Scheduled release date:
February 28, 2009
Publisher:
SCEA
Developer:
Guerrilla Games
Number Of Players:
1-2 Players (32 Online)
Genre:
FPS


It's been arguably the biggest, most hyped, and most talked about first-person shooter in development for the past two years, and the slightest mention of the game is bound to unravel some sort of controversy. Killzone 2, having debuted with an ultra-stylized and flashy render at E3 in 2005, is nearing the end of its development cycle. We've been fortunate enough to be given a 60% preview build of the game that shows us just why this FPS may be one of the best to arrive in 2009. Are we looking at yet another contender for GOTY 2009? Possibly.

Unlike other FPS games, Killzone 2 doesn't start off with a training mode, you're thrown right into the action immediately and you'll definitely feel the fright and hectic gameplay from the get-go. What's amazing about Killzone 2's gameplay is just how superbly well the game manages to envelope you into its surrounding. You're well aware that this is a videogame, but at times, the tension and excitement can make you forget. You'll play Killzone 2 slightly more alert than any other shooter, and that could also be a testament to the game's fantastic A.I., which is always working together and always keeping their eyes peeled for any surprise attacks.

Where as some games boast A.I. that's mindless and follows a path, or other games have A.I. that's just obscenely difficult to the point of being annoying, Killzone 2 strikes that perfect balance and even manages to avoid one crippling flaw: constant re-spawning. Once you've dealt with your enemies, you can be rest assured that they won't be coming back anymore, and I commend Killzone 2 for that.

How Killzone 2 engages the gamer seems to be unlike any other FPS game I've ever played. There is a solid connection between the gamer, the character, and the environment that you're in. The amount of excitement all around you really cranks up the feedback and the experience, and I can't stress that facet enough – the game is simply intense. To further add to this whole feeling of immersion is how your enemies react to the bullets as they pierce through them with their bodies recoiling to every bullet connected. You've no doubt seen the footage of a Helghan troop getting shot up as his body is rained on with lead, and while it's pretty to watch on your monitor, it's even better to witness in person on your TV. All of these traits really make the shooting feel rewarding, every bullet fired just feels satisfying.

One thing I must mention is something that may shock some of you…but when I played Killzone 2 at E3 this past July, I wasn't terribly crazy about it. The shooting had far too much recoil, making it hard to steady the reticule and mow down enemies. I was extremely happy to see that this had been taken care of, and the controls were tightened considerably – definitely a big kudos to Guerilla for listening.

Progression through each stage is fairly linear, but combat can be approached in a variety of directions. For example, you are free to sneak around the environment in order to gain some leverage on your enemies. But be careful, like I said, the A.I. isn't stupid as they often know of exploits in the environment, and can cut you off with a surprise attack. So if you'd like to wander off and attack your opponents from the side, you may encounter some resistance on your way through to and through path. You'll combat that resistance in a variety of ways; when you're out of ammo your knife will be your melee weapon, you can also strike enemies with your gun, and of course you'll have a reserve of grenades to throw.

Difficulty levels range from Easy to Hard, but our build allowed for only a Normal selection. On Normal, the game provided a proper challenge, and if the A.I. is that solid here, we can't imagine how much better they are on the two harder difficulties. What's even more impressive is that this build is still rather early, so Guerilla still has a lot of tweaking left to do, and they've assured us that they're busy fixing any prevalent issues in the preview build. I haven't really spotted any, to be honest, maybe because I've been too busy having a blast with this build.

Moving on, Sony has always promised that Killzone 2 would be a visual tour de force, and seeing as how it's got one absurdly controversial trailer to live up to, the gaming public has kept expectations extremely high. I'm happy to report that visual fidelity of Killzone 2 largely lives up to what Sony first showed us. Granted it's not a carbon copy as far as polish and quality goes, but Guerilla is actually still working on sharpening the textures in the game even more. Thus far, the game runs extremely well, with little to no slow-down present, and with pristine picture clarity that is a sight to see. Lastly, animation, lighting, and other bits of attention to detail really round out a visual package that is nothing short of jaw-dropping.

The audio is also extremely powerful, with lots of battlefield dialogue and banter. The Helghast sound hauntingly menacing as they taunt you, and the sound effects of the battle all around you rips through the speakers with force. Voice acting is also solid, but it's really not what you'll be concentrating on when listening to this game in action. This one really makes a nice 'boom' sound.

I've also had a chance to sample the multiplayer beta, which I loved very much. Even though there were some initial problems, for a game this far off release, the beta played extremely well. The maps were great and the matches were all a blast. With up to 32 players on the field, things got really chaotic, and I wouldn't have had it any other way.

Mark your calendars for February, folks, Killzone 2 is the first must-have of 2009 – as well as the first possible contender for game of the year 2009.

