Scheduled release date:
March 13, 2009
Publisher:
Capcom
Developer:
Capcom
Number Of Players:
1-2 (2 Online Co-op)
Genre:
Survival/Horror
Release Date:
March 13, 2009


While few games have been amassing as much hysteria and controversy recently as Killzone 2, there is one game that's got a fair amount of its own controversy, and that is, of course, Resident Evil 5. Now, I'll be blunt and up front, but I'm one of the few who thought that Resident Evil 4 was one of the most overrated experiences of the past generation. Aside from the gorgeous visuals, I've always hated the controls and not having the ability to move and shoot. Having to constantly run away, stop, turn around, shoot a few bullets, and then repeat the same tactic became extremely annoying. The extremely conservative number of ammo you're given also felt unsatisfying, and it's one thing if Leon's hand-to-hand techniques were powerful, it'd have made playing without a gun better, but they weren't. Sure, you could take a few swipes at an enemy, run away and repeat the process, but that made the game extremely repetitive and monotonous. In short, along with GTA: San Andreas, RE4 was personally the most overrated experience of the past generation.

So if you've kept tabs on the status of Resident Evil 5 and it's controversy, you can probably predict that I'm not too happy with it, thanks to Capcom's decision to maintain RE4's control scheme, albeit with one tiny enhancement: the ability to strafe. I've been playing Resident Evil 5 for close to a month now, and unfortunately, I couldn't shake my gripe with the controls. My last hands-on take featured impressions from my playthrough at E3, and there I regarded that the controls still required you to stop-and-shoot, but that Capcom was looking into working on the aspect for the final release. Clearly, this never happened, and the final release has largely the same control mechanics. And that means…

…shooting off a few bullets, running away, turning around, shooting some more, running away, rinse and repeat. I thought, 'okay, maybe I'll get used to this.' But as the chapters went on, I found myself more and more frustrated with every death and restart. Moreover, I begin to hate the fact that the camera in the game is completely locked on, so you don't even have the option to switch shoulder views or pull it up just a tad. Why is this a problem? Because, as chapter two is evidence, often times you will find yourself in very confined areas where peripheral visibility is important, but alas you are limited to barely seeing what's to the right of the screen. This means, you'll find yourself to be the victim of being blindsided, which can sometimes lead to an unexpected death.

Now, as much as I love co-op, I equally hate having to care for a partner. Resident Evil 5 commits one major flaw that is extremely common among co-op titles, and that's having to constantly save your partner Sheva. Caring for your partner becomes a large burden eventually, as Sheva constantly asks you to save her, to heal her, or to spare her ammo. This becomes extremely tedious when you're fighting off a barrage of enemies and you need to keep moving around to reposition yourself so that your opponents can't attack you. So if you're going to play through the game, I highly urge you to have a buddy handy, because playing with a friend changes the experience of a computer controlled partner from being a frustrating one, to actually being quite enjoyable.

The co-op will also help you forget about the controls a bit, seeing as how you'll be able to work strategies out, allowing one partner to shoot from a distance, with the other closer-up, and then alternating as you see fit. I will admit that co-op gameplay is certainly the biggest draw of the game, but I wouldn't go as far as to say that it's anywhere near as exciting and engaging as Gears of War 2, and that's largely due to the game's speed and controls.

Those who loved Resident Evil 4 will love Resident Evi 5, but if you don't enjoy caring for a partner frequently, you may find yourself frustrated in some bits. Furthermore, the story is also pretty enjoyable, so if you're a devout fan of the franchise, there's a solid reason to engage into RE5 next month. Visually, this is some proper next-gen stuff, with a magnificent graphics engine that's performing lighting work that's some of the best we've seen this generation, on top of marvelous character detail, and very polished texture work.

By now, many of you have probably played the demo of Resident Evil 5, which was likely enough to convince you whether or not you'd like to buy yourself a copy of the game in the coming weeks. If you're still not sure about RE5, stay posted for the full review coming March 13th.

