Scheduled release date:
Fall 2009
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
Naughty Dog
Number Of Players:
1-10
Genre:
Action/Adventure
Release Date:
October 13, 2009


When we first caught a glimpse of Uncharted, it was through a series of leaked photos that showed off the game's insanely detailed environments. When Naughty Dog revealed our strapping character hanging off a tree mouths of gamers dropped everywhere, be it from awe or jealousy. There's no doubt that Uncharted was an impressive achievement considering how early into the PlayStation 3's life it was released. Granted, there were still some spots to be improved on…and that's exactly what Naughty Dog has done with the sequel.

Normally, it's the gameplay that I'll rant about first, but in this case, I have to make a special exception for just how amazing the visuals are of the sequel. What's even more impressive is that the product I saw was still in its pre-alpha stage, which means there's still a lot of work left to do. But technical jargon aside, what I immediately noticed about Uncharted 2 was that despite its early state, the framerate was exceptionally smooth. What I noticed next floored me the most, though, and that's just how absolutely stunning the textures are.

Where as the first game sported nice textures, this one seems to be leagues ahead of the original. And then there are the animations, which still have work left, but also look marvelous. When I walked away from the game I had no doubt in my mind that Uncharted 2 is without question the best looking title in development right now, and not just for the PlayStation 3, that includes the Xbox 360. People have been making many "Crysis" comparisons in the past with the original Uncharted, Gears of War 2, and Killzone 2, but none of them held a candle to Crytek's behemoth. And that's where Uncharted 2 comes in as the first console game that is truly worthy of the comparison. It's powerful stuff, folks.

The gameplay retained that of the original, so you still have that feeling that you're playing a mixture of Indiana Jones and Gears of War, which is awesome. But where Uncharted differs from Gears is in its hand-to-hand mechanics, as Naughty Dog gave Nate an assortment of abilities that allow him to engage in combat when he's weaponless, allowing to him to disarm, as well as take-down. This aspect of the game has been improved on, as Naughty Dog has implemented a deeper hand-to-hand system where timing and precision is more crucial to combat, otherwise you'll leave yourself vulnerable to a hit. You'll be able to perform counter attacks, as will the enemy when you've mistimed your button press, and perform a variety of different takedown animations – all of which are brutal and really cool.

Another big feat for the sequel is a feature that allows Nate to scale the environments in new ways. Now Nate can climb and scale walls with more freedom, allowing him more movement along the object he's scaling, in addition to retaining his previous assortment of abilities. The other notable new feature gives Nate the ability to lift and flip furniture over and use it as cover when you're being rained with bullets. You can't use the same object for an extensive period of time, so you'll likely need to move on to find new cover.

The enemy A.I. has been enhanced, and to offset those enhancements, they've also been balanced. For example, now your opponents can spot you from their peripheral vision. And unlike say, Metal Gear, if an enemy thinks he saw something, he'll run with that instinct and come looking for you, going as far as climbing walls or jumping from ledge to ledge. And if he doesn't find you, he'll remain extra alert.

In order to balance this heightened sense, Naughty Dog has listened to complaints fans of the original game made regarding the amount of bullets it took to kill an enemy. Where as Uncharted required as many as six bullets to take someone down, no matter the armor (or lack thereof) they were wearing, Uncharted 2 is much more realistic in that regard. Regular, unarmored enemies can be taken down in 1-3 shots, where as armored foes can require anywhere between 1-5, and so on. The amount of bullets you'll shell out (pun intended) will depend on the attire worn by the enemy.

One big question remains and Naughty Dog has yet to answer it: will there be co-op gameplay? Seeing as how the game now boasts two armed characters, Nate and Chloe, it'd make perfect sense that Uncharted 2 boast such an option. While Naughty Dog won't confirm it, there's a damn good chance it's coming and seeing as how Uncharted 2 boasts controls similar to Gears, this could be the first grand co-op action experience PlayStation 3 owners are given.

Look for Uncharted 2 to hit this Fall 09.

Subscribe
Notify of
66 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
pavlovic
pavlovic
11 years ago

Can't wait for this game… with U:DF I had o lot of fun.

Thanks for the impressions

englishgolfer
englishgolfer
11 years ago

drool…..