Subscribe
Notify of
63 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
caliblue15
caliblue15
11 years ago

All I can say is WOW. It just destroys the 2005 projected image. WOW. What's going to top this? GOW3? Uncharted 2?

And that's only 60%, oh god, i better preorder now.


Last edited by caliblue15 on 12/4/2008 12:51:40 AM

wasim
wasim
11 years ago

GOTY 2009

If GOW3 /Uncharted doesnt take it

Or i must if MAG/GT5 doesnt take it

just too many games for ps3 in 2009

awesome preview PSXEXTREME

Cheers for Arnold

chicko1983
chicko1983
11 years ago

What about Halo:ODST…? BWAHHAHAHA!

ImBack
ImBack
11 years ago

cant wait!!!!!

Aftab
Aftab
11 years ago

But what about the demos?

chicko1983
chicko1983
11 years ago

I agree with you on this Aftab, surely GG need to release a demo

SHADOW
SHADOW
11 years ago

And my interest is now thoroughly through the roof. Do you think we can expect a multiplayer preview from you guys? I would love to hear how that's going to work.

Jed
Jed
11 years ago

Damn, that game sounds amazing. It's great that the game is even close to that "controversial" trailer from years ago.

I'm very happy to hear that the game is living up to expectations.

I can't wait for this game to come out. Now more than ever. Thanks Arnold, you lucky bastard.

AluShady
AluShady
11 years ago

See this is the kind of preview I am definitely hoping for FF13. Such high expectations that are being met.

Anyway with all of the shooters out on the market I'm always the type of guy to buy the best of the bunch because I'm not a rabid FPS fan. I'm guessing this will be my pick of 09.

Papa Burgundy
Papa Burgundy
11 years ago

I want this game sooooo bad. Killzone 2 will be epic and unmatched.

jlch777
jlch777
11 years ago

that is what i like on a game QUALITY!

KZ2,GT5,GOW3,Uncharted 2…..

Ohhh my GODDD!!!

King James
King James
11 years ago

I played the beta for a number of hours today. That beta just doesn't get old to me. And it only get better the more u play it, because it has a rpg element to it. Similar to CoD or R2, as u play, u earn experience and rank up. Each rank unlocks new weapons, classes, abilities, etc.

Man, I love this game. And I'm not that crazy about shooters. The beta, alone, has stopped me from playing R2, LBP, Fallout 3, and Deadspace.

Qubex
Qubex
11 years ago

Well, I have had the privileged of being part of the Killzone 2 beta for quite some time now. Yesterday I was playing 32/32 online; as Arnold said, what a freaking blast…

Anyway, as I have been stating herein for a few weeks now; it will make jaws drop the world over. The 360 doesn't have anything like this…

Q!

"i Am hOMe"

chicko1983
chicko1983
11 years ago

nice preview but the worst part of it is that it makes me want K2 even more…

Random_Steve
Random_Steve
11 years ago

yeah me too-and wehen it does come out i cant get it-damn you 18s

tlpn99
tlpn99
11 years ago

Random Steven, now I dont condone this but surely a relative (older brother maybe) can buy this for you as I am sure most kids who want the Grand Theft Auto games get their older sibling sometimes even mum and dad to get it for them. I have seen it in so many shops all time. The seller warns the parents etc its for 18 above, the parents still buy it lol

Craigo
Craigo
11 years ago

Wow!!!!!!!!

sabitrulz
sabitrulz
11 years ago

Ah,kinda expected dis….so not dat much surprised though…….hope it runs smoothly.

ceedot
ceedot
11 years ago

So what was the secret that you guys couldn't tell us till today? You said it will be crazy and we will all go crazy over it.

AntDC
AntDC
11 years ago

It was that they'd played the Single Player mode of the game. Those lucky bastards lol.

coldbore
coldbore
11 years ago

wow!! I've been doing the beta for quite some time and it has been amazing (and still is). The single player campaign sounds intense. i am definatly gonna pick this one up.

Sir Shak
Sir Shak
11 years ago

how about some footage ?

AntDC
AntDC
11 years ago

Dude I'm jelous of your Sackboy toy lol.

mustang750r
mustang750r
11 years ago

my mind is going to overload with awesomenessness. i have to get this on day 1. no question.

FLYING_APE
FLYING_APE
11 years ago

Damn you psxextreme this didn't tell me anything i didn't know before. Was this the first level and what did it look like.

All i can say is WTF

TheRaPtuRe
TheRaPtuRe
11 years ago

is the new footage thats all over the internet the same build that you guys played?
cos if thats an earlier build then jesus christ!

ArnoldK PSXE
ArnoldK PSXE
11 years ago

Yes. All of us are playing the same build. It's a roughly 60-70% complete game.