Subscribe
Notify of
67 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
iPwn_3G
iPwn_3G
11 years ago

Yeah, the controls are a real turn off for me. But when i had my friend over it was really fun. other than that and the visuals i didn't really like it. Co-op with another person is the only way to play it and thats bad because my brother is still too young to play it and i wont have my friends over everday to play it.

ps92117
ps92117
11 years ago

I liked the graphics, but the control were like ahh g damit, the coop was fun though even with the lack of amo.

PS. now plz don't cry but Fumito Ueda has been confirmed to be at gdc.

ps92117
ps92117
11 years ago

Team ICO, lol.

Godslim
Godslim
11 years ago

lol i luved resi 4 so im not too bothered about the controls really

wano
wano
11 years ago

same here, loved 4. im glad they kept the same controls. i do have a tiny concern with shila (we had a similar kind of burden thing with ashley in 4), but not like this from the sounds of things and whats in the demo. and ashley never really got in the way of anything either, but at the end of the day thats what the game play will include, so i can deal with that. for me the big change is going to be not pausing while sorting out weapons n stuff, just hope i can deal with it all when im playing it. …well looks like i will have to get the disolved pro plus and iv drip ready guys. i will deffo be crackin this one what ever happens 😉

Godslim
Godslim
11 years ago

yeh the only thing i find wierd was choosing weapons coz its doesnt pause

Im The Man
Im The Man
11 years ago

they got that from deadspace. that way you stay immersed in the experience and you can't pause and change weapons and be safe.


Last edited by Im The Man on 2/22/2009 12:29:29 PM

Im The Man
Im The Man
11 years ago

wano: "well looks like i will have to get the disolved pro plus and iv drip ready guys. i will deffo be crackin this one what ever happens ;-)"

What exactly are you talking about?

Reccaman18
Reccaman18
11 years ago

I was never a fan of the game mechanics of RE4 either. I'm gonna have to pass on RE5 for that reason. I was hoping they'd make the control scheme a little different, but oh well.

Randomhero1
Randomhero1
11 years ago

Fun Game, Crappy Controls. If The Controls Were Better This would be a Great Game.

city96
city96
11 years ago

Well the demo wasnt very appealing. The co op is cool because of the new teamwork abilities but why do they want us to stand still when theres 500000 zombies comin at us. In RE4 there were less zombies due to less gaming power and then it was OK to stand still.
The graphics are great just not for a game. It looks more like the Movie

Ben i tried uploading a theme or 9 but it wouldnt do any.

LOL i just realised at the top where it says PSXEXTREME.COM you put "now covering games for ten years" or was that already there
Oh well well done i'd say this is the best freshest gaming site ever!!!! 🙂


Last edited by city96 on 2/21/2009 6:41:19 PM

booze925
booze925
11 years ago

the controls dont bother me at all! if anything, i like it better thn strafing. u gotta b careful and CHOOSE ur moment 2 shoot.

booze925
booze925
11 years ago

arnold, next time u do a preview, dont just give us a page full of ur negative opinions. give us facts.

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

Next time you tell a critic not to voice his opinion, you should stuff your foot in your mouth and think twice about what you're saying.

And if you want a more "factual" article, read the original preview which is based entirely on what Capcom's told us in their fact sheet. This is a hands-on preview, this is meant to deliver MY thoughts and feelings.


Last edited by ArnoldK PSXE on 2/21/2009 7:11:25 PM

wano
wano
11 years ago

he did say if you liked 4, then you will like 5. good enough to give me a basic idea of how its going to pan out till the review or when i play it. he also said why he didnt like 4, which should give you an idea whether your opinion will differ a lot when you play it.


Last edited by wano on 2/21/2009 7:27:51 PM

kreate
kreate
11 years ago

did you read this article all the way through?
how many times did game magazines gave negative reviews about video games? Arnold just pointed out that certain mechanics and aspects of the game was annoying.

i'm not a fan of RE4 (i liked RE0-3), but i think every game should give us full customization of the controls.