YesterdysRising
YesterdysRising
11 years ago

This will be game of the year, hands down. This game looks breathtaking. I had so much fun playing the first one and I still play it over sometimes. It is easily in my top 3 games of all time. It was just fun to play, plus, it was really good looking. Now, Naughty Dog has raised the bar higher than I ever thought possible in visuals alone. I can't wait to see what else they have done to make this even better than the first. I applaud Naughty Dog for everything that they do and I am eagerly awaiting this game. I have no doubt that they will deliver what will be game of the year 🙂

kreate
kreate
11 years ago

how many trophies did u get if u dont mind me asking?

i also wish naughty dog would remake crash team racing. such a fun multiplayer game. =(

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
11 years ago

its on the store

Naga
Naga
11 years ago

CTR would be sweet online hell I wouldn't mind an Ratchet & Clank Racer

Cpt_Geez
Cpt_Geez
11 years ago

U2 GOTY over GoW 3 which is scheduled to be released this year II dont think so.


Last edited by Cpt_Geez on 2/23/2009 10:26:14 AM

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
11 years ago

Nice

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
11 years ago

continuing our conversation from yesterday, if think the shakinator is quite good

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
11 years ago

I explained the name in the last post .

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
11 years ago

o rite, i couldnt remember what article that was

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
11 years ago

Ben's once upon a time piece .


Last edited by Sir Shak on 2/23/2009 12:29:18 PM

King James
King James
11 years ago

I love Naughty Dog's work. This game is bound to sell, especially after that PS3 Uncharted bundle that released. That is bound to spark repeat sales for this new installment.

The improved graphics are out-of-this-world!! I didn't think that such a dramatic improvement could be made on a new franchise in such a short time (considering that Uncharted is still considered one of the best looking game this gen). This game is gonna out-shine any game trying to compete.

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
11 years ago

The game doesn't really need co-op.

Scarecrow
Scarecrow
11 years ago

Doesn't need it but the option would be sick…

Being able to play with a friend, gf, or anyone else next to you is a must.

Remember SNES? All games(well a lot) were co-op or two players.

That was a great thing 'bout games back then, there was a lot of co-op madness. It's good, RE5 proves this too.

It's a great option imo, can't wait!

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
11 years ago

That was true "optional" co-op. Back then, if you didn't have someone to play along with you, you wouldn't get stuck with a mandatory dumb AI character.

mastiffchild
mastiffchild
11 years ago

You're deamn right. The co-op is what's killed Resi5 for me. I like to play RE/survival horror games truly alone. If the co-op had been limited to splitscreen and online I'd have said "fine" but as you HAVE to put up with that dim bird AND the extra inventory worries it just gets annoying in SP.
I pray that ND don't bow to fashion and ruin the truly awesome single player campaign that they managed last time around. Personally I don't see why it would've been so hard to just leave the npc out of the SP in RE5 and if the same happens in U2 then it'll be a great, great shame, imo.
Yes, co-op is great fun-but with real people and you shouldn't be forced into a babysitting sim of a sp because of a devs need to follow co-op fashions.

Jamaican_Heat
Jamaican_Heat
11 years ago

If this game gets Co-Op then there you RE5 complainers go you get you Run-N-Gun co-op action that you so deeply want. haha

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
11 years ago

im jealous. i want to play it

Vivi_Gamer
Vivi_Gamer
11 years ago

cool, i loved Uncharted 1, i'll definatly be picking this up.

wano
wano
11 years ago

lol, ultima, your in a good mood today. that was the first positive comment ive seen you post for ages. ;- )

im with you though, the game sounds great


Last edited by wano on 2/23/2009 4:48:11 AM

RISE_13
RISE_13
11 years ago

aahhh i havent played it yet demo was nice i really want 2 get it

www
www
11 years ago

what's the release date?

Akuma_
Akuma_
11 years ago

"And unlike say, Metal Gear, if an enemy thinks he saw something, he'll run with that instinct and come looking for you, going as far as climbing walls or jumping from ledge to ledge. And if he doesn't find you, he'll remain extra alert."

im sorry… what?
lol

MG did this aswell, except for the jumping and climbing part of course.

wano
wano
11 years ago

i think what he means is that the enemy went completely back to normal in mgs after a certain anount of time. ..thats just part of how mgs is though, you need the option of sneaking past people in that game, where in this one im guessing if you get spotted you may need to blast your way out with people hunting you down …which is cool aslo 😉


Last edited by wano on 2/23/2009 4:53:48 AM

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

Precisely, wano.

Archos
Archos
11 years ago

Don't really care about co-op, will buy the game anyway. The game is going to post better graphics than KZ2 is enough to convince me to buy the game.

