Scheduled release date:
2010
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
United Front Games
Number Of Players:
1-2 (12 Online)
Genre:
Racing
Release Date:
June 1, 2010


LittleBigPlanet was a fairly big success for Sony, and while it may not have exploded the way people were expecting, the game still managed to gradually pile on users and creators, creating essentially the game that never ends. Well, there's another game on its way, and it too focuses around user-created content, but instead of little dolls, you control karts. Many of you have probably seen the demonstration video for ModNation Racer this past E3, and there's no doubt that it was a pretty impressive showing.

For starters, ModNation Racers follows the concept of Play, Create, Share, a new-found genre of sorts that can be credited to the creation of LittleBigPlanet. For ModNation, Sony has deemed this game the Race, Create, Share sticker, obviously pointing out that this is a user-generated racing game, as opposed to a platform/adventure title. But of course, just like LBP, ModNation Racers will also feature a single-player story mode that takes a newbie kart-racer through the ranks, complete with narration, rewards and all. So you aren't forced to use your creative side, and can just enjoy the game's story. What's also nice about ModNation Racers is that if you'd like to enjoy the game for its physics as solely a kart-racer, then you can enter the Pure Race mode for that purpose.

But of course, most of you who buy this will want to dive right into the creation process, and man is that one deep pool to dive in. For starters, the character creator boasts practically an infinite combination of customization, and that includes the customization of your vehicle. You'll be allowed to upload your character and kart creation to the game's online community, where people can download what you've created and mod it some more, if they choose to.

Though it's the track creator that's the most interesting trait of the game, as it features an extremely easy to use, user-friendly interface that allows you to create the track you want in minutes. The game comes complete with all of the tools and objects that the developers used themselves to create the tracks in the Story Mode, literally giving you complete access to everything available in the game.

What makes the track creator so absolutely awesome is the ability to replicate some of the world's most popular circuits, such as Suzuka, Tsukuba, Willow Springs, Laguna Seca, and even Nurburgring. Now, I noticed during the presentation that there is a limit to how large the track could be, so perhaps a 17.5, or even 14 mile long course is out of the question, but certainly creative minds can get smart and shorten some of the longer stretches of road and have a slightly shrunk version of the course. And because the track creator allows you to tweak the pitch and level of the road, you'll be able to implement banked curves, hills, and so forth. And hey, if you'd like to add some action to the race, feel free to drop powerups wherever you feel like.

I'm expecting ModNation Racers to be an extremely fun and addictive experience. The guys at United Front Games have pieced together a superb physics engine that allows your kart and the race in general to react to everything that's going on around you realistically. I also really liked the drifting mechanic in the game, as it reminded me of Sega's OutRun games.

ModNation Racers doesn't have a set release date, but Sony has said it will arrive next year. We're predicting a Q1 or Q2 release.

Subscribe
Notify of
19 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
phantomMenace
phantomMenace
11 years ago

I was really hoping for 4 player split screen but 2 player will have to do. Who knows by the time they release it they might change that. This game looks really promising and I can't wait for it.

GuernicaReborn
GuernicaReborn
11 years ago

This game is Number 2 on my list behind Uncharted 2. Definitely my favorite show of E3. Arnold, did you get any hands on time with it? Was a playable demo there for the press, or did they just do the presentation?


Last edited by GuernicaReborn on 6/12/2009 12:13:06 AM

King James
King James
11 years ago

Hmmmmm….If someone throws Sackboy in there, I'm in.

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
11 years ago

I personally thought they spent WAY too much time showing this off at E3 instead of offering more on GOW.

Bo0mKiiD
Bo0mKiiD
11 years ago

They offered a lot of GOW. You saw first hand the live demo and how it plays, Guts spewing out of a snake, deer thingy.

Banky A
Banky A
11 years ago

You mean guts spewing out of a Centaur and a Chimera getting stabbed with his goat horn?

Bo0mKiiD
Bo0mKiiD
11 years ago

Now that you mention it…I could swear it was part duck too…

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
11 years ago

Day 1 buy for me
As a racing fan I have to get this

LBP is pure platform fun at its best
So this one will be racing at its best in the kart part of the genre

I've always wanted to buy the racing games with the best tracks but with this game I can create the most awesome tracks haha!

What I'm REALLY intrigued 'bout is not just having a road and a landscape. But how many ground types will we have?

Can there be ice roads?(ala mario kart) can we have tunnels? Can there be obstacles?

So awesome that there will be power jumpbs

So really want to see more, hope it can be a lot like SNES's mario kart but twice as good.

Bottom line, it will be really fun.

PS: Red Rock Valley Speedway <3

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

Yes. Ice, tunnels, etc.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

That dude ripped through his demo at E3, I was pretty impressed. Now bring on the modnation strippers!

fluffer nutter
fluffer nutter
11 years ago

I am definitely looking forward to this game and so are my kids. It would be cool if they added motorcross to it too. Maybe a future DLC?

Off topic: Since you mentioned OutRun, does anyone know if this will make it to PSN? I know they got it over on XBL but I'd rather spend the dough and have it on my PS3 since I haven't turned on my 360 since last year.

And now back to our scheduled topic.

PS3addict
PS3addict
11 years ago

This game is for sure a first day buy.

Outrun is available on the PSN, just not USA. You need an Ireland Account and an AMEX card to buy it.
You will have to log into that account everytime to play it. I tweeted to one of the Sega developers about this a month or so ago and they report there are no plans to release it in the US.


Last edited by PS3addict on 6/12/2009 11:26:44 AM

End of line
End of line
11 years ago

Creating your own track = awesome.

But how will it play/drive? Hate to say it but it will need play like the same over-the-top free XBLA title that's coming out, perhaps taking it further with weapons done insomniac style. If not, we'll end up with a totally rad track editor but a bland racer overall.

King James
King James
11 years ago

That JoyRide game looks dumb. Sorry it just does. And they are gonna nickel-&-dime the sh*# outta you for every customization you want. Did I mention that you can't make and share tracks?

cell9899
cell9899
11 years ago

I was really hoping for 4plyr split screen, hopefully they can accomplish that before release date.

d_lang
d_lang
11 years ago

I wanna have a drag racing mode in the story mode and i hope the story mode is fairly deep with tournaments and stuff.

I love the creator mode but please have a web based creator mode also. Kinda like ncaa 10 team creator. that way i can make my little preppy kart drive all in lacoste and have a custom artwork by myself for the kart. that will be amazing.

And at launch the should be a game space in home to show everyone who hasnt got modnation racer that they are missing out hahaha

MickaeL486
MickaeL486
10 years ago

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! This preview is OVER A YEAR OLD!
6/11/2009
WHERE IS THE REVIEW OF MODNATION RACERS YOU LAZY BASTARDS?!?!

It's now 6/15/2010.

WAKE UP!! YOU'RE A SONY PS3 EXCLUSIVE SITE! WHERE IS YOUR REVIEW OF THE BIGGEST GAME THEY'VE LAUNCHED SINCE GOD OF WAR?!?!?

dpakrr
dpakrr
10 years ago

hi, just wondering if there was any particular reason, this game wasn't reviewed? also, can i get opinions from people about this game? i'm keen on buying this. thanks

kevinater321
kevinater321
9 years ago

It's fun although the long load times ruin it for me. It's a great party game, or if you just have people over at your house.