Last edited by kreate on 2/21/2009 7:34:55 PM

fundando
fundando
11 years ago

Seriously I'm starting to wonder if you (arnold)have played any Resident Evil games before. This is a shoddy preview at best. How about some details on the game?


Last edited by fundando on 2/21/2009 8:00:33 PM

Aftab
Aftab
11 years ago

He said, if you like it before, you will like it now. If you didn't like it before, you won't like it now. Message was delivered perfectly to fanboys of the franchise and nonfans alike. And he doesn't want to spill all the beans before the review.

NiteKrawler
NiteKrawler
11 years ago

I think this article was well done. I love Resident Evil and RE 5 is shaping up to be one of my favorites, so I disagree with Arnold here on some of the things. But that doesn't mean that the article was poorly done. I like the controls the way they are (I never have to shoot, run away, turn and shoot) and I think the ammo drops are just right (I can conserve ammo a LOT). What Arnold did was give us all something to compare this game to while giving his personal opinions. This is just a preview, so if you want something more solid then wait for the full review. People need to stop critiquing the critics here and do their job, which is to sit back, shut up, and read. If you think you can do better than these guys, then start your own damn site.

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

Arnold, I agree with your assessment 100%. I, too, found the controls in RE4 cumbersome and wasn't happy to see that they haven't changed for the better. However, I like the game enough that I will buy it despite its shortcomings. There isn't anything else beyond RE5 with a release date that I want. At least with the demo, I can get used to the controls somewhat. I didn't have that opportunity with RE4.

Yes, San Andreas was overrated, too. Thankfully, GTA4 blew all other GTA games away.

Break_The_Mould
Break_The_Mould
11 years ago

Hmmm, have to disagree with the GTAIV comment brighat, the visuals are decent and the feeling of a 'living' city was great and for the first couple days I was hooked and loved it.
Then it got slightly repetitive and I found little replay value (multiplayer was the 'little' I found, but that didn't last long), unlike GTA:SA which I used to pop into my PS2 after any stressful day or times of extreme boredom and I wouldn't get off till my fingers ached or fell off (that never happened, thankfully). That game for me is timeless and although slightly overrated, was still one of the best of the last generation in my opinion.

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago

I understand. Maybe I just found Niko and Liberty City to be more interesting. San Andreas did have more to offer at the table but GTA4 just seemed to have that "it" that Vice City and San Andreas lacked to me.

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

Didn't SA bring us the innovation of multiple radio stations?

Im The Man
Im The Man
11 years ago

@wewm No III and vice city had multiple radio stations also. You didn't play those?


Last edited by Im The Man on 2/22/2009 12:33:08 PM

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

I did, but I jumped into Vice on xbox1 a week ago for nostalgia but it only had one radio station.

ImTheMan
ImTheMan
11 years ago

thats weird it must be a glitch

Riku994
Riku994
11 years ago

Yeah, I play this contantly, and franlky I love it. I dont mind the not being able to move and shoot, it makes it harder. But I DO always play on co-op, because Sheva sucks as AI. With a parter I can actually off the axe wielding f***tard and with a few sniper rounds i can take down the chainsaw man. It's not that hard if you have someone who knows what theyre doing.

CaptRon
CaptRon
11 years ago

Baww its a horror game. Its not very scary if you can just run and gun through them, if that were the case then L4D would have been scary as hell but wasn't.

Jamaican_Heat
Jamaican_Heat
11 years ago

The controls are simple…I think they should leave them the way they are. Once you learn how they work you will not die. Resident evil is not meant to be run and gun, and its good that games have different control schemes we dont want all our games to be alike!

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

Well, The esteemed Arnold's personal dislikes aside (which I can see easily) as far as my assessment goes it seems that old schoolers have less trouble with tank controls than people whose first system was a ps1 or 2.

I will not disagree that they seem exremely antiquated and rusty, but I found them in line with surv/hor games. Dead Space did a much better job and maybe RE will move in that direction one day but I didn't think RE4 was overrated.

