so far as to give an Internet comic strip (Penny Arcade) their own downloadable video games. Well, Konami is stepping in and giving developer Frozen Codebase a chance to appeal to all you metalheads out there with Metalocalypse: Dethgame , which is slated to release later this year on the PlayStation Network and Xbox Live Marketplace. Now, we’ve scrounged about and dragged up as much information as we could, but we have to warn you that those who have gone hands-on with an early build haven’t come away impressed. We like to give every game a chance, though, so…

In Dethgame , you will assume the role of a random Klokateer, one of the common minions in the TV show and according to IGN’s play test, the start of the game is definitely going to turn some heads. It’s a little random and plenty nasty, but while we’re typically intrigued by games that push the envelope, there doesn’t appear to be any purpose to the introduction. It seems the game starts with your character peeing at a urinal…and if you move the left analog left to right, you can pee wherever you wish. Now, perhaps this is all in the spirit of the Adult Swim theme, which is to provide viewers with senseless insanity that rarely has any real message or value. Granted, some of it funny, but it’s my opinion that much of what is aired is only bizarre for the sake of being bizarre. But hey, this may be right up the fans’ alley, right? After you’re done doing your business, you apparently just wander into the next room and start beating on everyone in the vicinity. Why? Who knows? Does it matter? The Klokateer doesn’t need a reason to get all crazy Type-A on everyone, does he?

During combat, you’ll be able to utilize regular and heavy attacks and better yet, you’ll also get a chance to use a variety of weapons. You’ll also be able to use the environment to your advantage; we turn your attention to a game like The Bourne Conspiracy , which allowed you to use objects in the background when locked in a fierce one-on-one confrontation. We distinctly recall smashing someone’s head into a table… Well, the same theory applies in Dethgame . Blades on a wall? Take a foe and shove him into the deathtrap, ala “Fargo.” Or, if you’d rather humiliate your opponent, you can always knock them down, kick them a hundred times in the groin area and pee on their face. We didn’t make that up; it’s apparently a major staple of the gameplay here, and while we almost want to laugh, we’re closer to gagging than we are to cracking a smile. But maybe the overload on gore and grossness is exactly what the fans want; just about any obstacle you face in this game can be solved with grisly deaths, and the addition of urine embarrassment is definitely…unique. As we always say, you have to cater to the fans if you want a licensed game to do well in the marketplace, and maybe the designers are doing exactly that.

But even so, what part of peeing on someone and destroying everyone you face in the midst of a bloodbath is found in “Metalocalypse?” Is it merely assumed that fans of the show are into that type of thing? Granted, there isn’t much going on in the cartoon, but we fail to remember the last time some dude started randomly kicking people in the groin. All metal fanatics aren’t out for blood, though, despite some of the abrasive lyrics that populate death metal and hardcore metal songs. The music should be somewhat decent, at the very least, and we’re hoping there’s more to this downloadable title than what has been described in this preview. Unfortunately, if there is, we can’t find any other info, so we’re a trifle concerned. We enjoy some violence and controversial content as much as anyone, but there’s a slight difference between something like this and God of War III . Let’s just hope Konami’s offering isn’t solely centered on depravity.

Metalocalypse: Dethgame is set to release during the fourth quarter of 2009.

Subscribe
Notify of
28 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
newchef
newchef
11 years ago

i am totally gonna buy this game…i feel they made this game for a 18 yr olds nd under but thts ok cause im still 17…yay for youth

newchef
newchef
11 years ago

i have to be the loser that says… FIRST!!!

Kangasfwa
Kangasfwa
11 years ago

Technically, you're second.

LividFiction
LividFiction
11 years ago

To yourself.

Squirreldriver
Squirreldriver
11 years ago

I used to love Metalocalypse, until I got tired of the effect they use to bleep out the swear words. Every 3 seconds or so. Ugh!

Now a Squidbillies game I would be interested in. D'not touch the trim!!

cLoudou
cLoudou
11 years ago

Dethklok FTW!

Ogibillm
Ogibillm
11 years ago

brutal

coldbore
coldbore
11 years ago

Cool, it's my daughters 7th birthday coming in 2 months, this seems like a great gift ūüėõ

Xbox_Killer
Xbox_Killer
11 years ago

Totally, I might get it for my 3 year old sister.

Kangasfwa
Kangasfwa
11 years ago

I was hoping for a brawler when I read the preview in play mag. But this sounds more like postal.

I'll wait to hear more, but I can't say I'm looking forward to this game.

Jed
Jed
11 years ago

I was just thinking about a Metalocalypse game today. I will most likely be getting this one.

You gotta love that show.

dlte
dlte
11 years ago

oh i will get this.

NeoHumpty
NeoHumpty
11 years ago

I think it sounds very dethklok like. I still like the show, and can't wait to jam the soundtrack while playing. Maybe Guitar Hero will get some dlc to promo it. This is sweet.

