Scheduled release date:
February 2010
Publisher:
Capcom
Developer:
Capcom
Number Of Players:
1 (4 Co-Op, 16 Online)
Genre:
Action


The original Lost Planet wasn't quite the game I had expected it to be. After eagerly waiting for the PlayStation 3 port, I came to realize that it's hype was mostly that of its initially exclusive status to the Xbox 360. The controls were dull, and the action was tedious and slow. Needless to say, I panned the game in my review. But, Lost Planet was successful enough that it warranted a sequel, and while so far Capcom has only announced it for the Xbox 360, we're still bringing you this preview because in this day and age, virtually no third-party game is a true exclusive, anymore. Good chances are, Lost Planet 2 will arrive for the PS3 soon after the Xbox 360 version hits. ( Arnold's edit: Well, kids, I was right on the money. Sony and Capcom made it official at E3 2009; it's also coming to the PS3 Q1 2010, same as the X360.)

Ten years have passed since the events of the first game, and planet E.D.N. III has changed considerably. A transformation project brought upon the planet was a success, transforming the icy planet into a lush locale. The ice has began to melt, exposing to the greenery that lied beneath, in addition to deserts. The Akrid are still present on the planet, so your ultimate goal will be to secure the planet once and for all. And to do that, you'll be equipped with a variety of technology to make it easier on you.

The game will span six episodes/chapters which will evolve according to how you play the game, and the actions you make. Many games have done this in the past, and that essentially opens up Lost Planet 2 to multiple threads, giving the gamer more than one way to see the story unfold. Furthermore, Lost Planet 2 does not feature a central character, but rather a number of snow pirate factions whom you will take control of, which ties into how the game's storyline evolves, all depending on your actions which each group. In addition to the single-player aspect, you can embark on a co-op campaign with up to four people, allowing you to play through the whole story with your buddies.

In addition to your grappling hook is a wide assortment of weaponry, just like the first game. Machine guns, rocket launchers, sniper rifles, lasers, shotguns, grenades, and other larger, more devasting weapons will be spread all throughout the game, waiting for your hands and destruction. The weapons come complete with customization aspects, allowing you to make them your own, and then use them online or offline. Customization also includes other details, with Capcom promising hundreds of ways to make a character your personal creation.

Now, beyond the handheld weapons will be the Vital Suits, the mech suits that your character enters and takes control of. Capcom has completely overhauled the Vital Suits for the sequel, giving players suits that can transform into vehicles, that can carry an entire team, and even suits so complicated that they'll require numerous players to operate. Sounds pretty damn cool.

Teamwork is a highlighted concept for the sequel, as not only will your partners be able to help you operate a V.S., but teamwork will also gain rewards. There will be a number of tactile ways to assist your team in order to succeed against some of the game's bigger and more epic battles, and Capcom encourages the use of said tactics. And of course, when you're not in the mood to play cooperatively, put a bullet in your buddy's head by entering one of the game's numerous competitive multiplayer modes, complete with an online ranking system.

Visually, Lost Planet 2 is looking significantly better than the first, boasting epic environments with a gorgeous color palette that is further brought to life thanks to slick texture work. The bosses will be even larger than before, and feature even more incredible detail, as well. Powered by MT Framework 2.0, the same game engine that makes Resident Evil 5 as beautiful as it is, you can expect nothing but the best from Lost Planet 2's visuals.

Judging from the footage we've seen thus far, it also looks like Capcom has fixed the slow pace of the original game, and has made the action much more intense. We're really excited to get our hands on the game, and hopefully we get to preview the game hands-on before it arrives next February.

Subscribe
Notify of
24 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
slackernz
slackernz
11 years ago

sounds promising.. I'll keep an eye on this one

jerocarson
jerocarson
11 years ago

i don't care about this game.
Onimusha? anyone???

GuernicaReborn
GuernicaReborn
11 years ago

I'm with you. Onimusha or bust. I loved the 1st and 3rd games.

SNAKEHOUND
SNAKEHOUND
11 years ago

Onimusha brought great memories 😀 What about Devil May Cry 5 I'm hearing?