Aftab
Aftab
11 years ago

Don't know what's higher on my list for this year: Uncharted 2 or GOW3.

Mujy786
Mujy786
11 years ago

this will be one i have to pick up on first day 😀

Robochic
Robochic
11 years ago

The only complaint i had with the first one was the aiming i found it sloppy, i hope they have fixed that as well. At least this time it won't take forever to kill someone 🙂

Driven2Decay
Driven2Decay
11 years ago

That was my complaint too, the aiming wasn't intuitive at all. I'm sure that's something they've addressed in the new one if they've made all of these other changes.

www
www
11 years ago

No the aiming is one of the best out there.Not many games allow you to switch shoulder views from left to right.

Daedusian
Daedusian
11 years ago

Yeah I absolutely loved the aiming in Uncharted. To me, it's what set the game apart from others. I'm hoping nothing changes in regards to aiming, but that's me.

Only thing I really care about in the sequal is for it to be good. They can keep everything the same for all I care, good story, awesome gameplay, and I'll be as happy as ever all over again!

King James
King James
11 years ago

the aiming was "on-point" – pun intended.

Orvisman
Orvisman
11 years ago

Definite must buy for me!

JiggleBeetz
JiggleBeetz
11 years ago

this sounds great i missed out on the first one but i think I'll just have to pick it up to get ready for the sequel

Cpt_Geez
Cpt_Geez
11 years ago

Imma get U2 too II just hope they don't release this and GoW 3 in the same month.

Dridion
Dridion
11 years ago

Arnold, when you say best looking title in production do you mean in general or for shooters/action adventure games. I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion but is still believe GoW3 is EPIC IMO. nuff said, don't you think?

Ben Dutka PSXE
Ben Dutka PSXE
11 years ago

Pretty sure he means in general, but I think he's only including currently released games in that assessment.

GoWIII looks amazing, but it ain't out yet. 🙂

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

In general. Uncharted 2 looks better than GOWIII from what I've seen, to be honest. Nothing against GOWIII, but Uncharted 2 simply looks more advanced.

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
11 years ago

Was this the event where they also showed Infamous ?

Dridion
Dridion
11 years ago

Thanks Arnold and Ben/Ben and Arnold, either or, for replying. Most admins don't give a flying [email protected]@k! But um…Ben, when you said games released were only included, I think that would mean that Uncharted 2 shouldn't be in that category as well being that it's still in production and it's a ways off but oh well. I think Arnold clarified that, in his opinion, the game looks good, which in all honesty, it really does. I think I discriminate when it come to GoW, in general, being that I'm a sucker for the franchise. Always have been since the first GoW trailer. But yea the lighting, textures and character models do indeed look stunning as well as the sense of distance highlighted by blurs used in the game. Whatever, in the end, they're all PS3 exclusives. A big [email protected]@ki%g hurrah to that. PS3 exclusives FTW!!! I think that's one thing we can all finally agree on.

tanner1
tanner1
11 years ago

Loving it, and please no screen tearing in this 1, i want utter perfection & i know Naughty Dog WILL deliver

erislocker
erislocker
11 years ago

did you find out / hear anything about multiplayer?
i was dying for online play on the last one…
i'm hoping there will be online.
Arnold or Ben,
let us know if you hear something, please!
thanks


Last edited by erislocker on 2/23/2009 10:54:00 AM

mikeyp323
mikeyp323
11 years ago

I wonder how they would/will implement multiplayer, I think it would be sick if it was Drake with an assault rifle against 15 guys with handguns on a large map or something (slightly similar to Metal Gear Online tbh)

what does everyone else think?

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
11 years ago

I will take a longer and grander campaign over multiplayer anyday .

mikeyp323
mikeyp323
11 years ago

Yeah I guess, games with epic and interesting stories are pretty hard to beat imo. Multiplayer would be a bonus though so I hope the game has it 🙂

kevinater321
kevinater321
11 years ago

If the Multiplayer is done well like Call Of Duty's was then it will totally be worth it but is it really possible to do a multi like COD? ALthough call of duty is getting kind of dull latley i need something new that i can love again (hopefully this will suceed) And i know ND will Deliver.

ALso this game looks intense 😛

Randomhero1
Randomhero1
11 years ago

I cant wait for Uncharted 2, Uncharted was Awesome!

bxshotboi
bxshotboi
11 years ago

of course this game is gonna be awesome hands down cuz the first 1 was great and plot had a nice little twist so imagine this 1