I was riveted, I refused to play it until after 3am in the dark and the creepfactor was nuts.

HOWEVER, a person shouldn't even try to judge RE5 on its demo, it feels inaccessible and doesn't do the game justice at all. But I must say it feels clunkier than RE4.

I just hope that the co-op robot system dies, it is a horrible horrible mess and it must go away now.


Last edited by WorldEndsWithMe on 2/21/2009 11:25:58 PM

Jamaican_Heat
Jamaican_Heat
11 years ago

WEWM I agree with you on a few things. The clunky feel to the demo i think is the "bugs" they are refering to in the warning screen at the beggining. It should be cleared in the full game,I noticed it while aiming mainly.

How difficult would it be to hold a button to run while using you trigger to aim, using both joysticks to control where you run and aim. Sounds a whole lot more difficult then the mechanic they have going now. It wouldnt feel right the have the run and gun mechanic, its not a run and gun game. It never has been,and it would take away from things drastically. Are we trying to make RE Gears of War now? Add a cover system and there you have it! Then people will just complain that " oh they are trying to copy GOW now" –People are never satisfied..lol

rjmacready
rjmacready
11 years ago

I agree, Jamaican Heat.

I LOVED Resident Evil 4 and felt totally comfortable with the control scheme in that game. I like the fact that RE5 has the same type of control scheme considering how much I like RE4, and I can't wait for March 13th!

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

It doesn't necessarily have to be run-and-gun. Even a slow walk would help dramatically.

Geobaldi
Geobaldi
11 years ago

"I'm one of the few who thought that Resident Evil 4 was one of the most overrated experiences of the past generation."

Finally somebody else agrees with me lol. I myself wasn't real impressed with RE4. It was more of a shooter with horror elements thrown in, than the survival horror that we all know and love the series for. Having played the demo for the new one, sadly it's going to be the first one in the series that I'm going to pass on. Giving the option to run and shoot, while very helpful, will bring it just another step closer to being a full blown 3rd person shooter which is not what this series was designed for.

NiteKrawler
NiteKrawler
11 years ago

Geo, you DO know that the option to move and shoot is NOT in the game right? That's why so many people are mad. I'm like you though, I like the controls the way they are.

JackieBoy
JackieBoy
11 years ago

I didn't like RE4 but not because controls but because the story – it was cheap. The game itself was ok as a shooter. With better graphics, Wesker involvement and hopefully complicated plot,RE5 should satisfy me and I'm gonna buy it on the release date. I'm just a big RE fan:))

cheng
cheng
11 years ago

I think its just because of the other games u are used to playing arnold, i mean RE4 is also
"constantly run away, stop, turn around, shoot a few bullets, and then repeat the same tactic became extremely annoying", strangely enough, i dint find it annoying at all, i mean in some places, u actually have to think where ur running to, have u seen one of the demo of RE5?? that dude ran into a building while trying to take down the chainsaw dude!! wtf!!

If u actually plan out the moves ahead, u'll RARELY die, i only die like 2-3 times in my 1st playthrough of RE4, those stupid blind dude with the huge claws, and i hate krauser…

i'm also a bit worried about constantly have to take care of the partner, but does sheva ever came to save ur ass when ur critically wounded, then its just fair that u'll also have to take care of her right, i dunno i'll have to wait and see for myself 🙂

LimitedVertigo
LimitedVertigo
11 years ago

TEAM ICO is my GOD

Lord carlos
Lord carlos
11 years ago

i've been defending the RE4 classic control scheme on past articles and i'm not changing my mind now.
This game looks f**king sweet and if your a half decent gamer you'll adapt,what i've taken from the above article is this game will be hard,even for veteran fans(single player)in other words not an eight hour campaign.
PS.does not every game have some form of rinse & repeat to it?
GTA SA is twice as good as GTA4,storywise there even but they cut out too much cool stuff like skydiving and bmx bikes(surely R* could of fit bmx's on dvd) & where are those copbikes?,they all fall into the realm of reality as people do & use those things!!!!!!