Nerull
Nerull
11 years ago

I love the show but I hope the game won't be filled to the brim with potty humour.
Either way brutal legend will be better in pretty much every aspect so it may be a moot point.

reryan
reryan
11 years ago

I disagree that all [AS] shows are mindless and pointless. Some of the shows are there because they are 'trippy' or something, but many, including Metalocalypse, Venture Bros., Futurama, Home Movies, Robot Chicken, etc, are quite clever and have extremely talented writing staff and cast. Everything Brendan Small touches is golden.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

These poorly animated weirdo shows messed up my adult swim ūüôĀ

TheHighlander
TheHighlander
11 years ago

Indeed.

Someone at Cartoon Network apparently believes that catastrophically bad and cheap animation equals satirical humor.

Mercenary47
Mercenary47
11 years ago

I can only imagine the achievement/trophy lists:

Urinocalypse

Humiliate 100 enemies.

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
11 years ago

nice and pumbleocalypse Pumble 100 Fans, that would be epic

Acehiroku
Acehiroku
11 years ago

Now they need to make a game based on Robot Chicken and Assy McGee

JMO_INDY
JMO_INDY
11 years ago

hahaha, Assy McGee, that would be hilarious. just walking around as an ass is incentive enough.

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
11 years ago

When Assy McGee was promo'd out, my wife asked me if they stole that from me. LOL
I'd so love to be Assy. Ass-tastic. Yeah. I said it. Gimmie that Assy.

whooka
whooka
11 years ago

I'm definitely excited about this. It's obviously marketed towards fans first so peeing on someone's face should not be distasteful to the target audience. I also think that particular aspect was mentioned too many times in this article to the point where it seemed the focus. Also Metalocalypse is in no way a brainless show. Like most of the genius productions on Adult Swim (i.e. Venture Bros, Frisky Dingo, etc) it can be approached like that and some of the humour is subtle and lost on alot of people but it's a PARODY of a death-metal band, as well as the music industry and government control of economies and such. It also contains some amazingly done action scenes with depth when the time comes for them (last ep of season 2 was insane)! Anyways, lighten up. This type of content is offensive on a relative scale (and I'm sure the focus of the game is not to go around peeing on people), as opposed to re-enacting the historical massacre of alot of innocent civilians during a war that is still questionable to this day.

TheHighlander
TheHighlander
11 years ago

With these kinds of adult parody animation there is a line that need not be crossed. It's the line between humor and crass stupidity. To me, at least, this preview leaves me feeling that the game designers misunderstood where the line is and crossed it. Things that may be funny when rarely used, due to their shock value. These things may not be funny, and might actually be downright creepy or distasteful when used over and over.

I somewhat agree with Whooka in the sense that we all need to remind ourselves that there is a target audience that may not be as troubled by this as many of us are.

All of that said, I also believe that the availability of media access in the world is now at a higher level than ever before. It's not only easier access things, it's easier to create something and distribute it to a mass audience. But that comes with a price which is that there is very little filtration of the content that is offered and consumed now. The things that used to outrage people are accepted as part and parcel of freedom and the unfettered media. I'm not advocating strong censorship, but I am saying that if content producers exercised a little restraint and consideration with respect to their output – and how it is offered, we might have less crap masquerading as entertainment.

Xbox_Killer
Xbox_Killer
11 years ago

I'm not really a metal fan but I do like Metalocalypse. The only thing I don't like is that it's download only.

ExhumeART
ExhumeART
11 years ago

This is terrific news!

___________
___________
11 years ago

speaking of adult only games.
hows saw going, is it anything like the movies?
i hope they dont sucomb to the pressure and pu**y down the game due to the media.
everything in the movies i want in the game, its going to be brutal but thats how it should be its a saw game after all.
this is 1 title to be banned for sure ebay here i come.

mechano
mechano
11 years ago

Some corrections on the following statement:

>we have to warn you that those who have gone hands-on with an early build haven’t come away impressed

There are four hands on previews from comiccon. One of them was bad (from IGN). The other three were positive. The one that was bad, from IGN- the guy didn't actually play the game, he just CLAIMED to play the game. So saying he came away with a bad impression is not accurate, he didn't go anywhere. He watched a video

These are the other three previews which actually feature people who put their hands on the controllers, trust them instead of IGN:

http://www.collider.com/2009/08/03/jonah-plays-adult-swims-metalocalypse-dethgame-at-comic-con/

http://g4tv.com/games/ps3/62607/metalocalypse-dethgame/articles/67849/Metalocalypse-Dethgame-Comic-Con-09-Preview/

http://www.destructoid.com/sdcc-our-f-n-metal-preview-of-metalocalypse-141363.phtml