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

If you don't care, please don't reply. That's trolling.

CH1N00K
CH1N00K
11 years ago

I agree, There definitely needs to be a new Onimusha.

Karosso
Karosso
11 years ago

Yes please!!!

Gabriel013
Gabriel013
11 years ago

Thanks Arnold. Even if it never appears on the PS3 your are covering the needs of us with multiple consoles.

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

This game looks awesome, can't wait.

Tim Speed24
Tim Speed24
11 years ago

If they improve on the first one, LP2 should be a good game. I hope they keep some of the snow. I love those snowy levels in any game.

Can't wait for MW2 and Battlefield:BC2 and see how they render the snowy weather effects.

Xanavi23
Xanavi23
11 years ago

Amen, i love the snow level from the LP Demo. I need to buy LP1…i had fun with the demo playing it online.

Jordahn
Jordahn
11 years ago

Isn't this the same website that said something similar in regards to multi-platform status of Ace Combat 6 possible on the PS3, yet nothing else became of it? Lost Planet 2 PS3? Hmmmm…

Xanavi23
Xanavi23
11 years ago

If you don't care about the game, STFU.

I care PSXExtreme staff. I don't own LostP1 but i still want to buy it, its lack of popularity may help me find a cheap price, i just hope the servers stay up for as long as posssible.

Mr Bitey
Mr Bitey
11 years ago

The trailer for this game looks great. The environments, co-op play, and the large scale battles look amazing. It's good news that it is coming our way (hopefully).

DGo8
DGo8
11 years ago

if they do make another Onimusha…im there..i loved them games! great times

Bo0mKiiD
Bo0mKiiD
11 years ago

Lost Planet was awesome but would have been even more awesome with some co-op, nah mean?

Qubex
Qubex
11 years ago

I didn't find the Lost Planet demo that bad… it was kinda fun if a little laborious at times to be honest. I never purchased the game; and i don't think I will purchase this one…

My main up and coming purchases are:

1] Unchartered 2
2] MW2
3] GoW3
4] GT5

I will be selling this weekend to raise a little cash for my PSP3000 purchase

1] CODIII
2] Ridge Racer 7
3] DiRT
4] Little Big Planet – i just don't play it that often and character response control is inaccurate and slow… very frustrating!

Q!

"i am home"


Last edited by Qubex on 6/4/2009 1:41:53 AM

Midris7
Midris7
11 years ago

Looks like I'm not alone with wanting a PSP now.. All those great titles deserve a purchase of the system.

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

I think a lot of the people who are hating on this game are only hating on Capcom for releasing the first one so late and announcing the second one late as well.

The game looks downright amazing. I saw the demo today on G4 and it was incredible! It's using a more advanced engine than the one in RE5, and it shows! It can almost go toe-to-toe with what I've seen of Uncharted 2.

The huge creature in the demo moved amazingly and looked so detailed. It was so big that two of the characters were attacking it from the outside, and the other two jumped inside of it! And they were killing it from the inside. The thing was huge!

Anyone who is hating on this game needs to see the demo, I'm sure it will change their minds.

I'm glad it's coming to the PS3.

@Arnold – They said the engine they used for RE5 was 1.5, and the one they are using for LP2 is the more refined 2.0, that's why it looked much better than RE5.


Last edited by n/a on 6/4/2009 2:36:53 AM

Midris7
Midris7
11 years ago

I watched the same demo you are talking about, but frankly I am wary about games such as this. I do want it to be good, don't get me wrong, but pretty graphics are not high on the priority list. Gameplay and story need to be excellent to get me to but a game. Of couse, it needs to be fun too.

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

While I appreciate a good story too, when it comes to action games, I'm happy if the gameplay is a blast!

vicious54
vicious54
11 years ago

I enjoyed playing the first game but there were very boring parts of the game, like running everywhere. I look forward to this game, I just hope they really do improve from the first one.

Jordahn
Jordahn
11 years ago

Well, I owe this site an apology for doubting the validity of Lost Planet 2 coming to the PS3. For those who care about this game, congrats. For those of you who don't, leave.

😉

racoon
racoon
11 years ago

this game……….yea i got nothing