Aftab
Aftab
11 years ago

He wasn't just knocking it for having "rinse and repeat" action. He was saying that it has "rinse and repeat" action that remained tedious no matter how long he played it.

Lord carlos
Lord carlos
11 years ago

Games are only tedious if you don't like them or suck balls at it,i found halo 3 to be extremely boring eg.shoot this alien,shoot that alien 'rinse and repeat'
The same could be said of any game,so the whole 'rinse & repeat'statement is moot in my opinion!

ceedot
ceedot
11 years ago

'In short, along with GTA: San Andreas, RE4 was personally the most overrated experience of the past generation. '
I can't believe You think San Andreas was overrated, but you liked GTA IV. What the f**k are you thinking?!?!?!?!?!

Other than that, thanks for the preview cause from this I can tell I won't like it. I hate bad shooters.

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

Funny…I don't know how you can say that I liked GTAIV, when I didn't even review it. You should try that again.

And FWIW: I'm not the biggest GTAIV fan, either.


Last edited by ArnoldK PSXE on 2/22/2009 12:17:46 PM

Lord carlos
Lord carlos
11 years ago

@ceedot
its not a shooter in the traditional sense,and its definitely NOT bad.


Last edited by Lord carlos on 2/22/2009 1:41:30 PM

NiteKrawler
NiteKrawler
11 years ago

Ceedot, you definitely need to try the demo. No matter what anyone says, this game can't be labled as "bad". The worst you could say is that it's not your cup of tea.

hart_attack
hart_attack
11 years ago

i agree with arnold on basically everything, the camera should be able to move, and so should we at least a little while aiming

raidtimedope
raidtimedope
11 years ago

i dont agree with arnold on anything

ive played the demo and i just love it, i play it everyday

controls are just fine, this is Resident Evil, to be honest i found dead space too easy with that fast movement

the new setting is amazing

im looking forward to getting this game more than Killzone 2

and Arnold you said GTA SA being over rated??? are you serious? it deserves the recognition it got, matter of fact all GTA games deserve it cuz the amount of replay value and fun even without online is uncountable.

cant wait till RE5 comes out!

the menu screen is beautiful by the way

jordan173
jordan173
11 years ago

sorry totally off topic what car is that on your profile

godsman
godsman
11 years ago

one thing about RE games, in the beginning, it feels like the game is too hard. There is a curve which once you reach that level of ammo and firepower, the level of difficulty drops very quickly along with the horror factor.
My point is, if the controls get any easier, u'll be landing perfect headshots and one-hit-kills when the zombies are still far far away. Game gets dull afterwards. Any one that played the Handcannon in RE4 should understand what i mean by low horror factor.

mastiffchild
mastiffchild
11 years ago

RE4 is best on Wii where the controls scheme makes up for the inherent Resi difficulties but even so I think hjad they changed them for RE5 they'd have lost any semblence of being survival horror.
Thankfully, you ppoointed out the real problem here-that Capcom were so bothered about getting co-=op into the game that they gimped the SP as a result. Not only is Sheva's AI not as good as Capcom think(she steals kills, shoots where you are, stands on the stairs in your way etc, etc)but having to drag her npc ass everywhere increases your involvement with the worlds worst inventory system ever by a factor of 2-which puts you on the highway to Frustration City(population 2-you and some dim bird).
A survival ho0rror game where the SP is crap? Where you always have someone with you? Where you're too annoyed for immersion let alone a few scares? That you can only play with a mate(not scary)if you want the game to actually work at all?
This game just rips up the RE tamplate that I loved for years(I'm, a huge fan and played and bought the GC, PS2 AND Wii editions of RE4 for example and have played every game both canon and non canon that they released and even enjoyed the fan service of UC!)by wrecking the SP that should be cenhtral to any sh title esp a Resi game, imo. So this is rent only for me just to burn through the online co-op and I don't see why they had to make the SP so poor just to bowq to the fashion for online co-op. Couldn't they have just left Sheva out of the SP?