TheRaPtuRe
TheRaPtuRe
11 years ago
Qubex
Qubex
11 years ago

Going to see it now!

Q!

"i aM hOMe"

coverton341
coverton341
11 years ago

Great just great. Now that I have seen the videos I do not think that I can live my life without this game. I turn 28 on February 5th and I know what my fiancé is buying me now even if it has to be a late gift.

Daedusian
Daedusian
11 years ago

Wow thanks for the link! Although every video I've seen yet, a 3 year old seems to be playing the game lol. Seriously tho, the ones on GT, the player seems to have no experience at all in FPSs and the same goes for these. But, nonetheless, I'm very happy to see the game!

rezenu
rezenu
11 years ago

I've had the honor of being in the beta and the game is freakin' amazing. If they're doing even *more* tweaking with this…I'm pretty sure this game WILL get the GOTY award in 2009.

Sony just proved the haters wrong with this game.

HATERS BE DAMNED.

startazz
startazz
11 years ago

What a great preview AK,i can't say much about story mode as us mere mortals have not got to grips with this yet but we all look forward to february when we will get our hands on it,but i must agree with you about the multi player beta as i love every bit of it and look forward to more maps and more online game choices,so upset it finishes on the 7th of this month(he say while crying lol)but what a game i would give it 8/10 so far.

Daedusian
Daedusian
11 years ago

Arnold, does the character seem to feel short? because in the previews I've seen so far the character is only up to the shoulders of some of your allies. I found that to be kind of odd.. or are they just really tall?


Last edited by Daedusian on 12/4/2008 11:05:59 AM

AntDC
AntDC
11 years ago

The people playing it probably don't know how to get out of crouch mode haha.

IonHawk
IonHawk
11 years ago

Yesterday's PS Blog mentioned that KZ2 will be on tonight's X-Play (8pm PST/10pm CST). Be sure to watch that. Guerrilla hinted they might announce the actual release date in Feb.

Saber1989
Saber1989
11 years ago

yo its only a one player game really, how about offline multiplayer, nothing at all, this to me is a big downside and kind of turn me off a bit. Wiki states the release date will be Febuary 17th. How does this game in relation to Gears 2, which I think is awesome but the downside is the offline multiplayer which can only have two people.

Daedusian
Daedusian
11 years ago

Is there really no 4 player split?? Damn that sux!

Saber1989
Saber1989
11 years ago

http://gamersyde.com/news_7380_en.html – seen the videos, they are awesome but you can't carry more than one weapon? kind of Sucks. So far, Killzone visually is amazing, but gameplay wise i m not sure yet. what happens if you die? need more info!

Daedusian
Daedusian
11 years ago

No you can carry two. I initially was thinking the same thing because the player in the videos never swapped weapons for some odd reason. But near the end of the videos he finally swapped his pistol for another smg, so he was carrying I think a rifle along with the sub.


Last edited by Daedusian on 12/4/2008 3:35:16 PM

Saber1989
Saber1989
11 years ago

really man, which video was it, didn t see them all just kinda browse through each one.

Daedusian
Daedusian
11 years ago

It's the video labeled as 'Convoy Part 2'. And almost 7 min through he exchanges his pistol for an smg. So he should be carrying 2 smgs (I was wrong), but there really is no true evidence if he's still carrying the other as he doesn't switch back… or use his brains to exchange the new weapon for the empty one if it's still there.

And I just have to mention for the hell of it… one of the allies gets lit the f*** up at 7:40 secs (right after) in the same vid. SO hilarious!


Last edited by Daedusian on 12/4/2008 10:02:08 PM

Saber1989
Saber1989
11 years ago

thanks dude!

snglbck26
snglbck26
11 years ago

Thanks for the website Rapture. It's pretty cool how the sounds and sights from the beta are the same as the single player.

The release of K2 is a great way for PS3 to start 2009. It's going to bring a ton of attention to Sony as the leading console.

DevTech
DevTech
11 years ago

Please tell me a demo will be out. I never got to play Killzone 1. But when I was over my cousins house I was blown away. I might buy this one.

jerocarson
jerocarson
11 years ago

speechless!

onimushafantasy
onimushafantasy
11 years ago

awsome!! i cant wait to play this game.

Banky A
Banky A
11 years ago

I seriously can't wait. Gonna' refuse my own Christmas presents to save enough money to buy this on day 1!
Then all I need is the headset ūüôĀ

WorldEndsWithMe
WorldEndsWithMe
11 years ago

I wish they'd finished this in time for xmas, oh well maybe there will be a demo. A taste would be tasty just so I'm totally amped when I roll to the store come February.

somethingrandom
somethingrandom
11 years ago

It was Sony's decision to delay it until next year. They didn't want to release 3 FPS games in one holiday season.